Mitsubishi Montero Sport SUV | Crossover

Mitsubishi Montero Sport SUV | Crossover 

DESCRIPTION

The Montero Sport is a smaller version of the Montero. It comes with a 2.4-liter SOHC 16-valve 4-in-line with 132 hp or a 3.0-liter SOHC 24-valve V-6 with 173 hp. Choose between a 5-speed manual or a 4-speed automatic and 2 or 4 wheel drive.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 116  
[Jun 16, 2011]
Henry
Model Reviewed: Montero Sport

Strength:

Suspension system is better than the competition tested before purchase. With the torsion system, it feels less like a truck. Even when it has been burning oil for years, I still manage so far to be on 120000 miles and climbing. With a more resilient engine not prone to piston rings being stuck aligned, a perfect little truck for the price.

Weakness:

Faulty engine just after the warranty period. Burns oil like a boiler. As a matter of fact, that is her name" Boiler".
It is seldom to see one without smoke coming out of muffler. Did not provide proper shock absorber for premium tires.

Overall, I am surprise she is still running as long as she is fed a quart of oil every week depending on use. One good thing, I have not had to change the oil for a couple of years, she burns it and it is always new and clean. "The Boiler"! My wife enjoys her even with the smoke coming out of the tail pipe and my son seems to appreciate it when visiting school breaks. I still wonder how many mile can she go running on oil?

Similar Products Used:

BMW 635CSI 25 years and going, BMW 530i

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Dec 06, 2008]
Supra1984
Model Reviewed: MS XLS

Strength:

Looks, price point in used market, dependenability. Everybody who sees it says it is a very pretty truck.

Weakness:

I wish it had a third seat, oil change requires skid plate removal. Spark plug change out requires (INTAKE AND FUEL INJECTION REMOVAL,,,,,,DNAG!!! They are iridium so expect to get 128 k out of one set ( My Diamante uses same engine) Cant install lift kit with more than 2 inches. They quit making tehm! DANG

Nice truck, bought it to pull boats and trailers (it will) I have the AWD model and it has off road ability. Plenty of power for a 6 cylinder. Pulls 5,000 lb well.

Similar Products Used:

Chevy Blaer, Ford Explorer sport

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 04, 2007]
P. Jones
Model Reviewed: Montero Sport LS

Strength:

Although I didn't follow the manufacturers suggested maintenance schedule, my Montero Sport performed like a new vehicle. No rattles...I hate a car that rattles. This truck is solid.

Weakness:

Tall people will hit their heads when they get into this car (unless they're careful!). Back seat riders complain of a stiff ride. But since I rode in the driver's seat...!

The best SUV I've owned. This was my 3rd, after a Jeep Grand Cherokee and a GMC Jimmy. Very low maintenance, just change the oil regularly. After 7 years and 170,000 miles, my Montero was totalled by a way bigger pick up truck. I believe I could have gotten at least another 100,000 miles out of it!

Similar Products Used:

GMC Jimmy / Jeep Grand Cherokee
Both Trucks were purchased as new vehicles. The Jimmy blew a head gasket @ 60,000 miles. The Jeep was way more comfortable than the Montero, but it was forever breaking...the plastic motor mounts broke twice, the power windows need rewiring, stuff like that.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 26, 2007]
Tim
Model Reviewed: montero sport

Strength:

body styling, very sound

Weakness:

little under powered

Comparable to the toyota 4 runner, more options

Similar Products Used:

1998 toyota 4 runner

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 08, 2006]
greg parnell
Model Reviewed: montero sport lmt

Strength:

stabill ride,quiet ride,reliable,little vehicle with big footprint.

Weakness:

door opening to low,brakes mushy,

bought it new.best vehicle i ever owned ,hands down!135,000 miles and only thing it needed was a idle air controll valve and a harmonic balancer[132,000].waited till 91,000 miles to do timing belt.mechanic couldnt beleive the like new condition it apeared,no cracks or stress indicators at all.will keep this vehicle till it has 250,000 miles b4 selling it.my last car was a 1987 buick,the one b4 was a 1972 olds.you see i drive em till they belong in a junk yard!

Similar Products Used:

non

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 09, 2006]
Flamboyan
Model Reviewed: Montero Sport

Weakness:

The interior carpets are made up of cheap materials and do not with stand every day activity. The body of the car on the exterior rust and soon after become rather large holes.

After 6 years my Mitsubishi Montero Sport has some rust spots (holes) in the exterior. Interior carpets are damage. The timing belt, parts, and labor are very expensive.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 19, 2006]
Marvel451
Model Reviewed: limited montero sport

Strength:

Nice body design, leather seats

Weakness:

Brakes, Interior, and few engine problems.

