BMW Z3 M Coupe (1999 - 2002) Sports

Z3 M Coupe (1999 - 2002)

(1999 - 2002) The M Coupe is one of the fastest stock BMW ever sold in America, reaching 60 mph from a standstill in only 5 seconds. The suspension has been modified from the M Roadster, and the coupe is 2.6 times stiffer than its topless counterpart.

User Reviews (40)

Showing 1-10 of 40  
Mark Cohen   [Mar 22, 2014]
Model Reviewed: M Coupe
Strength:

Handling , Quality construction, lasting performance, public awareness, Limited production, lasting characteristics at all levels

Weakness:

None as long as you understand and appreciate that this is a true authentic sports vehicle known as a sports car!

I have enjoyed each and every day of ownership during this time I have owned 20+ automobiles all more expensive at first cost none has brought a smile to my face each day I operate.

Similar Products Used: M-6 BMW-seven roll Mercedes that were AMG
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
plnguyen78   [Jul 07, 2006]
Model Reviewed: M Coupe
Strength:

Exclusivity, Controversial lines, S52's sweet aggresive gearing, 50/50 weight distribution, no frills interior, staggered OEM wheels, heated seats, stares and gawks by everyone at the gas station.

Weakness:

Better stereo, small gas tank, people thinking you have a modified z3...shame.

Absolutely incredible. I came from a Boxster S and didn't think I would trade it for this. It's been reliable, comfortable, fast, and truly enjoyable to own. I just wish I could put less miles on this thing.

Similar Products Used: Boxster S, Audi tt 225hp Quattro, 540i,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
diesomber   [Jun 24, 2006]
Model Reviewed: M Coupe
Strength:

It is the M. Fast and unforgiving. Styling.

Weakness:

A lot of the car will break if strengthening upgrades aren't made. Old rear end design. Needs suspension upgrades for serious roadhandling.

It has it's flaws, but definately a pleasure to drive... fast. Not much I can say to add to other reviews of this car... you love it or hate it. Get's as many looks around town as a high dollar exotic, and just as much fun to drive. A lot of work needs to be done to beef up the car for upgrades (diff mount, rear sway bar mounts, rear shock mounts, camber adjustments) but very worth it. To correct a couple of the past reviews... yes you can turn the rear wiper off, and no, the S54 doesn't cost more to maintain... it's just a more potent powerplant. A very capable performer despite it's quirks and intolerance for poor driving skills.

Similar Products Used: Lotus Elise (a go-kart with a Toyota Celica powerplant)... sweet but lacking.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Ket   [Nov 15, 2003]
Model Reviewed: M Coupe
Strength:

Strong character: looks and drive, fun to drive, performance, low operating cost, build quality

Weakness:

Stereo but who cares. Complaint: wish the seats can recline a bit more.

What a special car. I feel the 'love it hate it looks' makes this car that much more exclusive. Most car designs grow old but there is something about the M Coupe's character that I never get tired of. Maybe its the tension in its esthetics that keeps me interested. As mentioned by other reviewers; I love the fact that the M Coupe looks like no other on the road and is trully unique. As a car enthusiast, I trully love the way it drives. The drive is just as special as it's looks. I appreciate the fact that the car takes a bit more skills to manage. A trully memorable drive. It reminds me of the pre '99 Porsche 911s(993). Everything about this car feels right to me; From the steering feel to the thunk when you close the doors. It's also a very practical sports car. Low operating cost. Well at least with the 240hp engine. I could have waited for the 315hp motor but am content with the now older US M engine. It keeps me sane and plus its a little easier/cheaper to operate.

Similar Products Used: Boxster, Audi TT, S2000, SLK, M3, Corvette
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
six7777   [Jul 30, 2003]
Model Reviewed: BMW M Coupe (White)
Strength:

Handling, Power, Looks. the back end on this car is simply awesome. I love the wheels.

Weakness:

Stereo, but I will upgrade that anyway. A little on the small side, but not bad. I wish the seat would recline a little more, I will get used to it. Visibility in some directions is not the greatest.

I have been trying to find a new car, and have driven a couple different models. I had a 2004 Nissan 350Z on order, but wasn't crazy about it. I had driven Corvettes, and looked at the Honda S2000, Porsche Boxster, and Mazda RX8. Didn't even think about the BMW until I drove in a friends 3 series. I then went and test drove a yellow 2000 M coupe, with 36k on it. It was certified, but the dealer wanted $33k for it..I loved the color but I thought the price was high, and they wouldn't discount. I got lucky and found a white one with only 30,000 miles for $28,990. I test drove the car for about 30 minutes and bought it on the spot. There is just nothing else that looks like this car. It is so different, and exotic looking. I really like the fact that I have a warranty on it too.

Similar Products Used: 1993 Acura NSX, 1993 and 1998 Ford Mustang Cobra, 1997 Honda Prelude Vtec
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Geoffrey   [Jul 30, 2003]
Model Reviewed: M-Coupe
Strength:

315 HP very fast, incredable pick-up. Great looking from front, rear and both front and rear angles.

Weakness:

In addition to a few already pointed out (windows, no spare),Rear windshield wiper no off switch, have to stop engine to turn off. Can't lift wipers away to clean front windshield unless turn on and stop in mid- cycle. No factory armrest available, I had to buy an alternate brand that fits factory cup holder.

I just got this car. Had a 96 M3 which was one of best cars ever made and most difficult to give up. The 315 HP in this one, however is superb. Power galore. I still haven't gotten use to the handeling around turns, weight distribution is totally different from the M3 so I find myself feeling like it'll filp. After a month, I got to say it's a very sweet little car. Heads will turn and it will flat get up and go.

