Dodge Viper Sports

Dodge Viper Sports 

DESCRIPTION

The Dodge Viper SRT10 boasts a kick-in-the-pants, throw-back-in-the-seat power, combined with benchmark braking, world-class ride and handling, a race-inspired interior and bold exterior styling.

While every SRT vehicle offers balanced, overall performance, the heart and soul of the new Dodge Viper SRT10 is its standout powertrain. For 2008, SRT ups the ante with a new, 8.4-liter aluminum V-10 engine that produces an astounding 600 horsepower and 560 lb-ft of torque.

The Dodge Viper SRT10 is available in two body styles - Roadster and Coupe. Both feature a dramatic new hood with a larger, more efficient hood scoop for air induction and larger, functional hood louvers to facilitate a greater cooling effect for the more powerful 8.4-liter, 600-horsepower V-10 engine underneath.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 31  
[Sep 04, 2010]
Sam Qamar
Model Reviewed: RT/10

Strength:

Immense power on tap, curb appeal, and an absolute blast to drive.

Weakness:

None.

This is a race car. Period. If you like cup holders, suede-lined glove boxes, and a floaty ride, this car is not for you. If you don't enjoy the smell of burning rubber, the cabin heat from a monster engine up front, or a stiff, stiff suspension, you guessed it -- this car is not for you.

BUT -- if you enjoy rocket-like blistering acceleration, the monstrous roar of a V10 tearing the asphalt at 100mph, and the celebrity-like attention from drop-dead good looks, you'll think this car brinks on heaven.

Dodge designed the aluminum block engine with help from Lamorghini, with cues from Formula One 10-cylinder engines. The result is explosive, gut-wrenching power that launches occupants into orbit. The chassis is stiffer than a one inch bar of steel, enabling the car to corner on rails. But beware: an innocent tap on the throttle before exiting the corner and you'll be facing the other way. This is a serious driver's toy, hands down.

So if you enjoy raw excitement, a racecar-built-for-the-road that challenges your driving skills, and incredible attention from babes, minivan-driving dads, and fantacizing adolescents, get a viper. I did, and I love every second I'm in mine.

For those who complain about its gas mileage, its rough ride, and its deafening exhaust noise, please visit try the Dodge Caravan.

Because there are boys, and there are men. The Viper is for the latter.

Similar Products Used:

Techart/Tubi Porsche 997

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 16, 2004]
KaiPL
Model Reviewed: Viper SRT-10

Strength:

Insane power and speed. Incredible handling and grip. User friendly convertible top. Good looking.

Weakness:

Stiff suspension twitchy on rough roads. Driver compartment can become hot after long drives, particularly the footwell area.

The Engine: The engine generates more than 500 horse power and more than 500 foot pounds of torque. The practical result of this is that this car is frighteningly fast. Stomp on the gas in any gear, and you are thrown back in the seat and in a heartbeat you are accelerating like a rocket. The suspension and steering are very tight. The car is incredibly responsive, and I had to pretty much learn to drive all over again. The car rewards you with terrific handling, but only if you really drive it. If you don't pay attention to what you are doing, you can very well end up in the wrong lane in the blink of an eye. Anyone who talks on a cell phone while trying to pilot this car is destined for a very short life. The convertible top is easy to use, and stows neatly with a minimum of hassle. The car is very weatherproof, with no leaks to date. Also, the trunk is reasonably sized, and is large enough to fit a couple of small suitcases. The driver compartment is well laid out, and all of the gauges are easily readable. The tachometer is front and center, as it should be in a proper sports car. Visibility is adequate, but there are significant blind spots behind the driver. The seats are quite supportive, and comfortable. Forward-backward adjustment is very good, as both seat and pedals have significant back and forth adjustment. What is missing, however, is any up and down adjustment of the seat. The result is that taller people end up looking at the top sill of the window rather than having a good view of the road. I am only 5 foot 10, and I would prefer the seat lowered an inch or so. Anyone substantially over six feet tall will want to get one of the aftermarket seat lowering kits, so that they can see out without having to hunch over. If you race, you will almost certainly want to get the seat lowered, as otherwise there really isn’t enough height for you to wear your helmet in the car. One big improvement over earlier Viper models is the addition of a nice adjustable “dead-pedal” foot rest for your left foot. It’s nice for resting your left foot on, and comes in handy for bracing yourself against when cornering hard. The transmission is a six speed, and does its job well. Shifting is positive and easy, and the syncro-mesh handles aggressive downshifting very well, soaking up mis-matched revs quite well. Although the Viper is billed as a “race ready street car” it isn’t quite track ready when you purchase it from the dealer. To make it track legal for many events and venues, you will need to replace the rubber and aluminum “sport hoops” with a real roll bar. A similar issue arises with the stock oil pan. The stock pan wasn’t designed for racing, and will not pick up oil efficiently during high-g cornering (particularly left turns) so if you do a lot of high-g road course driving, you will need to replace the stock pan. My days at the track have taught me that the Viper’s handling is every bit as good as its acceleration. It corners like a mid-engined exotic, and you can have as much fun on the twisty sections as you can on the straight-aways. Adhesion is unbelievable, and you really need the 6-point racing seatbelts just to keep you in your seat while pulling the serious g’s. One benefit of the huge engine is that the torque curve is very flat, with almost all the torque available from about 2000 rpm on up. The result of this is that when driving on a twisty road course, you don’t need to worry about constantly keeping the car pegged at the redline. If you miss a shift, and come out of a corner one gear too high, the engine has plenty of “grunt” to ensure that you hardly notice. The huge brakes were also designed with racing in mind, and will happily put up with long track sessions with lots of aggressive braking with no brake fade whatsoever. Driving the Viper is unbelievably fun. The combination of speed, handling, and noise create an experience like nothing else I've driven. It's kind of like being in control of a really scary roller coaster at the amusement park.

