Lexus GX SUV | Crossover

GX

The 2009 GX is a 4-door, up to 8-passenger luxury sport-utility, available in one trim only, the 470.

The GX is equipped with a standard 4.7-liter, V8, 263-horsepower engine that achieves 14-mpg in the city and 18-mpg on the highway. A 5-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard.

User Reviews (16)

Showing 1-10 of 16  
jakesegal   [Apr 23, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Lexus gx470
Strength:

air ride adjustable suspension, 20 mpg at 70mph, silky powerfull drivetrain, low maintenance, low depreciation, awd

Weakness:

back door swings sideways and window doesnt open, 08 is much better than 04 in side wind, can come with horrible bridgestones instead of terrific michelins, has a bit of wind noise on windshield, you can helicopter your brains out if you open the right rear window at speed.

Should be on michelins! There is nothing out there that can compare to the soft floating ride. From the accelerator to the way it shifts it becomes a perfect extention of the human body.

Similar Products Used: Had an '04 new...my '08 is certified. A great way to get a $52k auto....next maybe an LS460.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Raispee   [Apr 08, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Lexus GX460
Strength:

Styling, build, quality, all weather / road capability, excellent sound system, decent gas mielage for a an 8 cylinder SUV with full time 4WD

Weakness:

None

I have owened the Lexus GX460 for 7 months now and I'm thrilled with it. It is a solid truck that offers excellent utility, toughness, off road ability and luxury. It really does do it all and gets reasonable gas mileage despite it's big V8 and full time 4WD system. As a long time Toyota loyalist, the bar has been set high fo this vehicle and it hasn't disappointed.

Similar Products Used: MB GL and ML models
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
ROBIN BIDEAU   [Jul 26, 2010]
Model Reviewed: GX460
Strength:

STYLING, INTERIOR ROOM

Weakness:

RIDES ROUGH. PALES IN COMPARISON TO MY 2004 GX470. THIS CAR SHAKES AND ISN'T EVEN SMOOTH ON STRAIGHT AND LEVEL HIGHWAYS.

LOVE THE LOOK AND STYLING. BUT I WILL SELL THIS GX460. LEXUS SAYS THAT THIS IS THE WAY THE CAR RIDES AND THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH IT. I WOULD BELIEVE IT IF I DID NOT HAVE THE 2004 GX FOR COMPARISON. TO ME THIS IS NOT AN IMPROVEMENT. SO IF YOU ARE GOING TO PURCHASE A GX 460 MAKE SURE YOU TAKE IT ON A LONG AND DIVERSE TEST DRIVE.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
evanmaclay   [Feb 03, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Lexus GX470
Strength:

DVD, Beautiful interior, Smooth ride, Great in the snow, All around excellent vehicle

Weakness:

Gas mileage 17-19 it's about par for SUV's now a days but with the V8 and a lead foot your trips become more frequent

Oh I am so HAPPY, my wife and I have been long time NON-American car buyers and this one takes the cake. We went from a 4-Runner to this and even though we had ties to the 4-Runner we absolutely love this truck. I call it a truck since she got the BMW X3 which is a sporty station wagon in my eyes. This GX goes anywhere I want to go, & with the DVD sound system you don't need a home theater in your house just add exhaust vents in your garage or open the doors and watch a movie on the touch screen in the front cabin and have your friends sit in the back, when its over input the address to another movie store, follow the easy to use NAV system return home then repeat. It's that simple!!!

Similar Products Used: Toyota 4-Runner, Lexus RX330, Volvo XC90, SAAB 9-7x... I listed them in order of my choices had we not gone with the GX
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Vlad S   [Nov 16, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Lexus GX470
Strength:

Engine, torque, comfort, fit and finish, transmission shifts

Weakness:

3rd row seats do not fold flat into the floor, cupholders in the front do not really hold anything, outside mirrors are not auto-dimming and not power-folding.