This suv looks really cool from the outside and the seats and the leather seats are pretty comfortable, but it has some major flaws. The reviews I have read have been for 2000 models or newer. This 99 version has got the worst brakes I have ever used. If you want to stop at a moments notice, be prepared to rear end someone.I took it to 2 auto mechanics and both told me it still had 80% padding left. The 4 runner stops exactly when you want it. The cup holders are in the worst place they can be. They right on top of the stereo so you cant see it when the holders are in use. The arm rest is so small, you'll be lucky if you can fit 2 packs of gum in it. The gears dont change as fast as they should and timing belt needs replacement as 65,000 miles.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[May 22, 2006]
RJ Brown
Model Reviewed: Mitsubuishi Montero Sport XLS

Strength:

Comfortable, rides like at truck (which I like), easy for basic DIY maintenance, lots of storage nook n' crannies.

Weakness:

Many mechanical flaws, underpowered, only get about 18.5 MPG at best now

After more than 5 years with this car, I cannot recommend it, Mitsubishi or the dealer to anyone, ever. Flaws/repairs: brakes shot after 17k miles, CD player, air conditioner, idle arms, fender flares and their molding, oil leak between engine and tranny. Worse experience was with dealer and Mitsubishi themselves. Every time I took it to dealer for repair while under warranty, their reply was always "it's normal." The A/C was a problem from day 1 and they never would acknowledge a problem. Then, and I kid you not, 50 miles and 5 days out of warranty, when it is again blowing just hot air, they tell me the A/C compressor is shot and needs to be replaced for $1800. I contacted Mitsuibishi directly and got a case number. Their area Rep' would never call me and, by proxy through the dealer's service department, re-offered to repair for "only" $1200, which I declined. BTW--non dealer shop I trust quoted me $725. I actually like the car otherwise. I have owned numerous autos and this is worst experience out of all of them. I recommend you stay away from any and all Mitsubishi automotive products.

Similar Products Used:

Infinity QX4. Excellent SUV and dealership customer care. Have owned two of these, first one was unpowered, but by the second one Infinity had recognized the short-coming by listening to their customers and boosted it by 35 HP.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
[May 15, 2006]
mike s.
Model Reviewed: Montero Sport XS

Strength:

looks, roominess, capability. Comfortable seating and high clearance.

Weakness:

mushy brakes, slow acceleration, noisy outside mirrors. New rotors, cold air intake, and ear plugs (haha)will fix this

I hear several people complaining about the vehicles tendency to lean around corners, this is an easy fix. GO BUY NEW SHOCKS. As any vehicle with factory $14 shocks they should be replaced. Try Bilstein, KYB, or Tokico. So far the only trouble I can attest to at 40K is a small oil leak near the transmisson/engine coupling. The 4x4 dash light burnt out, and there is a recall for the '01 Sport brake booster, which can be fixed for free at the dealer. Contact Mitsu for details. The mushy brakes were fixed with new cross-drilled rotors and pads ($200 for all 4 wheels, and boy do they make a difference) I have used this for moderate/heavy off roading, and the combination of new rotors and shocks has made a day and night difference over stock! I also turned the torsion bars in front to add about a 1" lift to accomidate larger 32" tires. This is not a vehicle that most drivers would even take off road, but it does have potential. Cargo room is gorgeous- passenger room is suitable and controls/gauges are set well. Bottom line: if you bought a 4x4 to drive to work, you're a fool. This machine will keep pace with the 4Runner, Cherokee, and will eat up the Explorer or Passport. 17 mpg could be better, but I only drive this 1x a week.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[May 15, 2006]
mike s.
Model Reviewed: Montero Sport XS

Strength:

looks, roominess, capability. Comfortable seating and high clearance.

Weakness:

mushy brakes, slow acceleration, noisy outside mirrors. New rotors, cold air intake, and ear plugs (haha)will fix this

I hear several people complaining about the vehicles tendency to lean around corners, this is an easy fix. GO BUY NEW SHOCKS. As any vehicle with factory $14 shocks they should be replaced. Try Bilstein, KYB, or Tokico. So far the only trouble I can attest to at 40K is a small oil leak near the transmisson/engine coupling. The 4x4 dash light burnt out, and there is a recall for the '01 Sport brake booster, which can be fixed for free at the dealer. Contact Mitsu for details. The mushy brakes were fixed with new cross-drilled rotors and pads ($200 for all 4 wheels, and boy do they make a difference) I have used this for moderate/heavy off roading, and the combination of new rotors and shocks has made a day and night difference over stock! I also turned the torsion bars in front to add about a 1" lift to accomidate larger 32" tires. This is not a vehicle that most drivers would even take off road, but it does have potential. Cargo room is gorgeous- passenger room is suitable and controls/gauges are set well. Bottom line: if you bought a 4x4 to drive to work, you're a fool. This machine will keep pace with the 4Runner, Cherokee, and will eat up the Explorer or Passport. 17 mpg could be better, but I only drive this 1x a week.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 116  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com