Mitsubishi Outlander SUV | Crossover

Outlander

The Mitsubishi Outlander is a 4-door, up to 7-passenger sport-utility, available in 5 trims, ranging from the ES 2WD to the GT S-AWC.

The ES 2WD is equipped with a standard 2.4-liter, I4, 168-horsepower engine that achieves 23-mpg in the city and 28-mpg on the highway. The GT S-AWC is equipped with a standard 3.0-liter, V6, 230-horsepower engine that achieves 19-mpg in the city and 25-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Raindance   [Sep 06, 2009]
Model Reviewed: XLS V6
Strength:

Fairly powerful compared to CRV, great exhaust note. Great looking vehicle. Reliable but always quirky.

Weakness:

Dealer service (absolutely indifferent), build quality, materials quality, auto transmission, lack of sound damping, engine noise, stock tires, driveline vibrations. Brakes. Lack of parts (such as airfilters) in auto part stores. Bluetooth hands-free.

This vehicle is a better initial choice than a Honda CRV, but the quality is not quite there. Fisher-Price interior plastics, dash rattles, body creaks, cheap seat fabric, lots of silver painted plastic (silver rubs off). The V6 is not smooth and the entire vehicle vibrates when running against compression. The automatic transmission is a joke. It hardly ever knows when to shift and when it does it may do it ever so smoothly or with a thunk. The paddles are useless unless you don't mind thunky gear shifts. The brake rotors have to be turned every year as they warp easily. Mechanical engine noise increases with time. Buy it if you want a reliable vehicle that is never quite free of quirks. Service in my area is awful. If they remember to change the oil they overfill it by a considerable amount. Do not buy parts from the dealer, they charge about 300% more than an auto parts store (except you'll have to order anything you need) Stock tires last 20,000 miles. Bluetooth hands free is useless due to vehicles excessive noise levels - people on the other end of the call cannot hear or understand you.

Similar Products Used: Honda CRV EX, Honda Accord V6 EX, Honda Accord LX, Ford Explorer V8 XLT, Volvo S60, Volvo V50.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Tony   [Apr 09, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Mitsubishi Outlander
Strength:

All of the above

Weakness:

None to mention

Great vehicle! Bought brand new, now 51K miles, not a single problem, repait or issue! I get about 21mpg on average, and it actually fits my entire family - I have 2 kids - and all the toys in the trunk. We take the vehicle all over for camping, road trips etc. It performs like a champ, has great pickup (mine is only 4 cylinder, 2WD!), good styling.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tony FL   [Apr 07, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Outlander 2WD
Strength:

Exceptionally realiable, great styling, good pickup.

Wow. Bought mine brand new, and at a discount, with leather seating put in. The crossover works great for our family of four. Here in Florida we take it to the beach all the time, and to camping trips all over. The fuel economy is great, I am averaging 22Mpg, 4 cylinder, 2WD. It now has 52K miles on it, all without a single repair! All I got to say is wow.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Robert V   [Mar 24, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Outlander XLS 4x4 V6
Strength:

DVD nav
mpg
pick-up
fun to drive

Weakness:

the light interior

Amazing car
great pick-up and very comfortable.
the mpg is really good considering it is a very heavy car & with a v6
i did test drive the v4, but i didnt like it

Similar Products Used: 1998 Dodge Durango
2004 Honda Element
2005 Mercury Mariner
2008 Ford Escape
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Laura B   [Mar 08, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Mitsubishi Outlander
Strength:

Everything... love how it drives, very reliable car.

Weakness:

none

Excellent car. Best I've ever had. NO problems with anything, starts great,great in gas...Had it new since 04 all I did was change the oil every 3,000 miles on it,very little maintenance... otherwise.

Similar Products Used: Honda Pilot , Ford Branco
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kevin   [Oct 22, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Mitsubishi Outlander
Strength:

Adequate power, smooth 6-speed automatic, excellent rear seat legroom, handy 2-piece tailgate, trip computer, styling (lots of wow comments), reasonable fuel economy, solid quality construction. As on my '04, there are Yokohama Geolander tires on this vehicle. I replaced the pricy Yokohama's on my '04 at 120,000 km (should have done it at 100,000) with cheaper all-seasons at the beginning of winter (read: snow and ice)and regretted it immediately - the Geolanders are definitely the ticket.