Similar Products Used:

Porsche 911. Corvette Z06. Ferrari 360 Modena

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 11, 2004]
2000vipergts
Model Reviewed: dodge viper gts

Strength:

The look, a true exotic in every sense of the word without the 6 or 7 digit price and all the reliability concerns attached. If you own one every drive through, gas stop, etc leads to a conversation with someone you otherwise would never have met. Obviously the performance I don't think I even need to give any details there. And as another one of our 1 out of 5 reviewers pointed out the low 56 hp per liter. Let's be honest dodge doesn't make the most reliable cars, so if they had 100 hp per liter I am afraid my viper would be in the shop too much to enjoy, so I count that as a strength that dodge knew their limitations. The overall driving experience, this car is always fun, it even makes a ten minute trip to the bank fun. Reliability bear with me on this one I know that this isn't usually listed as a Viper strength, but mine has 33k and has never had major problems and I have heard of Vipers with over 100k and less than $5000 in repairs and maintenance ( excluding tires of course ). Ever hear of any Ferraris like that, how bout lambos ? Also I love the interior and feel it is light years ahead of the c5 corvette I had before. And finally the fact that there isn't one seen around every corner. It is nice to have something fairly rare.

Weakness:

fuel economy, tire replacement frequency and cost. Need of a winter car if you are in a snow area.

If you are looking for the closest thing to a race car for under $100k that your average person can fit in ( the elise although slower is actually closer to a racecar, but I am 6' 185 and couldn't fit ) this car is the one for you. The car does 0-60 in 4 seconds, pulls a full G in the skidpad and averages well over 70 mph in the slalom. That though is just the #'s. What I love about the car is how all those #'s come together to make it just a blast to drive. When driven properly I can't see how a car could be more fun to drive. Fair warning though this car does take two things to drive well, first it takes skill, but secondly and more importantly it takes tremendous respect. If you aren't careful this car could easily lead to serious injury or even death. Note to the reviewer who rated the Viper 1 out of 5 because it almost killed him, it wasn't the car's fault and your rating was not fair to those who may read it and decide against the Viper.

Similar Products Used:

Base corvette, and Z06 corvette, although they really are worlds appart from the viper.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 26, 2003]
mitch underwood
Model Reviewed: ram 1500 5.2 liter

Strength:

plenty of power even with the 5.2.also extremely comfortable.

Weakness:

although i havent experienced any problems with the front hubs i don't like the auto. i prefer the lockouts.

my 2001 ram currently has 105,000 miles on it.to date its only been in the shop once for a recall on an air bag switch.after having my first child i had to purchase a reliable 4x4.my round trip commute to work is 120 miles which explains the high mileage.although this truck sees mostly highway miles its handled many loads of flooring,plywood,firewood,small backhoes and trailers loaded with cars and building supplies.although you may expect many wrenches to be turned with this many miles there havent.only regular maintence.oil every 5,000 and air filter every 15,000 and one taillight fuse.thats it!if it blows on the way to work tommorow i'll never buy any truck without a ram on the hood.

