Chevrolet Silverado Trucks | Vans

Silverado

The Silverado has many engine choices, starting with the 200-hp V6. The next step up is 3 gasoline V8's with 255, 270, and 300-hp. There is also a diesel V8 with 210-hp available, as well as a 5 speed manual or automatic transmission.

User Reviews (440)

Showing 1-10 of 440  
SloMaroZ   [Dec 29, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Silverado 1500 Crew Cab Short Bed
Strength:

Drives Great, 6spd Trans, Roomy, Tows great, 0% APR

Weakness:

Less than advertised fuel economy, Harder to park in Los Angeles than some smaller trucks.

I bought this truck as a replacement to my 2000 Silverado 1500 that I enjoyed. So far It's been a great purchase. The suspension is a huge improvement over the previous generation trucks. The interior volume of this truck is great, plenty of room for 5, and even 6 if you fold the armrest up. However with the added size and weight, the gas mileage of this model suffers. During my time of ownership(15 months), I've averaged about 13-14 mpg. The truck is 100% stock, with a 5.3L v8, and 6-speed trans.

Similar Products Used: 88' Silverado 2500, 00' Silverado 1500
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Jimmies05   [Jan 18, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Silverado 2500 (new body style)
Strength:

Powerful gas motor! lots of room! Rides so smooth! good brakes.

Weakness:

4wheel drive could use some adjustment.

Its a 2000 2500 extended cab longbed 4wd. The 6000 vortech is very powerful. Like gas with the bigger tires (285/75/16) but will out work a 5.7. The room and style inside i love! Soo much room very comfortable. Too much to play with when i'm driving. Tranny good. 4 wheel drive is a bit tricky. Doesn't always want to go in.But This truck doesn't get driven much do to MPG which is why i have a cavalier. But helks with a performance chip which kicks it in the butt and makes you feel it shift. I wouldn't buy another ford nor look at a dodge.

Similar Products Used: 1986 chevy 2500 5.7 4wd, 1997 f150 4.6 4wd
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
mike dewey   [Dec 23, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Silverado Z-71
Strength:

comfortable and good-looking

Weakness:

Chevrolet has a quality problem, transmission problems, and other defect problems

Save your money and buy a Dodge. I've drove chevy's all of my life but the last two chevy trucks I've bought were pieces of junk. Transmission problems, fuse problems, wiring problems and more transmission problems. Don't think their extended warranty (that you pay through the nose for) will help either. My last truck (2005 silverado Z-71) had 43,000 miles and the transmission burned out and had been serviced by the dealership and had not been dogged out. Extended warranty would only pay for a remanufactured transmission and it burned out 1500 miles later and again they wanted to put another remanufactured transmission and said they could not get new transmissions. I traded for a Dodge and all of the chevrolet dealerships can go out of business for all i care.

Similar Products Used: 2001 Chevrolet--Transmission prolems--56,000 miles
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
aaboy757   [Nov 23, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Chevy Silverado 2500 Extended Cab
Strength:

Pulls great and starts like magic even after all the years. I lOVE the looks! It also has nice seating.

Weakness:

The windshield in the rear/right leeks in air when driving at speeds of 55 and over. The steering is not as firm as it's supposed to be. The gas mileage sucks!! I get roughly 12.7 MPG in all! Furthermore, like many others have said, the power windows take centuries to roll up.

I like the truck very much. It has a great look and drives alright. I bought the truck back in 2005 used, the initial owner purchased it in 2003. When I first got the truck it was a very sturdy ride. Even as the years passed, the truck is still in very good shape and would recommend the truck for anyone. Of course, after time the truck does develop some deficiencies, but not very major.

Similar Products Used: 1998 Dodge 2500.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
z71usa   [Dec 06, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Silverado 1500 Ext Cab Z71 LT 5.3L
Strength:

Sweet Ride, Powerful 5.3L, Lots of cab room, Awesome seat heaters, will fit 33" tires with a ford torsion bar key swap aprox. $50 without having to buy a lift kit.

Weakness:

These trucks seem to be plagued with the same problems...Steering shaft, 4wd switch..etc...