Weakness:

Auto-levelling headlamps are only availble on the XLS (any load in the rear or rear-seat passengers will have annoyed oncoming traffic flashing their high-beams at you). The round HVAC vents in my '04 were abandoned in favor of rectangular ones (more visually appealing, but not as nice to use). When you really punch it off the line, there is excessive torque-steer in 2wd mode. There is a lot of thumping noise from the front suspension on highway expansion joints. The red LED lights in the dash are nice, but are barely readable in daylight and when headlights are on during the day, the stereo lights dim automatically, making them impossible to see. When you move the seat higher, the armrests are too low, and the vehicle could definitely use a telescopic steering wheel.

We previously owned a 2004 Outlander, which we liked more than enough to entertain purchasing the 2007. Almost everything is different with the '07. The syling is great and gets a lot of attention. Ours is pearl white, which is nice, but could use more pearl to be really effective. This vehicle has better fuel consumption than our '04 and the trip computer is a great addition. We average somewhere between 30 and 32 mpg (Imperial). We have owned this buggy for 7 months and have 36,000 km (approx 23,000 miles) on it, with no glitches whatsoever. My wife sometimes rides with a friend who has a Ford Escape and complains bitterly about the Escape's ride quality compared to the Outlander. I have a few little ergonomic complaints, but overall, when asked how I like it, (which is frequently), my response is always, "We love it". We took a 5000 mile trip within a week of purchasing it and were really impressed with its behavior. The top-of-the-line XLS will give you paddle-shifters on the column (I'd probably never use them - I don't use the manual shift mode on the shifter now), a kick-*** stereo (the standard one is pretty good), a DVD player, leather seats (would be a nice option), 3rd row seating (takes up a little extra storage space and they're totally useless unless you're 3 feet tall), taller wheels(if you need the bling), and the self-levelling headlights (I'd pay money for this if it were an option), bluetooth phone controls on the steering column (they're also there on my XL, but don't do anything - I think there may be an option to purchase the wiring harness to use this function). Probably my biggest complaint was the deal I made to purchase this vehicle. 'Let the buyer beware' certainly applies - the list price was $29K and change but after the sales manager was finished with me, I ended up giving them my '04 (which, aside from high mileage, was perfect with new tires) for basically nothing. This was my first new car deal and after I left the dealership, I felt that they should have at least kissed me first. However, that was my mistake, and one I'll never make again.

Similar Products Used: 2004 Outlander
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Charly   [Oct 02, 2007]
Strength:

V6- 3000CC 220 HP , 90% of torque starting 2000RPM , shift paddles , keyless entry , 650 Watts Rockford Audio

Weakness:

Acceleration , maneuvering , too much plastic inside

If you are looking for a well balanced SUV based on the looks and performance , and some added extra features , then this will be your car ;however , if you are looking for something faster or more utile or more aggressive , then I would suggest looking somewhere else .

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
howdylee   [May 31, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Mitsubishi Outlander
Strength:

Style, handling, air vents

Weakness:

Auto-shift, radio buttons

My mom bought this car a year and a half ago, and everytime I had a chance to drive her around in it, I told her I was going to steal her car because I loved it so much! She ended up giving it to me as a graduation present (and got another one for herself!)
The Outlander handles beautifully, and even though it has only 4 cyl. it still has better pickup than my 1990 Buick V6.
But the auto-shift feature is pointless with an automatic - why bother with it? I get anywhere from 24-30 mpg, which I suppose could be better, but still good. The standard stereo system is great, good all-around quality. The seats are comfortable, both front and back. The biggest problem I have with the car: my legs feel like they're one-notch too close to the pedals but my arms feel like they're one-notch too far away from the steering wheel. It would be nice to have a telescoping steering column, not just tilt (which when tilted to the most comfortable position block view of the top of the speedometer.) Also, the radio buttons feel far away, I have to pull myself up with the steering wheel to reach the buttons. It needs the option of having steering wheel mounted radio controls. Or, as another reviewer suggested, put the radio below the air controls. And move the stupid hazard-lights button out of a prime locale on the center panel!! The air vents are amazing, being able to be repositioned in any direction to reach every inch of the car, or be completely closed off! (This is one of the biggest reasons my mom bought the car!) I would like to see a different material used for the trunk area - everything slides around on the carpeting - it needs to be rubber! The hidden cubby in the trunk is a great feature!
Overall - Mom bought another one for a reason - it's the best car like it out there, especially for the price.

