Chevrolet C/K Trucks | Vans

C/K

(1930 - 1999) For the last 16 years, America's second-best-selling new motor vehicle has been the Chevy C/K-series truck. The C/K has 4 engine options available, one diesel V8 with 195-hp and three gasoline V8's with 230, 255, and 290-hp. They're available in 2 and 4 wheel drive and 5 speed manual or automatic transmissions. ABS is standard.

The C/K is replaced by the Silverado

User Reviews (123)

Showing 1-10 of 123  
BigGuy   [Apr 28, 2008]
Model Reviewed: 1994 C1500 Cheyenne Extended Cab SB - 5.0L V8 TBI
Strength:

Fast Acceleration; Very Reliable; Cruise Control; Strong Frame; Nice Seats; and Fun to Drive!

Weakness:

Fuel Economy; Cheap Interior (including stereo); Payload Sucks.

I currently have 192,500 on it, and it still runs strong! Have done a little hauling with it. Transmission shifts hard when gearing up from first gear. Fast acceleration, but poor fuel economy. I get 12mpg in the city AND 12mpg HIGHWAY AS WELL. The stereo system and other interior stuff is cheap plastic. The cab is not very tall compared to most cheyenne's/silverado's I've seen. The truck is VERY RELIABLE and I have not had any major problems; just the usual oil changes and tuneups. The engine will probably last longer than the truck itself.

Similar Products Used: 1991 Chevy S-10 4.3L V6
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
90chevy2500   [Feb 03, 2008]
Model Reviewed: chevy 2500 reg. cab long bed 4x4
Strength:

torque is outragous with a 350 and a 400 turbo tranny. 4x4 works ok i still got stuck. ok ride through city and covered roads, gravel roads are rough.

Weakness:

rust really easy, doors weigh to much for hinges (have had to replace hindges 3 times in the last 4 months and needs replaced again, all done by a profesional) radio sucks makes annoying sounds.

i have had nothing but trouble since purchase. The trucks 5.7l v8 blew at 200,000 miles (lots of miles but still not what i wanted) the brakes had to be replaced lines and all $1,800 from midas. i had to replace the transfer case adapter which was a pain to find and was $350 from a chevy dealer. this truck has a mid 80's turbo 400 transmission. if u buy a older truck like this get ma mechanic to look at it before buying.

Similar Products Used: 1990 mazda 2600i
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Tom Mersino   [Dec 26, 2007]
Model Reviewed: K1500
Strength:

Long-lasting engine, albeit underpowered, good sound system. Good long-lasting truck for the average person.

Weakness:

Had to replace transmission at 120k, underpowered 4.3 L V-6 engine, downright ugly red interior, horn is hard to press, 4x4 shifter is very hard to engage.

My truck is a 1998 Chevrolet K1500, 4x4, extended cab, short box, 4.3 liter V-6 engine, manual transmission. It has the Cheyenne trim and is red. It has 135,000 miles on it, and is still running fine. I had to replace the transmission at 120,000 miles, though. Had to replace the fan belt at 120,000, too. Making a funny squealing noise at the moment, although that's probably nothing major. Replaced the brakes and shocks, but that's normal. The sound system is pretty good, actually. All in all, a good, decent truck.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
lm101903   [Aug 18, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Chevy c1500 5.7 350 vortec
Strength:

350 motor,body style is clean after all these years

Weakness:

tranny,check engine light,stupid fuel pump in the gas tank($600 p&l)dumb cold start problem I'm having

We have had this truck since it had 77k on it.It has 134k on it now.It has good power,not too exspensive to have.It has crazy tranny problems.From 1st to 2nd gear sometimes the rearend shifts real hard(like a truck ran into you).The check engine light comes on 2-3 day periods if I travel on real bad pavement,or potholes.If I take it to the shop, the computer says(random misfire) so I stopped waisting money.It will go off after a few days everytime.Now I have to warm it up for 15-20 mins.,or it will backfire & run like it's clogged up.On a hot day I can drive right off.The shop said it might be the engine temp. censor.When they hook up the dino it says the same thing,even after I got a tune-up.At first it was sometimes,now it's everyday.I just hope when I buy a few censors it will stop.Other than that it has been a pretty good truck.

Similar Products Used: 1977 chevy scottsdale fleetside
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Joe Oakley   [May 01, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Chevy 1500 Silverado standard cab step side
Strength:

Good torque,reasonable fuel mileage,good looks,very reliable

Weakness:

none

This truck is awsome.I replaced the engine at 320000 miles,it still ran but was ready for a change.Got a remanufactured transmission at 286000 miles.The paint is still shiny after 16 years and the truck now has nearly 322000 miles and still rides as smooth as a car still looks and sounds great and still turns heads.With just basic maintenance,inside and out,these trucks will last many many years.

