GMC Envoy SUV | Crossover

GMC Envoy SUV | Crossover 

DESCRIPTION

The GMC Envoy is GMC’s midsize luxury SUV that shares a traditional body-on-frame SUV platform with the Chevrolet TrailBlazer.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 151  
[Oct 28, 2013]
rich prestia
Model Reviewed: gmc envoy slt

Strength:

Kicks butt in the snow, rides like a Cadillac, roomy, real nice leather interior, has never left me stranded!

Weakness:

No iPod hookup, tranny shifts oddly,....that's it!

I've had 4 1/2 trouble free years with this vehicle!
Bought it with 40K....now it has over 100K and is as strong as ever!
I plan on keeping it for a long time!
It makes me look forward to winters around here...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 05, 2010]
keenan
Model Reviewed: GMC/Envoy SLE

Strength:

Turning Radius is incredible, quickness for an suv makes me forget i'm in a suv.Comfortable ride and very comfortable my wife wanted a yukon i told her to try the envoy out first plus yukon would've been cramped in the carport,she loves it she now say's its her dream vehicle and i can't stay out of it and did i mention how handsome it is we have the navy blue nothing looks finer coming out of a car wash with tire gel dripping from the tires.

Weakness:

Hate location of seat belts,needs light in glove compartment and first cupholder too close to shifter.I think gas mileage is descent at 18 avg wife thinks it guzzles.

Highly reccommend this vehicle have been GM lover for most of my life,when i'm driving this vehicle no other vehicle intimidates me at all. Keep up the the good work GM.

Similar Products Used:

FORD EXPLORER,FORD EDGE,RAM 1500,CADILLAC ESCLADE only might have driven better.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 14, 2010]
Jerry Luther
Model Reviewed: Envoy SLT

Strength:

Very nice rider, quiet.

Weakness:

GM dealer has fixed most of the problems EXCEPT for the auto side view mirrors. They do their own thing and seldom reset to the programed location. IS there a recall?

Overall, a nice vehicle. The Envoy was chosen over all of the competetiors at the time we purchased this one. It has a better ride and very quiet as compared to others.

Similar Products Used:

Aerostar

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 16, 2010]
4WDGIRL

Strength:

comfort, style, quiet ride, sunroof, moonroof, window defrost, safety, fuel mileage, auto 4WD, tire pressure monitor, automatic traction control

Weakness:

window seals wear down quicker than normal, no cargo mat available for rear, no Ipod port to plug in. The heater system is kind of a poor design, when you switch to bi-level heat: the driver side air flow is restricted so much that you can barely feel any heat out of the top vents or the floor vents...but yet the passenger side has a great amount of heat coming out of it. Took to the dealer and they told me that was just the design of the heating system. Plastic trim inside looks nice, but feels cheap and seems like it's lacking in quality for how well it stands the test of time.

Overall I love my Envoy! It has a few things that I wish were different on it: mostly the heat issue and the window seals, but everything else is pretty great. I think I would have opted for the 3 seat SLT style had I been able to find one with low mileage, but no luck, I have a 2 row and it's nice but would be great for lugging around all the family at times.

Interior is easy to clean, as everything folds down or comes out to be able to clean little cracks and crevices, which is nice.

The automatic traction control is FANTASTIC!!! Had a rough winter and it saved my tail a few times when driving on black ice. Nice option!

I love my Envoy, but it wasn't until after I bought it did I realize how many are out there on the road!!! Too bad I couldn't have something a little less popular....but none the less, great vehicle, great price, and too bad they stopped manufacturing them! Guess the Yukon Denali will be my next trade-up!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 01, 2009]
Carol
Model Reviewed: L

Strength:

Roadability. Always feels safe. Reliability. A good quiet ride. Still tight with no rattles or squeaks or wind noise at 110,000 miles. Few repairs. A solid 24 mi. per gallon on the highway at 65+.

Weakness:

Can't think of any. A little pricey, but I think worth it.

The Envoy has been one of the best buys I have every made in a car. With 110,000. miles on the car, I have had to only change the oil every 3000-4000 miles and bought new tires. Oh yes, at 109,000 mi. I had to replace the starter. I may be starting to rebuild, but the car is still tight and reliable and I get 24 miles per gallon, highway without fail and 20 in bumper to bumper L.A. freeway traffic.

