Infiniti QX4 SUV | Crossover

Infiniti QX4 SUV | Crossover 

DESCRIPTION

The QX4 is noted as a luxury SUV powered by a standard 3.3-liter SOHC 12-valve V-6 with 168 hp paired with a 4-speed automatic transmission. It comes standard with it's unique 4 wheel drive system called All-Mode 4WD.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 72  
[Mar 08, 2022]
Madmardigan


Strength:

Durable, rugged, go anywhere SUV with style. Comfortable and luxurious all around. The BEST vehicle Metal Fence have ever owned!!

Weakness:

Many to mention.

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Feb 11, 2008]
E. Phillips
Model Reviewed: Infiniti QX4

Strength:

It is Japanese. Great pickup. Logical instrumentation. CD works great, just don't stick an analog CD into it or you will replace. That is the stand alone CD writers not computer writers. Larger rear cargo than most its size. Tows 5K v. 3500lbs for the Lexus RX 300. Headlights. Anti-roll braking system (first year).

Weakness:

Rear Drum Brakes, Gas Mileage could be better but I like the power, Turning Radius not as good as my Ford (Fix Or Repair Daily) Explorer 1997. Can only load about 850 in the car itself.

Bot from Infiniti Tustin, was great to buy from them. They took my calls after I buy. Have had the car for 12K. It drives wonderfully. It brakes great. The interior is logical and well thought out. The leather is of good quality and not super soft like the LEXUS 300 which could tear. The fake plastic wood fakes people out. This site lumps in the pre 2001 with the 2001 - 2003, that is a mistake. I am 6'0 and 185.The seats are totally automatic and even a friend who was 6'3" liked driving it and also fit in the back seat. In case you did not know, the back seat tilts back to give extra room. It has been rated worse than the Lexus RX 300 for rear leg room, but this is because the Lexus has such small seats that your legs overhang but the specs show it has more room when in actuality it is close to the same and the Infiniti has much more comfortable front and rear seats if you are over 5'5". Cruise works well. It feels like a luxury car not a truck, like the Ford Explorer. I believe there will be very few repairs up into at least the 200K range based on some feedback from service guys. The 4-wheel drive has 4 Auto which allows you to drive on the freeway in the rain. You do not lose traction during rain and I would guess since Infiniti has been doing it awhile it is better than the Lexus. Came with most everything on it one would option. Sharp looking. Outweighs the bigger Ford Explorer '97 by 500 lbs. even thought it is smaller. No car is pefect but sofar as riding, handling, braking, interior room, comfort, innovation, reliabilty, safety and value, even with the less than great premium gas mileage, I doubt there is a better option for the money. For the three big Japanese auto companies, Infiniti is the most up to date. The back door latch on my car was recently put on the Toyota. The rollover safety mechanism was added to the Lexus I believe a year later and I don't think it was standard.

Similar Products Used:

Test Drove Lexus RX 300
Ford (Fix Or Repair Daily) Explorer 1997

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 30, 2008]
vince
Model Reviewed: qx4

Strength:

looks,engine and ride

Weakness:

needs rear disc brakes

I have used this car as a show car over the past 4 years with a 4000 watt sound system in it. with over 100 shows and 155 thousand miles it still runs great. Never in the shop for maint. Just oil changes. I would not advise 22 inch wheels as it is hard in the brakes.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 14, 2005]
next1
Model Reviewed: infiniti qx4

Strength:

Powerfullengine, quik take off response, nice speed, iam 6ft and it's quite comfortable especially when no one is sitting behind me, breifly it's perfect , good leather work ,airconditioning

Weakness:

steering turning angle

All i have to say is already been better expressed by this user -alihoney. He/she has completely borne my mind. try and read the posting

Similar Products Used:

Bmw x5 ,escalade

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 27, 2004]
carpcop
Model Reviewed: QX4

Strength:

Power Reliability Handling Great engine, tranny, and AWD system.

Weakness:

Bose stereo (only American component) Developing squeaks Seats hurt my back Gas mileage (an SUV with this little of interior space should be getting 20 mpg) premium fuel requirement

After a couple of years and 40,000 more miles on our QX4, I can write a bit more accurate review. I never thought I'd say this about an Infiniti, but the fit and finish is beginning to remind me of a domestic. It has developed a squeak in the dash, the cargo light will come on when turning in cold weather, the Bose CD player broke, and the leather is already wearing out on driver's seat. The hood has never seated properly, and it wobbles on the highway. very annoying. Gas mileage remains a dismal 18 mpg on the highway. But the power is still very acceptable; it surprises many other drivers. It is cramped inside for my 6'1", 250 lb frame, but is perfect for my 5'3" 125 lb wife. handling is great, AWD system is excellent. Major mechanical components have been trouble-free. Still on factory brakes, though the struts are needing replacement.

Similar Products Used:

1997 Pathfinder 1988 Pathfinder

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Aug 11, 2004]
majoint
Model Reviewed: FX-35

Strength:

Great and unusual - not your "typical run-of-the-mill" look. More than enough power. VERY quick response. Unbelievable cornering. This thing is glued to the road. Feel like I got a Porsche at a bargin price.

Weakness:

Those tires look like a second mortgage to replace. Some of the plastic could be a bit better quality for this kind of money - but: Who's perfect ?

This is the most amazing vehicle I have owned since getting my license in 1965. It looks agressive but isn't. It looks fast and is. It feels like it was designed with actual people in mind. My wife adores the remote lever to flip the rear seats down, as well as being able to adjust the seats / controls / gauges for her own liking. I can set those things for my own use and it's all in memory.

