Porsche 911 Targa (2010 and older) Sports

911 Targa (2010 and older)

The most striking visual highlight of the 911 Targa is its 16.58 square-foot glass roof made up of two segments - an elegant sliding roof at the front and a more practical tailgate at the rear. The roof slides smartly beneath the tailgate within seven seconds, conveniently offering almost five square feet of open space above the passenger cabin when opened completely. The sliding roof comes standard with a new sunblind offering even greater privacy than before. When closed, the sunblind covers the entire area of the sliding roof, opening and closing electrically independently of the roof itself. The glass roof and tailgate are made of special tinted glass, which protects the occupants from UV radiation and excessive heat even in bright sunshine.

The 911 Targa is a 2-door, 4-passenger luxury sports car, available in two trims, the 4 and the 4S.

The 4 is equipped with a standard 3.6-liter, H6, 345-horsepower engine that achieves 18-mpg in the city and 25-mpg on the highway. The 4S is equipped with a standard 3.8-liter, H6, 385-horsepower engine that achieves 18-mpg in the city and 25-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (20)

Showing 1-10 of 20  
Richard   [Aug 29, 2006]
Model Reviewed: 911(996)
Strength:

Performance, handling, braking

Weakness:

Cannot leave it out of my sight. TOO MUCH attention. Everyone wants to touch it, drive it, etc.

Simple the best. This is the greatest car I've ever owned and I've owned ALOT.

Similar Products Used: Corvette, Cobra, 944 Turbo, Z3, XJS, 3000GT
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
slow_motion   [Apr 11, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Porsche 911 Cabrio
Strength:

* Solidly built, only thing creaking after 32k miles is the leather interior. * A blast to drive. Smooth and sure up to about 110, 120 at which point any slight road imperfection gets the better of the suspension. Moreover at these speeds the car feels a little skittish. * Very comfortable interior, even for a 6'-1", 230 lb. enthusiast like me. * Awesome brakes. * The clack of the six. The sound of the engine on a summer day with the top down. * Sturdy convertible top...low noise level for a convertible top. * Great optional hard-top. Car looks great with it too. * Classy as all hell. (With the exception of the "whale fin" my car came with...previous owner went a little overboard with the Aero kit. * Beautiful lines...a rolling sculpture really. * Always turns heads. Women you meet 'cause of this car will expect the surf AND the turf.

Weakness:

* Dealer Service. I've tried two in Central & Northern NJ (as have my friends) and have nothing good to say. Make sure you carefully research your dealer before you buy. * Lost the clutch before I hit 20k miles. And yes, I know how to drive an 'effin Porsche. * Right side-view mirror doesn't always return to original position after tilting down during reverse. * Lately conv. top works only sporadically from dashboard switch...sometimes need to operate it from door lock. * Anemic wipers and headlights. * Phantom window problem: driver's side window sometimes powers down about half-way all on its own. The other day this happened while I was going through the local car-wash. Luckily it was a hand-wash and the guy stopped when he saw me spitting out water. * Condensation in front left turn signal. * Curbs will eat your 18" wheels if you're not carefull. (Not really a weakness but remember to err on the side of caution.) * Cheesy plastic rear window. * Auto tempature control in name only. * Looks a little too much like a Boxster...I imagine Porsche sells a lot more B's than 911's and part of the reason is the similar appearance but... come on! Have you seen pictures of the '05 Boxster coupe?

Overall...a fast and beautiful car with some problems. Actually, I suspect most of the real issues are with my local Porsche dealers, which seem to have resisted fixing problems, and in some cases, denied that they even existed, while the car was still _under_ warranty. However, I usually have a great time driving the car, top down or up/on. I do spit a bit when I drive my friend's '01 M3 conv. through a corner at speeds that I would never attempt in my '99 Porsche. Or more frustrating, when I suddenly find myself doing 115 mph in the M and I realize that in the Porsche I would definitely have felt it. All this at substantially less and with 37 more hp vs. my '99 911. At the end of the day though, I love my 911 'cause it has always been my dream car, it makes me feel good, and the women love it. Despite my varied complaints, I'm so attached at this point I'm thinking of turning it over to a tuner and having it straightened out. (That is, if I can get over not getting BMW's excellent service and customer care.) Maybe I'm just getting older...hmmm...I wonder if they'll ever make an M6 ragtop.

