Dodge Dakota Trucks | Vans

Dakota

The Dakota is Dodge’s midsize pickup truck that received a design refresh for 2008 and is offered in Extended Cab and Quad Cab versions.

User Reviews (376)

Showing 1-10 of 376  
Magnum78   [Dec 12, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Dodge Dakota
Strength:

Ride Quality,Power,Acceleration,Fuel economy is adequate for a 4X4,Base radio sounds great,Seats are comfortable,Easy to maintain and service

Weakness:

Have had issues with the wipers,Front brakes at 55000Kms,Brake light switch failed at 20000 Kms,

Much better than what GM and Ford have to offer for the similar style vehicle,

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
B. Huff   [Oct 25, 2009]
Model Reviewed: SLT
Strength:

This truck is strong in all areas

Weakness:

None

Purchased new in 2001 it currently has 230k with no problems. Best truck I've ever owned.

Similar Products Used: Ford Ranger, there's no comparison.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Endre Tollefsrud   [Jan 09, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Dodge Dakota Leramy V8
Strength:

Many

Weakness:

So far, no weakness that is wourth writing!

I have had a lots of nice cars, but this is the greatest everyday car! It's fun to drive, climbes perfectly, and with gas it's also cheap to drive. The engine and the comforth, combinated with the sporty feeling is just great.

Similar Products Used: BMW 320 d
BMW 330 d
Peugot 307 cc
++++++++
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
marc   [Jun 25, 2008]
Model Reviewed: dakota club cab
Strength:

its a dodge for you dodge fans feels solid but its still kinda NEW. only 24.5k

Weakness:

whats this about this thing has NO FUEL FILTER instead the pressure regulator is the filter?(high price parts hint here) POOR fuel economy even with the 3.7l V6 appx 15 city 20 hwy parts are impossible to get overall this thing is just very CHEAPLY built and all for a new price of around 17k for that year...

this is beyond the shadow of a doubt the worst vehicle i have ever owned in my life after 3 weeks im ready to get rid of it bought it used with only 24k miles on it seemed ok till after i drove it off the lot tested fine but then the problems..two words TRADE IN. it does offer some hope its a much larger truck for the money and others in this class and size want much more $$$ there is room in the inside rear seats for club cab will require more frequent stops on long trips with 2 SMALL kids. would i buy another one NO ABSOLUTELY NOT. sorry

Similar Products Used: had a 94 sonoma with 88k on it only had to put on tires and a clutch at 55k didnt have to rewire the main harness to tow a trailer..
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Curt Shelp   [Apr 13, 2008]
Model Reviewed: quad cab sport 4.7 v8
Strength:

Durable, versitile, reliable, attractive, roomy, quick, and comfortable.

Weakness:

Milage, it's heavy, front brake pads wear too quickly, it doesn't have the new 302hp 4.7.

I bought this truck new from the fleet dept. and it has been a great truck. the only issue I've had was a minor one timer handled trouble free by the dealer (AC relay). It was inspected for two recalls and found to be un-effected (ball joints and wiper motor exposed to the elements) It's roomy, quick, drives and handles well (pushes through the corners if you try to corner too fast) and after 5 1/5 years and 80 k miles I have had to change the plugs once, tires twice and front brake pads 3 times; the rear drums and shoes are original. I would buy an 08 if they hadn't ruined the looks. 2 weeks after I bought it 5 adults, 5 mountain bikes and all our junk from So Cal to Durango Co and Sedona Az over 8 days.

Similar Products Used: Dodge ram 4x4, 3 Jeep comanche 4x4 (I wish they still made that one) and a Mitsubishi mini truck (garbage can on wheels; 3 motors)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
vern   [Feb 27, 2008]
Model Reviewed: dakota
Strength:

solid smooth ride that commands the road

Weakness:

gas pig with the v8

nice truck

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
dodgebeliever   [Dec 30, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Dakota Sport
Strength:

6' bed, 4WD, stability on slick roads, roomy interior, handling

Weakness:

gas mileage (17mpg), red paint (oxidized) and scratched easily.

I bought this truck used with 8,000 miles on it. It was a "basic" truck with no fancy frills - red paint. It was 4WD on demand and I got excellent service out of it for the 4+ years I owned it. The ball joints were replaced on a recall (I didn't have any trouble with them). I did have the fan go out and was replaced, but otherwise, normal wear and tear. Reno, NV has a great Firestone store that took excellent care of the vehicle and I kept it serviced on time with whatever was needed. As such, I didn't have problems that others report here. Being a Pickup, you'd think it would fish tail on slick roads, but it handled very well in 4WD, was stabilized and handled real well whether it was icy, snow packed, deep snow, snow covered ice, or whatever. If I were ever to buy another truck, I'd get another Dakota, hands down. I recently traded it for a 2007 Dodge Nitro because I wanted one vehicle (I had two) and I wanted a 4WD that wasn't a pickup, something I didn't need any longer.

