Volvo XC70 Cross-Country Minivans | Wagons

XC70 Cross-Country

The Volvo XC70 is a 4-door, up to 5-passenger luxury wagon, available in two trims, the 3.2 and the T6 AWD.

The XC70 is equipped with a standard 3.2-liter, I6, 235-horsepower engine that achieves 16-mpg in the city and 22-mpg on the highway. The T6 is equipped with a standard 3.0-liter, I6, 281-horsepower, turbo engine that achieves 16-mpg in the city and 21-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (23)

Showing 1-10 of 23  
RickHamilton   [Dec 15, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Volvo XC70
Weakness:

Build up in winter of silt in back wheels creates significant vibration

above problem is main reason for not purchasing this vehicle again

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Peter Toronto   [Dec 03, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Cross Contry
Strength:

very good for Snow

Weakness:

Heavy on Gas ,AWD

Got the car from Volvo dealer,with 30 K ,after 2 weeks I had to go for service Air back sensor came on,The service they open the car a parts after over 15 visit regarding same issue ,until now they couldn't find why,I paid for extra warranty extended one ,I guess I was lucky when i made that decision ,I will never ever buy Volvo from electrical problem to mechanical they break down very easy and to take it to the dealer will charge you arm and leg...Take my advise and stay a way from Volvo..Nothing beats Japanese or Germans cars...

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Jeff Vallarino   [Aug 18, 2010]
Model Reviewed: V70XC
Strength:

Confort

Weakness:

See review

I bought a Volvo XC70 new in 2001 with the thought that I would drive it for 10 years and then give it to my 16 year old daughter as a good safe car for her to drive. She was driving down a 2 lane divided road at about 30 mph when the lower left ball joint broke off causing the entire left front suspension to be ripped from the car. The car has a total of 70k miles on it.

Other than routine oil changes the car has always been serviced by Volvo. Volvo sent an engineer out to inspect the car and worse than this potentially serious problem was the response from Volvo. Their response was "It broke, we don't intend to do anything about it, if you don't like it sue me, and you should feel privileged that we sent an engineer out to look at it". This from a company that claims to be concerned about safety.

I was prepared to get another Volvo, but after their response, I will never own a Volvo again.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Bill   [Jun 19, 2010]
Model Reviewed: 2001 Volvo v70 xc
Strength:

Comfortable, handles well, safety components, exterior styling, plenty of cargo space, ground clearance, great leather seating

Weakness:

Electrical problems-bulbs burn out every month or two. Biggest problem is the transmission. We have had 3 transmission replace and are told we will need a new one soon. We have poured money into this car. It has spent more time in the shop than any other car we've owned. I used to be a huge Volvo fan but after owning this car I will never buy another Volvo.

While it's a nice looking car, it has been a terrible disappointment. I would never recommend it to anyone.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Len Gold   [Jun 18, 2009]
Model Reviewed: XC70
Strength:

Good ride, plenty of pep when running good, nice handling and great looks

Weakness:

electrical problems and brakes seem to need work often or more so than some I've had.

This has been a great car but getting maintenance on it is brutal. No one other than volvo dealerships can read the computor or understand them and do the repairs so having to take a ferry into Vancouver everytime is a pain. The dealerships seem to thrive on changing parts and not being able to repair the engine trouble light problems. I've got close to 3000 in repairs and another few hundred in ferry costs and the car is going to limp into the dealership again this weekend. Wouldn't recommend this car for the faint of heart. Buy north american and get it fixed locally.

Similar Products Used: Nothing compared to this, also drive a Dodge Dakota and love it.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
srj_nv   [Jan 13, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Volvo V70 CrossCountry
Strength:

Safety, seats, interior, good balance of road feel and comfortable ride, good dealer interactions so far.

Weakness:

Vehicle had a "wave" or optical distortion in the windshield upon delivery. Dealer replaced it immediately. Small annoyance from the slight hesitation that is experienced from the time you step on the throttle to reaction from the engine (caused by the electronically disengagable transmission when vehicle is at full stop). No other problems with 28,000 mi. so far.

Wonderful car, wife loves the safety and utility of this wagon. Excellent highway manners and sure-footed in snow. Heated leather front seats are the best, interior is spacious and comfortable. Volvo has designed the controls in such a way so as to allow driver to keep their eyes on the road - no wading through on-screen menus to change HVAC settings. 5 cyl turbo provides acceptable power for passing and driving through the mountains.

Similar Products Used: Subaru Legacy AWD, Isuzu Trooper
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
trumpetbri   [Nov 19, 2003]
Model Reviewed: V70 Cross Country
Strength:

Comfort, handling, wonderful features.

Weakness:

Ride a little on the stiff side and noisy over bumps in road, but overall not bad. Major improvements in suspension since 1994 850 Sportwagon I owned.

So far so great! What a comfortable ride with super handling. I'm very happy with the V70. It was babied by an older couple, and had 89K on it when I purchased. The weight and feel is heavy and substantial. I feel quite safe for sure.

