Land Rover Freelander SUV | Crossover

Land Rover Freelander SUV | Crossover 

DESCRIPTION

The Land Rover Freelander is a compact luxury SUV that is perfect for off-roading and everyday driving.

The Freelander is available with either 2- or 4-doors, and all Freelanders come standard with all-wheel drive. Both 2- and 4-door configurations are powered by a 2.5L V-6 engine, which produces 174 hp @ 6250 rpm and 177 lb-ft @ 4000 rpm, and a 5-speed automatic transmission.

The Freelander 2 was renamed to LR2 for the North American market

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 85  
[Jul 13, 2010]
John Doe
Model Reviewed: Landrover Freelander

Strength:

Looks! Feel while driving.

Weakness:

Engine, Coolant leak, Transmission, Door looks & window motor breaks, Lack of power, Limited space

The reviews here that says about the Landrover Freelander are either jokes or their cars were made in another planet other than Earth! This is considered a lemon in North America; hundreds of reviews with same complain has surfaced & there has been numerous lemon cases. The major problem almost everyone has faced is mystery coolant leak. In my case, the coolant leaked & nobody could find anything wrong. The Landrover dealers were tight lipped. After searching for hundreds of hours, I could find that the engine design is faulty. First it comes with this leak, and then goes the head gasket, followed by transmission. Even the Landrover dealers don’t want to touch it. Please do the best possible searches before you decide on this model (1997 – 2004). Landrover was only trying to make idiots out of ourselves when they marketed this car!

I am not going to buy a Landrover ever in my life, and will make it sure that no one else in my family or among friends does that either!

Similar Products Used:

Toyota RAV4, Mitsubishi Outlander, Ford Explorer, Subaru Forestar

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Mar 25, 2010]
josh lema
Model Reviewed: freelander

Strength:

Stylish,leather interior,heated seats,and handles great.

Weakness:

The towing capacity could be better along with some of the mechanics in the vehicle, such as the powered windows and audio. I've had mine for about a month now and love it. It seems you'll either love it or hate it according to reviews you'll come across online.

Bottom line these cars are awesome and unlike any other suv out there. I would recommend getting one, there great.

Similar Products Used:

Dodge durango

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Aug 18, 2009]
Booboo01
Model Reviewed: Freelander SE

Strength:

NONE. also horrible 4 wheel drive. wouildnt even get out of 6 in ches of mud!

Weakness:

the interior of the car is cheap, the maintenance is outrageous and costly.

i will NEVER buy another Land Rover. The Freelander cant go a month without something breaking down or some kind of system failure. so far the Break light switch was recalled, the fuel pump modulator was recalled, (which is extremely dangerous if you do not have one that operates correctly)and my wires shorted out so bad from faulty installation that i had to replace my fuse box! i have sopent sooo much money on this piece of crap i hope no one ever has to go thru this liek it did.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Aug 11, 2009]
giraffe
Model Reviewed: freelander se

Strength:

interior: lots of room comfortable ride. seats are great and it is very roomy.

Weakness:

cup holder needs to be deeper. engine needs some more power. rear veiw mirrow causes a blind spot.

Well after I bought it I drove 1 mile and the engine light came on. I went back to the garage and they checked it and reset the service engine light left and drove another mile and light came on drove back and it was checked out and I was told that a cylinder was misfiring. Took it to 2 garages and they cannot fix I have to take to the dealer number 4 and 6 are misfiring there is a oil leak and the plugs had to be replaced.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jun 21, 2009]
Adam
Model Reviewed: Land Rover Freelander

Strength:

NONE

Weakness:

EXPENSIVE, POOR QUALITY, IST IS NOT DEPENDABLE, BRAKES DOWN EVERY 2 MONTHS....

HI, IF YOU WANT TO MAKE A BIG MISTAKE: BUY A LAND ROVER"...
=VERY EXPENSIVE TO FIX...
=WIMDOW MOTORS COST $600 TO FIX ( EACH ONE)
=ENGINE BRAKES AT 40K MILES...COST FOR OTHER ENGINE IS AROUND $10,000.
= HEAD GASKETS ...YOU NEED TO REPLACE THEM EVERY 20K MILES...
=THE SUV SHAKES WHEN IN THE ROAD.
=LAND ROVER DOES NOT SUPORT THEIR PRODUCT.
= POOR, VERY POOR QUALITY.
=PART ARE VERY EXPENSIVE...WHAT ARE THEY THINKING.
IF YOU ARE THINKING ABOUT BUYING A LAND ROVER ""DONT DO IT"""...IF YOU HAVE ONE, GET RID OF IT SOON....

