Mitsubishi 3000 GT Sports

3000 GT

The 3000GT has a few powerplant choices; a 3.0-liter, 161-hp SOHC V6, a 3.0-liter, 218-hp SOHC V6, or the twinturbo-charged 3.0-liter, 320-horsepower SOHC V6. Choose between a 4-speed automatic, a 5-speed or 6-speed manual transmission. ABS is optional.

User Reviews (155)

Showing 1-10 of 155  
The White Pearl   [Apr 09, 2008]
Model Reviewed: 3000GT SL
Strength:

negotiates turns really good, speeds up and responde fast when demanded. The look of it is beautiful

Weakness:

no room in rear sits

I have had my 3000GT close to a year now, I absolutely love it, The first time I drove I pushed it up to 125mph and ended up in France, lol, the car responded extremely well I was amazed. The person that had it before me was the original owner and it kept it in really good condition. It sits low just the way a sport car got to be, plenty of room for the driver and passenger, takes the turns and curves really good, I really like it when I come out of the turns and curves because the car is ready to take off!!! Before I made the choice I did a little KBB review and the car falls in the Excellent Condition Category, paying that money was totally worth it, one of the few good investments I ever made. The look of the car is great it is much better than the Stealth. This car is very unique too bad they don’t make them anymore. Best car I ever had, will not sell for nothing, even thought I have been offer really good cash for it (more than what I paid)
Someone might say the rear sits don't have room, but hey who needs them anyway...wanna carry around people buy a minivan jmust like i did.lol the White Pearl (3000GT) is just for me and my lady

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sidney cobb   [Feb 05, 2008]
Model Reviewed: 3000 gt
Strength:

nice body style and just enough room!!!

its just a heep at the time,hoping to put it on the atl motor speed way b 4 july!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
loyd carey   [Jan 10, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Mitsubishi 3000gt sl
Strength:

Engine, the electronic control suspention and the power botton

Weakness:

back seats are kinda small and not to much room for my alpine type R's

My 3000GT SL is absolutely amazing! It's jet black and you could consider it a jet for being completely stock! The fastest i got it up to is 140mph then i let off.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
brandon   [Jan 10, 2008]
Model Reviewed: 3000gt sl
Strength:

fast for a stock car.

Weakness:

the back seats there is no leg room.

Realy nice I have owned the car for about 3 weeks now and I realy enjoy it. I realy want to upgrade a few things but im not sure what i would like to buy. If anyone has any suggestions then email me and tell me what i could do! brandonwagner.08@yahoo.com

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
peralez2383   [Nov 09, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Dodge Stealth ES
Strength:

Modern looks
Runs very smooth

Weakness:

No torque
Heavy
Discontinued parts

I absolutely love my Stealth, which in my opinion is better than a 3000GT, because it is even more rare. Not only that, it looks better

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
motojoe86   [Jun 11, 2007]
Model Reviewed: 3000GT SL
Strength:

-Very quick with high top speed
-Excellent Gas Mileage given its power
-Great handling and predictable characteristics
-Very reasonable to buy used now for the performance they give you
-Great looks, timeless and will look great in 20 years

Weakness:

-Expensive upkeep and costly to repair when needed
-Harder and harder to find with low mileage
-Rotors have a tendency to warp, I highly recommend getting some well vented and drilled rotors when it comes time for replacement

Okay, I will start by saying this is my second 3000GT, my first one was a 96 VR-4 which was absolutely phenomenal but I ended up getting rear ended and totalling it out. After that I bought a 99 mustang cobra (which didnt compare whatsoever in any category). I had a few other cars after that and finally I came across an extremely good deal on an SL and I had been wanting another 3K anyway. On the way back from picking it up, I hit 158 mph on the highway, bone stock N/A 5 speed. Since then I have added a full exhaust, test pipe, intake and other misc and it hits near 165 and gets there fast. And the most amazing part is, I can get nearly 30 mpg on the highway taking it easy. It has very stiff suspension but its a sports car and is supposed to. It handles absolutely amazing and turns heads everywhere it goes. It has a lot of room up front, but the back seats may as well be for circus midgets only (would still be uncomfortable for them). Just an unbelievable car in every sense of the word.

