Lexus LX SUV | Crossover

LX

The LX is a 4-door, 8-passenger luxury sport-utility, available in one trim only, the 570.

The LX is equipped with a standard 5.7-liter, V8, 383-horsepower engine that achieves 12-mpg in the city and 18-mpg on the highway. A 6-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard.

User Reviews (19)

Showing 1-10 of 19  
keith   [Jan 17, 2004]
Model Reviewed: lexus
Strength:

with it V8 engin it can do just about any thing go thro a blizzard any thing you name it has it

Weakness:

nothing it has every thing in it

its the best it has every thing a suv can have

Similar Products Used: the lexus is unbeetable not like the range rover it sucks
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
ROBERTA   [Mar 12, 2003]
Strength:

OVERALL EVERYTHING IS GREAT__ NEW INTERIOR DESIGN, NIGHT VISION, DVD ENTERTAINMENT FOR KIDS NTOTAL LUXURY

Weakness:

JUST ONE GAS MILAGE

I JUST LOVE THIS TRUCK!!!!

Similar Products Used: TOYOTA SEQUOIA THIS IS MUCH MUCH BETTER
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Nelson Poon   [Sep 16, 2002]
Strength:

Quiet and smooth. No need to turn the volume of my HiFi high while cruising at high speed on the highway anymore. By comparison, its quieter and smoother than the CLK320 that I own before

Weakness:

Fuel consumption. But not too bad compared to the LC80 that I own for 4X4 excitment Very high insurance loading as the vehicle is on top of the list of Stolen Vehicle

Quiet, smooth, comfortable and gives me confidence. Feel like driving a Mercedes Benz E or S class, it is so quiet and smooth. Don't expect the same thing from a ML, X5 or Range Rover.

Similar Products Used: LC80, LC90(Prado), ML320. LC80 is definitely strong in the bush and rocky trial. Afterall, I would not take my LX470 into the bush and risk scratching the expensive body except once which I regret
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nelson Poon   [Sep 16, 2002]
Strength:

Quiet and smooth. No need to turn the volume of my HiFi high while cruising at high speed on the highway anymore. By comparison, its quieter and smoother than the CLK320 that I own before

Weakness:

Fuel consumption. But not too bad compared to the LC80 that I own for 4X4 excitment Very high insurance loading as the vehicle is on top of the list of Stolen Vehicle

Quiet, smooth, comfortable and gives me confidence. Feel like driving a Mercedes Benz E or S class, it is so quiet and smooth. Don't expect the same thing from a ML, X5 or Range Rover.

Similar Products Used: LC80, LC90(Prado), ML320. LC80 is definitely strong in the bush and rocky trial. Afterall, I would not take my LX470 into the bush and risk scratching the expensive body except once which I regret
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brad   [Aug 20, 2000]
Model Reviewed: Lexus Lx 470
Strength:

Everything ... it has lots of power, room, options and great looks (both inside and out). Also, it provides a smooth and confortable.

Weakness:

Gas mileage - it requires a few more stops at the gas pump - but with all the +(s) of the vehicle, it is well worth it. Otherwise, this vehicle would receive the highest rating!

(7/2000)Purchased the vehicle used with almost 45k miles for $47,500. The vehicle is in mint condition inside and out, with every option. I certainly recommend this vehicle. The Lexus LX 470 appears to be a "top-shelf" product. It provides a better ride than the American SUV's, appears to be far better built (both in style and handling), it has more room than the Mercedes; and, I am guessing it will have a far better service record and resale value than the Land Rover, Range Rover. Overall, this SUV appears to be the best product at the best price - more so if you purchase a used one. I strongly recommed this SUV to those considering one.

Similar Products Used: Suburban, Tahoe, Expedition, Mercedes & Range Rover. Overall, the best product at the best price, especially considering resale.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Charlie   [Jun 15, 2001]
Model Reviewed: LX470
Strength:

Engine: powerful, smooth, quiet
This SUV has got lots and lots of goodies and it's big and roomy =)
IT'S A LEXUS!!!

Weakness:

gas milage, but I'm not really worrying about that right now

Overall, this is a very nice and sturdy built car, I recommend it to everyone!