I had a co-worker who had one that had all kinds of problems and he finally got rid of it with the intent never to own another Dodge, but I never had any of the issues he did. I think each vehicle can be different and each experience different and you have to take each review and measure it for what it's worth. I drove my Dakota over a mountain every day every winter in winter road conditions. I never needed chains (and if I did, I never bought them). I hauled a lot of stuff with that truck. I didn't go 4-wheeling or off-roading, so didn't wear out parts that might otherwise give out on these 4WD vehicles.

Maintenance costs were normal and I can't remember anything unusual except the summer the fan died on the air conditioning.

Similar Products Used: I've owned a 1969 Dodge Polaris, which was great, 2001 Dodge Dakot, 2004 Dodge Neon and now a 2007 Dodge Nitro. So far, I've been very pleased with all the Dodge products I've owned. We'll see how well the new one works out.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Dan A.   [Oct 05, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Quad Cab, 4x4 Sport
Strength:

Excellent power, nice handling, smooth shifting, full size spare, rear doors open really wide, head room, leg room, compass and information centre, nice sound system, easy to get in and out, turning radius, smooth steering, quiet ride, great visibility except the A pillar (see weaknesses).

Weakness:

The A pillar is a little too big and you have to look "around" it for pedestrians crossing when making a left turn.
Fuel economy could be better but the kick you get out of it when you step on the gas justifies the extra money you pay at the pump.
The fuel tank should be bigger.

Great truck. I love everything about it. In three years (50,000 Km) all I had to replace was a front turn signal light bulb (2 per head light so if one is out you still have one left) and the fan belt.
The interior is nice. The truck rides well and I can take a certain bend at 120Km safely when I know for a fact in other cars I can't even go over 100Km. There is some wind noise but not a lot, you can still have a decent conversation at 140 Km/h. The Magnum V8 4.7L and the transmission combination is great, it's almost like driving an electric car, the power is always there when you need it. The fuel economy could be better but it is a truck after all, one interesting thing is that no matter how I drive it, 100Km/h or 130Km/h I get almost the same mileage, a $350 tonneau cover help a little though.
The rear seats (60/40) fold up and the rear doors open at a right angle making it really easy to put stuff in the back. The stock sound system with infinity speakers is great and I love the big buttons especially when u have gloves on or when you want to play with the radio but you can't really pay attention to it. The controls are located properly and I love that the lights switch is not on the turn signal lever. On my wife's Jeep I have to try 10 different things before I can turn on the lights or windshield wipers. The steering mounted radio controls are "under" the steering wheel which I thought was stupid but once you get used to it, it just makes sense to have them there. The convenience package comes with compass, temperature, distance to empty and garage door remote with rolling codes (really handy). Steering is predictable and the 4 wheel ABS works great.
Snow is not a problem, the traction is great and the OEM tires do a fantastic job. The 5ft bed is big enough, for 4x8s you can use 2 2x4s cut to length to create a "platform" using the 4 slots in the bed sides.
At 170,000Km it pulls strong, looks good and I love it.

Similar Products Used: Jeep YJ, Jeep Liberty
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sbriggsy   [Aug 08, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Dodge Dakota
Strength:

Solid feel, and roomy.

Weakness:

Breaks & gas milage

The Dakota only has 7500 miles on it, therefore I can't offer much good or bad information. It drives well and appears solid. There is plenty of room with the extended cab. The vehicle shakes when applying the breaks going down a steep hill. Thus far it appears fine...I'll write again when I have more milage on it. As for gas milage...it is quite bad.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
ljtrowern   [Jul 26, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Dodge Dakota Sport
Strength:

Can tow a jet ski with ease, looks nice and nice interior

Weakness:

Read above..... too many!

Bad buy! I've had Toyotas and Honda's in my life and I decided to try out a dodge. It's a great looking truck which is what attracted me to it but VERY unreliable. I've had it about 3 months and already had to get front breaks & back breaks replaced, aligment fixed 4 times, ball joints replaced and not to mention the crappy paint job! I find new scratches everyday. Currently its having problems were it can't go faster then 5mph and I turn off then truck, then back on and its fine. The sport has a really nice interior. Although its got no cruise control, power windows or power locks. Oh, and the left speaker went out. Overall, not a good truck. I wouldn't ever buy a dodge again.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 376  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com