Honda S2000 Sports

Honda S2000 Sports 

DESCRIPTION

The S2000 is a 2-door, 2-passenger convertible sports car, available in 3 trims, ranging from the 6-Spd MT to the CR A/C 6-Spd MT.

All trims are equipped with a standard 2.2-liter, I4, 237-horsepower engine that achieves 18-mpg in the city and 25-mpg on the highway. A 6-speed manual transmission with overdrive is standard.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 122  
[Oct 15, 2010]
Oscar
Model Reviewed: S2000

Strength:

WICKEDLY FUN!!!Amazing handeling, aggressive 2.0 liter engine that screams up to 9k RPM, great seats that hug you when you are driving aggressively, comfortable driving position, one of the best shifters ever!!! Timeless exterior design that never gets dated. Good audio with the top up. Very stiff body that doesn't creek or rattle in any way.

Weakness:

Paint is very soft and swirls very easily with basic washes. Audio is horrible when the top is down.

I cannot say enough good things about this car. It is just a blast to drive. It literally feels like a street legal race car. The car just wants to be driven fast. It makes driving the speed limit feel like a chore since you can actually feel that the car is easily capable of so much more. It has a very stiff chassis that allows very precise and crisp handeling, although the car is not in any way harsh. The interior is just awesome. The seats are very comfortable and nicely designed. The steering wheel is also very nice as it is wrapped in perforated leather, with a very very close steer ratio. Any little movement in the steering wheel will be felt on the car, which is why this car must be driven with finesse..no harsh movement on the wheel or you may suffer some oversteer. The sound system isn't bad. It sound great when the top is up, but as soon as the top goes down, you can forget about music because you will only hear mild distorion. The shifter is just amazing. It is extremely short and precise without having that annoying notchy feeling that comes with most aftermarket short throw shifters. The engine is just a little beast. It has such an aggressive tone once it enters into v-tec at about 5,500 RPM. Although many people argue that the car lacks torque, it definately has alot of power. I was surprised at the way the car puts you in your seat once the v-tec is engaged. I have owned and driven several other sports cars which include a 2002 WS6 Trans Am, C5 Corvette, Audi TT, and a BMW 330CI, and have never driven a car that can give you the exhilaration this car will give you.You will get out of the car feeling exhausted from the rush you just experienced, but will immediately want to get back in for some more. Overall, this is definately one of the best sports cars from 2000-2010.

Similar Products Used:

C5 Corvette, 2002 WS6 Trans Am, BMW 330ci.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 16, 2009]
David Miller
Model Reviewed: S2000

Strength:

Incredibly fast and comfortable. Hugs the road very well. One of the best gear boxes on the market. Great Seats.

Weakness:

Lots of Maintenance items have to be repaired and most problems are not covered under warranty.
Also- not crazy about the dash guages. It would have been really cool in 1985 but now is outdated. I wish they would have done something more classic like the new american muscle cars are using.

Maintenance! Beware of the Clutch!
After one year of ownership, I have to say I have a very mixed opinion on this car. Yes, it is extemely fast and fun to drive. Also it is the most comfortable and has the best steering of any car in its class.
I purchased the car with 13,000 miles on it and have had stupid annoying problems ever since. First the ragtop developed a hole in the passenger side the first 30 days I had the car. This is apparently an ongoing problem with this car and you will notice it has happened on most earlier models. I had to have it patched because the dealer wanted $2,000 for a new top and even though the car only had 13K miles, it was 3 years out of warranty so no luck there. At 21K miles, the clutch developed a problem where at high rpms it could not be pushed to the floor. I had the slave and master cylinders changed out by the local honda dealer under aftermarket warranty whiched fixed nothing and made the clutch start to slip. At 28,000 miles I had to replace the entire clutch!(Not a warranted item.) The dealer wanted $2,200 for a new clutch! To add insult to injury, I was told by two honda dealers that a lot of these cars will go through 3-5 clutches before hitting 100K miles because of the high rpms and low torque, it causes the clutch to slip. If you do the math that's between $6,600 and $11,000 in possible clutch repair! Not to mention having to replace tires and breaks every 30K miles or so. I have owned 4 manual cars since I was 16 years old and have never ever replaced a clutch!
This is an incredibly fun car but I am having a problem justifying the money I am having to put into it.
Be warned- even with Honda's reputation for reliability and affordability, this is a bare bones sports car that requires sports car maintenance at a premium cost!