Similar Products Used:

have used fords and chevys all my life but havent seen one cover all the bases like dodge.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 22, 2003]
dodgevpr205
Model Reviewed: Viper GTS

Strength:

450hp before mods... lots of torque. great sound system.. comfortable seats. brings lots of attention.

Weakness:

gas!! little troublesome getting in and out.. but it gets better with practice...

GREAT car!!! lots of fun to drive.. if were to redline in sixth gear, it would reach speeds of 280+mph.(i've tested this on a dyno)it took a while but it got there..3rd gear is fun...

Similar Products Used:

nothing can compare to the Viper..

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 15, 2003]
R Pennington
Model Reviewed: RT10

Strength:

because it is so difficult to drive it has very very low mileage

Weakness:

3 mpg, clutch petal so far left my left knee now has a callous

Very difficult ot drive. neither top fits tightly, can only drive on cloudless day, wife wants the Z-06 back

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 24, 2002]
Tyler Smith
Model Reviewed: Dodge Viper GTS

Strength:

This car is full of strengths, it would take me days to say them all.

Weakness:

this car has no weaknesses!

This is the best car I have ever had! It runs great, this vehicle has the most power I have ever had under my foot ever! But it's not only the power that hooked me, along with the incredible specs comes an awsome, sleek look.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 27, 2002]
JT Whalen

Strength:

Great Speed, Comfort, Sound system, Body design, looks, relatively low price.

Weakness:

High price for a non-lux car, but it's exterior more than makes up for this. If you're 16 and your dad's a millionaire, don't buy this car.

This car is awesome. With a touch of the pedal, you're reeling in your seat, wind blowing through your hair. I bought the RT/10 Convertible model, and it was great. The sound system turned almost as many heads as the sleek body design... I think I may have given them whiplash.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 26, 2000]
Timothy
Model Reviewed: GTS

Strength:

Acceleration, looks....that's it.

Weakness:

Ok here we go, turning, weight, uncomfortable seating, no extras (but it's no big deal), gas mileage (I get about 9 miles to the gallon), iffy brakes, overheating engine, the engine has an annoying rumble, not a cool threatening one....need I say more?

If you want to go in a straight line really really fast, then go buy a Viper. If you want a car that can actually turn, go buy an NSX. That basically sums everything up. This car is a perfect example of how flashy marketing affects the minds of simple minded rich people. This car obviously doesn't have as well of a defined engine as the NSX's V6 masterpeice. This car just sucks. I got rid of it after several weeks. To all you owners out there, you know this car sucks. You're just embarrassed that you spent $80,000 on a POS. Sorry guys, better luck with your next big purchase.

Similar Products Used:

NSX

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[May 22, 2000]
Chris
Model Reviewed: Dodge Viper GTS

Strength:

EVERYTHING! The car has incredible looks (wins car shows regularly), incredible power (trounces anything at the drag strip, including Saleen Mustangs with superchargers), and incredible handling (just watch any of the GT series races where the car dominates Porsches, Vettes, Ferraris, etc.) Easily the most incredible and talked-about car in the US today.

Weakness:

It isn't for the pampered folks that have to have heated seats, traction control, ABS, or even even cruise control. This is a purpose built car that can take it to the track without a single modification.

Around $70K plus a few bucks for the folks in Topeka and Washington, DC. There is NO other car that can compare for the money. You can buy a Mustang and dump a ton into it (Saleen), but will never keep up with a Viper on the track. Same with a Corvette. You can buy a Porsche or Ferrari and impress your friends at the country club, but you will never turn heads like the Viper does. Do I LOVE it? ABSOLUTELY! Would I recommend it? As Ferris Bueller said, "If you have the means, I highly recommend it." (yeah, I know he said it about a Ferrari replicar, but so what! ;o)

Similar Products Used:

Chevy Corvette, Ford Mustang, Buick Grand National, Chevy Impala SS. Definitely the most "basic" of the lot besides the Mustang. Has more power and better handling by a country mile. It is also the wildest design on the road today and gets more attention than a Porsche would if it was on fire.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 31  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com