Mazda RX-7 Sports

Mazda RX-7 Sports 

DESCRIPTION

The RX-7 is available with a 1.3 liter turbocharged rotary engine that products 255 hp. It comes with 4 wheel disc brakes with ABS and choice of 4 speed automatic or 5 speed manual transmission.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 127  
[May 16, 2007]
Jonathan Oppenheim
Model Reviewed: rx7 base

Strength:

High revs, good power, tight handling, turn head styling, exhaust tone.

Weakness:

poor mpg, overheating=rebuilt engine, hard to find and expensive parts, labor prices, interior rigidity

Overall, the Rx7 is a great vehicle. It's sleek and aggressive styling is one in a million. There are also so many options and models available that no two Rx7s are alike. It's an exotic sports car at a reasonable price.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 14, 2006]
Mary
Model Reviewed: Mazda Rx7 CONVERTIBLE!

Strength:

fun, targa top, great handling EVEN in wet weather! rotary communities!!!

Weakness:

parts availibility (convertible flaw),
trunk space (convertible, enough space for somethings but dont expect much), roof noise! it makes noise while up!! common electrical issues (mostly fixable ones),
specialty rotary engines, specialty rotary mechanics,
2seater (obviously not a family car)....
roof leak (maybe a clogged drain?)
reliability (its not like a piston engine that warns you its tired, these more or less just die)
finding general parts (spark plugs, fuel filters, fuel injectors, etc etc etc)

ill start by specifying i own a convertible. many things are specific ONLY to the convertible (esspecialy parts) the convertible weighs more than the hatchback and therfor gets less fuel economy, but also its a rarer car and things such as the tail lights, fenders, hood, wiper switch, seats, etc etc etc are speecific parts you can ONLY get by finding another convertible or paying out the butt to mazda for it ($500/per tail light for example) but many of the parts are discontinued! ..... the car is fun to drive, a real nice cruiser!!!
the rotary engines are very finacky and for the right person its much loved! what i love is these special engines have created many enthusiasts groups and youll probably have one or more in your area whom you can get help from about common issues and how to fix etc etc.... this car with its specialty rotary engine really inspires one ot become a home mechanic (since its hard to find a specialist, and since theyre a specialists they want a lot of money!!) ..... the insurance rates on this car are much cheaper than other sports cars.
emissions testing CAN be tricky but usualy with proper maintanance etc youll be fine (the 86-88 mmodels have THREE CATS!!)

Similar Products Used:

toyota mr2, pontiac sunfire, nissan 300zx, pontiac grand am,

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Sep 04, 2006]
raamis
Model Reviewed: rx7 twintrubo

mazda rx7 in my opinion is the best import out there

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 03, 2006]
vixen
Model Reviewed: convertible NA

Strength:

handling, fun, easy to drive, rides great

Weakness:

limited rear vision when top is up (convertible), minimal trunk space (convertible, it has about enough room to put in two large packs of toilet paper, usualy enough space for my groceries) .... car only seats 2 (im not a family anyways), engine usualy dies with no warning, expensive to get a rebuilt engine cuz it requires a specialist, engines reputably get about 200K kms outta them, lots of electronic problems, loud car, roof squeks while up

good car. handles well, the roof has a unique targa top design.
good use of 140HP, its embarrassing cuz my sunfire is also 140HP and i notice the difference in acceleration!!!
the car has weakness however such as its specialty rotary engine, no one knows crap all about how to deal with them so.... you get a few specialists in your area and they charge out the bum for service, then you have mazda who sees them charging outragously and so of course they have to go even higher ..... half the time mazda does not even support their own vehicle anyways!!!
the hatchback has lots of room for travel and all, and lots of visibility, where as i keep crying on how i could never have room in my convertible to go boarding.
im currently trying to sell the car, i know ill miss it but i cant deal with the pressure of dealing with specialists and whatnot for this car, for this price i would rather spend it on a newer sports car that people know how to fix. personaly i would rather get a non convertible vehicle as i cant stand buying a new roof every few years, and i cant stand the visibility restriction everytime i try and back up.

Similar Products Used:

toyota MR2

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jun 22, 2004]
slider
Model Reviewed: RX-7 Touring Edition

Strength:

Astounding cornering, steering feedback, light weight, street-legal go-kart. Many mods available to increase performance and reliability. Looks nicer and is a better performer than the new RX-8.

