Honda Element SUV | Crossover

Element

The 2011 Honda Element is a 4-door, 4-passenger sport-utility, available in 4 trims, ranging from the LX 2WD 5-Spd AT to the EX 4WD 5-Spd AT.

The LX 2WD 5-Spd AT is equipped with a standard 2.4-liter, I4, 166-horsepower engine that achieves 20-mpg in the city and 25-mpg on the highway. The EX 4WD 5-Spd AT is equipped with a standard 2.4-liter, I4, 166-horsepower engine that achieves 19-mpg in the city and 24-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (147)

Showing 1-10 of 147  
macwnj   [Apr 09, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Element EX
Strength:

Lots of room in a very small package. I bought it in anticipation of moving furniture to a summer house in Maine, and was not disappointed. Hard to believe how much stuff you can fit into this machine. I have to park on my street, and can fit into spaces most others cannot (it's even shorter than my Matrix was). Good handling despite overall height. Have owned it for three years (bought it used) and have over 90K on it and it has not given me one iota of mechanical trouble.

Weakness:

Gas mileage...but I expected that. Still, not bad for this kind of vehicle. (Mine is an AWD model with a 5-speed manual transmission.) Prone to crosswinds. The suicide doors are great in an open space, but impossible in a crowded parking lot. I just put new tires on it, which noticeably reduced the road noise.

I got a call from the Honda dealership telling me that this is the last year for the Element (he was trying to get me to replace mine). I haven't seen anything else on the market that does a many things well as this vehicle does. Probably will keep it as long as it keeps running.

Similar Products Used: 2004 Toyota Matrix
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Ranger Rick   [Nov 20, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Element EX 2WD 5-Spd AT w/Nav
Strength:

Utility is the Element's middle name. I can stuff my bike, surfboard, and dog inside for a full day of activities. Plus, I never have to worry about messing up the ruff & tuff interior. Plastic panels get the usual scuff marks, but everything else holds up after multiple camping, fishing, and snowboard trips to the mountains.

Weakness:

Never the first up the hill, but it gets there - eventually.

The Element totally works with my outdoor lifestyle. The interior is very accommodating for whatever sports equipment I need for the day and Rusty (my trusty companion) always has dibs on riding shotgun. After 30k miles and regularly scheduled maintenance, the Element is a true work mule.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
solomon   [Oct 08, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Honda Element
Strength:

Very Nice Care, Nice looking, easy to clean, fun to drive . Very good for IT people or any service providers, you can care stuff like tools and other stuff. By folding up the back seats you can get big cargo area. Okay with gas mileage.

Weakness:

People like me who rush most of the time, it’s a big problem. One of my Problems is that the blind spot. When I do a left turn suddenly I see someone on the cross walk crossing. He/she has been block or hidden by the body frame, which is between left side of the windshield and the door (Where the front left small speaker is). Also it happens to me when I am in underground parking garage. I get blinded by the same body frame to see clearly the left side Columns. So while turning to turn to left; here is in front of me the building column shows up. If you are speeding, it’s very dangers because you might not have time to stop or change direction on time

V6 will be awesome, more horse power, and convertibles will be great. The care has very big potential to be upgraded without losing the characteristic and look of it. I don’t know see any different between the past 4 years models.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
francois   [Sep 16, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Element EX
Strength:

utility
versatility
peppy
roomy
fun to drive

Weakness:

rpms too high on freeway driving
not fuel efficient
very old design

This was a revolutionary car when it came out and it still makes a statement. It's pretty good but but it's getting pretty darn old. Redesign the cars a little more often Honda!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Don   [Sep 16, 2010]
Model Reviewed: LX awd
Strength:

Reliability, storage options, seating configuration, quality all around, steering.

Weakness:

Blind spots are bad in both front and side rear. Even when looking over your should you can still miss a car in your blind spot. I had to push my side mirrors fully out for this. After about 30,000 miles the seat fabric started to wear out. ground clearance is too low for a "beach" car. i'd like to be able to manually engage AWD. The sunroof at the back is useless. the factory roof is not adjustable and the rails are too close together. Honda should seal the entire floor and put a drain hole, then we could hose down the inside to clean it.

I was looking for a honda civic with more storage room and awd. This is a great car. i listed many weaknesses, but none of them would are really that bad. i highly recommend this car.

