Toyota Supra Sports

Supra

The Toyota Supra is a sports car/grand tourer that was produced by Toyota Motor Company from 1979 to 2002.

Mark I (1978–1981) - Mark II (1981–1986) - Mark III (1986–1992)

The Supra is available with a 3.0 liter V6 with 225 hp. There is option for a Turbocharged model with 320 hp. It comes with 4 wheel disc ABS and choice of 4 speed automatic or 6 speed manual transmission.

User Reviews (145)

Showing 1-10 of 145  
Supra1984   [Dec 06, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Celica / Supra
Strength:

Light, dependable, easy to work on. Built like a tank

Weakness:

Not enough HP aftermarket add ons

This is my second MKII gen Supra. I presently have 250K miles on it, and I expect for it to go another 200K I have a 3.70 gear in it, so at 100mph, the engine is loafing. I will build another 50 - 75 hp into it and maybe she will do 150 who know.

Similar Products Used: 1984 MKII Supra
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
SupraLovA69   [Jan 13, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Supra 3JZ GTT-T
Strength:

Massive horse power, ultimate handling, transformers into a boat/plane, bulletproof engine (shot at it once didnt do any damage), etc

Weakness:

Not enough room 2 fit all the chicks wanting a ride

The car totally kicks ass i love my supra its the best beats any car on the road. One time i outran a helicopter in reverse. I got about 1300hp by just putting a HKS sticker on the back window so really easy 4 tuning.

Similar Products Used: Rocket jets, planes, etc....stuff like dat oooo and maybe a civic type R
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ssupra   [Sep 28, 2006]
Model Reviewed: toyota supra twin turbo
Strength:

high speed,exellent accelearation,stunning looks no ferrari can beat.

Weakness:

back seat is not too reliable for adults other then that is one perfect supercar any asian can love.

The supra is the best japanese car. It can beat any american cars whatever you say about it starting from looks to performance. American cars just look bad they are no match for the japanese king performance cars. I buyed a new stock
supra and staright away thought about modifying it. I started off by upgrading the turbos to hks performance gt which instantly boosted it to around 1325 BHP. I was really amazed what the car could do afterwards. It really does have great potential. I was once on the motorway when this fat american muscle pulled up beside me and asked for a race we both arranged a 1-mile sprint. while my car was running fully stock exept for a catback exhaust i smoked him from 0-60 in a amazing3.5 seconds while this outrunning the mustang gt. This race encouraged me to modify it much more so i done a full engine tune up which cost me around $60,000.i HAve also installed a wet shot of nitrous system for drag racing. i can now challenge any american cars even the saleen and smoke it for good even fully modified will be no problem for me. I have even raced yusufs subaru impreza with the massive twin turbo and muaz'es mitsubishi lancer evo and smoked bothed of them in the highway whos cars are just too bloody modified big time. i will rate their cars the fastest for their species

Similar Products Used: hks,toms,trd,spoon,bomex,veilside,recaro,sparco.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
gill12   [Sep 24, 2006]
Strength:

its aceleration gear shifting.

Weakness:

f*** u it has no weaknesses

this car is a craqzy car. it is crazy because of its handling and soft driving i just love it. it has a 6 gear monitor manual shifts. one tv on the passenger air bag. sony stereotype mp3 sub woofer 42 whz. clarion amp. sued seat with leather back and leaather steering wheel.

Similar Products Used: n/a
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Moron killer   [Aug 18, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Supra/turbo

I am just curious about the Asian gentleman that posted previously.
You seem to have many opinions about your Asian brethren. Do all Asians YELL EVERY WORD THEY TYPE? And misspell every other word and disregard all rules of grammar? I happen to disagree that Japanese cars or "japanez" as you so eloquently put it, are more stylish or what not. I find most Japanese cars very bland (with exception to the Supra, Celica, etc.) compared to their American class-counterpart, However they are usually more dependable.
Lastly I would like to comment on how you mentioned that your uncle's Supra has an excess of 500 hp, I think you're exaggerating, but I suppose with enough mods it's possible. But do you really think that the fact that your uncle can buy a turbo kit to beat a stock mustang off the line or for a city block, this translates to your fellow "japanez" are all superior to Americans? Very typical. Hmm... over-inflated sense of ethnic pride... suped up sports car... compensating for something...?
We are all very proud of your uncle by the way, but I'm sure you drive some crappy Hyundai or Dae Woo

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Brian Guillet   [Jul 16, 2006]
Model Reviewed: non-turbo
Strength:

Strengths include:
interior
looks
speed
fun!!
standing out
having the name SUPRA

Weakness:

always getting fixed
back seats way too small

Great car although there is always something to fix. I've thought about getting rid of it at times because of it's unreliability, but it's got a LOT of potential. The car has great look's and stands out. I've decided i will never get rid of this car.