Similar Products Used: 89 s-10,94 s-10,94 GMC sierra 1500,66 chevy c-10,68 chevy c-10,67 chevy c-10 69 chevy c-10 and two 59 chevy pick-ups one of which I still own.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeremy   [Apr 20, 2006]
Model Reviewed: K1500 short box stepside reg. cab
Strength:

plenty of power, good looks and reliable as hell.

Weakness:

havn't found one yet.

I bought my truck with 118,000 miles on it. It is exceptionally clean for being an 89. It has 4 inches of lift and 33" tires on it. I haven't had one problem with this truck. It has been as reliable as a claw hammer. It gets worked fairly hard in the summer time pulling our boat/fourwheelers/car trailer etc. It handles everything I throw at it and keeps asking for more. I rebuilt the 5.7 and upped the compression to 9.5:1 and added a little bit of a cam for more torque. It ran good before the rebuild, but I'm a car guy and can't leave anything alone. The tranny has been rebuilt, again not because it needed to be but because I wanted a shift kit added. I had a ford f-150 with the 5.0(5.slow is more accurate) and even with just a fouwheeler in the back it turned into a gutless wonder that couldnt get out of its own way. Don't buy a ford unless you plan on getting passed by everything and anything.

Similar Products Used: 73 chevy c10
75 chevy c10
79 chevy c10
89 k2500 ex-cab long bed
95 f-150 ex cab short bed
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ookie Wonderslug   [Jan 23, 2006]
Model Reviewed: C1500 W/T
Strength:

Well, built, hard to kill

Weakness:

Doors are falling off, doesn't handle well

I got my truck in early 1997. It had 128,000 miles on it. At 210,000 miles the freeze plugs rusted out and the engine blew. I put a 5.7 liter in it nad it's still going strong.

Similar Products Used: 1995 Ford Ranger 1987 Chevy S10 Blazer 1975 Chevy C10 1975 Ford F100 1982 Datsun 4x4
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
big-z   [Dec 03, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Silverado Regular Cab Stepside 2WD
Strength:

Awsome horsepower, and unstoppable torque No rust on this bad boy!

Weakness:

Minor chipped paint on drivers door at bottom & dullness in paint

When I bought my Silverado, it had a new non-vortec engine put in it. The engine now has 45,000 miles on it, and runs like a bat outta hell.

Similar Products Used: 82 S10
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
olaf   [Jul 22, 2004]
Model Reviewed: C10
Strength:

low end torque, braking and punishment you can do to them and they won't die

Weakness:

common chevy rust

all chevy trucks are great. Ibought this truck for work and it has more than made its money back. the 250 straight six is reliable but no speed demon. I have some rust but its an 82. I've put more than 30,000 miles on it in the past year and now I'm up to 132,000. It still runs like new. Will probly drive it till it dies but I was told that might be a while cause the 250 engines are good to 200,000 plus miles

Similar Products Used: 85 f150(junk),92 s10, 84 dodge ram 50, 92s10 blazer, 90 trooper
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
byron   [May 30, 2004]
Model Reviewed: 1500 ext cab 4 wheel drive
Strength:

looks, minnesota truck and still not rusty!!, several new parts...

Weakness:

motor , tranny getting tired, gas mileage, dependability, but hey, its made it to her average life of use...

The first thing that caught my eye with this truck is its sharp look, forest green, chrome on the bottom.I bought the truck with 145,000 miles everything was fine except the steering, when i drove it home on the highway, i really had to work the steering let me tell ya, it was horrible. The problem turned out to be previous owner generically cheapely lifted the truck up a cpl of inches, looks cool but he never had the truck realligned, took the truck in and cpl of steering rod ends and 5oo bucks later the prob solved. I new i bought the truck at this mileage i was going to have to put some money into this thing. My gosh it was one thing after another, keep in mind i only put 8,000 miles on the truck in a yr and a half, radiator leak, starter, plugs/wires, distriuator cap,rotor,muffler pipe,thermostat, needless to say its been sitting in the garage for months now, problams still need to fix are, valve cover gaskets, cvc boot on front end, battery drains down in 2 days if left hooked up, tranny starting to hesitate when put into drive, but anyway i dont know if i am going to hold onto this thing or not, i still like the truck and will make excuses for it troubled life...

Similar Products Used: 94 surburban
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 123  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com