Similar Products Used: * BMW M3 * Corvette * Ferrari 308 * 911 Turbo
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
john weiss   [Aug 04, 2002]
Strength:

fast-good handlng-great looking car

Weakness:

afraid to park it anywere,have a reoccuring grease stain on drivers side window,interior&exterior rattles,no standard full power seats,no lumbar support,limited space,lens light covers look dirty inside,especially with the xenon option,option for Bose,what do you expect for 95k and does not handle bumps to well

Well,I thought it was a dream vehicle, but and it's a big but.Don't get me wrong,it has alot of great quality's, it's just that but.

Similar Products Used: bmw 328is mercedes s class
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Steve Eikenberry   [Jun 14, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 993
Strength:

This is truly a fast car. You cannot appreciate the acceleration until you look in your mirror although you are dead meat for Vetts and the like. The sound-The 996s are only now sounding like Porsches. Resale-They hold their value better than any other car. Fun to Drive. Great brakes. 24mpg highway 18 city After 3 years I am still excited every time I see this car.

Weakness:

Expensive to maintain, but what do you expect for a $75K car. Get to know your tire dealer. Security lock is a pain. You need to start the car within 90 sec of unlocking. No local dealer.

This is a true sports car. My brother said "You have to be a sport to drive a sports car" and the Porsche proves it. It is an insturment, or appliance, for speed on all types of smooth roads. It is well built although a bit crude by 96 standards. Fit and finish are outstanding. You can drive this car like you hate it and never appraoch the full potential of the machine. If you are a driver and enjoy automobiles, then you must own a Porsche sometime in your life. The 993 is the graceful end of the air cooled line. 95s have the advantage of no OBD II so they are cheaper from which to extract additional horsepower. If you find a nice 96-98, they have an additional 12 hp over the 95s at 282hp, so then you can spend your money elsewhere. The style just oozes speed. The car is comfortable and roomy, but my Toyota MR 2 is bigger inside. If you like to do your own work, this car will cure you. It is complicated and things are very difficult to access. Oil changes ar 15K and cost about $200. Take the brakes into the sensors because you replace everything. Plan on $500 for pads. Rear tires seldom last more than 12K which really makey my friend with an NSX envious. Two plugs per cylinder and you need to remove the mufflers for a tune up (30K). Add a strut brace-but you should do that for every car you have.

Similar Products Used: Toyota MR-2-difficult to beat fun/$. Volvo 1800ES-crude but bullet proof 280Z-rust bucket, but best transmission I have ever had in a car. Volvo 940 Turbo-bullet proof
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
porsche911832001   [Feb 26, 2002]
Model Reviewed: /911sc
Strength:

It''s a Porsche. Not a rice burner. Faster than it looks. "Is that possible?" "Yes, if you know how to drive"

Weakness:

None....I purchased "CHEAP" invested, and have a car worth thousands more than I spent.