I've owned my Chevy for over 4yrs now I bought it with 18k and now have almost 100k. I love this truck but I have to say it has spent alot of it's life at the dealership for repairs. I'm very meticulous about my vehicles I'm just glad I bought an extended warranty for this truck. Here's a list of problems I've encountered in order. Catching gas pedal, Bad intermediate steering shaft, Fuel Sensor, 4wd sensor, catalytic converter, muffler, wiper motor, seat heater switch, and just recently the water pump bearing started squeeling so I had the pump replaced. Overall I'm still very happy with this truck. It's my daily driver and is extremely comfortable with plenty of power. It is expensive to drive with today's gas cost however. I would recommend this truck but shop around because I think there are better built trucks for money....hmmm (Toyota)

Similar Products Used: Toyota, Nissan, Ford ---boooo, Dodge, International, GM.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
jeffrey smith   [Dec 02, 2007]
Model Reviewed: c1500 silverado z71
Strength:

power, smooh ride, the classic chevy traits

Weakness:

none- maybe gas consumption

best vehicle ever, best customer in town hands down. go ahead and step up to the big boy the z71 is a stud.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
truckdusen   [Aug 28, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Silverado Z71
Strength:

I would say Chevy has gotten pretty good at making trucks into cars.

Weakness:

Transmission, exterior trim, ground clearance,

the truck was great up until it got warm outside then all heck broke loose. From undiagnoseable tranny problems to rusting out cab corners, head lamps falling off, oh yeah, the so called off road package does no good in the snow the truck only has 6 inches of ground clearanc.

Similar Products Used: 1978 Chevy K10, 1994 K1500 Diesle
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Mark Seaman   [May 14, 2007]
Model Reviewed: LT3 3500 4WD Crew Dually
Strength:

Powerful, nice ride, quiet

Weakness:

Tire problems, drivetrain problems (4WD and Manual Shifting), cheesy interior furnishings, lousy paint job. Interior storage is bad.

Gas mileage is 14 mpg avg. Truck has a nice ride. Quiet diesel engine. XMS radio is nice, but $14/mo is a lot for a radio. Have not had much use for Onstar other than the phone portion, just a cell phone, not a satellite phone so it only works where your normal service works. Obviously a large truck and very hard to park. Comfortable leather seats. Great stereo system. However, in the less than five months and under 4000 miles I have found the interior furnishings to be cheesy. Drink cup holders suck, my drinks tip over easily. The furnishings are cheap; carpet, plastic parts break easily, etc. I use the truck in the mountains each weekend and find that the 4WD fails to engage quite often. The “Service 4WD” warning comes on all the time when I try to use it and of course techs can’t duplicate the problem. I do not have a liner in the bed, but even without a liner I find that the paint job there is lousy. Scratches very easily. Also, I have found that the front tires are all chewed to pieces like the front end can not handle the weight. When in manual shifting, shifting from 2 to 1 with the controller (+ -), the drive train sounds like metal grinding.

Similar Products Used: 89 Ford F250 4WD, never a problem
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
David   [Apr 24, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Chev Silverado 2500HD Crew/Duramax/Allison
Strength:

Engine, transmission, room, looks, back seats fold flat so I can carry my hounds. Large bed.

Weakness:

Too many things have gone wrong compared to import brands and new price paid. Turning radius is large and it's difficult to park. I didn't buy a Kia, I bought a Chevy. Next time, a Tundra.

Truck runs good and generally has been a good truck, not a great truck as Chevy would lead you to believe. I like the fact that the back seat folds flat. I bought the extended warranty, which was a good thing because a lot of items have had to be repaired after the factory warranty expired. The steering was worked on twice because of looseness, the speedometer failed and whole dash has to be replaced. The day time running lights have failed 3 times. Both batteries failed and very expensive to have replaced at the dealer's. "Diagnostic" fees of $92 for not much found.

FOr the money, next time, I'll buy the new Tundra. Maybe Toyota will be putting a diesel in them by then?

Similar Products Used: 1993 FOrd F250, XLT, Diesel
1987 Ford F250 XLF Diesel
1985 Chev S10, piece of CRAP
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
spooley   [Jan 16, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Chevy Silverado Z71
Strength:

None

Weakness:

computer glitches galore, mechanical problems that should be recalled, but apparently Chevy doesn't know exactly how to fix them yet so you just have to keep bringing it in time and time again for them to "band aid" it until the next time.

Would like to know what happened to Chevy reputation. I've owned several Chevy trucks over the years and they were all great, but this truck has so many glitches it is ridiculous. Service 4WD light came on day after I bought it. Has been services a dozen times for it and still keep taking it in. Have had the intermediate stearing shaft replaced/lubed/replated, etc. 4 times and still not right. Several computer glitches that indicate a problem when no problem really exists. And Chevy customer service is ridiculous. Definitely not what I expected from Chevrolet.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 440  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com