My daughter replaced her brakes at 35,000, and began to rebuild her Nissan Sentra at about the same time...It is a tin can compared to the Envoy's comfort.

Why do people dis American cars--or am I one of the few people who are honest--or maybe one who doesn't abuse a car.

Similar Products Used:

Have driven Cadillacs, Ford Taurus, but no SUV's. I like this car as much as the above mentioned cars....I like it better than my daughter's Nissan and my son-in-law's Camry. Can't figure out what everyone thinks is soo good about Japanese cars.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 01, 2008]
pambolynn
Model Reviewed: GMC Envoy

Strength:

-Good in snow

Weakness:

-Clumsy handling
-Bad gas milage
-Sluggish
-Poor interior design
-Lack of interior space

For financial reasons (hopefully temporary), we must let our Honda Pilot lease end, so my dad bought us a used GMC Envoy with 66,000 miles on it to help us out. It was a surprise, so I had no choice but to accept it; I am not one to look a gift horse in the mouth!!
I can't help but compare the Envoy to the Pilot. The Pilot is TERRIBLE in the snow & had several very annoying electrical problems, so it's not a keeper anyway. The Envoy is MUCH better in the snow & rain than the Pilot, & hasn't had any annoying problems, but the design, agility & transmission are sorely lacking compared to the Pilot.
The Envoy feels heavy, clumsy & outdated. The transmission is sluggish & the handling feels like I am driving a giant school bus. Step on the gas & WAIT for the thing to get going....In contrast, the Pilot is very agile for it's size, feels light, & the transmission is smooth & very refined. Step on the gas & it MOVES!!
The Envoy has poor visability, both through the front & back (the Pilot had amazing visability). The interior design of the Envoy is so poor, I can't imagine that someone let it get through the approval process after it was designed!! There is almost NO console space at all. If you want to take things with you, there is simply no place to put them, other than throwing them on the back seat. Yes, there is a small compartment for CDs, but they only fit side up, so you can't tell which CD is which until you pull it out. In the park position, the shifter is so close to the instrument panel that you can't reach the controls in front of it.
The cargo, head room, & passenger room is much less than the Pilot. Hard to believe that of two similar-sized vehicles, one has so much room, and the other doesn't. The people at GMC would do well to study the design of the Pilot, as it really is well thought out, where the Envoy is not. And check out the crash test results: the Envoy was average, but the Pilot was excellent.
Also, the gas milage on the Envoy has proved (for me) to be about 15 MPG. Pretty bad.

Similar Products Used:

Honda Pilot
Ford Bronco II
Toyota 4 Runner
Subaru Legacy

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jun 28, 2007]
Howard
Model Reviewed: GMC Envoy XL

Weakness:

GM is reportedly NOT going to produce the Envoy in an XL chassis length. i think this may be true of it's clone the Chevy Trailblazer. Too bad.

i am considering a Trailblazer SS for my next vehicle. gas costs in the larger V8 will be an expense for sure, but driving a well setup vehicle is one of those daily treats i give to myself.

i agree that the pasenber space is comfortable.

my vehicle is the extended chassis option which makes for a long SUV but it holds all sorts of things when packed.

mine doesn't have the extra options like
special wipers or an information center and i don't really miss it.

this last winter, we had quite a lot of ice and snow. in 4 wheel drive (fixed, not AWD) mode, it worked well up hills and on the unplowed roads. i had a couple of really icy day slides and a bit of counter steering pulled it straight.

i totally suggest an ice and snow winter radial on all cars and trucks where winter driving is required. i think the choice of tires is totally critical to a safe and good ride in a vehilce of this size and weight.

my tires original ones were Michelin Cross Terrains which lasted about 50,000 miles, i just replaced them with Forteras. very similar ride characteristics. i run a set of 4 - Bridgestone Blizzaks on this in the winter and can't say enough about these tires.

i have had ZERO mechanical problems with this SUV, only expected repairs, regular services, the rear brake pads replaced,...that sort of thing.

mine has the inline 6 Vortec 4200 which is fine for my uses, i don't do that much heavy trailer work but the truck hitch is a full size hitch, which can't be said for some of the competitors SUVs.

engine is OK as far as normal cruise noise goes. i would suggest to GM that they make turbo-chargers optional on their engines for a more versatile and cost efficient power plant.

the ride can be choppy on a rough paved or off road route. this is just the suspension stuff doing it's job.

came with XM radio and has great sound and a good stereo speaker setup.

has only front power seats. i enjoy them as i drive a lot. my wife likes riding in this truck but she is not fond of driving.she favors a much smaller car.