This is an up-date of my last review. 7,000 miles later with an older Porsche. Still the 911SC is the best sports car avaible for under $20,000. My car has an original 182,000 miles on it now. It starts every day, and is more than reliable. I have never had a problem. Not to mention the "LOOKS" "COMPLEMENTS" I get every day. I never got that with my newer BMW or Mercedes. A true classic on the way. Vintage it will be soon. Performance? Some may ask. "How fast does it go?" Many ask. Does it really matter? I have had a few MODS done. Mine, It is a true 150 plus car. But does speed really matter? It''s a Porsche for Christ sake. Class always out ranks speed. Catch me on a windy road with your Lexus....Forget about it. It''s a fricken Porsche for Christ sake!!! The fact it is a Porsche will scare you. Only because everyone knows a Porsche, is a Porsche. Made for speed. That rear engine drive will get us through a corner faster than you. Yes, as long as we know how to excellerate and not let off the gas. Porsche is driver "better know how to drive" machine. Know how and when to take advantage of a true racing machine. Myself, I like to steer close into corners and punch the "HELL" on the way out. How many cars with close to 200K can still race up to Big Bear? Ask me you. Not many. 1980''s tech vs 2000? Well, I made a fool of a 2002 Lexus 300is I wonder what it would have been like if the Lexus had real milage and was almost 20 years old. Think of what a new Porsche would have done. Instead of a 10 minute wait, GOD only knows.

Similar Products Used: None simular. But have had a Mitsubishi 3000 GT VR4..Fast, but heavy... RX-7 Twin Turbo.."piece of crap"...Replace everything after 50K... 1990 Corvette, Fun, very fast, but cheap construction. Older
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
David Karlebach   [Feb 09, 2001]
Model Reviewed: 911 Carrera Coupe
Strength:

Great looks. The 1994 frog eye headlights are gone. Quick acceleration. Excellent braking. Classic design. Not many 5 year old cars get the attention of a 993.

Weakness:

Windshiled rattle. I understand this is quite common. The Becker CD changer is terrible. Get an aftermarket CD player even if it is not original equipment. Can't see the ignition switch in a dark car. Occasional brake squeal. "Bare-bones" interior.

Always fun to drive. The six speed shifts smoothly. I have driven many cars but none handles as well at high speeds. Stick with the 17" wheels. The 18" wheels are tough driving on New Jersey roads.

Strictly for sports car enthusiasts. Not recommended for long drives. No cup holder and no place to rest your left elbow.

Try to resist the temptation of styling your 993. Most of them look worse than the stock car.

The lighter colors seem to show off the body lines better than the darker colors. This car looks best in polar silver.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Tuck Beckstoffer   [Jun 04, 2001]
Model Reviewed: C4S
Strength:

This car is a complete package. It is,in my opinion,the best looking car Porsche has ever produced and along with its looks come its staggering performance and capabilities. A rocketship with four wheel drive and unbelievable brakes. In addition the car has a ver comfortable ride quality unlike my other 911's which tended to beat on you a bit. Everyone should get a chance to have a go in one. You wont soon forget it.

Weakness:

The price. But hey, it is holding its value.

Listen, the car is a comfortable rocket that stops on a dime and looks as good as anything ever built for the street doing it. Wet,dry, whatever. This car will run with anything and its' looks are stunning. Everywhere I go I get wild looks and questions. They didn't build many of 'em so you will be in rare company driving one.

If you're concerned about the cost of maintaining a $70,000 supercar then you have no business owning one. Get it and take care of it.

Similar Products Used: I've heard the NSX is a goodie but would you really rather drive an Acura?? I think not.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Alice   [Jan 09, 2001]
Model Reviewed: 911T targa
Strength:

WEll built.
Fun to drive.
The car tells you exactly what's going on with it. IT gives you good road feedback so you know when it's losing grip, when it has strong grip, what's going on.
Handles like a dream (of course, it is a Porsche *grin*)
Reliable for the age and care (old and was not taken that best of care). It was my everyday driver for 6 years and only one of those years would I consider it truly unreliable (had a bad year where lots of small things went wrong). What this tells me is a Porsche can last quite a long time if taken care of (and sometimes even when it hasn't). It has 160,000 miles on it

Weakness:

Most to all things I didn't like about the car were because it was old and not well maintained before I got it, so keep that in mind> can't really think of any weakness that I would say was a problem with the car itself. If it had been maintained perfectly, I would consider the car perfect and I can't think of a car that would be better.
It did have water leaks which I am told was an inherant problem with targas (though I'm not sure if that has changed since they changed the targa in 1996). That is the only relevant thing I can think of that wasn't just cause it was not well taken care of

