Honda CR-V (2010 and older) SUV | Crossover

CR-V (2010 and older)

The Honda CR-V is a 4-door, 5-passenger sport-utility, available in 10 trims, ranging from the LX 2WD 5-Spd AT to the EX-L 4WD 5-Spd AT w/ Navigation System.

The LX 2WD 5-Spd AT is equipped with a standard 2.4-liter, I4, 180-horsepower engine that achieves 21-mpg in the city and 28-mpg on the highway. The EX-L 4WD 5-Spd AT w/ Navigation System is equipped with a standard 2.4-liter, I4, 180-horsepower engine that achieves 21-mpg in the city and 27-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (234)

Showing 1-10 of 234  
Neels   [Jul 04, 2014]
Strength:

Quality built vhicle, reliability, engine performance, comfortable seating, looks

Weakness:

Road noise from tyres as most people mention, 80%can be overcome when you replace tyres

I fell in love with these vehicles. I have 3 of them amongst the family. I bought one (2008) new. Rest were used. Will never drive anything else in my lifetime. A great SUV for senior citizens.

Similar Products Used: Not really. Drove +- 100 used vhicles in my life, Mercedes etc but came to rest with this vehicle.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ange601   [Jan 27, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Honda CRV
Strength:

Great in the snow...All wheel drive. Being in NYC, Parking is an issue..this car is great can fit into most spots...

Weakness:

Don't get the rainguards, with the shape of the car they can't work...

I love my crv, before it I had a custom van, Parking was a real issue...This was an amazing change. We are getting used to the smaller space for shopping and traveling but wow what a difference when you want to park. We have had a particularly snowy year this year and the CRV has not been stuck in the snow once...It just keeps going...I LOVE it..Did I happen to mention that...LOL...Affordable and dependable.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Karyn   [Sep 28, 2010]
Model Reviewed: CR-V EX-L 4WD
Strength:

This is another great Honda car! It's very dependable, safe, stylish, and the blue back lights for the dash are great! The brights are extremely bright which is great since we drive through a lot of farm land to get home. It is high enough to see all around you but you don't have to crawl in. I'm 5'10" with a bad hip and still can easily get in and out. The SUV has lots of room and my daughter's many things fit perfectly in this sleek vehicle. Recently a deer ran in front of our car while we were doing 55MPH, it stopped on a dime and allowed us to completely miss the deer. This is a great SUV and highly recommend it!

Weakness:

There is some slight noise when on the interstate doing around 70MPH but it is not loud nor does the car feel 'unstable'. Over all I don't have any disappointments in this SUV.

Over all this is a great vehicle. We have yet to take it through winter but I have no worries after what its been through. I have had many different types of vehicles but Honda saved my daughters and my life once... I'll never use anything else.
And yes the doctors said it was the Honda build that saved us. I wouldn't trust anything but Honda. Plus the sun roof and the heated leather seats are amazing!

Similar Products Used: '94 Isuzu Rodeo LS 4WD 5-speed,'97 Toyota Camry, '89 F-150 manual, '06 Jeep Wrangler 5-speed, '96 Honda Civic DX 5-speed (the car that saved my life), '08 Honda Civic LX 5-speed, '07 Honda CR-V EX-L 4WD (current car).
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
RR   [Aug 24, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Honda CRV 4wd exl with nav
Strength:

Back seat space

Weakness:

Had this for less than a month, but have driven it enough to form a preliminary opinion; so far am very disappointed with this. Will update if opinion changes.

Noisy engine/ ac compressor, very poor pickup on highways, you really need to floor the gas pedal to get the car moving, so far get around 17-17.5mpg- I really hope this improves after the 1st service, very stiff suspension with very poor ride quality- bumps on the road will go straight to your spine, mediocre nav system- shows roads within city limits as US# and not by road names, inadequate bluetooth system linked to nav system which does not even show the incoming call number, window power switch cluster on drivers side has an awkward reach, driver arm rest needs getting used to, glove compartment does not have a light, I wish they had thrown the tire pressure monitoring system out of the window and given me fog lamps instead. Havent seen how the 4WD will perform in the snow

would not recommend this at all

Similar Products Used: Toyota CamryX2, Hyundai Elantra
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
autobuff   [Jul 25, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Hionda CR-V
Strength:

Excellent SUV, reliable and reliable. Great handling and MPG. Nice smooth ride, would recommend to a friend.

