Porsche 944 (1991 and older) Sports

944 (1991 and older)

The Porsche 944 was manufactured for the 1982-1991 model years, making its debut in the United States as a 1983 model. The predecessor to the 944 is the 924, and its successor is the 968.

The 944 is a front-engined, rear wheel drive, 2+2 seater, with a rear-mounted transmission. This configuration results in near perfect 50-50 weight distribution. Over the years, the 944 was made available in turbocharged and DOHC varieties. Car and Driver 10 Best in 1983, 1984, 1985, and 1986.

User Reviews (125)

Showing 1-10 of 125  
Riaz Hassim   [Oct 06, 2010]
Model Reviewed: 944S2 Cabriolet
Strength:

Fast, reliable, oustanding roadholding and a dream to drive.
After 20 years the build quality stands out compared to ther cars from that time.
I was in the market for a Mercedes SL 320, but the 944 Cab is a drivers car which is much more fun. Even my wife who could'nt give a toss about cars loves this car.

Weakness:

Maintenance can be a bit expensive but this is not too bad as long as you ensure that she is kept in good running order and serviced once a year.

I bought this car as something to use over weekends. Now I have a hard time deciding on whether to use my 5 series BMW which is two years old or my 20 year old Porsche during the week.

I had to fly across South Africa from Johannesburg to Port Elizabeth to pick up the car and took my wife along. I went as far as taking out a roadside assistance 'insurance' just in case we had a breakdown and packed overnight bags for us....after all this car was almost 20 years old. For the first 120 kms I kept to a safe 100km/h but two hours into the journey a was doing a steady 160 to 180 km/h and the car handled perfectly. The trip which was some 900km proved to me that the S2 cabriolet is a true GT which really handles like a dream on long distances. There was no need for the roadside assistance 'insurance' or the overnight bags as we made it home safe and sound with plenty of time to spare.
It goes without saying that driving the top down is sunny South Africa is the way to go with the Porsche and we often just take the car out for long drives over the weekends. The bucket seats have enough space for my two sons who love the car. I hope to keep this car for a very loooong time.

If you can find one in good condition with full service history it is worth a buy. I looked at two ther models which had been driven hard and needed considerable work before opting for the one I have now.

Similar Products Used: 911s, BMWs, Nissans, Subaru's
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ssorc2000   [Feb 22, 2010]
Model Reviewed: 944 LUX N/A
Strength:

Styling, Handling, Balance, Classic Sports Car (Nearly)

Weakness:

High Maintainance,Some parts can be expensive to replace,cost me over double what I paid for her (Nearly £2000) to get her back to what she should be, but worth every penny!

This car has always bee a favourite of mine.
Crisp handling through and through, beautiful looks ad despite this being the earlier of the oval dash',still very quick.
Once this car becomes a classic, you can expect prices to rise significantly.A definite investment for the future.

Similar Products Used: Mitsubishi Diamante 2.5 v6, Honda Prelude 2.2 vtec.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
moe   [Feb 12, 2010]
Model Reviewed: 944 turbo
Strength:

handling and grip. Turbo. detachable moonroof. engine sound. chasis for a 20 yr old car. cruise control. original seats are actually ok for long drives. i still have mine pure stock and it can still overtake most cars of today. pop up headlights. infinite tuning options and possibilities. raw power and lack of computer assist nonsense

Weakness:

turbo lag. upgrade bills. lack of creature comforts like cup holder. weird side mirror deignation, blind spot on the right. handbrake is on the left side.

if you have some money to burn, it can be a fun car to trick out and taken to a track. I traded a 2 year old honda for this to be my daily driver. Most would say it's a wrong and irrational decision, I take it as a dream come true.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
John   [Jul 01, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Coupe NA
Strength:

50/50 weight distribution, fuel savvy for a sports car. 3000 to 7000 rpm rocketship. easy to mod and trick but best enjoyed as is.

Weakness:

Windshields are EXPENSIVE! Hard to repair bodywork. Factory paint is GARBAGE! Interiors are often trashed due to less than caring drivers. Everyone who is selling one will want $$$$$! for it even though they are usually worth next to nothing due to condition issues.
Hard to find a knowlegeable mechanic to work on it, better left to those who ether are qualified mechanics or gifted shadetree's.

Excellent budget sports car. Easy to follow maintenence as long as your not scared by the price tags. A nimble street ninja in the right hands.

Similar Products Used: Mazda RX7 Cabriolet, 1984 Mercury capri RS Turbo, 1993 Mitsubishi 3000 GT VR4.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
jch   [Jun 09, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Porsche 944S2 Cabriolet
Strength:

Styling, reliability, performance, value

Weakness:

Some low-quality interior components. Complex and tight quarters in the engine compartment make repairs/maintenance difficult. Expensive replacement parts.

Three years ago, I was looking to buy a used Mustang convertable, mainly because at 6'3" tall, I don't fit into a lot of smaller sports cars. After test driving a few Ponys, I remarked to a friend that I really wished Porsche had made a convertable 944, because that was what I really wanted (I had no idea at the time that they had).

That very day, I saw a '91 944S2 Cabrio with 99K miles on a lot at a local used car dealer. "Fate" I said, and after a 30-minute, white-knuckle test drive, it didn't take much of a sales pitch to agree on a price, hand over the cash, and drive it off the lot.