Weakness:

Early 1993 models were shipped to U.S. with the wrong ECU's that would cause stalling at stoplights for no apparent reason. Inadequate cooling system. Poor paint finish. Moonroof tracks can come loose. Squeeze-cast aluminum parts (suspension, wheels and tunnel brace) fractured during perfomance driving.

The third generation RX-7: What a car! I bought the 1993 model with 9000mi on it. It was one of the first batch shipped over from Japan. Huge reliability problems (I listed them below). This poor car was in and out of the dealer so many times (I cant remember the number) in the 5 months I owned it. I eventually had a sit-down meeting with a factory representative from Irvine (Mazda America's H.Q.) and he told me they had done all they could to fix the car and wouldn't buy it back from me. Long story short: I picketed with family and friends outside the dealership and in 3hrs (we were killing their sales!) they took back the car. I bought a 1994 model new from another dealer and it did sooo much better in the reliablilty dept. I picked it up with 17 miles on it for $28000: a bargain! With that said, this car absolutely rocked when it ran. I've never had so much fun in a car in my life, and I've had my share of performance cars. The RX-7 was a go-kart for the streets. That little 1.3liter motor (the same displacement as a Harley Davidson Evo motorcyle engine, for those who didn't know) just screamed to its redline. Awesome handling, awesome brakes, awesome steering feedback. I blew away anything that wanted to challenge me: corvettes, mustangs (a joke), Nissan 300zx TT's, even a viper that some baby-boomer couldn't handle. And thats just the tip of the iceberg. To really explore this car's potential you need to take some racing classes and learn about cornering, apexes, weight transfer and such. There weren't many available when I had the car, but now there's no excuse for not going. You'll be glad you did.

Similar Products Used:

1989 Mustang 5.0, 1993 Formula 5.7, 1994 Mustang GT 5.0, 1994 RX-7, 1994 Supra TT, 1997 BMW M-3

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
[Aug 24, 2003]
Jack
Model Reviewed: RX7

Strength:

Great engine, best looking car in the world(to me :D)

Weakness:

Overheating, spent more on parts where i could have bought a brand new RX7 on Ebay for twice less money

Well if your gonna go, go MAZDA. I bought this car without the engine in it. The car dealership was about to take it apart and recycle it till i came along and saved this beauty. The whole car had everything except an engine adn a nice paint job. Everything else was in good condition. Anyways I ordered a brand new 2 by 2 rotary engine from Tokyo and had a mechanic shop nearby put it in. So the engine arrived and they had to convert it to right-side drive which also took them forever. I finnaly got to drive my masterpiece after 2 months and I loved it until my rear tire blew out which is where i realised the car had been sitting at the dealership for over 5 years in hot steaming sun. So I buy brand new Konig rims and nitto tires and go for a drive after 1 week and beat a nissan 300zx which was upgraded pretty good. I get back home....pop the hood....wooosh!!! smoke everywhere like it was a damn chimney. So I realised the damn thing is overheating also. I truly love this car but if your gonna buy a MAZDA take care of it and dont overestimate it.

Similar Products Used:

Nissan Skyline R-34 GT-R V-spec II. Toyota Supra Twin turbo RZ. Shelby Cobra.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jul 11, 2003]
Nate
Model Reviewed: R1

Strength:

A huge plus for me is that Mazda has a great grassroots racer support program (see mazdamotorsports.com). All it takes is autocrossing twice a year and submitting your results, and you can get any drivetrain part for 50% of what the dealer would charge you. Other strengths include LOW price due to a poor reliability reputation, great power-to-weight ratio with the potential for HUGE power, perfect pedals for heel-toeing, exotic looks, beautifully neutral handling, no OBD-II computer, lots of aftermarket support, ability to humble cars that cost 10 times as much.....essentially the epitome of a true sportscar.