I would highly recomend this car, evne if it is just an old one. If I had the money I'd just keep buying 911s as my car (but they are expensive and I was highly lucky to even own the one I did. very glad I had the experience though, it's worth it. If I ever manage to get enough money I'm buying another one though I think I'll go for a newer and more cared for one, though I do like 1973 model a lot :)). Definitely something to experience once in your life. Excellent car. Sadly I have to sell mine because I have to face the fact it is getting on in years and I don't have the money to maintain a 28 year old car. And I don't have the money to buy another one. It's taken me 3 years to get myself to let go of the car, and I am only doing so now caues I think I might be moving, and I am going to cry when I sell it. It's my baby and I don't want to see her go (I at least want to find some one who will appreciate her). There is a reason that POrsche has the highest owner loyalty, they are excellent cars. They are well built, built to last, pretty reliable (in my experience), and *FUN*. Well worth the high amount of money to buy one and the maintenance costs.

Similar Products Used: Nissan 240, Toyota Supra
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jamie Cunningham   [Apr 13, 2001]
Strength:

Effortless urge to 140mph and beyond. That badge. Dealer service. Negligible depreciation.

Weakness:

60% of the total weight hanging portentously over the rear wheels, a setup that (a) Porsche have taken 30 years to get right, and (b) other manufacturers with larger R&D budgets wouldn't dream of using. Immeasurably low quality of materials. Numerous idiosyncrasies and foibles that on any other car would have had customers writing stiff letters. Just a thought: last year Porsche raked in $3,400m, of which $1,600m was pure profit. That's the same total revenue as Volvo, but with four times the gross margin of DaimlerChrysler. In simplistic terms, a 911 is a $40,000 car with a 100% moron tax for the badge on the front.

Do not take advice from anyone who says a Porsche is their dream car: it simply means that they're blind to its faults. For example, the way both front headlamps mist up like cheap watches on damp days. The windows won't close above 80mph, the wipers are inefficient above 90mph, and leave the glass above 110mph. Alarming understeer when going uphill in the wet - and you don't need to be Isaac Newton to figure out why. The standard stereo is truly awful; the £1,000 10-speaker upgrade in mine was no obvious improvement. There's no lumbar adjust, with the seat bottoms flat and having zero lateral support. The switchgear was shiny and of immeasurably low quality, and would look cheap in a Chrysler Neon. The centre console compartment emitted a plasticky creak when you opened it. The car was fast, certainly, but a long way from breathtaking: the 993 was heaps more inspiring to listen to and drive. Recent ubersaloons such as the M5 and E55 are more accessible, better made, less expensive, and real-world faster. And you get let out of busy junctions.

Similar Products Used: Interior materials and switchgear nothing short of insulting on a $88K car, and laughable next to a BMW 7 or Mercedes-Benz S. Nissan Skyline GT-R V-Spec was more rewarding to drive, providing an explosive punch that the Carrera lacked. My current car, an E55 AMG Mercedes, would eat the Porsche for lunch in terms of all-round ability. It's just as fast, but quieter, more refined, and seats five.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Al Finlay   [Dec 18, 2000]
Model Reviewed: 911SC Coupe
Strength:

Its looks, the way it handles, the brakes. I've had this car 18 years now and I am constantly amazed at its performance, reliability, and fun. Nothing major has broken in the 18 years and I'm afraid to drive a new one cause I might not like the one I have anymore.

Weakness:

Not being able to park it anywhere with out worrying about dings, dents or theft. Being truthful, I would have to say the clutch is always tricky. I have never been into a car wash where anyone could get in, then move it with out killing the engine at least once.

Old or new, a Porsche is worth having and keeping. I have considered selling mine on a few occasions but just can't do it. our Calif license plates are LIKNU82 and it is.

Similar Products Used: Nothing else compares
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 20  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com