Weakness:

None

I drove from Rhode Island to California this past month and it was a nice comfortable ride. It took 2 1/2 days to get here. Once you hit Nebraska the speed limit changes to 75 mph. I did 90 to 100 mph and at that speed nice and smooth felt like I was going 75 mph, but when I look down to the speedometer, It was going 100 mph, nice.

Similar Products Used: Honda Accord, Dodge Caravan, Chevy Cavalier.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Molly Garza   [Jun 08, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Honda CRV
Strength:

We purchased the CRV for it's safety features and interior room for out needs. Great styling. The Navigation system is awesome and love Sirius Radio.

Weakness:

Put a car seat in the back and seating for 2 other passengers is a bit cramped.

We purchased our car from Javier Balderas at Honda Cars of Katy. The car handles like a dream and affords us the right amount of interior space for two people.

Similar Products Used: We test drove the Toyota Venza, Lexus RX350, Chevrolet Equinox, GMC Terrain, Ford Escape. For price, the CR-V beat them all hands down. We went with the Consumer Report Review.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
GrahamFGraham   [Jan 20, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Honda CR-V EX-L
Strength:

My daughter and wife are small women, and they like being up high without having to climb into the car. They like being seen in the car, since it looks a bit upmarket. The car is small and easy to drive around the city, and park. The brakes are good, and seems to be well engineered. It handles well, and drives the same at 50 Kph as it does at 140 kph. Stable in winter, competent on cottage roads.

Weakness:

Really, really, really crappy ride. All you ever think and feel when driving, is why does this car make such a fuss about the road. It gives me a headache to even just go to the mall. Ottawa Canada has really bad roads, and this car is crap to drive. I hate driving an hour down the highway. I have given up going up to the hills, or away for the weekend, the car is such a pain to be in. I used to camp, ski, drive to other cities, birdwatch, and just explore the country side. Not anymore with the CR-V. Its a miserable experiance. The seats and steering wheel are too small. The suspension is so stiff that all you ever do on any drive, is endure the road with jolts to your neck and back, and jiggles that make your temples throb. I thought suspensions were to insulate you from the road. This car thinks you're in a rally, and makes you feel every rut, bump, dip, crease, crack, and expansion joint with a jolt, twist or pitch. The road noise is like there is no bottom in the car. Glad as hell to get out of the exhausting horrible ride. I gave the car to my daughter, to go with her high heel boots, and too tight jackets and "who cares about the damn car anyways" attitude. I'll just take the bus, and walk the dogs in the neighbourhood, thanks.

Really crappy ride ruins everything else about owning and driving this thing. Maybe this is the cute-ute experiance, but you can have it back. My next car may have all wheel drive, but it had better have highway manners. The CR-V may be fashionable, but it sure is a rotten way to get anywhere.

Similar Products Used: 3 Toyota Camrys, 2 Jaguar sedans, a Volkswagon and even a Ford Mustang. Maybe these aren't compact utility cross overs, but I'm sure other companies can make something more pleasant than the CR-V.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Wilson   [Dec 15, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Honda CRV
Strength:

Fuel economy, cargo capacity.

Weakness:

We only bought it for seven months, there has been several times we couldn't start the car, it's really bad.

We thought Handa CRV is reliable, but doesn't seem to be.

Similar Products Used: Honda Civic.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
athos   [Dec 14, 2009]
Model Reviewed: SE
Strength:

No good words about this car.

Weakness:

Bad, very bad. Until now, this car has lost the power two times. Especially the second time, just because of the cold weather, and I already have it plugged in, it still lost the power. I remember my poor nearly broken sunfire 1998. I seldom plugged in the car in the deep winter. But there is no problem about it. I very regret that I am so stupid to buy this HONDA CRV. Bad bad bad car, even worse than sunfire.

A very bad car. I wont buy any Japanese car especially the products from HONDA.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Larry Hinton   [Nov 06, 2009]
Model Reviewed: 4wheel drive LX model
Strength:

Fuel economy, turn radius, cargo capacity, seamless engine/transmission power shifting on hills and entering into traffic, lift up hatchback door

Weakness:

A little stiff on rough roads, not a full sized spare provided,

This little SUV has a nice quiet ride with plenty of power..The added 14 horsepower and redesign makes it just that much better over the 2009 model..Very responsive and sure-footed...

Similar Products Used: Pt Cruiser, Ford escape, Trailblazer
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 234  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com