Nissan 300ZX (1984 - 1996) Sports

300ZX (1984 - 1996)

The 300ZX is available with two motors, the first being a 3.0L 6 cylinder with 222 hp and the second a 3.0L Twin Turbo 6 cylinder with 300 hp. Other options include a 5 speed manual or 4 speed automatic transmission. ABS is standard.

User Reviews (189)

Showing 1-10 of 189  
DE   [Feb 06, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Nissan 300ZX NA
Strength:

Ride, Steering, Gear Box, Comfort, and style.

Weakness:

Compared to today's cars it needs about 50 more horses.

I bought this car from a retired banker. He had owned it for 12 years and the car han only 35000 miles on it and was in excellent shape. The is the most enjoyable car I have ever owned. I have a 1982 Vette that I have restored and it is a fine car, but the 300ZX does everthing well. I wish Nissan still made it. There is not a car that compares for the money. I plan on buying another one!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
JNismo   [Apr 21, 2008]
Model Reviewed: 300zx Twin Turbo
Strength:

God created highway 1 for cars like this.

Weakness:

Hard to hear the stereo driving over 120 with the top off and a bit cramped for having sex in, but it can be done. But I would say finding a competent mechanic is crucial, don't let just anyone work on it. The price thing has been mentioned.

I just love this car. Nothing makes me happier then smoking $100,000 dollar Porches with a 15 year old car. I have mine a little under 500hp and nothing on the road can touch it. I get compliments all the time from all types of people, not just high school kids when I had my Mustang. Once had a police officer turn on his siren and pull up next to me to tell me how much he loved the Z's. I can't recommend this car enough, speed, style, suspension, chick magnet, t-tops, and did I mention FAST. I've driven the VR4 which I thought was a dog, the MKiv Supera which doesn't handle as well and feels boaty after driving the nimble Z.I think I've made my point.

Similar Products Used: 86 and 89 Mustang 5.0, 94 Supra TT, 95 VR4, 96 Trans Am, 93 Corvette. All modified.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Matt   [Feb 08, 2008]
Model Reviewed: 300zx/NA
Strength:

Speed, elegant interior that's driver-oriented. Gorgeous.

Weakness:

Winter driving is only easy if you can drift like a pro. (After its been your daily driver for 2 years this isn't hard, but not reccomended for new drivers)
Breaks down monthly, and in some cases, weekly.
0-60 could be better, but thats what turbos and carbon fiber are for!

Iv'e been driving my 300zx for about two years as a DAILY DRIVER!!! I have upgraded almost all of the engine (mostly because a part would break, so I'd get a better one) I've reached about 300hp from my N/A engine. Not the most reliable car I've ever driven; but when you crush a brand new porsche in a car that cost 1/8th of a porsches price, it's always a good feeling. Attention grabbing car, and LOUD with the 2.5 inch full exhaust (headers, mid section, and tails). Ive lost a race twice in my life. To a blown 480 v8, and to a brand new corvette. The 300zx has a rediculous top-end, although its 0-60 is good, it really cooks above 80, especially when you upgrade the ecu and eliminate the speed and rev limiters. Great car. Own a P.O.S civic to drive when the 300zx breaks down, unless you have a huge wad of cash to fix it asap, youll need to save up money.

When mine dies (probably never, becuase I just fix everything) Ill buy a new one.

Undoubtedly the best v6 import ever made, and don't even get me started on its drifting ability.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
vixen   [May 03, 2006]
Model Reviewed: t-tops, turbo
Strength:

fast, fun, t-tops

Weakness:

electronic demon life in the car!!! it talks to you "your door is open" that sort of stuff, also the dash would take some adjusting to, you basicly need to learn to read it, its not guages like a traditional dash, its electronic computer bars that go up and down,

electronic everything, i wanted to throw that demon sh*t out the window or drive the car off a bridge!!
its a good car but it seems to go through clutches a lot (ive never had a problem eating clutches before so i dont think its me) ..... i would not come back to this car ever.

Similar Products Used: toyota mr2
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
300zxsucksguy   [Apr 26, 2006]
Model Reviewed: 300zx
Strength:

fast, great ladies car, and thats it.

Weakness:

everything that i have bought for it has been expensive. My transmission messed up and my suspension.

This cars is not very reliable. I already had to buy many things for it. I wouldnt recommned anyone to buy it, especially if your name is calvin ray and you really want one.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
servitup   [Jun 29, 2004]
Strength:

Handling Performance Speed Looks Chip Glass Packs (add-on) Catalytic Converter (hollowed out) & Legal

Weakness:

General wear-N-Tear 02 Sensors (two need replaced) Just replaced all Fuel Injectors (if you want to get Nissan Remanufactured Fuel Injectors (6 of them) for $190, e.mail me. I know who to call). Otherwise, each fuel injector is about $130 each. Remanufactured ones work well (as long as they are direct Nissan Replacements) and you save close to $600. Electrical- Well, this is not Nissan's fault. However, a wire shorted out and caught on fire. At this point, the short burned out the battery. Hence, if you don't know wiring, don't do it. I inherited the problem and I am in the process of cleaning it up.

