Chevrolet Avalanche Trucks | Vans

Avalanche

The 2011 Chevrolet Avalanche is a 4-door, up to 6-passenger full size pickup, available in 6 trims, ranging from the LS 2WD to the LTZ 4WD.

All trims are equipped with a standard 5.3-liter, V8, 320-horsepower, flexible fuel engine that achieves 15-mpg in the city and 21-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (49)

Showing 1-10 of 49  
D Bradshaw   [Feb 21, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Avalanche Z71
Strength:

If you are looking for comfort this is the truck to get. The ride is incredible. We have had a bad winter with more than normal snow and ice and the traction control on this truck is better than any vehicle I ever drove. I love the side boxes for storage and the cover is great for securing golf clubs, tools, etc. All of the features are top notch - folding mirrors, Bose sound system, remote start, dimming mirrors (including side) are just a few. Even the basic things are nice like the multiple level heated leather seat is very comfortable.

Weakness:

I am at 3000 miles and so far I am getting 15 mpg which is on the poor side but every time I need the power I know it is there.

This is a very solid truck a lot of safety features that give you a stress free ride. Every time I drive by somebody stuck in the ditch I appreciate my Avalanche even more

Similar Products Used: 2007 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
devan   [Jan 17, 2011]
Model Reviewed: avalanche ls
Strength:

super quiet ride, kick ass stereo system and the interior is super plush even though I only have cloth which I recommed by the way due to gm's leather that doesnt hold up.

Weakness:

the 5.3 acceleration leaves something to be desired... mine has 39000 miles on it and it uses a bit of oil, took it to gm and they monitored it under the 100k warranty and it falls below their "standard oil consumption" rule. which is bs i has a suburban with 200k on it and it didnt use oil... but I just check it about 3/4 way through mileage before oil change and add if needed.

its a nice rig with plenty of room... price can be very steep if you buy it new so I bought mine used and stole it 3k below trade in blue book so lesson here people buy a USED ONE

Similar Products Used: 00 suburban 6.0L
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
CarReview Consumer   [Nov 30, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Avalanche LT 4WD
Strength:

Versatility Comfort Styling

Weakness:

Nothing

I traded in my 2002 chevrolet avalanche z71 with 150,000 miles on it for a fully loaded 2010 z71 avalanche and I Love it!!! this truck does it all with style and comfort. with 3000 miles on it i'm averaging 17 mpg for highway and city driving . On the highway i am averaging between 23 and 24 mpg. You can't find a more versatile truck than this. As long as chevy keeps making this truck, i will keep buying it!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John Smith   [Aug 22, 2010]
Strength:

Great external styling, the rear cover as standard.

Weakness:

Interior styling. Like something out of the 1950's. Poor resale value, poor mpg

Some nice features but the interior really lets it down, compared to other trucks of a similar price

Similar Products Used: 2007 Ford F150 Lariat
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
charlie brumfield   [Jun 15, 2008]
Model Reviewed: LT3
Strength:

large cabin, really cool cargo area, can be extremely well equipped. very nice ride. it's a good truck for folks that don't really need a pickup very often.

Weakness:

PRICE! the price on this vehicle is too much. it should be priced about 10 grand less than it actually is. and it's very sluggish to accelerate.

When we first set out to review this truck I really didn't like, but after spending the day with it, I have to say it's grown on me. It's just enough truck for most people. Plenty of room in the cab, and an innovate bed/cargo area. check out our full review here:

http://www.performanceradionetwork.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=category§ionid=4&id=13&Itemid=30

it's in episode 4 where we compare it to the honda ridge line.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
Ted   [May 27, 2008]
Model Reviewed: LTZ
Strength:

smooth ride, hauls a ton, great looking truck, holds value compared to other trucks

Weakness:

gas mileage

Excellent, replace an '03 Avalanche with 125,000 with a new '07....love it apart from the gas mileage.

Similar Products Used: suburban, navigator, explorer, dodge ram,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dgraves14   [Apr 05, 2008]
Model Reviewed: chev avalanche ltz
Strength:

nice quit ride

Weakness:

flooding floor every time it rains

not happy it keeps getting flooded it been in the shop for the last 27 out of 30 days the only answer i get so far is thay all leak

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
D-TRAIN   [Feb 18, 2008]
Model Reviewed: LT1 AVALANCHE
Strength:

Style, functunality, smooth ride and performance

Weakness:

NOTHING I KNOW GAS BUT YOU HAVE A TRUCK

I traded in a Jeep Liberty for my Avalanche. The Liberty had gas mileage of 15 city and 20 highway. That is ridiculous for such a small vehicle. My Avalanche is getting 15 city and 20 highway and has all the room and comfort that I never had in the Jeep. Why would you want to own a gas drinking Jeep when you can have the Avalanche with all the ammenities? I'm very happy with my Avalanche and feel it gets good gas mileage for a truck.

Similar Products Used: FORD F150
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
locnar42   [Sep 28, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Avalanche Z71
Strength:

Body armor is very good to protect the truck. Reliable engine. Smooth ride.

Weakness:

It doesn't get the same gas mileage as a compact car but considering its size I think it is decent.

This is a fantastic truck. The ride quality is great for a truck and the engine is strong even with its size. The midgate makes for very flexible hauling options. It's the most flexible design of any vehicle I've owned.
I have the body armor on mine and it has saved me from a lot of scratches and dents to the truck. I didn't like the looks at first, but I'm glad I have it now.

Similar Products Used: Ford F150
Jeep Cherokee
Dodge Dakota
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
nancy davis   [Jun 02, 2006]
Model Reviewed: avalanche
Strength:

driveability, comfort and looks

Weakness:

reflections of dash lights

I just want to say that I think this is one of the best trucks I have ever owned. Has plenty of room in cab areas. Have yet found anything that I couldn't haul in bed. I have found alot of people who don't like the large plastic trim panels on outside but I like to call them parking lot saviors. My othr vehicles have dents and dings and scratches from other cars but this one has none thanks to the trim panels. Rides like a dream and handles better than my Gran Prix did. I have yet to find any rattles or problems that others have spoke of. Only complaints are the reflection of dash lights from rear backglass to inside rearview mirror, fuel economy and I so wish the last panel in bed had some way to hinge up so that I didn't have to open tailgate to drop a bag of grocery in bed. I bought this veh used from dealership, where I work. We have Nissan, Lincoln and Mercurys. I love this truck for looks as well as toughness

Similar Products Used: I own a full size Ford bronco and Mustang convertable..Have owned other full size Chevy trucks and Ford f150's
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 49  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com