Weaknesses:
my up hill and on the road mileage in Pennsylvania runs 17 mpg and i have seen 21 mpg on the highway. fuel mileage could be better. but, after all, this is a big SUV. the other choices all seem to make me look at a much smaller contained space and payload which i am not interested in.

Similar Products Used:
2002 ford escape, 1993 ford explorer, 2005 ford explorer .. these are vehicles others in my family run. i have driven and or owned them all.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 24, 2007]
rjgnwdc
Model Reviewed: GMC Envoy SLT 4x4

Strength:

The performance is great chews up and spits out any of the Japanese SUV's has more horsepower and torque then any other SUV in it's class (Midsize 6cyl)and most fullsize 8cyl.The Onstar diagnostics is a real bonus (free for 1yr)it has the hands free phone built in which is really nice,XM satellite radio, interior is so quiet and smooth riding not to mention it looks great a real head turner

Weakness:

I really have not come across any, some have said the gas mileage but I'm not complaining about an avg 18.6mpg

2007 GMC ENVOY SLT 1 4 DR SUV 4WD -
I bought it 03/22 I have about 3000 miles and they are excellent miles. This is a road machine, you set up in a commanding position, ride comfort and handling prowess are all superior, It has a very confident and agile feel to it while rolling down the highway, has 18” wheels and responses very well to rapid moves (cuts & swerves), The inline 6 cy 4.2 liter w291hp is extremely responsive when you need it. The Envoy is a very quiet ride, wind & road noise are minimal. A little tuff to turn at parking lot speeds 0 to 10mph but I’ll get over it. My Envoy has everything we could want, 2 pos memory seats heat mirrors 8 way with lumbar, imbedded cell phone (Bluetooth like) service with Onstar service (1yr free), XM, 6cd Bose system, Auto AC all the airbags including curtain AB through out. Elegant leather interior very comfortable, better then my old Crown Victoria. Gas mileage was an expected negative but is not terrible. This is an outstanding vehicle for the price, I did 6 months of research before I bought this Envoy and I have owned Chevy’s & Fords and test drove all the other competitors. GMC has built a quality vehicle with quality parts, fit and finish is second to none I’m very impressed with this True American car builder I am very pleased with our final chose.

Similar Products Used:

2007 Toy Highlander& 4runner, 07Jeep Cherokee,07 Ford Explorer, 07Nissan Xterra,07 Honda Pilot

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 06, 2007]
Jim Kenyon
Model Reviewed: Envoy 4WD SLE

Strength:

Versatility.

Weakness:

The design of 4WD selector switch is a reliability problem. The 4WD selector switch was the cause of infrequent, intermittent switching to AWD and 4WD.

Generally satisfied with features and performance. Averages 15 mpg in town; 20 on highway. More recalls than I expected; 4 service trips for GMC recalls. One in-warranty failure (ignition coil) One out-of-warranty failure (4WD selector switch).

Similar Products Used:

1994 GMC Envoy

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Oct 24, 2006]
cadikidd
Model Reviewed: gmc/envoy slt

Strength:

heated seats warm up fast
comfortable seats
rain sense windshield wipers
information center
4 wheel drive works well
very powerfull
quiet engine
more than enough room
looks great
rides great
good stereo
power seats

Weakness:

don't have any other than, the same as with all suv's better gas mileage would be nice but it's the price you pay to have a bigger vehicle. If you want better gas mileage buy a micro machine hybrid and rent a truck only when you need one.

I have had my envoy for about 5 months. For an suv it gets great mpg. Driving it home from the dealership about 50 miles away I was surprised to get 23 mpg. I usually average about 18 mpg between city and highway. This is my 6th vehicle, the previous 5 were cadillacs. The thing that sold me on the envoy is the ride. I test drove a durango, explorer, infinity qx4, and the envoy. The envoy and qx4 were leaps and bounds above the others for comfort and ride smootheness, and the envoy felt the most powerfull. I have not had a single problem with this vehicle and I would highly recommend it to anyone in the market for an suv.

Similar Products Used:

2001 ford explorer, 2002 dodge durango, cadillac cars not suv's

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 151  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com