=

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Feb 13, 2009]
Joe
Model Reviewed: Land Rover Freelander

Strength:

Roomy

Weakness:

EVERYTHING

The worst car that I have ever owned. It is in the shop more than it is on the road. The transmission does not last more that 60,000 miles and if you dont get the required transmission flush it is not covered under warranty. The ride sucks, its accleration is terrible, and you feel like your head is gonna go through the ceiling every time you hit a bump. Do not buy this vehicle. The man at Paul Miller Landrover said that he reccomends getting rid of this car because it is not Land Rovers finest moment and that is why it is discontinued. I traded mine and got a CRV and I couldnt be happier. STAY AWAY FROM THIS VEHICLE

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Dec 02, 2008]
Matthew Brown
Model Reviewed: SE

Strength:

looks, secure ride in rain

Weakness:

the cost of maintaining it, extreame depretiation, that fact that at 60,000 miles I have a useless car to sell for scrap.

This car at first was amazing, it drives well and has little things that are cool, like the retracting rear windsheild. It soon became the worst car ever. After 45,000 miles it needed a new transmission. The headliner needed to be replaced. The locking gas cap got lost since it doesn't have a thing to keep it from leaving the vehicle, or a holder of any kind. Now the engine needs to be replaced at 60,000 miles, and of course it's out of warrenty. I will be lucky to sell it for scrap, and good luck on a trade in. It's been in the shop about 15 times for misc problems, that everage $1500 a trip. LR of Orlando is the most pretentious place I have ever dealt with, and drove to Merrit Island, where the much smaller dealer was freindlier.

Similar Products Used:

Isuzu, Toyota, Subaru

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Nov 11, 2008]
4x4disaster
Model Reviewed: 3 door XEi

Strength:

Roomy car, back window goes down, great if you have a dog.

Weakness:

Where do you start, this is what has gone wrong with mine:

Headgasket blown twice!
Transfer box failed!
Constant velocity joint in driveshaft failed!
Clutch failed!
Engine mountings failed!

What you have to remember is that each one of these problems has cost me a fortune to get repaired, I am not talking about hundreds of pounds, but thousands of pounds.

This car has to be the worst car I have ever purchase. Very, very unreliable. Very Very costly to run. Lets you down all the item. Just when you think you have got the car sorted, something else goes wrong. My advice is only buy one with a cast iron guarantee that covers everything. If buying one from a main dealer, ask him if you will guarantee that the headgasket will not blow!

Similar Products Used:

My advise is to buy anything but a Freelander, this car will let you down in a big way. This car will seriously damage your wealth!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 30, 2008]
Carla Ross
Model Reviewed: Freelander

Strength:

Built like a tank.

Weakness:

Maintenance, maintenace,maintenace. Stayed in the shop. Not worth the money.

Buyer beware. This is the worst car I had in my lifetime. I kept my car serviced and checked, oil changes, tuneups, and timing belt changes. Not to metion, I always took it to the dealer. What did it get me? My timinig belt went out.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 01, 2008]
ilsater1
Model Reviewed: SE

Strength:

Looks, Offroad capability for size/class. Towing for size of car. Great interior. Heated windshield. Everything is excellent. My favorite of the other SUVS I've driven

Weakness:

Nothing really. Sluggish getting up in speed, takes second or 2 for it to really start accelerating. Hood release inconveniently located on U.S. model (passenger side). Boring dash. Repairs are expensive.

AMAZING. I visited this site in June '07 and was nearly scared off from buying this car. Thank goodness I ignored all of those, and bought the car anyway, in Febuary 2008. The best car I've had. Great looking. Best used SUV you can buy. Smaller than a traditional Land Rover but stylish and has enough interior space so it isnt cramped. Smooth ride. Better then its primary competitor the Liberty in all phases... except the Liberty is faster it reverse. (Freelander tops out at 30mph in reverse)A+ get a Freelander!

Similar Products Used:

Jeep Liberty, Volkswagen Touareg, Subaru Tribeca, BMW X5.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 85  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com