Similar Products Used:

1995 Jeep Wranger
1998 Bmw 323Ci
1993 Mercedes 300e
2000 Honda Accord

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Nov 27, 2008]
hicabi
Model Reviewed: Roadster

Strength:

Handling. Reliability. Transmission. Engine. Price, for what you get.

Weakness:

A bit loud. A bit harsh. Expected for a car in this class.

I thought S2000 was a toy car, like a Miata. I was surprised when I drove one. It actually is a hardcore sports car. This car, has nothing to do with the rest of the Honda/Acura line. It is rear-wheel-drive, has perfect 50-50 front and rear weight distribution, amazing 4-cylinder engine, and the BEST 6-speed transmission ever made.

As with other Honda's, it is very reliable, has excellent interior ergonomics, and is very well built.

I drove similar cars, BMW Z4 and Nissan 350Z. These cars feel like regular cars compared to S2000. S2000 feels like a race car.

The car fits me very well, and I am 6'1". The trunk, though on the small side, will carry a lot. Soft top is maintenance free.

I like that I won't need to spend a fortune to maintain it when the warranty runs out, unlike a BMW, Audi, or a Porsche. And yet, it handles better than most of these cars...

However, S2000 is not for everyone. It is loud. It has no navigation. It is as pure as a car can ever be.

Similar Products Used:

Test drove: Z4, 350Z. 3-series, Acura TL, TSX, Mercedes C series, E series. S handles better than all of these.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 13, 2008]
Alan
Model Reviewed: Honda S-2000

Strength:

Speed, speed, and more speed. It handles beautifully.

Weakness:

Loud, vibration, tight quarters, uninsulated top.

Great little race car / roadster. It is NOT an every day driver and is not a cruiser. It is all mean little street machine.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 03, 2007]
jeff smeltz
Model Reviewed: S

Strength:

The handeling is very good probally the best I've seen in all of the cars similar i have owned. the braking is also pretty good. i personally love the digital gauges and easy to learn gearbox.

Weakness:

the stereo really sucks, i had to buy a new one the second day i had it but other than that the restis for real all good.

Overall I am madly in love with this vehicle.I've owned mine for almost two years now and am exspecting to buy the new CR model this upcoming year.

Similar Products Used:

My wife has a 2006 BMW z3 and it is alot similar inside and out.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 22, 2007]
JayTheLovely
Model Reviewed: S

Strength:

The handling, style, weight, fast convertible, easy to learn gearbox, sport steering wheel and good on gas.

Weakness:

The WORST thing is the stereo. It is a complete waste. My stereo just out of the blue stopped working. I have taken it to Honda and they done even know what's wrong with it. Also, in the rain be careful, although it is a rear drive car the bridgestone pontenzas are awful when they are wet. The seats also make your back sweaty after a ride on a hot day. They also hurt your back on long trips.

The S2000 overall is an amazing car. I have had mine for about two years now and I am still in love with it. The handling is amazing and the car its self looks lovely. The xenon headlamps at night really give it a more aggressive look. The speedometer is digital, which makes it easy to know how fast you are going without looking away from the road.

Similar Products Used:

2006 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 9
2004 Nissan 350Z
2004 Volkswagen R32
2004 Acura TL 3.2L

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 09, 2007]
Hal
Model Reviewed: S

Strength:

Handling, braking, looks, and comfort.

Weakness:

The radio badly needs an upgrade, I also wish they would have replaced the plastic around the AC knob, and radio controls with aluminum on the dash due to susceptibility of scratches. I would also have preferred if the company offered a sport version with 300hp.

I was looking at the Lotus Elise however after a test drive I was convinced for the price the S2000 couldn't be beat. The Lotus was small and cramped however the S2000 fits like a glove. It is also easy to drive and yet fast enough to have fun on twisty roads and I am also able to use it as a daily commuter. If it had 53 more horsepower it would be an even better automobile.

Similar Products Used:

I have driven BMW Z4, Porsche Boxster, Lotus Elise and owned several Porsches as well as various BMW's and currently also have 2007 BMW

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 22, 2007]
Tristan
Model Reviewed: Honda S

Strength:

Handling. Oh man, the handling on this car is sublime. I've taken it all over the hills up here in NorCal and down Highway 1, the 92, and down to my old LA stomping grounds where I took it up and down Topanga Canyon, Malibu Canyon Road, Temescal Canyon, Kaanan... basically everywhere that is twisty and has lots of dips. I'd taken these routes many times when I sold cars in Boxsters and 350Z's and all manner of BMW's, and this was a completely new experience. Never once did the car feel like it was at its limit; it always felt confident, stable, and eager.

