Volvo V70 Minivans | Wagons

V70

The V70 is a 4-door, 5-passenger luxury wagon, available in two trims, the 3.2 and the 3.2 R-Design.

The V70 is equipped with a standard 3.2-liter, I6, 235-horsepower engine that achieves 16-mpg in the city and 24-mpg on the highway. A 6-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard.

User Reviews (18)

Showing 1-10 of 18  
Ken Cannon   [Jun 23, 2006]
Model Reviewed: V70 R
Strength:

7 passenger
laser blue color
lots of fun to drive
not ostentatious
not too big
NOT A MINI VAN

Weakness:

Accelation lag

Bossani Volvo was great. I purchased the car sight unseen (picures only) over the internet and they just shipped it up to Vancouver, BC for me.

A throttle control computer went which was replaced under warranty by Richmond Volvo. Warren over there is a great guy to deal with.

This car is very enjoyable to drive. 267 hp, laser blue and a seven seater. Well those passengers riding in the rear need to be under 100 lbs and even then it is a little squishy for them. But, I will never drive a mini van again. My wife did run it with a flat tire, so I replaced all four just to be safe. They say running the tires with different wear levels is bad for the AWD system. The AWD system is a VC system until 2004 when they switched to the Halidex seystem which is supposed to be better. I've had no trouble with the AWD which is a necessity with 267 hp pulling, especially in the snow or rain. The AWD just makes you feel much more in control on the road. I drove a T5 before we bought it and found the front wheel drive only had a little tourque steer.

One rear window switch is a little sticky and the ETC computer has a little lag which is occassionally anoying, especially in city traffic or when you need to beat the train.

I do love this car. It is very solid on the road and is very comfortable to drive at 160 - 180 kmph. You hardly notice how fast you are going. The vehicle just wants to go fast and it is solid as a rock. I had it up to 250 with my daughter and her full size harp in the back on a quiet Sunday morning. Her only comment was, "those trees are sure going by fast, dad".

I can't say enought about this car. It is a undiscovered secret. The only vehicle I would consider trading it in on is a newer 04-06 V70 R. Oh, I would also like it if it had a manual, which was not availbable until 04.

Similar Products Used: 2006 Tacoma
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
mjl4147   [Jun 25, 2005]
Model Reviewed: XC70
Strength:

Seats-very comfortable pick up-easy to get on highway-my other volvos were sluggish.I also like the style and prefer it to SUV's. The all wheel drive is great in the winter.

Weakness:

Mileage could be better but it is still respectable-I am getting 24.5 mpg highway.

This is my 3rd Volvo since 1983 and the best one as far as performance and comfort. This past winter really put it to the test.Other cars were spinning out and I continued on with great traction.I spend a lot of time in my car as I am in sales-it is a pleasure to drive this car.I have been driving it for 10 months with no problems.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
metcalfja   [Nov 19, 2004]
Model Reviewed: V70 T5
Strength:

Seats - every car manufactuer should steal a volvo seat and copy it. I could drive for 10 hours and step out of the car without any aches or pains. Simply a joy to drive this car. Cargo space - its a station wagon after all. Performance - 5 cylinder turbo was fast and strong (while it lasted) Gas milage - 3,000 mile road trip loaded with gear, 27mpg.

Weakness:

Build quality - during my 50,000 mile warranty period I took this car to the shop at least 1 every 6 weeks. I took the car in 4 or 5 times just becausse the windshield washer nozzle clogged, claimed it was the washer fluid, ok, I think every other car manufacturer has this problem solved. Electrical, mechanical, body, you name it, it broke. The O2 sensors(a total of 4 or 5 on this car)constantly going bad. God forbid if you break an unwarranted part, for example, a broken headlight cover was 276.00 + labor! This is a piece of glass right?

I had a love/hate relationship with this car. Loved the ride, performance, the looks. Hated the reliability of this car, it was in the shop all the time. I bought a demo with 6,000 miles on it, perhaps it was 6,000 hard miles because my service receipts after 50,000 miles was as thick as a phone book. I expected my Volvo to last forever, but after 90,000 miles and with the turbo on the brink of failing (with a cost of 2,000 dollars to replace) I traded it in on a Nissan Altima. I was longing for Japanese realiability again....sorry Volvo, you lost me as a customer.

Similar Products Used: my parents had a station wagon..... Honda Accord - best car ever. Nissan Altima Ford f150 Nissan Xterra
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Richard Connelly   [Dec 16, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Volvo V70 Wagon
Strength:

Looks good and drives well. Seems solid on the highway. Seating is comfortable.

Weakness:

Sunroof design is flawed with my vehicle. Original tires shoud not wear so much. Lurching with drive train, and power lags.

Vehicle has a defect with the sunroof, which when opened (even just open) causes a severe buffetting to the point that you cannot stand the compression on your ears. The roof also deflects to a major extent when going through a "touchless" car wash. The dealer will not take responsibility and Volvo Canada are not responding to approximately ten communications. The vehicle does go through a lot of light bulbs and now has a clunk in the undergear. Volvo Canada seems not to care about the defect, which I consider to be not only a defect, but a potential safety problem, with a very inadequate/structurally weak roof. Exterior plastics wear easily and original Pirelli tires are wearing quickly as well. The tires bruise easily and we have had to replace three tires within the first year and a half. Transmission is not vrey smooth and turning radius is huge compared to my other vehicles.

