Aston Martin DB7 Sports

Aston Martin DB7 Sports 

DESCRIPTION

The DB7 is powered by a supercharged and intercooled 3.2-liter DOHC 24-valve 6-in-line boasting 335 hp partnered with a 4-speed automatic. This car is a rear wheel drive.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 19  
[Jan 09, 2016]
Brandon
Model Reviewed: Vantage Coupe

Strength:

The styling, it is a true masterpiece in automotive art. The engine is incredible and sounds great, especially with the sports exhaust. The ride, handling, and brakes are top notch. The manual transmission suits the car perfectly, it is precise, and has quick, short shifts.

Weakness:

The interior, while well made looks a little dated. The ergonomics are not great, and the clutch is high. The interior is also a little cramped, but I fit so I can'text complain too much. The Nav system is not great.

The DB7 Vantage is an incredible car. The first thing you, and everyone else will notice is the styling. It was beautiful when first introduced and is only getting better with age. As cars are becoming larger are more ungainly, and regulations causing window lines and hoods to get higher and higher, the the DB7 is refreshingly sleek, harkening back to the DB5 and the E-Type, while still looking fairly modern. I also have an E-Type roadster and one thing that made an impact on me when shopping for another collector car was how elegent and well proportioned the DB7 was. It reminded me a lot of a modern day E-Type. The look alone is enough to keep it desirable for generations to come.

However, this car is not just about style, it's about performance as well. The 5.9L V12 is a masterwork of automotive engineering, so good it's still being used at the time of this writing in 2016. Its 420 hp and 400 ft-lbs of torque put it firmly in super car territory for its day and is still quick sixteen years after the DB7 Vantage was introduced. It has a silky smooth six speed manual transmission which controls the power well and is perfectly suited to the engine. The clutch is a high, and on the heavy side, but these are small complaints. It is miles better than the six speed single clutch paddle shift transmission in the Vanquish. I was cross shopping the two cars and the transmission in the Vanquish is its Achillies heel. It negates the 40 hp power increase in the Vanquish over the DB7 because it makes the power hard to access, due to its slow responding shifts, and the rough shifting ruined the whole experience of the Vanquish. When it comes to cars like these it's all about the experience. The DB7 felt faster because I was able to control the car better via the manual transmission. Overall for me the DB7 felt like a better car to drive than the Vanquish. That being said, the Vanquish still is a truly beautiful car as well, another masterpiece by Ian Callum and I couldn't fault someone for purchasing a Vanquish if even just to look at in the garage.

Two areas the Vanquish did impress me on we're sound and handling. The first DB7 I tested did not have the optional sports exhaust. Then I drove the Vanquish and it was night and day in terms of engine noise. The second DB7 I tested did have sports exhaust fitted and it sounded almost like the Vanquish. Still not quite as loud, but close. It really allows you to hear the symphony of the twelve cylinders, and under hard acceleration sounds like a Le Mans race car. There is a long tunnel by my house that I like to go to early on weekend mornings and drive through under wide open throttle in second gear with my windows down, just to hear the incredible noise from the DB7!

The handling and brakes are terrific. The steering is heavy, like you would expect in a high performance car, but never too heavy where it is frustrating. It is well weighted and gives a sense of full control. The brakes can stop the car on a dime and give you change.

The interior is beautifully made with smooth leather, an alcantera headliner, and rich walnut wood. It has easy to read gauges, and I like that it has auxiliary gauges as opposed to warning lights. I know everyone always talks about how it has A/C vents from a Ford and other bits from another car, and so on. I still think it looks nice and everything is integrated very well and suits the car. That being said, mine does not have the Mazda Miata (MX-5) door handles. Those somewhat cheapened the look of the interior. Aston switched to more fitting chrome door handles in 2002 and they do upgrade the look. The optional Nav system which my car is fitted with is pretty terrible. It was a very early Nav system and is overly complicated, has tiny little pixel arrows for "graphics" and almost requires a degree in computer programming to program a destination. I just pretend it doesn't have a Nav system and use my phone for navigation. Fortunately it is the size of a normal head until and the physical unit looks nicely integrated to the cabin unlike modern Nav screens. The stereo system is very good. I'm not sure how many watts it is rated at, but it is definitely more than adequet.

Overall, the DB7 is a vehicle that has already transitioned from a used car to a collectors car, and will soon be considered an all out classic. Many people prefer the looks of the DB7 to the DB9, they made far fewer DB7's than DB9's, and Aston Martin no longer makes the V12 with a manual transmission so you can never get this drivetrain combonation from Aston Martin again. Prices are going up fast, and for good reason. Get one now before it's too late!