Similar Products Used:

Mercedes ML-350 / Nissan Murano

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 17, 2004]
Collo
Model Reviewed: Qx4

Strength:

-handles rough weather real well. Snow and ice are no match for the AWD. -Looks good, drives good. -Interior is beautiful. -I was looking forward to buying a new one but if they do not make them any moreI'll probably settle for a BMW X5.

Weakness:

-The back seat is not excatly designed for long distance travel. -Gas usage not the best but inline with the rest of the SUV family. - The ride can be rough over bumpy roads.This is not a smooth riding sprts sedan, whenever I hit a bump I am reminded that I an driving an SUV. -I test drove one of teh newer models and they did a good job reducing road noise.

My 1st real investemnt on an automobile and I have no regrets so far. I replaced an alternator( cost me about $150.00).I have driven this car to so many places and it has delivered every time. Took it on a 2000 mile road trip to NY, did a 1000+ mile road trip around the mid-west and its superb. It handled the snow and slippery winter roads without a sneeze or a wheeze, the ABS and AWD works like magic. They could have put in a more powerful stereo system but overall its got good sound output. Plus its a head turner. You pull into a parking lot and people cant help but stare. Pretty good car overall. Did I say it looks good? My friends call it the Sexfinity.

Similar Products Used:

4Runner, Blazer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 01, 2004]
dparks
Model Reviewed: QX4

Weakness:

None

I'M SHOCKED! I resently read one posting that stated the QX4 2003 is the last and will be replaced by another model. I recetnly purchased my QX4 in June 2003. I absolutely enjoy this vehicle! My husband and I considered many other SUVs that we have test driven and our last stop was the Infinity QX4. We were so delighted with this vehicle that I have set my mind for this to be my future choice for another SUV (after about 5 years with my 2003 QX4). WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT TO FIND OUT THIS IS NOT AN OPTION! Hopefully the manufacturers will wake up and realize that is a mistake.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 23, 2004]
alihoney
Model Reviewed: Infiniti QX4

Strength:

Durable, rugged, go anywhere SUV with style. Comfortable and luxurious all around. The BEST vehicle I have ever owned!!

I AM SO DEPRESSED!! I bought my Infiniti QX4 in July of 1999. I love this car! With out question, it is the best vehicle I have ever owned! I have never had even 1 problem with it in 5 years. The only thing that I have ever had to do to it, is routine oil changes & I had a flat tire once. The QX4 is comfortable & luxurious, but it is still a rugged SUV. I have put alot of miles on my QX4. We live in the mountains of Alabama, (not exactly the flat lands.) We drive it to South Dakota. We drive it to Florida. We take this SUV everywhere! It has been a WONDERFUL experience owning this Infiniti QX4! I can't say enough about it!! Anyways, my husband and I decided it was time to trade in our 1999 Infiniti QX4 for a new one. We wanted some of the new features like the DVD and the mapping system that they offer now. So, I went online to get a price for a new QX4. Well, to my astonishment, they no longer make the Infiniti QX4!!! WHY?? The 2002-2003 Infiniti QX4 were the last. I didn't believe it, so I called my local Infiniti dealer to confirm this news. He said that the QX4 is being replaced with the FX & QX56. The Infiniti QX56 will go on the market on 3-1-2004. I went online to look at the Infiniti QX56 and it is REALLY EXPENSIVE! To get all of the options that I currently have on MY QX4 (like a sunroof) I'll have to pay approximately $57,000.00! WOW! That is roughly $22,000 more than I paid for my Infiniti QX4 in 1999! I could by another brand new car for 22K! To say the least I am very upset about this! Not only is the QX56 expensive, but it's ugly. It kinda looks like a mini-van/blazer hybrid. The QX56 has all of the bells and whistles though. It has everything that you would ever want, except looks. I also looked at the Infiniti FX & it's just not my style. I think it looks like a Toyota Rave 4. I am really upset about all of this. The Infiniti dealer that I talked to said that they have been trying to find as many QX4's as they can, because customers have been so upset that they couldn't get a NEW QX4. I guess we can only hope that Infiniti will come to there senses soon. Until then, I guess I'll have to look at Lexus SUV!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 16, 2004]
fmrhrntwso98
Model Reviewed: QX-4

Strength:

-Quality workmanship throughout -Reliability, functionality, luxury -2WD, AWD, 4WD Lo/High, all shift on the fly -Great Offroad (not a mountain goat though - if that's what you want get a '72 Bronco) -Awesome headlights (HID is unbelievable) -Really smooth ride for an SUV -Plenty of power (240 horses) -Saftey - antilock brakes and plenty of airbags. Check out http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov/cars/testing/ncap/Cars/2001SUVs.html for crash test results! -Dealerships & customer service

Weakness:

-Gas mileage (avg 17 city / 22 hwy) -Some road noise (mainly due to the big tires) -Rear suspension (needs 4 wheel independent - would smooth out the ride even more) -Rear DRUM BRAKES (just plain antiquated for this day and age) -Pricey, but like I said before... You get what you pay for!

My first NEW vehicle with no regrets. I test drove one and fell in love with it. The price wasn't much different from a Pathfinder with all the options, so I knew I wanted one. At the time I lived 2 hours from a dealership so I ended up doing everything over the phone. The dealership was great and delivered it right to my door on a Friday afternoon. It's driven everyday and 26000 miles later I haven't had a single problem. I've gone to two different dealerships for oil changes & regular maintenance and they are fantastic. Customer service was awesome and I was always given a "loner" to drive (last time I got a brand new G35 sedan which was a blast to drive!). You get what you pay for and I will definitely buy an Infiniti again.

Similar Products Used:

First SUV

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 72  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com