Infiniti FX SUV | Crossover

FX

The 2011 Infiniti FX is a 4-door, 5-passenger luxury sport-utility, available in 3 trims, ranging from the 35 RWD to the 50 AWD.

The 35 RWD is equipped with a standard 3.5-liter, V6, 303-horsepower engine that achieves 16-mpg in the city and 23-mpg on the highway. The 50 AWD is equipped with a standard 5.0-liter, V8, 390-horsepower engine that achieves 14-mpg in the city and 20-mpg on the highway. A 7-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard on all trims.

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
CarReview enthusiast   [Dec 10, 2010]
Model Reviewed: FX35 AWD
Strength:

This is my first Infiniti and I love it. I went from a 2008 Enclave and the difference is vast. This FX has more get up and go than you could imagine in a vehicle of this size. It corners well and rides great. The interior is designed very well and is very comfortable. The electronics work great including the nav system which is very intuitive and user friendly. The overhead camera and back-up views are fabulous. I am getting better mileage than it is rated for averaging 22 miles per gallon over the first 5000 miles with combined driving. When you want some power, this baby sounds great and moves out yet it is very comfortable and luxurious.

Weakness:

This is not a large SUV so there is not as much storage in back with the rear seats up, but has plenty when they are down. The biggest con is having people stare at me when on the road with my FX. I always wish for better mileage, but with over 300 horsepower and this much performance, I am happy with my 22 combined and 24 on the highway.

This vehicle is worth the cost and is probably the best I have ever owned over 30 years of driving

Similar Products Used: Buick Enclave
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
andreit   [Dec 19, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Infiniti
Strength:

The All Wheel Drive system is a must have if you live in a snowy region. It's performance-oriented since it's slightly rear-biased. I wouldn't recommend this vehicle to just about everyone because of the way it handles at the limit. It gets fun to drive as soon as you learn the basics. In the looks department, it still gets heads turning even after 4 years. Or it could be the provocative exhaust system which commands respect.

Weakness:

The transmission has only 5 gears which has a noticeable impact on fuel economy. It's rather hefty for the engine it as (in 3.5L form).

The car is a joy to drive. The tail likes to hang out with the electronic nannies turned off. The exhaust note is really a pleasure to hear, especially in tunnels. In winter, you can really appreciate the All Wheel Drive system, since you won't have any problems climbing up a steep snowy hill, even from a standstill.

One thing I don't like is the transmission. For starters, it's only a five speed, which makes for not so interesting fuel economy. The newer models use a 7-speed automatic, which is a significant improvement in driving dynamics as well.

The design still is beautiful (or at least interesting) compared to other cars on the road, even a good 4 years after it was made. Can't say the same for the vast majority of cars out there.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Idalia Suarez   [Dec 14, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Fx35
Strength:

Luxury interiors, power and great lines

Weakness:

Lacks security hooks necessary for securing front and rear facing car seats, cabin space small and narrow compared to a Forester or Honda Accord. Almost no trunk space.

I can agree with other reviews posted in that "the FX35 has lots of power and overall performance is great. Ride is very comfortable and quiet as can be expected for a new car." But... not what I expected. In my case my husband bought this car to substitute our Honda Accord. Moms (and Dads too) beware this is not a family vehicle if your children are in a car seat age. I'm used to drive my 2004 Subaru Forester and after using my husbands car for 1 whole day I prefer the Forester or the Honda Accord we used to own 10-1. First this car lacks the security hooks for both rear and front facing car seats causing a rear facing car seat to turn on its side and due to a poor seat belt mechanism you cannot turn it up again because the seatbelt locks forcing you to park and dismount the car seat. Also other small details like the lights don't turn off when you shut down the car etc where a bummer when I'm used to have that in my Forester and the door on the visor mirror has broken twice in the fist two months needing replacement.
But the most important thing is that the security concerns of children not being safe in a car seat in this vehicle has made us doubt of our choice.

Similar Products Used: Subaru Forester
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Rene   [Dec 16, 2007]
Model Reviewed: FX45
Strength:

Power, acceleration, braking, NAV, comfy seats

Weakness:

Well, the winter driving on all-seasons is treacherous at best. This thing will drift on you on Goodyear HD's - seriously, I have a 1 foot drift back and forth - brand new f'n tires. We switched to Blizzaks, and all is good again - not really the vehicles fault, but in a way it is - I drove all-seasons on my maximas the last 8 years without ever feeling scared.

Suspension - bone-jarring in the back for passengers - we go over a bump, rear passengers lose teeth - its almost that tight.
Heater - while not bad, does not match the Lexus RX330, once hot though, it stays toasty because it has few air leaks.
Why Nissan is devoted to BOSE I'll never know - CD skips when cold more often than not.

Well, my rating on this vehicle are mixed, simply because for a 4wd vehicle, I was expecting to stick to the road better using stock tires. We own two nissan maximas, so comparing to these would not be fair, but here goes.

I am 6'4", my wife 5'4". We can both drive this without head, leg, hip, or any problems - a big plus! The features are amazing, love the NAV, DVD, stereo - though I think I blew the tweeter on the drivers' side.

Solid vehicle, pretty quiet, powerful, but ditch those all-seasons for winter driving.