Similar Products Used: 96' 3000GT VR-4, 99' Supercharged Mustang Cobra, RX-7 Twin Turbo, 94' Corvette
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rocco Bocciagalupie   [Mar 02, 2007]
Model Reviewed: mitsubishi gt 3000
Strength:

looks,fuel economy,handling,seat posture.Solid tranny.

Weakness:

In sport mode ride is rough but is expected. Parts are expensive but worth it.

Bought this car when it had 63000 miles on it.I now have 130000 miles with only tune ups and scheduled repairs.I use only synthetic lubercants in it . I'm replacing the front brakes on it for the first time. More expensive to maintain but well worth it. Its the SL model with thrust master exaust and KN cold air cleaner. I get no worst then twenty miles to the gallon and all around about 25 mpg. The power and handling of this car got me out of at least five freeway accidents. Once got it up to 130 mph and let off. I never been a car that you could step on the excelerator at 70mpg in 5th gear and pass another vehicle feeling like you just dropped it a lower gear. Got to be carful with this car, other sports like to chalange you.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
G35RJ   [Sep 08, 2006]
Model Reviewed: 3000GT SL
Strength:

-Timeless exterior styling
-Power of an NA engine
-Handling
-Driver oriented gauges
-very little torque steer

Weakness:

Find a good shop to take care of this car, Wynn's motor in SF is an excellent place. These cars are hard to work on, and it takes a shop that knows what they are doing.

This is my second 3000GT. The first one I sold with 124k and I've got about 140k on this one. The only car that give me the same POWER feeling is my G35. On the freeway this car pulls strong all the way to 148mph, not to mention its stable thanks to the weight. On the street or in stop and go traffic, the car is very easy to drive. I've modified this car, and with each mod you can feel the difference. Aside from the power, I can take turns faster and more confidently than today's cars. The FWD is really easy to anticipate and pulls you through every turn. It helped that I put 245/55 on this car, but with its super low center of gravity, when it says 35 at a turn, you can do about 70.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
SPCHOTBOI   [Aug 17, 2006]
Model Reviewed: 3000 GT
Strength:

fast, looks awesome!

Weakness:

cost of mods and im affraid of anything going wrong.

I bought htis car after looking online for new motorcycles. I had just sold my Honda CBR 954 and I saw this car for sale cheap i had to buy it. since then girls love it and want to ride all the time. I love the accelleration and the sound to teh turbo is the bomb!! It has 140000 miles but with the turbo its definately worth more than i paid. it was a steal, i look to sell this one and purchase a 1999 one as soon as i get the csah up because i dont like high miles.

Similar Products Used: Suzuki GSXr 1000, Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX, Hyundai Tiburon GT V6, Honda CBR 954, Ford escort zx2
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
NavAv   [Dec 04, 2005]
Model Reviewed: 3000GT base
Strength:

Handling 20 gal gas tank Looks Power Fold down rear seats Just a darn comfortable car!!

Weakness:

Headlights are in a plastic fixture, and this plastic has yellowed over the years in the desert sun. Car is white, which may be the problem with the yellowing. Cost of new lights is over $600 per!!!!! Nothing else I can think of.

My base GT has 142000 miles, and I've owned it since new. It travels the interstates mostly, and that is why it has original timing belt (I know), plugs, brakes, clutch, etc. I put new shocks and struts a few years ago. On my 3rd set of tires. Two days from now it goes to the original dealer for the belt, plugs, CV joints, and whatever else it needs. I LOVE this car!!! Have driven CA to New England, FL and back three times since '96. Can go 500 miles between gas stations if need be. I get 28 mpg, with some over 30 last summer. Plenty of room for luggage and golf clubs with the back seats down. It looks GREAT, and handles beautifully. My max speed was 135 a few times, and that was all it had. But you will feel very comfortable at high speed in this car. I regularly run it up to about 120 for a mile or so. Will be interesting to see what the top will be after the pending tuneup. It has plenty of power for non-turbo V6 IMO. Has climbed Vail and Loveland passes (CO) in summer, 5th gear with AC on, and kept up the speed (75 usually) just fine. I rarely slow for curves. When I got my second set of tires, I got the wheels chromed. That really makes it look sharp, and you keep your original Mitsu wheels. After putting the money into it this week, I will probably be keeping it for another 9 years!!

Similar Products Used: '94 Acura Integra GSR (Good car, but not a 3000GT)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 155  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com