Similar Products Used:

Tested Jaguar XKR, Aston Martin Vanquish, Aston Martin DB9, and Aston Martin V8 Vantage before buying.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 04, 2009]
douglasn
Model Reviewed: 2002 DB7 Vantage Volante

Strength:

The V12 sounds great above 4000 rpm, especially that short squirt onto the freeway where you can really hit the power. OK round corners, I lose grip on the rear as I press the loud pedal, but it's easily caught once you know it's coming.

Lots of street appeal, turns heads. I often get asked 'What kind of Jag is that - argh!". Girls love to be taken out to dinner in it.

Weakness:

It's not an Elise, or an Ariel Atom. The seats are not great for 500 mile days. 8 mpg, 13 mpg if I am _really_ carefull. Convertible top is low. Rubs my hair and I am 5ft.8.

Where do I begin. This car is a dream come true. It's not an out and out racer, for that get a Lambo, and it doesn't do bling - get a red Ferrari. It does style, it does comfort, it's a very good mid distance tourer. You can't fit enough luggage for a week long road trip, but for a weekend away it's ideal.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 06, 2008]
edu_antonio32
Model Reviewed: Aston Martin DB7

Strength:

Speed,Handling,Braking,Very Good Looking and quite comfy for a supercar.

Weakness:

If you are tall it will be a quite small inside.

I bought it used from ebay in black.It is a very good GT car.The engine is quite powerfull,it can go really good around corners,the brakes are good and everything.You can push it to the limit and it will respond no problem at all.And it is a hell of a lot of fun on a race track but it is also great for posing.Me I love my Aston Martin DB7.But be carfull if you think of buying one so you do not end up with a repair job.

Similar Products Used:

BMW Z8,Aston Martin V8 Vantage(old one),Jaguar XKR,BMW M6,Chevy Corvette Z06 and well that is it.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 25, 2008]
PHIL BROWN
Model Reviewed: DB7 VANTAGE VOLANTE

Strength:

VERY LITTLE EXCEPT LOOKS.
I'VE AWARDED 1 STAR BELOW FOR VALUE RATING AND OVERALL RATING - MY APOLOGIES I WAS NOT ABLE TO AWARD A ZERO - I'D REALLY HAVE WANTED TO POST A NEGATIVE 10

Weakness:

WOW!! WHERE WOULD I BEGIN?? - ASTON OR STRATSTONE??
The only good thing is becoming so accustomed to the Service Manager that he rings me and seems genuinely concerned on an almost daily basis, (I've at least made a mate out of the saga) that is when they haven't got the car - There again it ain't that often.

ABSOLUTE NIGHTMARE.
PURCHASED NEW MAY 2003 £116007 (apologies for dollar exchange rate above).
ELECTRICAL EARTH BREAKDOWN 1 WEEK OLD.
COMPLAINED ROOF LINING TORN AND OUT OF ALIGNMENT - NEVER ADDRESSED.
SCRATCHED CARBON FIBRE ON DELIVERY - TOUCHED UP WITH A BLACK FELT PEN AT DEALER, CIGARRETTE LIGHTER NEVER WORKED.
HANDBRAKE LIGHT HAS NEVER GONE OFF, REPLACED THREE TIMES.
ONLY THING THAT DOES WORK IS THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT.
DEALER HIKED PRICE BY £4000.00 WHEN HANDING OVER INVOICE. (Remarked people play with the figures on the front of the cars - VERY CLEVER RESPONSE INDEED - Except THE PRICE ON THIS CAR WAS INDEED A COMPUTER PRINT OUT ATTACHED TO & READABLE THROUGH THE WINDSCREEN - JUST AMAZING)!!!
BROKEN DOWN TOO MANY TIMES TO LIST, EIGHTEEN TIMES MAY 2007 TO JAN 2008.
SUFFERS FROM WATER IN FUEL,
4 WATER HEADER TANKS - NOW PLASTIC ONE CHANGED TO BILLET ALUMINIUM.
ACCELERATOR STUCK ON HEADER TANK CAUSING ACCIDENT IN REVERSE. (Stratstone admit sticking accelerator on invoice).
CAR ACCELERATED ON OWN THEN CUT OUT - FOUND WIRING HARNESS RUBBED THROUGH AGAINST CHASSIS.
TOO MANY LAMMA AND OXYGEN SENSORS TO REMEMBER.
ASTON AND STRATSTONE BEYOND TO DEAL WITH.
ECU'S FILLED WITH WATER, BOOT LEAKS FROM 2 YEAR OLD.
NEW STARTER MOTOR FIRST / SECOND YEAR, DOOR HANDLE BROKE FIRST YEAR.
NEW RADIATOR JUST FITTED.
NEVER ONCE ACHIEVED SERVICE INTERVAL WITHOUT A MAJOR BREAKDOWN!!
LAST THREE MILEAGES COVERED BEING 9 MILES / 108 MILES / 30 MILES.
ON EACH OCCASSION ASTON / STRATSTONE PROMISED NO MORE PROBLEMS.
NOW AFTER BEING IN DEALER FOR BEST PART OF LAST YEAR, AND STILL THERE DUE TO LATEST BREAKDOWN ASTON HAVE NOW GIVEN ME A FREE YEARS WARRANTTEE AND ARE NOW REWIRING THE ENGINE BAY. YIPPEE!!
IT LOOKS LIKE I MAY NEED THE WARRANTEE.
THIS VEHICLE IS NOW THE SUBJECT OF WALES TELEVISION CONSUMER PROGRAMME 'THE FERRET' AND 'THE SOUTH WALES EVENING POST'. SEE http://www.itvlocal.com/wales/ferret