Similar Products Used: Rx330, Maximas,
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
mcbradley   [Jan 09, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Infiniti FX45
Strength:

Un-matched styling
Impressive Electronic Package
Navigation and Backup Camera (used more than expected)
Flawless Engine and Transmission Package
Great Power
Flexible cargo area with fold down seats
Gets more jealous looks than any other car I've owned
Not driven by soccer moms

Weakness:

Squeeky brakes (no fade though)
Electric Seat Controls on top of seat (moved to the side in 07)
Wife wants to keep borrowing it leaving me with her Mercedez SLK320

I've owned many cars and SUV's over the past 34 years. This has by far been my favorite ride. The FX45 has no peer in this category. I shopped for 1 year and was headed for a sedan after driving a Chevy Suburban, followed by an Ford Expedition and Chevy Tahoe over a 9 year stretch. While I wouldn't tow or take the FX45 hunting (I kept the Tahoe for that) I was ready for this car.

The agressive styling was my second reason for purchasing the FX. The sports car performance in a mid sized SUV was number one and sealed the deal. I have a mountain cabin 2.5 hours of challenging mountain driving from my Phoenix home. The FX is an amazing performer that rarely downshifts on 6% grades and takes the mountain curves with abosoulte security.

I purchased this FX45 with every option Infiniti had to offer and the electronic packages are amazing. I've become a huge fan of the Intelligent Cruise Control and Lane Departure Warning System. When I need carry a big load I drive the Tahoe, but I can't wait to get back in the FX45. Many FX owners buy the 35 (6 cyl.) and spend time and money trying to make it perform like the FX45. For my money I would just go straight to the big engine.

This is most realiable car I've every owned.

Similar Products Used: Drove Accura MDX, BMW 5, Lexus RX before purchase (no comparison)
If you want big, buy a Tahoe, if you want fun, buy an FX45
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
BIGTURK   [Dec 26, 2006]
Model Reviewed: FX35
Strength:

Power, looks, AWD, exhaust note for sure, reliable.

Weakness:

Bose is nice but cold use a little help.

I've driven many cars and trucks...but nothing compares to my FX35. Has everything one can ask for in one complete package. Reliable, powerful, sexy, year round vehicle.

Similar Products Used: ML 320, Bmw X5, Pathfinfer
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
SweetFX   [Dec 25, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Infinit FX35 AWD
Strength:

Very orginal looking, fast for the weight of it, great daily driver. The warm fuzzy feeling when I turn it on and drive. Put 50k miles on it and runs like the day I bought it. Love the exhaust sound.

Weakness:

The Black Paint is very thin and chips easly. Get a Clear Bra right away no matter what. Epecially in front of the rear tires. Hate that the trim around the tires faded in 3 yrs. I wish the Bose radio was louder.

The best vehicle I ever owned, so much that for the last 3 yrs I have not wanted anything else. Sweet rides with lots of toys. Very happy I did not choose the lexus Rx300 too slow and every person over 50 has one out here. Never thought that I would have a smile on my face everyday I start the engine.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
q45rasta   [Dec 25, 2006]
Model Reviewed: FX45 awd sport
Strength:

Strong accelaration
Tight handling
Sweet exhaust
Muscular looks

Weakness:

Small storage areas
Some interior pieces are cheap plastic
Stock tires are so-so

I purchased my FX used, after admiring it for while and doing some research.The looks and handling plus the sound of the exhaust had me hooked from my first test drive.I wanted a v-8 and a sporty car with room & great looks and for me the FX is the best,period.I get compliments and questions all the time about the FX and love driving it,very addictive.It,s not perfect but it meets a lot of my wants and needs

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
KT Turner   [Dec 23, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Infiniti FX45
Strength:

Style, power, technology. Very unique. Previous year models have excellent reliability record. Well built infrastructure. Very safe vehicle.

Weakness:

Hmmm...tough one. I guess the downsides would be gas mileage - I avg. 17mpg in mixed driving. Also, not as much utility/storage as some people might need.

I did a lot of research before buying so I knew what to expect. I like the sporty feel, power & acceleration, and all the tech toys. The interior is well appointed and of good quality materials. To me, the FX is really unique in its combination of style, performance and luxury. I had a hard time finding other SUVs to compare. The Lexus had a softer ride, but not sporty enough for me and way too common. I think the Lexus targets a little older crowd and soccer moms. The FX is more of driving enthusiasts's SUV. I didn't like the style of the Acura -- it was too understated and boring for my taste. In the end, based on what I was looking for the FX was really in a class by itself.

Similar Products Used: See above.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Danny Boy   [Dec 21, 2006]
Model Reviewed: FX35 AWD
Strength:

· Prestigious look and feel
· Power and performance
· Fair gas mileage

Weakness:

· Trunk space is marginal (barely enough for my golf or hunting equipment)
· Very little storage space inside
· Expensive snow tires and rims

This is my third Nissan product. I owned a 2001 Maxima and 2003 Pathfinder. The FX is four months old and runs without any problem at all. It is a dream car for me and I am a proud owner.

The dealer gave me pretty good deal on the trade-in so I am happy for the good value I got.

I compared the Lexus RX350 and Acura MDX before deciding on the FX. I ruled out Mercedes M class because of poor review. All these SUVs are within the same price range.

The FX35 has lots of power and overall performance is great. Ride is very comfortable and quiet as can be expected for a new car.

The FX came loaded with many features. The only available option is the Tech package costing $6,600. I purchased a Garmin Nuvi 660 GPS and it works well in the FX.

Gas mileage: I am happy with 11.5 l/100km or 20.6 mpg combined highway and city for the last 5,000 Km.

Only time will tell how well the FX ages.

Similar Products Used: Pathfinder.
Also test drove Lexus RX350, Nissan Murano and Acura MDX
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com