Similar Products Used: 850 Sportwagon
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
volvosucks   [Oct 02, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Volvo V70 XC AWD
Strength:

None.

Weakness:

Everything!

This will be the last Volvo I ever buy and highly recommend that you NEVER BUY A VOLVO! This car has been the biggest hassle... yes I bought the car in 2002 and the car is a 1999 model. And yes, it had 40,000 miles on it. But should I have to take it back to the dealer 13 times in less than 10 months after purchasing it? They claim that it was a certified used Volvo... right! Here is a summary of what has broken on it. The headlight windshield wippers didn't work, the air conditioner had to be replaced, the passenger window switch broke twice, all the switchs on the driver door failed to work. We were on a trip and I couldn't even get the gas cap cover to pop up so we could buy gas... pretty convenient huh? The shocks on the hatch back failed to hold the hatch back door up. The leather seats have cracked and split. The worst was when all of the O2 sensors went out... a $2100 service charge. I tried to take the car to jiffy lube to get an oil change... thay can't remove the oil filter because Volvo has a special tool you have to have to get it off. How convenient for Volvo when their oil change cost $49. In addition, we went to get the car shogged and the employee at jiffy Lube said that no place in town can smog these new Volvo's... it turns out that you have to have the dealer do it for you becuase of the electrical system... how user friendly is that?? As you can tel I am very displeased and should have foreseen these diffculties. My parents always had a Volvo had similisr electrical probelms. My dad always had his Volvo torn apart in the driveway trying to fix it on the weekends.

Similar Products Used: Have had 3 Volvo sedans and have learned my lesson.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
kjcunni   [Sep 27, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Volvo XC70
Strength:

Smooth ride, excellent power in traffic, comfortable seating, good AWD handling in heavy Western NY winters, decent gas mileage (given size of vehicle) on highways.

Weakness:

Electrical sensor failures on multiple components; dealer inability to quickly diagnose problems requiring multiple "diagnostic" visits; highest octane gas required which is costly given high prices; warranty often does not cover labor costs which is unusual based upon my experience with other makers.

I have very mixed feelings about this car one week away from it's first anniversary. The car is beautiful, heavy, comfortable, and gets reasonable gas mileage on the highway. However, within the first year I have already had it in several times for various problems. After several unsuccessful visits and under 10k miles they finally diagnosed the high pitched tuning fork sound on left turns as a backing plate rubbing against the balljoint. With just over 12k miles, two electrical sensors have blown - one to the back windshield and in the past week a sensor failed between the braking system and the cruise control. The dealer often requires multiple trips to diagnose a problem - currently we're trying to figure out why after sitting the car has difficulties accelerating - stay tuned. While the car is great in snow, I have spent more time in the Volvo repair shop in less than one year than I did in 5 years with my cheap Chevy Cavalier - a car that I only changed the oil and rotated tires on. It never even needed a tune-up. Instead, the Volvo is beginning to remind me of my first car - a nightmarish 1988 Toyoto Corolla All-Trac lemon which started out with many "small" issues that grew larger over time. Based on Toyota's warranty coverage and customer service, I swore I would never buy another of their cars. We are already beginning to consider unloading the Volvo after the two year warranty is up if we have any additional troubles this year. To date, while we love the comfort and AWD function in snow, the Volvo has been a repair headache and a great disappointment with respect to repairs.

Similar Products Used: Toyota Corolla All-Trac Chevy Cavalier Subaru Forrester
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
friable   [Jan 28, 2003]
Model Reviewed: XC V70
Strength:

Beautiful, comfortable interior. The creature comforts are there although a number of cosmetic flaws now mar ours wagon. The all-wheel drive and traction control feel like glue in wet weather. The car is a flat out ball to drive on windy roads - think Hwy 1 south of Monterey. Safety features are first-rate.

Weakness:

Oh, the problems. Fortunately, the drive-train problems have been covered and few -oil sump o-ring and power steering leak. We've had the broken driver's door weld which was not covered by the certified car warranty, and the notorious bubbling door panels which are apparently covered if the car is still under new car warranty - ours was not. Twice the climate control blower motor has had to be replaced (warranty, whew), bad radio (not covered), had to replace pricey synthestic power steering fluid, several dash light bulbs out (covered), bad and very squeeky back seat latch (not covered), moistre in side light (not covered), broken headlight wiper (covered only because we caught it before we drove the car off the lot after buying it)and finally, movement in the power front seat due to bad rails (not covered). All this in just over a year. Fortunately, this dealer replaced all the rotors and pads before putting the car out on the lot or we'd be paying for that too - also a pricey job. Be very careful with this model!

This is a beautiful car on first look but it pays to do your homework before buying. We didn't and are considering selling our XC before our three-year warranty is up. We bought it as a certified vehicle and expected much more in terms of service and certainly more in terms of reliability from a Volvo based on the quality of our 21 year-old 240 wagon.

Similar Products Used: Volvo 240 wagon
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 23  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com