The redline is surreal... it just keeps going, and going. The great thing about the engine setup is that unlike other sports cars, the clutch and the torque is managable enough that it's still a very well-mannered, easy car to drive around cities (I work in San Francisco). You don't dread hills because of the shortness of the shifter or that you're going to accidentally unleash 400 lb/ft of torque into the bumper of the car in front of you (ever driven a Porsche GT3?)

The wow-factor of the car is a shameless ego-boost. It doesn't matter that it doesn't sit on LED-lit 24's or have a $200,000 pricetag: the car has a magnetism on it that gives people pause. Everyone from little kids who have played it in Gran Turismo and Forza, to middle-aged guys who gaze at it thoughtfully when they walk by in the financial district on lunchbreak, to young women sitting in front of cafes and kids in lowriders... there's something about the carefree, adventurous nature of the car and its aggressive but understated lines that really arrest peoples' attention.

There's also, of course, the reliability. If Honda's known for anything, it's their ability to make an engine that runs seamlessly forever. After talking to people who have taken their S2000's over 100k miles I've got no doubt that this really is their crown jewel of technological and engineering prowess.

Weakness:

The stereo is unequivocally the worst factory car stereo I've heard in a modern car (two paper cone speakers and a cheap, simple Honda CD deck) and it skips sometimes when you hit a bump... If you want to improve the sound quality you can have two more speakers installed into the plastic pieces behind the seat but that requires cutting, and they'll be muffled by the seat regardless. The clear plastic back "window" makes it impossible to tell if the car behind you is a Crown Victoria when the top is up (which is rarely, for me). I'm a tall guy (6'2) and my best friend is taller (6'8) and with our seatbacks back as far as they'll go, the rub against the roll bar... also, because of my body (I have a really long torso), it just so happens that most street lights on a two-lane intersection are perfectly obscured by the A-pillars and mirror. But the stereo issue can be rectified, and the other things aren't enough to detract from the fact that this is a really, profoundly amazing car.

Wow. The Honda engineers really knew what they were doing when they made this car. I remember the first time I saw one in 1999 I was blown away and didn't believe that it was really a Honda; I also didn't know how much I trusted them to make a rear-wheel drive sports convertible, coming from a German/English sports car purist family, but, eight years later, I find myself a proud owner of one.

This is the sort of car that a huge number of people *wish* that they had the carefree, adventurous personality to buy. Even eight years after its release, nearly every time I go out, the car gets comments, even in its somewhat-benign gunmetal grey on black color scheme (which I keep polished to a mirror shine with Meguiar's NXT). "Magnificent," "beautiful," "gorgeous," "hot," "sweet," "tight," "perfect," "dope," "hyphy (hey, I live in Oakland)," and the misplaced but well-meaning "cute" (usually handed down by middle aged women). We're taught that when we grow up, we need to throw away all those desires we have in place of things that "make sense." My last car, a 2000 VW Jetta GLX, "made sense" with its four doors, five seats and ample trunk space. It was a great car, and it saved my life in the accident that let me get this car. But at the end of the day, I'm in my early 20's, I'm single, and I don't have kids, so why shouldn't I drive this car? I don't need to move a couch every day and I'm not driving four other people about town or buying groceries for ten. And even when I am, I still want to have this as "dad's car."

There's a certain feeling that you get when you climb into the tight cockpit, unlatch the soft top, and flip the switch to move the top down, then push the big, red "start" button to the left of the steering wheel; if you at all appreciate cars, you'll get it. The transmission hump is high, and the shifter - with its extremely short, precise throws - is within effortless reach. The first time you take this car out and you get on to a freewway offramp where the posted speed is 25, and you take it at 50, and realize that you have only moved the wheel 30% of where it can go and you've got a lot more speed to gain, you've changed as a driver. When you take it out and you're racing someone and they shift and you've still got 4k of usable power left, no other sports coupe is going to cut it for you.