The car had been "well-used", and it does (still) require a lot of minor maintenance, most of which I have learned to do myself because of the cost. But the body, undercarriage, and motor are in top shape for a car this age. And it is a blast to drive. It handles amazingly well, and the 3.0L 4-cyl engine provides enough power to make it fun, but not too much power to get into trouble.

Like most front-engine sports cars, it has a noticible understeer, which again helps keep one out of trouble at the expense of a little nimbleness (unlike it's rear-engine Carrera cousins).

And as other reviewers have pointed out: even at 16-years-old, it's styling sure turns a lot of heads! (A lot more than would have turned for that Mustang!) Given that this car can be had for under $12000 for one in excellent condition, I can't think of a better buy for the sports car enthusiast on a budget.

Similar Products Used: 1973 MGB GT, 1985 Toyota Celica GT convertible, 2001 Volvo C70 HT Convertible
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
yupitsaporsche   [May 20, 2006]
Model Reviewed: 924
Strength:

Easy to drive, corners perfectly. rear wheel drive is always fun compared to most cars that are fwd. ITS A PORSCHE!! who doesnt raise their eyebrows when they hear that? And of course ,that grin that you get when someone next to you wants to race, oh yeah!

Weakness:

although they are cheap to attain, repairs are a little more costly than say a chevy or ford,but keep in mind that this car is a bullet proof vest to a bb gun

Bought car July 2005 with 195k miles. Obviously not taken care of in the past 5yrs but ran the hell out of it anyway. 15k miles later it still runs like a top. did a few check ups and minor work to keep up with maintenance as you should. All in all this car has seriously impressed me as it has taken redlines multiple times and high revs every day with no hint at any problems whatsoever. Those Germans really knew what they were doing. The 924 does what the 944 but the 944 styling is quite a bit more attractive with the flared fenders and smoother contoured interior. I plan on attaining one very soon.

Similar Products Used: nothing can really compare.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
paintball4fun21   [Mar 05, 2006]
Model Reviewed: porsche 944
Strength:

nice body style, handeling,performance,rwd, removable sun roof!, hatch with plenty of room, small back seats( no rides!) pop up headlights, its a porsche so people automatically think its worth 20000, easy to work on, nice interior, low profile, good mpg

Weakness:

repair! be prepared to spend a lot cause something is always going wrong. you can save a lot by ordering the parts off the internet and installing them yourself. Its old, not extremely fast unless its a turbo, no afermarket stuff!,hard to find parts and thier expensive!(go on ebay for best deals)

porsche 944's are nice cars and have great styling and performance. go with the turbo if you want real power

Similar Products Used: vw corrado, vw scricco, porsche 928, porsche 968(better!)
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
meowma   [Jul 06, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Porsche 944 S2 Cabriolet
Strength:

Handling, performance, uniqueness, design/styling, 50/50 weight balance, quiet cockpit even with convertible top, well-designed interior - nothing gaudy or fancy or unnecessary, rigid frame

Weakness:

Tends to run hot, have to be careful in summer months; am considering a cooling system overhaul/rebuild; labor is pretty expensive (e.g. new Sachs clutch, $1650), the audio system is really pretty horrible, am going to do something about it as soon as I can afford to

Great ride, totally unique styling. The best thing about this car is its handling; have never driven anything that has outhandled this car, and I used to be a valet driver, so I've driven the best. It's like driving a sports car while dreaming; the degree of subtle handling capable with the 944 is unmatched. When I replaced the stock chip with one designed by Steve Rossokov, she really woke up though. Not just in terms of HP increase (estimated 10 to 15), but also in basic driveability, engine warmth and response, and fuel mixture. It's as if the chip allowed the car to function as she were truly, originally meant to, instead of being imposed with some foreign limitation. I've got the Cabriolet, and while I wasn't looking for this when I was shopping for a 944, now I love the option of going topless. Living in Southern California, there are many opportunities to enjoy this, if one is willing to give up a degree of privacy. On a scale of 1 to 10 of user satisfaction, I'd definitely score her a 10, without exaggeration. It's one of the rare times when user expectation actually met or surpassed practical application. This includes categories of styling, which is just drop-dead sexy (mine is black), handling (unsurpassed), uniqueness (have only seen 1 other in L.A. so far), performance (not a turbo, but I don't need the tickets anyway, and I'm not racing her on a track), and mystique. This is the most exciting vehicle I've owned since my 1992 Suzuki GSX-R 1100; but then again, I've a greater chance of survival with the Porsche.

Similar Products Used: nada
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
blitz255   [Jun 18, 2004]
Model Reviewed: 944 Turbo
Strength:

Undersated performance

Weakness:

Expensive repairs

Excellent performance and sporty appearance. Wonderful track and street car Purchased in 1989

Similar Products Used: 98 Porsche 924S
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tim   [Jan 15, 2004]
Model Reviewed: 944 S,S2 power plant
Strength:

Handling, braking, styling, etc.

Weakness:

timing issues.

this line of cars is encredible. the styling is exactly what i dreamed of in a sports car. the interior looks like it could be from a new car. Go Porsche!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 125  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com