Similar Products Used: Toyota corolla
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
IMPORT FAN   [Jul 16, 2004]
Model Reviewed: SUPRA TWIN TURBO
Strength:

STOCK SUPRA 320HP UNCLES SUPRA 541HP

Weakness:

THE WEIGHT OF THE CAR

WE ASIANS KNOW THAT AMERICAN CAR IS NOT GOOD BECAUSE THEY BREAK DOWN MORE FASTER BECAUSE OF THEIR ENGINE. EVEN THOUGH JAPANEZ HAVE LESS HORSE POWER BUT THEY HAVE A BETTER LOOK THAN ANY AMERICAN CARS ON THE STREET.IF SOMEBODY SAY THAT JAPANEZ CAR SUCKS, THEY BETTER TAKE A LOOK AT A TOYOTA SUPRA TWIN TURBO BECAUSE ASIANS KNOW THAT IT CAN SMOKE ANY MUSTANG, EVEN A MUSTANG COBRA, ROUSH, ETC. IM SAYING THIS IS BECAUSE MY UNCLE OWNS A SUPRA AND I HAVE RODE WITH HIM EVERY TIME HE GOES OUT TO JOY RIDE, EVERY TIME A MUSTANG PULES UP TO THEM, WE ALWAYS ASK THEM IF THEY WANT TO RACE, EVRY TIME WE DO THAT WE ALWAYS END UP SMOKING THEM, THE ONLY TIME WE GET SMOKE BY A MUSTANG, IS A TIME WHEN MY UNCLES CLUTCH WAS STRIPED AND HAD TO DRIVE IT BACK HOME TO GET IT FIXED. IF ANY BODY KNOW THE NAME AZ CLUTCHES, YOU KNOW HOW MUCH HP IT CAN HOLD UP TO. THE ONLY MUSTANG THAT CAN SMOKE A SUPRA IS A MUSTANG SALEEN, WE KNOW THAT IT'S VERY POWERFUL. TO THE PEOPLE WHO DON'T LIKE ASIAN CAR TAHT'S OK.

Similar Products Used: HKS, GREEDY, APEX, AZ, FIDANZA, TANABA, AND BLITZ
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
slider   [Jun 22, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Toyota Supra Twin Turbo
Strength:

Great acceleration, predictable understeer, reliable powertrain, Ferarri handsome, fit and finish, resale value.

Weakness:

Handling when pushed to the limit didn't provide enough feed-back to the driver: I would push it harder and harder into the corner and suddenly it would oversteer, unlike the RX-7's awesome steering feedback when carving up a corner. Targa roof was a pain to remove.

I bought this car new from the dealer when I had lots of disposable income and just had to buy the newest rides. Back then, dealers were asking $6000-$10,000 mark-up over the msrp, so it was hard to find one for less than what I paid. I'll tell you, when I left that lot, I was surrounded by other drivers wanting to get a look at this car. Many asked if it was a Ferarri. Initially, it was fun to get that much attention, but I quickly got tired of the constant questioning. They would even block me in on the freeway just to get a look. I really enjoyed its acceleration. I left mine totally stock with the exception of the wheels. The car felt like it could have gone 25mph faster than the 155mph speed-limiter allowed. It was going so fast when it reached the fuel cutoff that it would actually hit an indicated 161mph before slowing.

Similar Products Used: 1989 Ford Mustang 5.0, 1993 Pontiac Formula 5.7, 1993 RX-7, 1994 RX-7, 1997 BMW M-3
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
jurras1c5   [Feb 27, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Toyota Supra
Strength:

LSD (Limited Slip Differential) Fast. Very Fast. Strong Engine

Weakness:

Head Gasket Rear passenger leg room is horrible (what would you expect form a sports car) Very Heavy

Many times I've contemplated to get rid of this car, but I just can't. Because if i do get rid of it I'm getting rid of a car with tons of potential. This car is a dream to drive, the handling is incredible, and the speed compliments it as well. CAUTION! This car will blind you from your true speed. You may think you're driving 75mph on the freeway, but look again, you're going 105mph! This happened to me while driving to the mall. The car disguises itself on the freeway as a moderately fast car, but in reality is faster than what you really thought. It was at this time that the stock hoses blew off on me. Another thing I enjoy about the car is that my supra came with an option called LSD (limited slip differential)it wasn't until a friend pointed it out that I truly realized what i had.When i found this out I tested it out in a wet, slick, parking lot, and man it doesn't dissapoint!.....Basically this car is a work in progress. Theres a lot to be done before I can make it "Just the way I want it" You know the works, new paint job,new engine and transmission,new rims and low profile tires, intake, exhaust system, tints, and maybe a sound system. Currently the car is in fair condition. It is a 5 speed manual with 158,000 miles on the original engine.(It's also non-turbo) There are some minor problems with the car, a small oil leak, and the stock hoses seem to break at a high rpm. Other than these minor problems everything else in the car is good if not great.

Similar Products Used: 1982 Toyota Corolla SR-5. This is the first car I started driving when I got my license. I must say I did have fun driving it, but lets face it..IT WAS A BUCKET! Don't get me wrong it WAS a great car, but that was back in the days of old. It wasn't until I got my supra that i realized how crappy it really was. No power steering, no stereo, no A/C, no nothing! But like my supra, the corolla had potential also. I too had plans for the car until it was rear ended by a neighbor, and that was the time we got rid of it, but overall a superb car.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
dan   [Jan 01, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Toyota Supra
Strength:

Real Quick acceleration. Exellent Top speed (if tuned and boosted enough it can reach up to 200mph!) The value might go up as u install more aftermarket parts to it.(I've seen supras that are completely fixed up and sell for about $90,000) Easy to replace parts ok handling

Weakness:

Very heavy weight distribution unbalanced -- 70/30 -- overheating (stock turbo and intercooler) average cooling system.

This car is probably the best car that was ever built. it starts off with around 250hp but after about 10 grand more and u can make it into 900+. Easy to find parts, easy to customize, nice Inline 6 with 3.0L.

Similar Products Used: NOTE: the Supra info is based on a 1120hp engine Skyline GT-R R34, probably Supras largest Rival. Ferrari 360 spyder, almost makes it but cant make it with its 10.96 run.(Supra has an average of about 10.08). Dodge Viper runs a little slower than the ferrari. Pretty much the only reason these cars above (except the Skyline) only fails to beat the Supra MK3s because it is very hard to find parts for those cars and is very hard to install them on.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 145  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com