Similar Products Used: BMW M3
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Craig   [Jun 20, 2003]
Model Reviewed: M Coupe
Strength:

Driving experience, unusual design, rare (few made), M upgrades, engine, brakes, suspension, transmission, seats, 50/50 weight distribution, solid build, excellent dealer service where I live.

Weakness:

Windows that do not go down all the way, poor interior placement of rearview mirror limits front visibility, no spare, rear hatch rattle (fixed), license plate space provided in front not designed for our plates (I ground my license plate down to fit), limited front seat storage, harsh ride on our poor roads where I live, and some difficulty getting in an out at my age but all is forgiven once I'm driving the car.

It makes me laugh everytime I look at it, and smile everytime I drive it. The M-Coupe is so different from anything else on the road that it fit my need to have a car that is not similar to everything else on the road and is enjoyable to drive. This is my second M Coupe and depending on the day, I find it beautiful or ungainly to look at but always a pleasure to drive. The driving experience is wonderful and makes me feel at one with my car. I don't know if it will become a classic but it is what I want my car to be, unusual in design, dependable, and always a pure joy to drive.

Similar Products Used: Volvo P-1800 (looks only), Karmin Ghia Convertible, Merkur, BMW 525i, BMW 540i, Porsche 912, Porsche Carrera
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Julian Furman   [Jun 01, 2003]
Model Reviewed: M Coupe
Strength:

The oddball looks will keep you (and others) permanently interested. One day I wake up and hate it, the next I love it with all my heart. The fact that I never know how I'll feel that day keeps my love affair indefinitely intact. My car is also the only one in Israel - noone knows exactly how to react! The S54 engine is a peach, managing to be even better than the S50 I had before. It is possible to comfortably use all the power up to 8-9/10 - after that you'd better be seriously skilled to come out in one piece. The ride is sensational considering the focused nature of the car - very pliable and never tiring.

Weakness:

Tiny gass-tank - you'll be on first name terms with your pump-attendant. Rear-wiper has a tendency to ejaculate during acceleration (has happened on both cars) Certain interior fittings feel a bit dated THAT steering-wheel! No 6sp box - gets a bit boomy on the motorway (especially S50 as 80mph in fifth corresponds with 'ugly' noise in the rev-range)

The M Coupe is a unique car. My first, a 2000 car in London, was crashed by my dealer during a service exactly a year ago. I 'upgraded' to an M3, but the ghost of the M Coupe refused to die. A year later, I bought a late-model 2002 car in Germany to ship out to Israel to replace my Subaru Impreza Turbo. There are few cars on the road that have such an abundance of character, and the fact that there are fewer than 2000 in the world, means that they are classics waiting in the wings. I doubt I will ever sell my M Coupe, and I can unconditionally say it is the best car I've ever had. To give you some idea: I ended up paying double the price to import it into Israel. And I can safely say it's the single best decision I've ever made.

Similar Products Used: Many. Boxster S: Talented and 'better' car, but far less character. M Coupe all the way. Audi TT: Hairdresser's car. Sold it after 3 months to buy my first M Coupe. Serious dissapointment M Roa
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Zmostro   [Apr 11, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Z3 MCoupé
Strength:

Incredible push, enormous power, pure driving enjoyment, unique style.

Weakness:

Somebody can't understand it

Hallo everybody, I write this review from Italy. I am really happy to see that this car has been appreciated in USA too. I sold my MCoupé three months a go to buy a 330D because I need to travel a lot for work, but I really conserve an extraordinary memory of this car! Please note: the version that you can drive in USA has power output limited to 240 HP, but here in Europe we have no power limitations, so the engine can put out all its 321 HP. You can't imagine how it feels... this engine howls! It pushes so strong from 1500 to 7600 rpm, without no lessening of his tremendous push. I can't understand people writing negative reviews referring to defects as as an example the insufficient space to disposition in the inside or the not perfect finishes. This car is a true jewel, and on the technical plan it is in a position to outclassing cars more beloveds. A last reference to the noise... someone says that it is excessive. The fact is that this is not noise, but music. An extraordinary music that no other motor, if not enormous twelve cylinders, are in a position to producing. If you can get a non-limited power version, buy it and never resell it. This car is destined to become a piece of great value in future, also in consideration of the fact that has been some sold little and that, however, the new Z4 is totally different; larger, more cured but also heavier and less moving.

Similar Products Used: Porshe Carrera 993 - Porsche Boxster S. Believe me - None even compares.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
PAG   [Jan 03, 2003]
Model Reviewed: M Coupe
Strength:

Power, power, power. Handling, brakes, "tightness". Unique and always will be.

Weakness:

Leg room for tall guys and the rearview mirror blocks right visual field. I wish the sunroof button illuminated to make it easier to find on these warm southern nights.

Coming up on its 4th birthday. No major problems, just little annoying ones. Check engine light came on a dozen times before problem was detected and definitively corrected. Power window motor/regulator failed on driver's side. Hatchback latch busted in first month. Cannot rotate the tires so plan to replace tires every 15- 20K miles. Design problems for me are the rearview mirror is in your visual field when turning hard to the right and at 6'2" I could stand to have the seat go back further. If you are tall and need to make frequent long trips I'd avoid this one. Now that I have that out of the way....I love this car. Predictable power in all gears, extremely tight and nimble, good gas mileage. With the coupe I can put groceries for my family of four easily in the back (I also own an Expedition and don't hesitate to use the M for grocery runs). I haven't put my Golden Retriever in the back yet (with the net up) but I'm sure I could. BMW service has been first class. I still have to explain to people what it is ("Yo dude, what is that?"), which is both annoying and pleasing. I'm hoping they don't continue the M coupe on the new Z4 platform. The 2002 coupes that are left are already drawing 5K over sticker. These could definitely become serious classics in another 20 years.

Similar Products Used: There is no similar product
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 40  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com