Similar Products Used: Toyota Land Cruiser- almost the same, but doesn't have all the features that Lexus put into their LX470
Land Rover Discovery- gimme a break! a shrimpy engine that only pumps out 188 HP!!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Moshe Mintos   [Jun 01, 2000]
Model Reviewed: LX 470,
Strength:

A true off-road vehicle with tremendous capability, Powerful engine ;Very refined inside, very good fit and finish (despie use of standard Toyota knobs and switches, as in almost all Lexi); Good Nakamichi sound system.

Weakness:

Handling good for size and weight but do not mistake it for a road car (or a BMW X5); Fuel consumption; poor leg room in back seats (middle row), not to mention awkward solution for additional seats (back row).

A tough off-roader, built like a truck and drives like (a very refined) one. Do not trust its good manners too much, it will bite back in emergency situations. Other than that, quite comfortable and luxurious.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Sam   [May 02, 2001]
Model Reviewed: LX470
Strength:

Silky smooth ride, luxurious interior, exceptional handling(specifically making U-turns...real tight)..goes on and on...Simply Put, The Best SUV money can buy on the market

Weakness:

well i could say gas mileage but what do you expect driving a 5500 lb vehicle with a V-8? service costs are way high esp. if you take it to the Lexus dealer. I am talking $150 for every 5K miles for oil change & tire rotation..just had my 15K svc and paid $250 for just oil change, tire rotation and balancing, air filter and a/c filter(do you have to replace the a/c filter every 15K miles? Lexus dealer told me they recommend it so i went ahead and did it anyway. Another Lexus dealer said they recommend changing all fluids etc etc for a whopping $700 and I politely said 'Thanks, but no thanks'..Come on, replace tranni fluid, axle fluid, at 15K? geez, gimme a break!

I repeat myself again...this is the BEST SUV money can buy!..awesome handling, silky smooth ride, exceptionally crafted interior and exteriors..list goes on and on but for $65K out the door, you got yourself the finest SUV money can buy! Lexus/Toyota has done a remarkable job on this vehicle. I have no complaints whatsoever on the vehicle for the last 16 mos I have owned this baby! Just a well rounded, exceptionally done vehicle but comes with a exceptional price tag too...but again, as they say....Good things in life don't come cheap!..Anyone who is in the market for this vehicle and contemplating....Excellent Choice and you WILL NOT be disappointed..on the contrary you will be thrilled!

Similar Products Used: My prev.one was a 96 4runner SR5. Nice car but I don't know if that compares to the LX. Would have considered buying the Landcruiser but again, for maybe few Ks extra, you get Lexus warranty and Lexus Svc and the Lexus pride ofcourse..so why not...well worth the upgrade if u r considering buying the Landcruiser cuz Lexus has 4yr/50000 Vs Toyota's 3/36
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Ryan Derryberry   [Apr 22, 2001]
Strength:

IMPOSING DESIGN TURNS HEADS, RIDE IS SUPERP AND EXTREMELY QUIET, GREAT VALUE COMPARED WITH A RANGE ROVER CALLAWAY, HAVE HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH IT SINCE INCEPTION

Weakness:

THE MARK LEVINSON SOUND SYSTEM SOUNDS BETTER WHEN YOU DRIVE COMPARED TO RIDING AS A FRONT SEAT PASSENGER

EVERYWHERE I GO I FEEL CONFIDENT, COMFORTABLE, SAFE, SECURE, AND EXTREMELY LUCKY TO DRIVE THIS CAR

Similar Products Used: THE BEST SUV OUT THERE IF NOT THE BEST VEHICLE
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bill   [Jan 02, 2001]
Model Reviewed: /LX470
Strength:

Great Ride, Quiet, handles well for a truck, Great in the snow, Luxurious interior, great audio and navigation systems, can watch DVD's

Weakness:

May need more aggresive tires for serious off-roading; expensive

This is an excellent vehicle. Its ride is as smooth as most luxury cars and it is as quiet as any other car or truck. I recently had an opportunity to drive my truck in heavy snow. I had no problems driving up steep snow covered hills or anywhere else as a matter of fact. It probably is as good as the best offroad vehicles (maybe not as good as the Hummer, but it rides better). The Mark Levinson audio system is, by far, the best original audio equipment available in any automobile; however, it is not that much better than the Nakamichi system previously used by Lexus. The DVD based navigation system is also one of the best systems currently available as original equipment.

Similar Products Used: Navigator, Escalade, and Range Rover
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 19  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com