Porsche 911 Carrera 4 (2010 and older) Sports

911 Carrera 4 (2010 and older)

The 911 Carrera 4 is a 2-door, 4-passenger luxury sports car, or convertible sports car, available in 4 trims, ranging from the Coupe to the S Cabriolet.

The Coupe is equipped with a standard 3.6-liter, H6, 345-horsepower engine that achieves 18-mpg in the city and 25-mpg on the highway. The S Cabriolet is equipped with a standard 3.8-liter, H6, 385-horsepower engine that achieves 18-mpg in the city and 25-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
Brent   [Jul 21, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Porsche 911 Carerra Cab 4
Strength:

Flawless exterior.Mirror like finish.A head turner with style and class.The sound deep purr of this exhaust is classic Porsche. Quick,and feels like it wants to constantly exceed 100 mph, and it is only getting started. One touch convertible top is nice. And thank God, 2001 kept the cup holders out of this car.You don't pay this much for this baby, and drink in it.Makes one laugh when 50 year old guys in their dime a dozen Vettes, come by you and rev their engines. Like I said Porsche has class...enough said

Weakness:

Tires every 10k, Brake dust. Must pay Valet a 20 spot to keep the car next to them so some yahoo doesnt try to damage car. It is an attention getter, this isn't always good. Navigational system works fine , but is tough to program at first. Pricey, but worth every penny.Must have third car, too nice of car to be an "every-dayer". Too nice to see rain also.

Had always enjoyed the look of a Porsche and I was just driving by the local dealer and stopped in. To make this a short story, I had a 2001 X-5, and had driven it for over a year. My uncle told me at any time he would buy my X-5, so I called him on a whim, and with in 4 hours at the dealership, I test drove it and had the deal sealed .The "lines " of this car is what got me to always take a double look. Yes, 0-60 in just around 5.0-5.1, there are other cars that can do faster,but do they have class? This car has all the options that I could want, from Nav,all Leather, all heat,carbon fiber, etc, but what sets this one off is the Carrera"4" rims.Small spoked, with intigrated rivits,with "Carrera 4" in the center cap and pewter colored calipers, sets this one apart. The car handles with ease,all controls are easy to manuover,and it is a head turner, but it should be for the price. The so called back seat is nowhere,but it is never used. I have 17000k on this car, and was told it will go through tires.....and it did. At 11,000 miles, time for new, about 450 a peice,but you don't buy this car if you can't afford to maintain it. Was surprised however that my wifes 2001 740 IL maintainance is covered under the 4 years/48000, but you not in the Porsche arena. One would expect if you are to pay over$100,000 for a car, this would be taken care of, but guess again. Have had Zero problems with this car. Moisture under the head light washer nozzle was developing, and was replaced in 20 minutes. Must say, the I am thinking of the Porsche GTS, but, I hate to get rid of the soft top. Maybe Porsche is making a the GTS a Cab in the future. Again, if you want prestige, class and a head turner, this is the car. You won't see 10 of these babies, like you do the other so called sports car, on the way to the store.

Similar Products Used: There is nothing that can match this car in the $100,000 range,overall. The Ferarri would be my next choice at $200,000. But these are two completly different animals.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kamal Bherwani   [Feb 04, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Carrera 4 Cabriolet
Strength:

Handling Confidence at high speeds Four wheel drive Great gas mileage Attention

Weakness:

Attention Small gas tank (13.x gallons) Slower than M5, XJR, M3, etc. on 0-60 Climate control insists on blowing cold air into your face at startup in cold environments

After getting bored of driving my 2001 Jaguar XJR, I decided on getting a second daily driver that I can use maybe two days a week. I purchased a 1999 Carrera 4 convertible, with 18,000 miles, and I have to say, this is an impressive vehicle. Some points: - Much better handling than my Jag XJR sedan, although the XJR is a faster car. - 18" rims are easy to scratch - watch for curbs, etc. - Driving into Manhattan with this is not easy with all the road imperfections. - Gets a lot of respect by valet parkers, other drivers, pedestrians, etc. - The speed yellow color is great if you know how to maintain your paint. - Sound system is truly second rate, and I have the so called "hi-fi" system. - Lots of road noise - limited wind noise (with hardtop on). -Tiptronic (I only got an automatic because of the wife and because of New York traffic) is a great automatic/electronically controlled manual. In auto mode, this car DOES NOT, repeat DOES NOT upshift in a corner. - Beats the pants off my XJR in inclement weather. Great in snow/rain, etc.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
palting   [Feb 10, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 911 C4 S
Strength:

Performance, prestige, unique.

Weakness:

Can''''''''t stop smiling.

Just to clarify things, this is a 3.6 liter, 320 HP kick in the butt performer. Those are the numbers for the 2002 911''''''''s. This particular model is 4 wheel drive, with the all the business hardware as well as trimmings of the turbo, but without the turbo and without the need for the additional $40-$50K. It is a real knockout, both in looks and performance. I put in 150 miles just enjoying the drive around curving roads in the first day!

Similar Products Used: ''''''''67 Mustang Boss, ''''''''92 Corvette
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Tom   [Jun 10, 2001]
Model Reviewed: /Carrera 4 GT
Strength:

Solidity, power, handling, and head-turning potential.

