Chevrolet Colorado Trucks | Vans

Colorado

The Chevy Colorado is a 4-door, up to 6-passenger compact pickup, available in 4 trims, ranging from the VL1 to the LT3.

The VL1 is equipped with a standard 2.9-liter, I4, 185-horsepower engine that achieves 18-mpg in the city and 26-mpg on the highway. The LT3 is equipped with a standard 5.3-liter, V8, 300-horsepower engine that achieves 15-mpg in the city and 21-mpg on the highway. A 4-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard on both trims.

User Reviews (51)

Showing 1-10 of 51  
Ethan Woods   [May 04, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Chevrolet Colorado crew cab 4x4
Strength:

Gas mileage, torque and horsepower, towing

Weakness:

Small bed

I have driven this truck for 6 months now and really like it. I own a z71 4x4 model that has an I5 3.7 engine that delivers all the power i need. The truck looks great, drives great, and the 4x4 works really well. Gas mileage is impressive for a 4x4. This truck gets better gas mileage than the toyota tocoma 4 cylinder 2wd i had.

Similar Products Used: Ford Ranger, Toyota Tacoma
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
louise   [Dec 07, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Colorado
Strength:

Great truck to drive.

Weakness:

Paint chips easy, a bit hard on gas

Overall I love my truck and would buy another one. Lots of room inside and the smaller box is great. Love the sunroof.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
sb   [Dec 02, 2010]
Model Reviewed: gmc canyon
Strength:

Excellent gas mileage(once I kit about 13k)
Impresive power for a 4cyl
Comfortable with good leg room(front seats)
Styling
Price

Weakness:

Paint
Rear springs too weak
Factory amerigeneral tires are crap

I love this truck it looks good has good power and gets great gas mileage, now.
I was expecting great mileage when I bought this truck but found it used quite a bit more fuel than I expected...until I started putting some miles on it, when I hit about 13,000 kms it was like someone flicked a good gas mileage switch.
Has excellent towing power for a 4cy it tows like a v6.Lots of front seat leg room and is a pleasure to drive. I am at almost 30,000kms now and I have only had to replace the windshield which isnt the trucks fault. My main complaint is the paint, it chips far too easily and on inconspicuous parts like the inside of the doors the paint is so thin you can actually see primer lol. I have seen lots of complaints in reviews about the hard plastic interior panels but it is a truck and I like the interior cause it is really easy to clean although the silver trim around the stereo and vent is pretty cheap looking.

Similar Products Used: chevy c10
toy tacoma
nissan titan
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Randy   [Apr 05, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Chevy Colorado Crew Cab 4WD I-5
Strength:

Good 4wd, decent mileage below 70mph

Weakness:

The I-5 3.5L has a major defect on the cylinder head valve guides HAVE REPLACED MINE TWICE AT 70,000 AND NOW 110,000. Chevy will honor this problem once up to 100,000 miles. This will be my last GM product as the Ford/Honda/Suzuki products that I owned have been reliable to 200,000 and beyond. 50,000 MILES AND REPLACE A HEAD IS A JOKE DO NOT BUY THIS TRUCK AND GOOD LUCK IF YOU DO. PURE JUNK

SIMPLE SUMMARY- THE 2004-2006 CHEVY 3.5L HAS A FACTORY HEAD/VALVE GUIDE PROBLEM AND IT WILL HAPPEN TO YOU SOONER THAN LATER

Similar Products Used: 1996 Ford Ranger- 212,000 miles still going
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
markct48   [Jan 13, 2010]
Model Reviewed: chevy colorado 4 dr crew
Strength:

4 cyl good excellent mpg....good riding truck

Weakness:

heating system ...my truck has been in 14 times too fix the system they cant figure it out ...they change the sencor and fan and it still doesnt work right been doing this since i bought it new

i should be able too get this fixed not at my cost because ive been to the dealers ship plenty of times and rthey still tell me i have too pay for it again

Similar Products Used: s-10
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
carlos bonilauri   [Nov 29, 2009]
Model Reviewed: crew cab
Strength:

good power, dash board looks good,reasonable
gas millage

Weakness:

is the cheapest plastic junk ever build.
read the review summary.

bumper to bumper just poor quality, cheap material. tires went out after 8000 miles. bad brakes. windshield broken when I hit a fly???? No undercoating. no rubber cover on the sensors.Bumper rusted from factory.On the body:Where you see, painted, where you don't, primer. Warranty, well none, at least on Superior chevrolet kansas. never, never again I buy any GM. my new truck:pick up ford 1956 or older. To build this plastic junk GM spends less than $3000- I paid $23.000 stay away from any new GM. Chevy Colorado = scam Carlos bonilauri cabonil@everestkc.net

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
bigken1979   [Dec 09, 2008]
Model Reviewed: LS Z71 2WD ext cab
Strength:

Very comfortable (driver only), consistantly gets 22 to 24.5 mpg combo city/hwy, looks good with little to no repair shop time.

Weakness:

Wish the LS model had available compass/dimming rear view mirror.

I love this truck! I'm a traveling salesman that has driven 94K miles in this truck over the past 3 years. This truck has only needed new tires (72K), rear brakes (75K) and a water pump (92K). Very few newer vehicles have passenger side key hole, who doesn't have power locks these days? Must have "work" model.

Similar Products Used: 89 dodge ram, 99 chevy silverado.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
SHORTYELAM   [Dec 05, 2008]
Model Reviewed: EXT CAB Z71

I have had this truck for 4 years and the quality is great. Had a few minor problems, but what do you expect out of a first model year vehicle. The heater and air cond. is weak but works.
I looked at a 2009 Colorado with the $1800 option with the 5.3L V-8 that would pull just about anything I wanted.

Similar Products Used: 1999 Ford Ranger,
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
mudslingers8   [Nov 20, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Colorado Crew Cab 4wd LT
Strength:

Good acceleration, can't tell the trailer is behind it!

Weakness:

Can't keep the black color clean!

Great Truck, Comfortable, smooth, Looks Great!! This truck is so much better than my S-10! I can't wait to drive it every day!

Similar Products Used: !997 S-10 4wd
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Toyota   [Nov 03, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Chevy/Colorado
Strength:

Roomy cab and rear seat (4 door)

Weakness:

mechanically unreliable

Recently I paid out over $700 for a front brake job on my 2005 Chevy Colorado truck. $700 for a job that a few years ago I could have done myself on any small truck (Chevy, Dodge, or Ford) with simple tools that most people have in their garage. Now the engineers at Chevrolet in their infinite wisdom had mad this impossible as to replace the front rotors you must completely disassemble the front swing arm, and 8 hour job at my local dealer. Why oh why do automakers keep doing these stupid things? With the price of gas, food, heat, and everything else going up on a daily basis I look for these projects I can do myself.

It never dawned on me to look at this when I bought the truck new in 2005. Who would have ever thought that after 50 years of minimal changes to the automobile that some rocket scientist at GM would have come up with this?

Bottom line STAY AWAY FROM THIS TRUCK (Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon). Even my local dealer says they steer people away from it.

Sorry GM but this is the last American built truck (if we can really call it that) that I will ever buy.

MY NEXT TRUCK IS GOING TO BE A TOYOTA.

Similar Products Used: Dodge Dakota
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 51  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com