Talk about a car that demands attention. First night I had the car with the T-Tops off, I rolled through Ft. Collins and 3 other cars rolled up and wanted to race. This car is slick, has a low-profile, I added a wing off of the back. Burgandy (red), chrome rims and with the chip I am getting close to 280 HP. A Sweeeet ride! ;>) 65 MPH in second gear and not time flat. There are two types of people who seriously like this car, teenagers and guys who range in age from 35-50. I have been told out of all Z's, this was the year and model to buy (even buy a 20 year Nissan Mechanic). He said, he would choose this one over the 2004 350Z.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
servitup   [Jun 29, 2004]
Strength:

Handling Performance Speed Looks Chip Glass Packs (add-on) Catalytic Converter (hollowed out) & Legal

Weakness:

General wear-N-Tear 02 Sensors (two need replaced) Just replaced all Fuel Injectors (if you want to get Nissan Remanufactured Fuel Injectors (6 of them) for $190, e.mail me. I know who to call). Otherwise, each fuel injector is about $130 each. Remanufactured ones work well (as long as they are direct Nissan Replacements) and you save close to $600. Electrical- Well, this is not Nissan's fault. However, a wire shorted out and caught on fire. At this point, the short burned out the battery. Hence, if you don't know wiring, don't do it. I inherited the problem and I am in the process of cleaning it up.

Talk about a car that demands attention. First night I had the car with the T-Tops off, I rolled through Ft. Collins and 3 other cars rolled up and wanted to race. This car is slick, has a low-profile, I added a wing off of the back. Burgandy (red), chrome rims and with the chip I am getting close to 280 HP. A Sweeeet ride! ;>) 65 MPH in second gear and not time flat. There are two types of people who seriously like this car, teenagers and guys who range in age from 35-50. I have been told out of all Z's, this was the year and model to buy (even buy a 20 year Nissan Mechanic). He said, he would choose this one over the 2004 350Z.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
glassfan   [May 02, 2004]
Model Reviewed: 300ZX N/A 2-seater 5-speed
Strength:

Performance, build quality, looks, reliability, practicality, interior room, comfort, reasonable fuel economy, T-tops

Weakness:

Parts (the few that are needed) are expensive, suspension parts need replaced, headrests should be able to be adjusted higher, crummy Bose stereo system needed totally replaced, A/C isn't that strong but the car is 13 years old, need to replace timing belt every 60,000 miles, some body rust near the rear wheels from being in Illiois for 11 years (now in Florida)

Now up to 155,000 miles, running GREAT! Just getting broken in! I bought my '91 300ZX N/A (non-turbo) with 97,000 miles three years ago from a private seller. It now has 155,000 miles. Here are the parts that have been replaced since I bought it: Alternator Battery and Battery Terminals Exhaust Power steering hose Brake pads Oxygen sensors Driveshaft Clutch Timing belt (required change) PCV valves Upper A-arms in front suspension That's it. Note these are all normal wear and tear items. The car is running fantastic. I need to replace the shocks and springs of the suspension this summer. There have been no electrical problems other than a burned out fog light! The car never fails to start except when the battery terminals got too corroded. I recommend replacing them with heavy duty terminals. This car is very practical with the hatchback- I can carry my bicycle in the back with no problems. The Bose stereo was crap and had to be totally replaced. You can't simply connect a new head unit to the existing speakers- it all has to be replaced. It wasn't that hard to do but takes time. This car is better looking (more masculine) than the new 350Z and more practical. I expect this car to last to at least 250,000 miles. The engine was built to last with heavy duty components. Even with a lead foot from traffic lights, I get 18mpg city and can get up to 29mpg highway if I shut the A/C off. I'm 6'3" and this car is very comfortable for my tall frame. The T-tops are great and don't even leak and the car is 13 years old. Still get compliments quite often from onlookers. When this car finally dies, I will find another 300ZX!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
BAPTIST29   [Jan 20, 2004]
Model Reviewed: NISSAN
Strength:

ALOT OF POWER, VERY GOOD HANDLING, GOOD SUSPESNSION, VERY GOOD BODY.

Weakness:

NONE

I HAVE A 1985 NISSAN 300ZX 2+2 SPECIAL EDITION. I LOVE THE HORSEPOWER AT 210 HORSES NON TURBO. IT HAS 180,000 MILES ON IT AND FEELS LIKE IT JUST BROKE IN.

Similar Products Used: 1984 NISSAN 300 ZX AND IT WAS AWESOME I COULD SMOKE THE MUSTANGS AND CAMORS
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brian Foster   [Jan 13, 2004]
Model Reviewed: 300zx
Strength:

Great engine, handling, cockpit. The sunroof works great-no leaks. If you maintain it the maintenance costs are ok.

Weakness:

Use of timing belts and major expense every 60,000. Parts are expensive.

What a great car! I had owned a 280z for many years but the z32 version is truly a joy to own. With both of my Z's I always felt that they were built better than other cars that I have owned. I have a 2 + 2 and I appreciate the ample room that the interior has. With a little bit of cash you can upgrade to about 250 hp on the NA version. I like the new one but I won't sell my z32 for it.

Similar Products Used: BMW M3, Honda Prelude, Pontiac Trans AM
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 189  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com