Cadillac Escalade EXT Trucks | Vans

Escalade EXT

The Escalade EXT is a 4-door, 5-passenger luxury pickup.

The Escalade EXT is equipped with a standard 6.2-liter, V8, 403-horsepower, flexible fuel engine. A 6-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard.

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
jbluth   [Jan 31, 2005]
Model Reviewed: cadillac ext
Strength:

very comfortable, plenty of power if your not towing.

Weakness:

have had problems with the power steering, it's stiff until it warms up. The trans seems to slip occasionally too, anyone have problems like this?? Also a little doggy, I think it needs the optional supercharger

great truck, awesome ride. surprised at how well it handles in the snow. Gas mileage isn't too bad. Installed a bedslide for the truck bed, it's really worth the money.

Similar Products Used: 1999 Suburban, 1997 chevy dually
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Evan   [Jan 16, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Escalade EXT
Strength:

Everything. For a behemoth, the ride and handling is great. Its got a nice luxurious feel to the interior, and their is limited outside noise. I also dig the daytime running lights.

Weakness:

It would be cool if they came in 20 inch wheels like the FX. And the steering wheel would be better if it were automatically adjustable like in the new Mercedes'.

Man, I used to think that the EXT was one of the coolest looking vehicles on the road. Never could I possibly imagine that I would be driving one. Thanks Dad! I also thought that the Hummer was a cool vehicle, but the only thing it is good for is looks. If people in LA with money to spend had brains, they would get an EXT instead of the H2s that I see everywhere. The EXT is so much better than the H2. I would even list it as one of the top 5 autos on the market, with no bias anywhere. The combination of versatility, looks, luxury, power, ride, and handling make it a great car. A Porsche is fast and all, but it doesn't offer everything like the EXT does. The EXT is a complete package. I love to just drive around LA. Its like driving on a soft sofa, and you feel like the king of the road in an EXT. I will probably be fixing it up as time goes by, maybe adding some 24 inch rims and a cool muffler. But even without the "rappers package" an EXT is awesome.

Similar Products Used: Hummer H2, Cadillac SRX, Infiniti FX45
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Blue Hen   [Jan 14, 2004]
Model Reviewed: EXT
Strength:

Power, trim, finish, ride and utility.

Weakness:

Cadillac service leaves a lot to be desired. I own a MB CL500, a Chevy Suburban, a Cadillac Escalade (not the EXT), A Chevy Taho and a Silverado. The service at CAdillac isn't as good as it is with Chevy and Mercedes blows Caddy away in this area. In my opinion Caddy service is lousy (been to 3 different dealers) no matter where I go. Another area that the Caddy could do better in is the dashboard layout. The EXT and the Escalade both have analog clock that are well below the sterring column and to the right...kind of awkward when you want to look at the time. Otherwise no complaints.

I dove an Avalanche Z71 4WD (2002) for 17.8k miles. It was a great truck, loaded to the max but it was UGLY. In 2002 you had to take body side cladding. The leather interior was ok, the trim was crude but the drivetrain was strong. Net net it was okay. My EXT on the other hand is better looking, is more powerful (faster, the trim is very good, the ride is quieter, better and faster and I get the same mid-gate crossover function that I had in my Avalanche. I'm happy with mine.

Similar Products Used: 2002 Chevy Avalanche Z71 LT 4WD, 2002 Cadillac Escalade, 2000 Chevy Tahoe LT, 2004 Chevy Suburban Z71 LT, 2003 Silverado 1500HD LT
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Boss Hogg   [May 05, 2003]

Nice ride, like riding a sofa around. Handles about the same.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
PANSON GORDIFLON   [Jan 29, 2003]
Strength:

WHEELS

Weakness:

SEAT IT CANNOT HOLD ME

THIS IS CAR IS SO COOL YOUNG GIRLS HOLLA AT ME SINCE IM FAT I LOOK SO THROWED IN MY FLIPPER MY CAR IS JUST FILLED WITH FOOD FOR ME TO EAT

Similar Products Used: VOLVO
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
junkm111   [Nov 11, 2002]

I am very happy with my new truck. Although the pricetag is about $15,000 more than the avalance, (it is overpriced), the convenience provided from the extra features don't quite justify the price, but I am content with the luxury that the extra features provide: (such as rear seat entertainment, rear parking assist, stabilitrak (I believe it actually saved me from an accident when cut off at 70MPH), heated seats, memory seats and mirrors, and a stylish appearance). Also, I am averaging 14.3MPG for ALL driving since I've owned the truck. My Ford Ranger (with a 2.3L hyped up with a K&M induction among other things, pushing 33x12.50x15s) was only getting about 17MPG. Now I'm averaging 14.3 not bad for more than 3x the power!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
mo   [Jul 23, 2002]
Strength:

hataz

Weakness:

hataz

man datz tight

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
james bond   [May 17, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 3 escalade
Strength:

really cool

Weakness:

really expensive

it is really expensive

Similar Products Used: silverado 1500
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
delmorris   [Apr 24, 2002]
Strength:

The SUT with mid-gate is perfect for my use as car/SUV 90% of time, and pick-up 10% of time. VERY VERSATILE! Neck snapping power. Rides very well with good handling. Sits up with very good vision all around. High-end sound system, climate control. Comfortable seats. Lots of front and back seat head, leg and shoulder room. I''m 6''1" and have the seat set high with inches of room above my head. Compared it with Avalanche (test drove Avalanche twice). The ride in the Escalade EXT sold it. The Avalanche drove like any other truck. The EXT drove like a luxury car.

Weakness:

Costs 25% more than an Avalanche, and not as rugged. If you plan to truly "off-road" and "scrape bottom" frequently, you''d be better off with the Avalanche. Likes gas.

First "truck" I''ve owned. Love it. Great ride, quiet. Powerful. Feels like a luxury car with versatily of a pickup. No longer have to ask friends with pickups to help haul. Have enjoyed on long (1500 mi) trips and around town. Unique styling draws mostly positive oohs and aawhs.

Similar Products Used: Silverado 1500 was only pickup I''ve driven for long hauls, and it doesn''t compare.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com