Volkswagen Touareg (2007 - 2010) SUV | Crossover

Volkswagen Touareg (2007 - 2010) SUV | Crossover 

DESCRIPTION

The first generation (VW platform type PL71) Touareg is a 4-door, 5-passenger luxury sport-utility, available in 3 trims, ranging from the VR6 FSI to the V8 FSI.

The VR6 FSI is equipped with a standard 3.6-liter, V6, 280-horsepower engine that achieves 13-mpg in the city and 18-mpg on the highway. The V8 FSI is equipped with a standard 4.2-liter, V8, 350-horsepower engine that achieves 13-mpg in the city and 18-mpg on the highway. A 6-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard on both trims.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 39  
[Dec 03, 2012]
Sahaaj
Model Reviewed: Volkswagen Touareg

Strength:

Smooth ride, luxurious interior, great sound system, sirius, handles curves well

Weakness:

MPG

When I decided that it was time to trade in my '98 Tahoe, I didn't want to compromise on space. My husband suggested the BMW X5 but I wasn't sure what I wanted. I have driven the X5 but when I sat in the Touareg and my body melted in the seat. I test drove it one block and knew I was in love!!!

Similar Products Used:

Tahoe

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 26, 2009]
jeff lee
Model Reviewed: Touareg V8

Strength:

Looks good. Performs well.

I did a three year lease on this car and once the 5000 mile check up was due i find out that the lease does not cover this. I have never leased a car and the maintnance not be included. Then the brakes are bad at 20,000, not covered. Rear brake light, not covered. Make sure you understand the lease does not cover MUCH!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Aug 02, 2009]
ouryacht@aol.com
Model Reviewed: Toureg TDI

Strength:

fun, handling, mileage.

Weakness:

none yet

It is a great driving car that gets 28-29 mpg on the highway and 22 in town. It will virtually climb anything you point it at with no problem. It will tow 7700 lbs with no problem. I towed 1900# car on a 2000# trailer from Atlanta, GA to Greensboro, NC. Never slowed down on any hill and had to keep checking the mirror to make sure they were still behind me. Averaged 19 mpg with the load.

Similar Products Used:

2007 Lincoln MKX

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 12, 2009]
Doug
Model Reviewed: VR6 FSI

Strength:

Nice SUV, good size, good power, good interior,

Weakness:

outdated controls, and no blue tooth, milage can be inproved, price a bit high

The truck is very capable, it handles great for an SUV, the trim is well done, the tire size was chosen well for City and Hwy. The value of the truck would be good if it was priced right $35K to be exact. The towing capacity is good, looked at many other SUVs and the tahoe was the closest SUV that gives the similar comfort and feel of quality.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 15, 2009]
Michael
Model Reviewed: VW Touareg

Strength:

The only strength of this car is that it will never fail......to disappoint you

Weakness:

Refer to Product review

Will never own another VW because of this vehicle. Numerous problems: TPS never goes off, every surface on the interior is covered with a thin layer of rubber that when scratched immediately peels off (ie. gear shifter, door handles, radio buttons, etc.) brand new battery and alternator installed and the batter (which is located under the seat)dies once a week. Both headlights have gone out, tires wear out very quickly, GPS is a joke and updates cost more than a new GPS system costs. Side trim located at the base of the drivers door was not properly designed and comes loose all the time. HORRIBLE gas mileage for the size of the vehicle. The rear hatch can only be opened when you use the keyless entry button so if the batter goes dead or loose the remote you cannot open the rear hatch anymore. Not to mention VW mechanics find it necessary to charge more than corporate attorneys charge per hour to fix these problems. Jeff Sikes in Huntsville quoted me $850.00 to change one (1) head light bulb and charge the AC. The headlight cost me $7.00 at O'Rielly Auto parts and took less than 15 minutes to put in, and I took the vehicle to a local oil change place and they only charged me $90.00 to charge the AC($753.00) difference. Also a coin fell into the gear shifter and jammed it up and broke a piece off of the plastic controlling the trip tronic shifter. When taken to VW (Jeff Sikes) they wanted to sell me the whole shifter compnonet for around 900 bucks when the only part i needed was $120.00 (a little circuit board) they then wanted to charge $500.00 for labor. I then looked the problem up online and found a step by step do it yourself guide, printed it off and gave it to my local mechanic who did it for $60.00 (took him only 45 min to complete). My family has had VW's and they will never own one due to the vast amount of electrical problems they and I have endured as well as ridiculous VW technician charges. Dealers charge way to much for tasks that can be researched and done by any competant "shade tree" mechanic or local wal mart oil change tech.

Similar Products Used:

A $20,000 grocery buggy with electrical problems (if that is at all feasible)

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[May 17, 2008]
gsgag
Model Reviewed: VW Touareg V8

Strength:

All in all...AWESOME luxury-performance SUV. Comfortable with elegant. The handling is incredible. We also enjoy the Comfort/Sport/Auto air suspension. The feeling of being in a heavy and safe vehicle.