Bought it used (2004 model) with 45000 miles on it and it drives better than many new cars/SUVs...this SUV oozes quality and well-built craftsmanship. Originally we were going for the RX, but decided to upgrade our buy after a test-drive and some internet investigation. Good room inside, comfortable for 5, no problem for 7 if the last 2 are kids. Hopefully this vehicle is trouble-free in the long term, but it came with Lexus Certification and 3-yr 100,000 mile bumper-to-bumper warranty and roadside assistance. Great dealer experience; we have owned quite a few cars, many bought new and this is by far the best experience I've had with dealerships.

Similar Products Used: Owned Highlander V6 4WD limited, test-drove Acura MDX, Lexus RX300...
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Christian s.   [Jun 27, 2006]
Model Reviewed: gx470
Strength:

V8 power accelerates strong, tows 6500lb, handeling is refined yet supple enough not to annoy. The brakes are very strong. Great overall balance. Gas milage is o.k.

Weakness:

Common sense lighting issues-no minimal lighting so you can find the air vents at night. No switch to illuminate entire cabin when needed. No lighting on garage door opener. When loading, tailgate can get away from you in high winds and smack the car parked behind you.

Traded in a 04' Sienna Minivan. I have three kids and the Sienna was fantastic; however, it did'nt have side airbags. Wanted to stick with Toyota quality and reliability , yet did'nt want anything to big. The gx470 was a easy choice. The ride is excellent, power is more than adaquate, safety is top notch. The three rows are plenty for a family of five. Brakes are spectacular. Very quiet.

Similar Products Used: Lexus rx300, Land Rover Discovery, BMW X5;/
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
BobGore   [Aug 06, 2005]
Model Reviewed: GX470
Strength:

Quality, reliability, quietness, 4X4 capability (It's a 4-Runner at heart), air conditioner that will drive you out, torque.

Weakness:

Handling, acceleration and a sometimes-rough transmission.

Smooth and quiet. A great off-roader.

Similar Products Used: Expedition Touareg
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ryork   [Aug 24, 2004]
Model Reviewed: GX470
Strength:

Great ride Comfortable seating (except 3rd row) Good power Excellent handling Nicely apppointed

Weakness:

Cannot give it 5 stars for these reasons: No reverse sound indicator when backing up! Little storage up front. No hook in 2 row for hanging a jacket.

This has the usual Lexus quality. This is the 4th Lexus I have owned. Solid construction and superb fit and finish. I purchased it the first year it came out. For having a truck suspension, the ride quality is excellent and it handles extremely well in snow. Good power and handling. A couple gripes: Not a lot of storage up front (one little compartment on console - what's up with that???); no reverse detection (I'm sorry for $50k they SHOULD have it). Forget about the reverse monitor system in the latest models. If you are hit from behind, even just a mild hit, it will cost you over $4,000 to replace the rear camera. Lexus needs to take care of this problem.

Similar Products Used: Lincoln Navigator Ford Expedition
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
mheller22   [Jul 16, 2004]
Model Reviewed: GX 470
Strength:

comfortable ride fit and finish great service

Weakness:

limited "chotzkey" area in the front seat front passenger seat does not adjust in all directions with the 3rd row, limited cargo area.

This car has been nothing less than spectacular so far. Mine's equipped with all options except KDSS and I have been very happy with both the sales experience (Rockville, MD) as well as the service experience (they installed an aftermarket second row DVD). This is my second Lexus, I originally had a 99 RX 300 that I purchased from another local dealer. The sound system is great, the voice activated controls work flawlesly. I will report back if I run into issues.

Similar Products Used: test drove: Toureg, Infiniti QX56 Driven: RX 300, LX 470
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mheller22   [Jul 16, 2004]
Model Reviewed: GX 470
Strength:

comfortable ride fit and finish great service

Weakness:

limited "chotzkey" are in the front seat front passenger seat does not adjust in all directions with the 3rd row, limited cargo area.

This car has been nothing less than spectacular so far. Mine's equipped with all options except KDSS and I have been very happy with both the sales experience (Rockville, MD) as well as the service experience (they installed an aftermarket second row DVD). This is my second Lexus, I originally had a 99 RX 300 that I purchased from another local dealer. The sound system is great, the voice activated controls work flawlesly. I will report back if I run into issues.

Similar Products Used: test drove: Toureg, Infiniti QX56 Driven: RX 300, LX 470
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com