Weakness:

Since these cars were only around for such a short period of time, most Mazda dealers are horrible at repairing them. Therefore you're much better off doing the work yourself or finding a rotory specialty shop. Other weaknesses include cheap door panels that tend to crack and break, sensitivity to overheating combined with stock coolant seals that tend to leak (aftermarket teflon seals solve this, but require a rebuild), an extremely complex vacuum hose system to run the sequential turbos (aftermarket single turbos solve this), a list of simple "reliability mods" that should be done to every car as preventative action, higher oil usage than most piston engines, weak 5th gear sychros and due to the torquing of the engine and the gate design, a tendancy to accidentally shove it into 5th gear instead of 3rd on quick shifts, tendancy to wheel hop on launch which can break parts, some cars have a 3000rpm stumble when warming up (aftermarket EMS solves this), no stock boost gauge and poor temperature gauge.

In reading the other reviews, I think there's things that need to be said. First of all, if you are used to a no-maintenance car such as a Honda, this is not for you! For example, this car is equipped with an oil injector which pulls from your main oil supply, so it requires that you keep a close watch on oil levels. Also, by being a turbo car, it's necessary to properly warm up AND cool off the car after driving. Hop in and immediately floor it to redline, and you'll be buying new parts very quickly. Plus rotaries are more sensitive to overheating and detonation than their piston equivalents. If you are in the market for one of these cars, do yourself a favor and do some research beforehand. There are very specific things you should look out for when purchasing one. The information is readily available on the internet, and there are great forums full of information, such as rx7club.com. Also, this is not a car that you can just throw parts at without doing your research. Due to the lack of a MAF sensor (which is good since it increases intake flow), just changing the intake and exhaust starts putting you in danger of harming the engine. That being said, if you're willing to properly take care of the car, you can NOT beat it for the money. With only roughly 13 thousand imported into the US over 4 years, it maintains somewhat of an exotic appeal. People that don't know them mistake them for everything in the world but a Mazda. They handle wonderfully neutrally...one of the last cars I'm aware of that didn't build in vast amounts of understeer to protect the dumb drivers. Lift out of the throttle or get in the gas too hard in a turn and the back WILL step out. And then the engine is an engineering marvel. At just 1.3L it is still capable of reliably putting in excess of 400 and 500hp to the wheels on pump gas with aftermarket turbos and proper tuning. In summary, if you're a true enthusiast, willing to learn about the car and meticulously maintain it, for not much money you can get a true overachiever, whether it be for autocrossing, track days, drag racing, or even just commuting.

Similar Products Used:

3000GT, Mustang GT, '86 Mustang SVO

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 05, 2003]
bob
Model Reviewed: Rx7 Twin Turbo

Strength:

Strong Strong engine, once your turbo's spool up hang on tight. Mazda had little trouble with the 93 and 94 models but they perfected the 95 model. The engine produces a lot of power but at the same time is capable fo taking you on a smooth ride.

Weakness:

Heatness, the engine heats up really badly. I've had trouble turning on my car couple of times because it was too hot. Another problem you might have is with the back tires. Rear wheel drive causes the tires to wear out pretty fast, and it sometimes makes it hard to control around corners.

If you are looking to purchase a car, you need to be looking for an rx7. THis car will give you a rush of a lifetime, beware if you have a weak heart. Inside and out the car is very beautiful, people that havent' noticed you before will all of sudden show up asking for rides .

Similar Products Used:

Supra twin turbo, 300zx twin turbo

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 18, 2003]
charles smith

Strength:

Ok gas milage not the best but not bad at all it rides smooth never had much problems runs great and it is a looker where ever i go people look and watch

Weakness:

BAck tires wear out quick (if u do burnouts) so i switched to toyo tires

This is the fastest car i have ever had in my life. It topped off at 175 mph on the street (thats with nos) if you are looking to buy a nice and reliable car to soupe up this is the one to buy. I got the car pretty cheap and it runs awsome. And if your are into fast and the furious they used this car ( vin desil)

Similar Products Used:

nothing thats even close to such a good vehicle

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 28, 2003]
Chad
Model Reviewed: Mazda RX-7

Strength:

Great handling, cheap, get about 50-75 hp with $250, fastest car on the road.

Weakness:

Has a tendency to run hot and has problems from time to time, but what can you expect, it is a rotary.

This is a bad ass car!! I have raced many cars and I would have to say this is the one I have been looking for. Every car I have raced in this car has gotten beat. The only thing that has given me a good race is a Nissan 300ZX TT.

Similar Products Used:

96 Toyota Supra Twin Turbo 91 3000GT VR-4 Twin Turbo

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 127  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com