Similar Products Used: honda crv, jeep cherokee, honda civic.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Retired in Bonney Lake   [Aug 03, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Honda Element LX 2WD 5-Spd AT
Strength:

We bought this vehicle three weeks ago and it is great. Very comfortable, our grandkids fit in the rear seats with booster seats, no problem, my 81 year old mom has no trouble getting in and out of either the front or rear seats. It gets good mileage for a combination of city/highway driving, so far about 21 mpg. I like the way the seats can be easily reconfigured. It is a Honda and as expected has a quality build and I anticipate a solid vehicle. We also have a 2009 Honda Pilot, very different vehicles, but this little Element is just a great fit for most of our driving. Very happy with it.

Weakness:

I wish I had bought the Blue Tooth option. In today's world Blue Tooth should really be a standard feature.

Great car and it gets lots of looks and attention. Many people want to look at it and inside to see how it is laid out. We have had several neighbors and even strangers at stores ask about it. We also got the Omni Blue Pearl color which is unusual and attracts attention. We have owned a number of Hondas and have been happy with all of them and expect this vehicle will meet all our expectations.

Similar Products Used: Honda Pilot
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dave   [Feb 23, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Honda Element EX
Strength:

We own a 2007 AND a 2003 Element and love both of them. Cargo space is incredible;ability to remove 1 or 2 or both seats or store them up on the side is unique; vehicle feels like a huge van but handles like a car; quick response; easy parking; tons of headroom; great for dog; no mechanical problems ever; tight steering; comfortable seats; good sound system; ok on gas; did I mention how much STUFF it can hold? We call our Elements the "Jack Russell of Vans" - it is small but it feels like a big van and acts it without the gas guzzling and expense. And our Element can go where no van can... in a parking garage!!

Weakness:

Does not respond quickly if quick acceleration needed; why is the sunroof in the BACK?; not enough storage; no center console storage; no towing capability....that's it.

It is obvious we love our Elements - we look like 2 little Jack Russell's running around when we follow each other in them. It is humorous. We wonder how we managed before having these little powerhouses - and did I mention how much STUFF they hold? Sorry, it is just thrilling. We have saved enough in hauling with these versus renting trailers that it offsets the pricier sales price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Lynda Lawrence   [Feb 20, 2010]
Model Reviewed: base
Strength:

see review

Weakness:

see review

My review and photos of my Honda are included in my personal published write up.
http://hubpages.com/hub/Honda-Element

Similar Products Used: 1978 honda twin star 185 bike
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
lyn law   [Dec 18, 2009]
Model Reviewed: honda element
Strength:

work and family

Weakness:

tires

http://hubpages.com/hub/Honda-Element
my review site

Similar Products Used: 1978 honda motor bike
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Karl Narinesingh   [Aug 10, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Honda Element EX4wd
Strength:

Fun to drive, solid feel, versatile, comfortable on long hauls - who knew?! Tons of cargo. Legroom abound in rear. Great in the snow and wet weather. Excellent reliability, driver vision, handling.

Weakness:

Suicide doors are impractical (very "unHonda"). Rear sliding doors would be a better substitute. Unnecessarily expensive accessories should be included at that price point since similar vehicles for thousands less get them standard. I opted for the sound-insulation undercoating for a quieter cabin experience - Honda you build great vehicles but the "inherent pronounced road noise" in all of your vehicles cheapens the perceived value of your product - "beware the South Koreans!"

I have to say that it's sometimes laughable the way Consumer Reports gauges their criteria for their product tests. The Element has always held one of the highest overall scores, in its CR category, yet CR still writes "the Element scores too low to be recommended" - don't listen to them just drive one then decide! I have had this vehicle for over a year and it is, hands down, the best all-round vehicle I have ever owned and I've owned many - everyone I know who has one thinks the same! It's a real pleasure to drive; Secure drivetrain deceivingly cavernous interior and a driver-friendly dash. With it's unconventional/funky styling and "alone in it's class image", this is not a vehicle for everyone. This is a vehicle for people who are comfortable with their individuality and don't need to be part of the herd. Having said that, it still draws more attention than expected from curious onlookers. I hope Honda will continue to improve on this "best kept secret" in the next generation; If they do I will definitely purchase another!

Similar Products Used: Nissan Xterra, Toyota RAV4, Honda CRV, Ford Escape
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 147  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com