Lotus Esprit Sports

Esprit

The Ltus Esprit is powered by a four-cam, 350-horsepower twin-turbo V-8 with a 5-speed manual transmission. Top speed is 179 mph and 4.4 seconds is the waiting time to get from 0-60 mph. ABS is standard.

User Reviews (24)

Showing 1-10 of 24  
Lotus540ia   [Aug 22, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Esprit
Strength:

Drives like a true RACE CAR!! Handles like it's glued to the road, and accelerates like a F-18 on afterburner when full boost kicks in!!

Weakness:

The car REALLY needs a limited slip dif. and BETTER brakes (unless you have the AP racing brakes that came on the 2000 and newer cars).

This is my second Esprit. There is something about owning an Esprit. It's really a love/hate relationship. But in the end....it's much more on the Love side. When I sold my first Esprit, I thought I was done with buying another Lotus. However, after looking at so many other great cars out there...I came back to the Esprit one more time. You get the most bang for the dollar in terms of performance and style. I love it!!

Similar Products Used: Ferrari, Porsches.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
TitusR   [Jun 18, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Esprit Final Edition
Strength:

FAST: Fast as she was she's extensively modified. Imagine a heavily modified twin turbo 3.5L V-8 in a 3,150lb car. About 480 HP.

Weakness:

She got a weak spot for tall blondes.

Rare and fast. Bought her because she was the last of 35 brought into the US. Imagine the appreciation. Could have a Ferrari or Porsche but too common. this car stops traffic.

Similar Products Used: Porsche, Nissan Z, Vettes
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sobemike   [Apr 27, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Esprit V8 25th anniversary
Strength:

Powerful, beautiful, exotic and rare...A true driver's car. Closest thing to a race car. Best bang for the buck in the exotic world.

Weakness:

Only weakness this car has is bad reputation that it has been carrying over from 10-20 years ago.

After wanting a Lotus for over ten years and driving Porsches as a substitute (since no bank would finance these cars back then) I finally picked up a 02 Silver anniversary edition. These cars are unbelievable and for all of those who say these cars are crappy, guess what? they are not...

Similar Products Used: Porsche RS America (Porsche does not compare in being as exotic as a Lotus).
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sobemike   [Apr 27, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Esprit V8 25th anniversary
Strength:

Powerful, beautiful, exotic and rare...A true driver's car. Closest thing to a race car. Best bang for the buck in the exotic world.

Weakness:

Only weakness this car has is bad reputation that it has been carrying over from 10-20 years ago.

After wanting a Lotus for over ten years and driving Porsches as a substitute (since no bank would finance these cars back then) I finally picked up a 02 Silver anniversary edition. These cars are unbelievable and for all of those who say these cars are crappy, guess what? they are not...

Similar Products Used: Porsche RS America (Porsche does not compare in being as exotic as a Lotus).
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Lynn Miller   [Jan 19, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Esprit Silver Anniversary
Strength:

I love the new exaust systems tone. The interior appointments such as the silver stitching on black leather is fabulous.

Weakness:

I've had few problems so far. The paint on the rear bumper right above the exaust tips is bubbling due to the heat I guess. I'm sure the dealer will take care of it. The new Alpine sound system is too complicated.

This is my fourth Lotus and my third Esprit. I've had a 95 S4s Montery Edition, a 98 V-8, and this current gorgeous silver beauty. Of the three Esprits this is the best by far. The new exaust tone is awesome and the power and head turning beauty is second to none.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Randy   [Nov 23, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Esprit SE Turbo
Strength:

Great cornering and speed.

Weakness:

Little rough in the suspension, but not any worse than a corvette,but then it is race tuned suspension.If you hit a hard enough bump it will turn on your wipers.Also turbos do not like high altitude.I can live with that!!!!!!!

Very quick car! Love to here the turbo kick in when punched.Turns heads as quick as my 23" T bucket.Car is great on the highway.If you have one, download freescan from www.andywhittaker.com for your laptop,you can diagnose your car. Great tool and its free.

Similar Products Used: 73 corvette,1930 five window coupe rod,23 T bucket rod,1930 2 door sedan rod
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
solar25   [Jul 24, 2003]
Model Reviewed: s4s
Strength:

The nicest drivers exotic car you can actually drive alot! Infinite greatness that cant be summed up here!!

Weakness:

I just wanna keep on washing it driving it rubbing it driving it.... obsession isnt healthy!!

Totally Awesome. Totally reliable. One of the nicest cars on earth. A true drivers exotic. Do not expect a honda mayonaise product(nsx)or a bubby vw(porsche) . This is a real car, with incrdible leather and wool and wood. And no gadgets or digital readouts. Just the nicest fastest, most beautiful car on the road. Peeps who dont like the lotus usually think a lexus 300es is great. It is fast, light, efficient, and rare. You wont see lotus esprit with dings like fcars and porches. Its body is 5 times stronger than steel. One of the most incredible cars on earth.

Similar Products Used: 911, 928, 348t, 308, 92 diablo, misc. luxury sedans
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ron Mamtani   [Jul 02, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Porsche 911 turbo
Strength:

fast.

Weakness:

there is no substitute.

this car will have hit 120 by the time you are finished reading this sentence.

Similar Products Used: see above.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Marten Hutchison   [Mar 12, 2003]
Strength:

Potent 4 banger, more reliable than I expected. Delco FI parts, easy to source with some research i.e. cross reference to '90 Chevy 350 FI system. BRILLIANT handling at speed. Lots of good internet support. Strategically placed rubber plugs that don't seem to serve any purpose until you really need them i.e. in the engine bay relay box the one under the boost control valve is for the TDC marker.

Weakness:

Unless your a reasonably competent shade tree mechanic with a good tool box (i.e. you own a multimeter and know how to use it), you're in for some repair bills and head aches.

Until I bought one, the only time I had seen an Esprit in person was at Road Atlanta in 89, Pure Sports Racing Team. Bought it with 9000mi, now at 53,000mi, drive it every day, never baby it, USE IT (culls out the weak stuff).

Similar Products Used: 3 VW Rabbits (4 wheels, doors, burns gas, refered to as a car, etc.)
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
DKOV   [Dec 10, 2001]
Model Reviewed: Esprit Turbo
Strength:

Legendary Lotus handling. Nothing better. Track and Daily driver. Always a conversation starter and ice breaker. Lotus Owners, in general, are a very grounded group of Exotic car owners that go a long way in defeating the snobbish attitudes normally associated with cars of this caliber. Every Lotus Owner I have met is happy to share, polite and enthusiastic about their cars. I love being part of that crowd.

Weakness:

Rattles. Lack of local service techs and parts. The biggest weakness is simply the LACK of enough SUNNY DAYS to really let this car go!

Frankly, I love this car. Most important to me in owning any vehicle is Uniqueness and every car I own or have owned absolutely must fall in this catagory. Even the 2000 Dodge Durango I currently own is custom and tuned to over 500 HP. However, my Lotus Esprit Turbo is absolutely the most unique vehicle I own. Since I have lived in this area, some 25 years, I have NEVER seen another Lotus Esprit Turbo outside of a show- room. That is saying a lot for a Cities like Seattle and Portland. Acceleration is amazing. The sound is incredible. The looks are gratifying. What more could a Lotus owner possible want? Two or three more of these magnificent cars

Similar Products Used: Purpose built GT3 & GTP Race Cars F355 Berlinetta 330 HP highly custom Pontiac Fiero
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 24  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com