Similar Products Used: BMWs, Nissan Maxima
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Amy_S   [Aug 24, 2003]
Model Reviewed: V70 2.4T
Strength:

Beautiful car with lots of giddy up!!! Awesome built-in child safety booster seats. This car handles well and feels very safe.

Weakness:

Besides the electrical issues there are some minor cosmetic dislikes. It seems to dent easily. I have small ping marks on every door. The silver paint is wearing off on the inside. All door seals are coming off. The hatch back leaks occasionally and is almost impossible to open. The latch must be sticking (has been since I bought it). It also takes several tries to unlock the car with my keyless entry remote. My expensive Perilli front tires are not wearing normally according to Procare.

Electrical problems are beginning to consume my car at just 20,000. Lights are going out constantly and some are very expensive to replace. Hard to remember a time when the check engine light wasn't on. Right now one headlight and one brakelight is out.

Similar Products Used: Nissan Sentra Nissan Altima - both Nissans were great cars! BMW 318i - to many problems to list. Can't wait for my husband to sell.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Bill   [Jul 02, 2002]
Model Reviewed: Volvo V70
Strength:

Visability and comfort.

Weakness:

Quality and dealer service.

Quality of the 1999 V70 a big disappointment. Eats brakes at an alarming rate. Battery lasted 18 months. Headlights, turn and brake bulbs burned out more than a dozen times. Now the check engine light is assulting my sanity. Sound system has never worked correctly. 1999 inferior to earlier V70 and 740 turbo that I owned.

Similar Products Used: 1998 V70 1986 740 Turbo 1983 Subaru wagon
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
tigerdevil1   [May 31, 2002]
Model Reviewed: v70 wagon
Strength:

appearance, leather seats

Weakness:

piece of junk bad customer service

What a piece of CRAP! The electrical systme in this car was all screwed up. I blew lightbulbs and taillights all the time. Had the check engine light come on repeatedly. Also, the battery died (no doubt due to screwy electrical system) And VOLVO was completely unwilling to work with me in anyway. They told me that when I bought a luxury car I could expect idiosyncraies. I said maybe I didn't need a volvo, maybe I needed something reliable. I sold this baby as soon as I could. Love my new car. Drove 60,000 miles in 16 months. No problems.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Paul Desjardins   [Apr 08, 2002]
Model Reviewed: V70 2.4 T
Strength:

No rattles, acceleration, and handling. Bought the car for the seats and headroom.

Weakness:

A bit more wind noise at high speeds than expected.

The car is great, drives almost as quick as my previous Acura 3.2 TL. Handles like a sport car, highway driving at any speed is confortable. Purchased in Canada so price is Canadian Dollars with extended warranty, premium package (leather amd stuff) the 2.4 T model is the turbo version at 197 hp. Best car I ever had. I drive 60,000 Kilometers a year.

Similar Products Used: Had a Acura 3.2 TL (1999) a Volvo 940 (1995) Accord EXR (1992) Accord EXi (1988)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Luschei   [Nov 26, 2001]
Model Reviewed: V70
Strength:

none..this car has no pick up and it rattles

Weakness:

See above

Do not buy this car. This car has been a nightmare from day one. I will never buy another Volvo again. It has been in the repair shop for faulty headlights, both door hinges had to be re-welded, various electrical problems, ignition problems, the lap belts broke, the paint chips easily, I replaced the brake pads at 20,000 miles and I just spent $600 for new front rotors. I also had to replace all four tires and the air conditioning blower broke in July. Do not buy.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Laura Pfister   [Jun 16, 2001]
Model Reviewed: V70
Strength:

Dual side airbags, safety features. Dealer helpfulness and employees

Weakness:

Extremely poor quality. Numerous problems with the electrical system,lots of rattles and whines. Repeat problems with the climate control system. This is my third battery in 27,000 miles.

I am extremely disappointed in this wagon. This is my third Volvo wagon and I thought that I would be a Volvo driver for life! I deeply regret trading in my old 240 wagon with 140,000 miles on it. It ran like a top and other than regular maintenance, I never had a problem with it. The dealer has been wonderful in repairing the car but I spend too much time in their shop! As a busy mom, I do not have the time nor luxury to be sitting in the dealership. I had the car for 2 weeks when the climate control died-I had no a/c during a sweltering summer day. The dealer took the car right in and repaired the problem-or so I thought. During the next year, the climate control died 2 more times and finally I was told that the system was improperly calibrated. I go thru headlights every 6 months and even though there is now a recall for the headlight sockets, the dealer will not give me any credit for all of the headlights that they charged me for. The entire electrical system has NEVER been right. I have had the window controls replaced, the locks regularly malfunction, the temperature gauge is 7 degrees higher than the outside temp. making the climate control feature useless. The fuses as well as the speakers regularly short out. This car rattles and makes a weird whining noise when you hit a bump. The dealer cannot "find" these noises. Motor for headlight wipers burned out. I am on my third battery and the batteries are not covered by the warranty even though the first one quit at 10,000.

Similar Products Used: My 2 previous Volvo wagons were WONDERFUL. What happened to the quality? I was afraid that once Ford took over, the quality would suffer. We also have a Isuzu Rodeo (our second one) and would recommend it to anyone. We traded the first one in with 140,000 miles and the engine was still great-no oil leaks and the transmission was still fine. I would recommend the Rodeo to anyone.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com