Hummer H2 SUV | Crossover

H2

The 2008 H2 SUT is a 4-door, 5-passenger luxury pickup, available in 3 trims, ranging from the Base to the Luxury.

Upon introduction, both trims are equipped with a standard 6.2-liter, V8, 393-horsepower engine. A 6-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard.

The 2008 H2 SUT is a carryover from 2007.

User Reviews (31)

Showing 1-10 of 31  
Randy M   [Feb 16, 2010]
Model Reviewed: H2 SUT
Strength:

Great Vehicle, reliable, trouble free, Great ride and drive. Gas mileage not great but never thought it would be. Better than my 2006. Love the new engine and 6spd trans.

Weakness:

Gas mileage

The only thing I wish they could have done to this vehicle was to put a duramax Diesel under the hood..

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
bradshawstoys   [Dec 07, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Hummer H2
Strength:

Excellent 4x4 (climbs anything put in it's way). The interior is absolutely amazing. I drove and looked at many deseil trucks. My salesman made the mistake (I think he saw me comming) of letting me drive this 06 Hummer to his other lot to look at the pickups. Problem was, when we got there and began to walk toward the truck I was supposed to look at, I couldn't stop looking back at that damn Hummer that we just drove up in!

Weakness:

THE FREAKIN GAS GUAGE NEEDLE SEEMS TO MOVE AS YOU BRIEFLY LOOK AT WHILE DRIVING!!! It's probably all in my head.....NOT!

If you're a "Baller" or using it as weekender vehicle then you can't go wrong!

Similar Products Used: Silverado, Jeep, Yukon, Ram
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Denali Man   [Oct 28, 2009]
Model Reviewed: SUV
Strength:

Looks, uniqueness, amenities, 4x4 features, size

Weakness:

Fuel consumption (I'm averaging 11.5 mpg), cabin noise, slow response, size (can't use drive up ATM).

I had to have the Hummer H2. The truck was screaming my name and I couldn't resist. Three years removed and it still turns heads and I still enjoy it. The ride is incredibly smooth for its size and you would never imagine that a vehicle this size could handle as well as it does. I got the base model and still I got amenities such as: power everything, lumbar, heated front and rear seats, leather, tons of aux power outlets, dual climate auto control, rear a/c vents, park assist mirrors while reversing, compass, driver seat memory, an nice Bose audio system, and probably some other stuff I'm forgetting.

It also has excellent 4x4 features with a low and a high setting. I took it to the snow once and it handled superbly.

But alas, I'm tired of putting $80 in the tank every four days. I knew what I was stepping into as far as fuel efficiency, but three years ago my commute was nine miles each way. The saddest point in my three year ownership was when gas was up to around $4.50/gal and I put $110 in the tank. Ooooh that hurt.

Some other complaints are the wind noise, the ease at which the flat face windshield gets chipped, the cabin noise, and the slow response (I can't rely on this big boy to quickly pass up other cars), and my particular Hummer seems to rev high.

This is a great vehicle for whoever has the money and they are using it as a recreational vehicle. Not good for everyday commuting.

Similar Products Used: Yukon Denali
Yukon Denali XL
Lincoln Navigator (my favorite)
Cadillac Escalade
Ford Explorer
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
H2   [Oct 28, 2009]
Model Reviewed: H2
Strength:

Smooth ride, uniqueness, amenities, 4x4 settings

Weakness:

Fuel efficiency, cabin noise, response (I am never satisfied with its get up and go when I hit the gas), large blind spots, difficulty of getting in and out, can't use drive up ATM.

It is surprising smooth and comfortable. I have the base model and it offers more amenities than the a lot of top of the line vehicles. It definitely turns heads and I've gotten more inquiries and tongue lolls from this vehicle than any vehicle I've ever owned. At base level I got heated seats for front and rear, homelink, auto adjust mirrors for reversing, power everything, second row heater & a/c vents, tons of aux outlets, and a NICE Bose stereo system.

I took it to the snow one time and the low 4x4 worked great. As high up as the H2 sits it gives you a feel of being in a cockpit and you definitely feel safe.

But alas... I can't keep dropping $80 in the tank every four days. The worst point in my three year ownership was when the gas was up to around $4.50/gal and I put $110 in the tank... ooh that hurt. Furthermore, the wind noise is a nuisance, the road noise is bad, and my particular Hummer revs loud.

Buy an H2 if you can afford it and it is a weekend car. Don't use it as an everyday vehicle.