Weakness:

Share many parts with the cheaper Boxter. Rather tame exhaust note. Overly complicated stereo and electrical operations (explained by pooly-written instruction booklets). These do not detract from the fun of driving the car.

I opted for the full GT package (aerokit, sports tuned suspension, heavy roll bars, free flow exhaust). Porsche factory technician recommended this set up to handle the extra weight of the all wheel drive system. The car is tight, solid, and fast. Tried the Turbo and GT2, did not find the extra power worth the money, and their rides are considerably stiffer while the transmission more balky. The only sports cars that are close in capabilities are the Corvette Z06 and the Dodge Viper, both are crudely made cars with serious reliability problems. The next car up is the Ferarri 360 Modena, which has a better suspension/engine package, but that gated 6 speed..... ouch! In summary, if you want to drop 100k or so on a real sports car, the C-4 is it. There is simply no alternatives out there.

Similar Products Used: Lotus Esprit Turbo, Jaguar XKR, BMW M5
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bill   [Nov 14, 2000]
Model Reviewed: 993 C4
Strength:

All wheel drive stability and handling. Safe in the rain. Incredible grip and handling in the dry, with the right tires.
Fast. And that's bone stock.
Car is tight and drives like it was carved from a solid block of steel.
1996 and onward have the varioram, for added midrange power. Not in the 1995 993.

Weakness:

Have had oil leaks repaired 4 times. Totally unacceptable in a car with a $75K sticker when new.
Numerous other items that needed repair, all under warranty.
Nothing's cheap to get fixed.
Do it yourself oil changes are a major pain. 12 quarts of oil, 2 filters, and the need to disassemble several parts of the car to do it. And it takes 3 hours to do.

The air cooled Porsches are a special car. Unless you've lived with one for awhile, you cant appreciate the fun you can have with the car. The 993 was the last of the breed, and engineered with 20 years of experience in it.

Run it at triple digit speeds, tear around winding roads, or drive to the mall...it handles everything in stride.

You'll get lots of compliments. How many people in a car that's 5 model years old can say that.

Not for the Lexus and cupholder crowd. This isn't the car for cushy boulevard cruising.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
loren miller   [Jun 22, 2000]
Model Reviewed: 911 (996-C4)
Strength:

Styling (both inside and out), handling, build quality

Weakness:

Worry about parking in public. A few minor problems, but no show stoppers.

92K and I would highly recommend it, but it is not for everyone which is perfect. Just the other day after pulling it into the garage from my spirited ride home from work, I stood there and said OUTLOUD "this car looks great and drives even greater, what a blast". I have owned the car about a year and 1/2 and it has 21k on the clock. Ask yourself this, how many cars have you owned that give you a big grin every time you drive it?

Similar Products Used: Nothing similar!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
alain   [Jun 13, 2000]
Model Reviewed: carrera 4
Strength:

very responsive engine, strong brakes, confidence inspiring up to 135 mph,good sitting position, impressive looks with the aero kit.

Weakness:

the front rotors warped at 4000 miles and the replacements 5000 miles later occasionally vibrate. I had a flat tire and I am still waiting for a replacement of my Pirelli P Zero Asymmetrico (the tires are not repairable and currently are on national backorder). The dash and the mirrors vibrate with bass heavy music even with the tone controls flat.

$90,000 with stiff chassis, 18 inch wheels, racing seats and carbom fiber accents. Enthusiastically recommended.

Similar Products Used: Toyota MR2 turbo 1991 had more tendency to sudden oversteer. The porsche is a safer and faster car.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Robert   [Jan 14, 2000]
Model Reviewed: C4S
Strength:

Dependable, strong, well built, all wheel drive is impressive

Weakness:

Winshield squeaks, stock mufflers too quiet, difficult to find good shops to service it.

Great car, few weaknesses, solid feel. I don't know if I'll ever go back to a rear wheel drive Porsche. If you want a Porsche, these air cooled 993's are becoming more available. I'd suggest any '96 to '98 model. My '97 was $73,000.00 taxes and all pre-owned with 24,000 miles. Compare that to the $103,000.00 drive out price just a year and a half earlier. It drives well and does great for daily driving. Mileage was an unexpected bonus at 24MPG if I drive nice.

Similar Products Used: '88 Carrera
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Paracel   [Nov 13, 1999]
Model Reviewed: C4 Coupe
Strength:

Viscous clutch, shifter feels very mechanical, PSM system makes me feel like a super hero, incredible glue-like handling, superb braking, body thrusting acceleration, even though water-cooled it still hums unmistakably Porsche.

Weakness:

Foldable spare tire, controls for the navagation system are a little hard to use while driving (especially having to insert a cd-rom, still getting used to key on left (a few scratches on dash b/c of that stupid mistake), lacking storage space for weekend trips, leaving the cockpit.

Hands down, best car i've ever driven. Though the ergonomics could be better, the seats are very firm, yet supportive and everything is in arms reach, though they may be hard to decipher. I wished they made a glass sunroof, since the other two cars i mentioned above have that option. The performance is incredible. Though i have never driven a ferrari or the like, this car has made enough impression on me for me to conclude it to be one of the best cars in the world (in addition to the BMW 750iL).

Similar Products Used: Toyota Supra Turbo, Acura Integra GS-R,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com