People who lament the road noise, the firmness of ride (I purposely bought the 2000 model because of this), or the lack of things like heated, massaging seats are simply driving the wrong car: there's a difference between a sports car and a sporty car. This is a sports car. An Infiniti G35 is a sporty car; so is a Z4, to compare it to another 2-seat convert. Both those cars are excellent in their own right and throw down respectable, even excellent, numbers in terms of acceleration and track times. But both those cars have aesthetically pleasing interior treatments, they're filled with pretty woods and carbon fiber dash treatments, they've got pretty-looking and functional GPS systems, they've got massaging butt-warmers and seamlessly integrate your bluetooth Blackberry into their sound systems so that you can have a discussion with your business partner over who has the best latte in town as you're driving from point spreadsheet to point HDTV. But this is a sports car: it weighs nothing. It has minimal sound deadening, and the dashboard has a surprising lack of frills and is centered around the driver (a friend of mine commented, after we'd been driving for about an hour, that she realized everything on the dash was in front of me, and not within her reach). If you talk on a cell phone in it, even with the top up, be prepared for lots of "huh?" and "wait, say that again?"

I had it parked in front of a Hotel in LA and had left it with the top down while I was chatting with some friends and an attractive woman with her boyfriend commented that it was "beautiful" as they walked by; they stopped and looked, and I jokingly offered that they could sit in it if they wanted. The boyfriend made a few disparaging comments about it in relation to his BMW 330ci, and I shrugged them off... finally, he asked how much it was and when I told him, he scoffed "oh yeah, I could buy one of these." And my answer, which made his girlfriend smirk, was "yeah, but you didn't." And that just about sums it up... it's the sort of car that everyone wants, but that everyone has convinced themselves doesn't make sense. You either get it, or you don't.

Similar Products Used:

I used to work in car sales, so, everything... Z4, Z3, RX8, the FD3S RX7's, MR2, 350Z, Miata, Boxster, you name it. The only thing that compares and betters this car in the sub-$100,000 range is the Lotus Elise or (drool) Exige, but it's a bigger step in the other direction from the above cars in terms of comfort and amenities. The handling on the S2K shames all of the above cars; and even in situations where acceleration is superior (350Z, I'm looking in your direction) the handling as well as the surreal-high redline puts it back on top in every track test that's ever been done.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 02, 2007]
majr
Model Reviewed: Honda/S

Strength:

For the price, it is as good as any roadster you can get. It is powerful and corners excepptionally well. You can downshift at 80MPH and accelerate, rapidly. It rides very comfortably. We get about 26 miles per gallon, which makes it fairly economical for a car with so much power. It actually has a fairly large truck. We were able to fit a rolling duffle suitcase in it.

Weakness:

It eats up rear tires every 10 - 12,000 miles. My older model has a plastic rear window, which is difficult to see through.

I purchased my 2001 S200 from a dealer in October, 2005. At the time, it had just underr 6,000 miles on the odometer. It rides and handles incredibly well. I took it for a trip around Colorado last fall. It was fantastic driving in the mountains. I wouldn't recommend one for driving in the snow, however. The power makes it hard to control. We drove ours every day and have put over 30,000 additional miles on it. It has never used a drop of oil, between changes.

Similar Products Used:

Ford Mustang, Mazda Miata

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 14, 2006]
itamijin
Model Reviewed: S

Strength:

The best gearbox I've ever used. There is no other vert sports car in the $30k range that you can get with this performance.

Weakness:

kinda flaky in the rain; just need to take more caution being a rear-wheel drive. A slight blind-spot top-up, but just adjust your mirror correctly and look at window when turning. useless cupholder

I purchased this car brand new with 177 miles on the clock. Simply put, there is nothing else you can current get at this price range with this performance and feature. Right now, Honda is practically giving these cars away (last year production around the corner), and they are a bargain to be had. You've read all the other reviews about the car's prowless around the track and the quality-built. It's all true!

I won't repeat the same facts, but my angle is all about price-to-performance (otherwise, everyone would be driving an Enzo). Right now, a fully-loaded new Mx-5, Solstice, or Sky would cost almost as much as a new S2000! Why would you pay for that much for a convertible that isn't even in the same performance league as an S?

If you priced a Boxster with options, it would DOUBLE what an S2000 would cost (remember, the S2000 has only one trim-level, so it's easier to negociate). Do you seriously think that the performance of a Boxster can justify its premium over the S2000?

If you are looking for a brand-new roadster, the S2000 is currently the best deal in town.

Similar Products Used:

350z

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 122  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com