Weakness:

Drawbacks...Correct, expect 18K-20K max for brakes, Conti's 4x4 sports tires and $120 oil changes every 5K miles. 12 MPG city and 18MPG (max) for HWY. Not for those on tight budget or wish not to spend $$$$ on tires, brakes gas and oil changes.

We do love this car.. We have owned her for well over 4 1/2 years now (purchased in Sept 2003). Since we had the very first 2004 model year we have been very patient (many recalls to work out the bugs) I think many others would have or did give up on this car. We ABSOLUTELY love the ride, looks, and performance.

Similar Products Used:

BMW

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Dec 21, 2007]
Volkswagen_Guru
Model Reviewed: Touareg

Strength:

-Sleek, smooth body.
-Luxury, leather interior with wood furnishing.
-Fairly priced.
-Smooth drive
-Good all-round car.

Weakness:

-There really are none that I can think of, this car is fantastic.

I love my new Volkswagen Touareg. It's the epiphany of European luxury auto. It's smooth sleek design is very 2007. Really comfortable, great features.I love the way it drives too, it's very smooth. It's definitely a uni-sex kind of car. Before I got it, I was wondering what car I wanted. I new I wanted a European car and I also wanted an SUV. One of my friends suggested the Audi Q7 while another friend suggested the BMW X5. My husband thensuggested the Volkswagen Touareg. I was really confused as to what I should get, so I compared the three. I found the BMW's body a bit to roungh and jaggered compared to the Touareg's beautiful smooth rounded design. So I crossed the BMW off. I then looked at the Audi and found the interior wasn't very luxury-like. It was all black and there was no wood furnishing. So I found that I didn't feel like I was sitting in a luxury car, but more like a Mitsubishi. So I realised that the Touareg was the right way to go, it was perfect for me and it met all my criteria. I'm very happy with my Touareg, hopefully you will read this and see just how great Volkswagen's Touareg is.

Similar Products Used:

My last two cars were Fords. They were nothing like my beautiful Touareg.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 26, 2007]
opticalnutt
Model Reviewed: Touareg V6

Strength:

Nice looking car, great interior, good in the snow. Tight ride.

Weakness:

After 2.5 years, and 18,000 city miles, I have had the pleasure of:
Replacing the windshield wiper blades at $70 (special ones as required)
2 or 3 oil changes at $120 each (special ones as required)
Replacing the tires at $600
Replacing the front break pads and rotors! for $770 (need to sell it before the rear requires more brakes)
Filling it with Premium Gas! (special kind as required)

In short, the Touareg is a great SUV and has high maintenance costs.

I had a Jetta for 4 years, replaced the tires, changed the oil and filled it up with gas.

I expected the same from the Touareg, and have had a much different experience. After 2.5 years, and 18,000 city miles, I have had the pleasure of:
Replacing the windshield wiper blades at $70 (special ones as required)
2 or 3 oil changes at $120 each (special ones as required)
Replacing the tires at $600
Replacing the front break pads and rotors! for $770 (need to sell it before the rear requires more brakes)
Filling it with Premium Gas! (special kind as required)

The dealership nor Volkswagen would cover the brake pads under warranty. This car is equipped with performance Brembo brakes, weighs 6,000 pounds and has special European pads and rotors that are designed to wear out at the same time. Problem is, the V6 is no Performance vehicle.

The Touareg rides great, has a nice interior, is great in the snow and supposedly great offroad...but the maintenance cost is killing me. We are selling it and will not get another one. Although,, I would like to own the V10 Turbo or the Porsche Cayenne, but I would also like to win the lotto. I will probably buy another slow V6 SUV that does not require premium gas or special parts, and does not have “performance” breaks

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jun 18, 2007]
Scotwms
Model Reviewed: Touareg

Strength:

Comfort, quiet, handling, AWD capability, four corner suspension, luxury inside and out. Lots of extras.

Weakness:

Gas Mileage and Interior wear.

Saw this SUV and loved it immediately. Stylish and Sporty. Although there were a few issues at first, all and all it has been bullet proof. The truck was bought with every option available for the V6 model. We love the handling and comfort of this vehicle on long trips. We would like to get more MPG, I think we expected more from a VW, but it is worth it for the luxury and characteristics of the vehicle. Would definately buy another!! This SUV is highly sought after in our area.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 23, 2007]
Klausi
Model Reviewed: VW Touareg V6

Strength:

Appeal (exterior and interior)

Weakness:

Tire wear,
Brake pad, perhaps rotor wear,
Low fuel economy

We procured this vehicle because of its great looks. From the onset the fuel economy was way below the marketed and expected level despite our easy touch to the pedals (gas & brake). At 14,000 miles the service informed us that tires and brake pads need to be replaced within next 2000 to 4000 miles meaning required component replacement at less than half the total miles expected based on our driving experience from previously owned 4WD and AWD SUV's. The wear on tires / brake components and the low fuel economy points to a problem in the power/drive train mechanization. This performance is not acceptable and VW should recall this vehicle.

Similar Products Used:

Mercedes ML 320, V6, AWD
GMC Envoy, V6, 4WD
GMC Jimmy

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 39  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com