THE CAR HAS NOW COVERED JUST 28000 MILES A LARGE PROPORTION OF WHICH HAS BEEN DONE BY ASTON - STRATSTONE CARDIFF ROAD TESTING THE VEHICLE AND HAS BEEN NOTHING BUT A HEADACHE.

IF YOU FANCY ONE YOU MAY BE BETTER OFF THINKING THRICE.

Similar Products Used:

JAGUARS / PORCHE / MERCs / LOTUS

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Oct 02, 2006]
bluemaruder001
Model Reviewed: DB7 Vantage Volante

Strength:

Awesome power wether in normal or sport mode although a noticable difference in sport. Traction control works very well to keep wheel spin to none when activated. The car handles excellent and I love to drive it but I dont get to as much as I would like. I have had no mechanical issues with the car just routine maintenance. I actually get as good gas mileage that my Tahoe does as long as I stay out of the throttle!

Weakness:

I cant find any mechanical weaknesses. Only a couple VERY MINOR cosmetic issues, ashtray door cracked and very expensive to redo all wood trim to match it up so I will live with it and not very noticable anyway. Side window defroster on driver side a little loose and is raised up just a bit. When top folds, a couple wear spots on outside from top rubbing on itself when folded. By no means a deal breaker I love the car and as I stated MINOR cosmetic issues.

I absolutely LOVE my Aston Martin DB7 Convertible. Mine is I belive they call it British racing green with a tan top and tan interior. I have Shopped several different types of cars in this class and found that AML had the best of everything,performance style and reliability.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 17, 2006]
don schefmeyer
Model Reviewed: DB7, 12 Cylinder Convertible

Strength:

Incredible styling, Fits and Finishes are without peer, great acceleration and braking. A total head-turner.

Weakness:

very little head room when convertible top is up for someone over 6 ft. It never saw a gas station it didn't like!

This is the most elegant sports-tourer I've ever driven. The shifting is precise and the gears are so highly torqued that you can legitimately start out in 3rd gear with no problem. This is not a racer like a Ferrari or a Z8, but a work of art. It is a constant pleasure to drive.

Similar Products Used:

Z8; 575M

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 29, 2005]
someone-else
Model Reviewed: Aston Martin DB7 Vantage

Strength:

Looks, Performance, Name, Style, Handling, Speed, Everything

Weakness:

Fule Ecconomy - but expected !

Awsome Vheicle, Outperforms and out accellerates almost anything on the rode, Pricy on fule, but to be expected for performance, NOT a car for Yanks as you guys expect 7 litre engines with no performance ! An awsome perice of British Engineering !, Respedcted and Powerfull, James Bond drives one, need i say more !

Similar Products Used:

Farari Enzo, BMW M3 / M5, Trans Am (Is This A Similar / Performance Car - I Think Not - Crap Car) / Lotus Esprit / Jaguar XKR

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 23, 2003]
ward
Model Reviewed: DB7

Strength:

Design, finish, understated presents, preformance, uniqueness.

Weakness:

can't complain, althought gas mileage and resale thwart all in its class

This car is not for everybody. It's fun to drive , understated , and elegant. How well constructed? About as well as all these high end performance models. I find the Aston Martin ( my second ) to be completely different from any thing in its class. A very unique automobile for a discriminating driver. If you don't like it, its because you don't get it,

Similar Products Used:

Lagonda, 330 GTC, Modena, 465 GTA

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jan 09, 2003]
Booner

Strength:

V12 , Techtronic transmission , Handles like a dream . 175 m.p.h. in no time flat. As long as there isn't too much traffic to dodge !!

Weakness:

Drinks gas like I drink vodka . About 5 miles to a gallon when I'm in a playful mood.Warning lights on drivers side are obstructed by steering wheel. ie can't see them !!

It drives much more comfortable than any ferrari or Lambho. V 12 eats anything I come across .Also it doesn't scream out "look at me". It's a BABE not a SLUT !!

Similar Products Used:

Porsche 911

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 04, 2002]
chris

Weakness:

weight, transmission

This thing needs at least a 5-speed automatic, or the option of a manual. Needs to lose some major weight.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 19  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com