Ferrari F355 Sports

F355

(1994 - 1999) The Ferrari F355 is powered by a 3.5-liter, 375-hp DOHC V-8 coupled with a 6-speed manual transmission. Top speed is 177 mph and it runs 0-60 in 4.6 seconds. ABS is standard.

User Reviews (18)

Showing 1-10 of 18  
maranello71   [Oct 08, 2003]
Model Reviewed: F355 Berlinetta
Strength:

Revs to 8500 rpm, does 185mph on the autobahn, it handles better than ANY japanese joke-mobile if you have the guts to take it to 10/10ths. It can change from tame around town to savage on the open road just by changing gear 2000 rpm later than usual... very flexible engine, if somewhat low on torque under 4000 rpm. Fuel consumption surprisingly low when cruising on speed-restricted highways (23-25 mpg). Expect 12-13 mpg when charging hard.

Weakness:

Damn expensive to run. People who can't find faults in these cars haven't really driven them. My F355 is very well card for but not pampered, it gets driven hard often in summer. I've had to pay for the "privilege": rebuilt engine at 27,000 miles, including cracked exhaust manifolds and a new clutch. Altogether, it cost me US$15,000. Alas, now I've got a rebuilt engine, and I can't wait to kick a** again!

Fantastic handling, fantastic looks, gorgeous sound, excellent build quality of interior and bodywork. A masterpiece of contemporary art and engineering. Don't believe those who say it's outdated - on Swiss mountain roads as well as on most European racetracks I can still keep up with all my friends driving 360 Modenas. Beware of running expenses though - it does have mechanical weaknesses, like valve guides prone to wear, ditto for main bearings on certain unfortunate batches; also standard exhaust manifolds crack and need to be replaced with "racing" items, much longer lasting and cheaper.

Similar Products Used: Maserati Spyder, Coupe, 3200GT, Ghibli, Biturbo. Ferrari 360 Modena, 550 Maranello. No Porsches, and I'm not interested either.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Airylush   [Aug 06, 2003]
Model Reviewed: F355
Strength:

the beauty can make you dream while you awake. the sounds... just buy then you know.

Weakness:

maintenance is expensive since i am not a millionaire... suitable for my weekends car

you might not agree but for me this f355 is better than 360 modena. it feel more sporty and .... .prefer the six speed manual especially the feel when you click.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ran8987   [Jul 09, 2002]

Outdated. Pick up either a 360 modena or a 550 maranello. Simple.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Ged   [Feb 24, 2002]

3x

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Reyonld Prun   [Jan 19, 2002]
Strength:

I can drive in the air.

Weakness:

I can''t land.

I can''t tell u yet because I see it in my driveway but people are saying it''s not there. They think that I am seeing things but I don''t.

Similar Products Used: Diapers so I won''t go pee pee in my panties while driving I''m deadly afraid of the air.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
2
jamminclark   [Oct 03, 2001]
Strength:

Looks, Power, Performance, Babe pick-up factor.

Weakness:

It is a car that is hard to park and walk away from.

F355, Kick Ass! Want to look very cool? Or how about picking up babes? I took this baby on the A5 Autobahn here in Germany and had it over 300kmh or about 185mph, and it purred like a kitten. Got the cash? Then buy one or if not then pick up a nice Fiat Coupe 20v turbo (they were also designed by Ferrari) while this is not quite as fast as a F355 it will still hit around 160mph so either way you can''t go wrong.

Similar Products Used: Fiat Coupe 20v turbo 0-60 5.8s 162mph Porsche 944 S2 turbo 0-60 6.3s 150mph Audi TT turbo 225hp 0-60 6.9s 145mph Alfa Romero GTV 220hp 0-60 6.7s 145mph
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
FerrariDude   [Aug 24, 2001]
Model Reviewed: Ferrari F355 Spider
Strength:

Absolutely everything. The shape, engine (of course), handling, comfort, interior design. A flawless car to say the least.

Weakness:

Only thing I can think about is the sound system, but who cares. The engine makes all the music I need.

What a car! My father just recently bought this machine home for keeps and I could''nt be happier. The shape of the car is incredible especially with the top down and the interior is comfortable and beautiful. The sound comming from those pipes is amazing especially now that the Tubi exhaust system is on. The sound absolutely makes the car. This baby holds the road like glue. Feel like taking a left turn at 100? Go right ahead. How are the brakes? This puppy can stop on a dime. The F1 paddles are extremely responsive and really fun too. Die hard ferrari guys might feel differently about clutchless shifting, but believe me you have to try it before you can say anything. Stares, honks and girls come no matter where this baby goes. You don''t just drive this car, you become a part of it. Yes, a jap scrap Honda with a few engine add ons that cost a couple hundred bucks can take it on, but it will never ever be a ferrari.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Steve   [Aug 24, 2001]
Model Reviewed: Ferrari F355 Spider
Strength:

Absolutely everything. The shape, engine (of course), handling, comfort, interior design. A flawless car to say the least.

Weakness:

Only thing I can think about is the sound system, but who cares. The engine makes all the music I need.

What a car! My father just recently bought this machine home for keeps and I could''nt be happier. The shape of the car is incredible especially with the top down and the interior is comfortable and beautiful. The sound comming from those pipes is amazing especially now that the Tubi exhaust system is on. The sound absolutely makes the car. This baby holds the road like glue. Feel like taking a left turn at 100? Go right ahead. How are the brakes? This puppy can stop on a dime. The F1 paddles are extremely responsive and really fun too. Die hard ferrari guys might feel differently about clutchless shifting, but believe me you have to try it before you can say anything. Stares, honks and girls come no matter where this baby goes. You don''t just drive this car, you become a part of it. Yes, a jap scrap Honda with a few engine add ons that cost a couple hundred bucks can take it on, but it will never ever be a ferrari.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Stason   [Jul 11, 2001]
Strength:

blistering acceleration coupled with looks that could kill makes the ferrari F355 experience one of the most unique.

Weakness:

F1 shifters need realigning often. Besides a few minor maintenance issues this car has no weaknesses.

What an incredible machine! Overtaking traffic is a pleasure not a chore. The 355 has made me a permanent supporter of Ferrari. Next purchase (hopefully)...the 360 Modena!

Similar Products Used: 911 turbo.......well maybe not.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ben Audet   [Jun 12, 2001]
Model Reviewed: Berlinetta
Strength:

Power (of course, it's a Ferrari), torque, sound, elegance, 6 speed manual transmission...need I say more?!

Weakness:

The fear of this vehicule being stolen or scratched when it's parked away from my eyes... Can I mention the lack of authorised dealers in the area.

I think that this is the most beautifull Ferrari ever built... Sadly it has been replaced by the 360 Mondena witch is also an incredible supercar.

At every places you'll go, at every corners you'll stop, everytime you will push on the mushroom, faces will turn around and look at this masterpiece. Great way to enjoy your day!

This car is farely safe too... I know someone who trashed his 348 spyder (total lost) and hasn't hurt himself!

Similar Products Used: Porsche 911T, Lotus Esprit and Acura NSX witch are great vehicules too but a lot different... The Ferrari taste as something unique.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com