Similar Products Used: Yukon Denali
Yukon Denali XL
Lincoln Navigator (by far the best SUV I've ever driven)
Cadillac Escalade
Ford Explorer
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
duffy   [May 20, 2009]
Model Reviewed: H2
Strength:

Very comfortable,large field of view despite what most people think....however there are some blind spots when trying to go in reverse. Very roomy even for a guy like me who is 6ft 3in. Now for people who claim the h2 is sluggish it is a wee bit. But, before you go off on a tyrant about how your right first hear this. K&N makes a high performance air intake that you can install within an hour that not only boosts fuel economy but also gives the h2 15 extra horse power. Then on top of that CORSA makes a high flow exhaust system that boosts fuel economy and power as well.

Weakness:

Well it does get bad gas mileage........if your one of those people who thinks they have to get 40 mpg out of their car. My friend said that on the open highway he has gotten 20+ mpg. Now that's not bad for a 6000+ lb. vehicle.It does lack in rear cargo space...however like most SUV's you can lower the passenger seats to gains some extra cubic feet of space.

The hummer h2 is an excellent vehicle in my view. A friend let me test his out, and my verdict was: amazing!

Similar Products Used: As in cars: Gmc sierra 1500, jaguar x type, and jaguar xj8 (yes i know they aren't actually SUV's)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
ncnative   [Aug 15, 2008]
Model Reviewed: H2
Strength:

Large interior room, Seats are soo comfy,and the ability to see all around you is a very safe feeling. Chick magnet and the only pensi envy going on is the ones who dont have one.

Weakness:

Turns too many heads for people not to like them. Funny how liberals are the ones who profess liberty, freedom, the right for personal choice but then blame h2s... ok ok thats a strength. Anything that can tackle a liberal in a single bounce gets my vote!

Great vehicle,just as they say.. like nothing else.It is well worth a test drive if you are considering a suv, but I would not advise on purchasing one as your only means of transportation if gas prices would force you to change your driving habits, but even then its a great 2nd car fun mobile.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
noelio74   [Jun 20, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Hummer H2
Strength:

If you are in an accident, its not that likely that you will be the one in the stretcher.
During the worst storm of the winter we had about 2 feet of snow but the drifts were 3 - 4 feet easily. Myself and my significant other went out joyriding. It felt like driving a corvette in the countryside on a warm sunny sunday afternoon.
MASSIVE machine, bold appearance and wow does this baby turn heads. Black on black all the way!

Weakness:

It is slightly hard on fuel so filling up more often will be in the cards.
The haters out there... There's lots who take the "rich b_stard!" point of defeatist view who (you have to keep in mind) are the same people that believe the ice caps on mars melting is caused by man made global warming as well as pluto's, jupiter, saturn's moons etc. They are also the ones that forget the ICE age ended long before the first SUV rolled out so you aren't dealing with intelligent beings really... It's no wonder they are reduced to jealousy.

I used to own a H3 and I loved that machine but it sure wasn't an h2. You simply have to drive one to know what I mean. After the first 1 - 2 hours the size is no longer that intimidating. The machine is intuitive and COMFORTABLE! Whoa is it ever comfortable!

The gas mileage is a mixed emotion for me. I could afford my H2 so I should be able to afford the gas. In reality it definitely could be better on gas but this thing is just short of an army tank with extremely exotic trim. The front and back could fit a leather loveseat EASILY.
If you don't mind breaking the $100 per tank mark for 300-350 miles per tank then this is the truck for you... As they say...
Hummer... Like nothing else!

However if gas is a concern and you don't want the MEGA comfort the the H3 should be fine. It can do anything the h2 can minus the major towing capability. I do suggest LEATHER seats only. The one thing that I hated about my own h3 was the low end non leather hip breaking seats.

Similar Products Used: H3, ford explorer, ford bronco, jeep cherokee, jeep wrangler
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
laketsha   [Apr 18, 2008]
Model Reviewed: h2
Strength:

attetion grabber

Weakness:

haters

love it love it love it

Similar Products Used: escalade
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
wadeea   [Sep 09, 2007]
Model Reviewed: H2
Strength:

It had all the power you wanted and attention you wanted.

Weakness:

It sucked on gas depending how you would baby it I was getting an average of 9 to 11 miles a gallon. I also had a tire slashed because of what it was.

The H2 is a great ride handled great but I traded it in less that 2 months of owning it. When gas had got to $3.25 a gallon I didn't want a vechile that would cost me 2 gallons of fuel to start it up.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
chris   [Apr 27, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Hummer H@
Strength:

Driving in the snow, rain, off road or on. Drives like a car sits up like a truck. Very low road noise.

Weakness:

Rear A/C doesn't cool as quickly as I would like.

The H2 is by far and away the best SUV that I have owned. The ride is great, low road noise, and it turns on a dime compared to other SUV's.

Similar Products Used: Explorer, Expedition, 4 Runner
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 31  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com