Similar Products Used: n/a
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
wekelley   [Aug 13, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Mitsubishi Outlander XLS 2WD
Strength:

The car itself and the warranty.

Weakness:

Teaching the family to use the handle at the bottom of the lift gate instead of grabbing the outside (their fingernails and bracelets and rings will stratch the paint!)! The handle is designed well and functions properly...the family just wants to grab the door and slam it down!

It was time for a bigger back seat but I didn't want a huge SUV. Test drives included nearly every mid-size over several months because I was in no rush. The Mitsubishi Outlander stood out because of the overall quality including comfort, performance and style. The 20 horsepower boost in the 2004 Outlander makes a huge difference as the '03 model seemed weak. (If you want sheer speed and muscle, get a Porsche or BMW SUV!) I've had the Mitsubishi for a month and just took an 1,100-mile trip through the mountains and hills of Washington and Oregon and the Outlander always had plenty of power. Its 160 HP did just fine and it averaged 29mpg. I'm nearly 6-4 and the headroom (even with the sunroof) and leg space is fine--and, my back was comfortable all the way. Besides being a great car, Mitsubishi has a 3/36,000 warranty that covers everything, as well as a 5/60,000 bumper-to-bumper warranty and a 10/100,000 powertrain warranty. I must say that I've owned two other Mitsubishis and ran the wheels off 'em. I wasn't necessarily looking for another Mitsu. When considering performance, comfort, initial cost and warranty, the Outlander simply was the best for the money. If it acts as the others did, this car will be in the family for many years.

Similar Products Used: Honda
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
4jmillers   [Mar 13, 2004]
Model Reviewed: SLX
Strength:

Price, styling, options, ride.

Weakness:

4 cylinder although adequate and the 2004 adds 20 more hp. Air flow defaults to fresh air. New model. No data on reliability

I've owned this SUV for 3 months. I read all the reviews that I could find, which wasn't many, and dedided to try it. I compared it to the Mazda, Ford, and Honda. For the price and features, I couldn't pass it up. Most reviews you see will mention the engine. Yes it has a 4 cyclinder engine and doesn't have the power that the others have with a V6. I wouldn't say it's underpowered, I'd say it's adequate. Your not going to beat anybody in a drag race, but you'll get to work or the store in the same amount of time. They could have done a little better job with the exhaust as you get a puttering sound coming from the engine. Maybe the 2004, which has 20 more HP sounds better. It would be nice to get better gas mileage. I drive a combination of highway and city and get 24-25mph. That's about what my mom gets with her CRV that has a V6. The outside is well styled. I've had several people say it looks a lot like the Lexus SUV. Obviously I like it. The inside is a cross between modern and retro. Mine is silver and black interior. The clock is analog, which is fine except the back light is a bit dim. The seats are comfortable, and everything is located well. The only suggestion I have is that the fan and temp controls should be above the stereo not below. This would allow for easier acces to the radio, and also let you rest your hand on the shifter while surfing the radio. The heater works well, putting out very hot air. I haven't gotten a chance to use the AC yet. The only complaint I have is the recirculating button, no matter which position you set it to, always defaults to the fresh air setting. If I stop at the store or where ever and then drive off, I continually have to change the setting. Get the upgraded radio. 210 Watts. It ROCKS! better than the aftermarket I had in my last car. Driving is great. It's small enough to park with ease, yet big enough to have ample room. It is very smooth and stable even at high speeds. Overall I am very happy with my choice. Other models were much more money.

Similar Products Used: Honda CRV
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com