Ford Explorer Sport Trac Trucks | Vans

Explorer Sport Trac

The 2008 Explorer Sport Trac is a 4-door, 5-passenger sport-utility, available in 8 trims, ranging from the XLT 4.0L 4X2 to the Limited 4.6L 4X4.

Upon introduction, the XLT 4.0L 4X2 is equipped with a standard 4.0-liter, V6, 210-horsepower engine that achieves 14-mpg in the city and 20-mpg on the highway. A 5-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard. The Limited 4.6L 4X4 is equipped with a standard 4.6-liter, V8, 292-horsepower engine that achieves 13-mpg in the city and 19-mpg on the highway. A 6-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard.

The 2008 Explorer Sport Trac is a carryover from 2007.

User Reviews (145)

Showing 1-10 of 145  
gators51   [Sep 30, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Ford Sport Trac
Strength:

There are a few, I'm not totally evil. Power rear window is cool and helpful for those who don't like to run the AC all the time. Heater works well enough. Is agile to drive in a parking lot only. gain, good for getting groceries. I nicknamed it the shopping cart. Roomy in the back seat. Some of the added compartments are useful, some break. 4x4 is useful in the winter.

Weakness:

Pig on fuel, city of highway. Lack of power, 4.0L has to be the worst engine Ford has ever designed. Maximum fuel consumption. Seats are incredibly uncomfortable. Stereo is garbage, deck and climate controls are badly designed and archaic. Rides poorly and uncomfortably over bumps, lumps, gravel, basically anything other than smooth road. Bed too small for any trips to the hardware store. Looks bad, the chrome is terrible and the running boards are cheap. I can go on and on picking it apart but you get the picture.

Oh gosh... where to begin... trys to look like a truck, drives like a SUV. Useless for hauling any materials longer than 8'. Had to cut drywall in half. Used to own a 96 Silverado on propane, that functioned much better for my needs than this, too bad it's so expensive to recertify propane vehicles. Sucks gas like a pig, little or no power when needed, you don't really want to press too hard on the gas as most wallets can't take it. It's not the cost so much, it's that I'm paying the same for fuel as I would have in a full-size pickup. The seats are hard and uncomfortable, not recommended to drive longer than 30 minutes at a time if you have back problems. One of the bed compartment hinges broke within a month (opened and closed 3 times). LCD display? Come on Ford... get with the times. Glove box way too small for owners manual and a set of winter gloves. Door opener compartment looks like it was made by a child, lego-like button customizers that don't stay put are inside to help you hit your buttons. Would rather just clip to my sun visor. The stereo is poor as factory stereos go. Sounds tinny and distorted on higher volumes even with much adjusting of the 'bass' and 'treble'. Even my 96 Chev had an equalizer.

In short, I hate it. Would never buy it again. Hoping to sell it soon but wife likes it for getting groceries which is all its good for. I can't believe I wasted my money on this thing. Would rather drive an old pickup or even a civic. Because they don't pretend to be anything they're not.

Good for stay-at-home parents who only take the kids to soccer, baseball etc. Never go on long drives with it. Good for shopping. Don't try and haul a trailer with it, your gas mileage will make you cry. I pulled a 2100 lb tent trailer 150 kilometers into the mountains and got 21 L/100 kms that's 5.6 gal/62 mi. or 11 miles per gallon. Don't even bother with the hitch.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
c smith   [Jan 24, 2008]
Model Reviewed: ford explorer sport trac
Strength:

lots of room in the back seat.

Weakness:

transmission, frame, brakes, shocks, battery, once you inspect something you'll find a problem with it. Once you fix something another problem will arise.

I bought this truck 6 months ago and it has been falling apart ever since.
The original owners were an elderly couple that put only 117000 kms on it in 6 years.They took great care of it, no accidents or anything.I dont think any of these problems were caused by their care of the vehicle.I think it is a peice of junk!
I paid way too much at $15000 but I thought the low mileage was worth it. Turns out the price is skyrocketing within months of buying it.4 years to go until its paid off.I'd try to sell it but can't justify making someone else deal with these neverending problems and repairs.Once its paid for I'd like to burn it!
The truck is sitting at the useless ford dealership as the problems escalate.
The truck started having trouble moving into the next gear(its automatic).The RPMs would fly up but the truck wouldn't speed up. Turns out the transmission is screwed up. Still dont know what thats going to cost!
Also disturbing knocking noises started coming from the engine when I went over bumps or potholes. Dealership says the whole front end of the frame has basically fallen apart and needs to be rebuilt.All the rods and bolts have broken. Estimate is at $3000 for that.
From what I've found out these 2 main problems are common with all ford explorers especially the transmission. The dealerships really don't care!
On this truck the brakes have been replaced, the front windshield, the battery needs to go soon, the shocks are pretty much done for! Should I go on? Okay! The foot bars rust out yearly, something strange is going on with my locks. I'm afraid to get the dealership to check half these things because I don't have any $$ left. This vehicle has been a nightmare for me. I can't afford hundreds if not thousands each year to fix it. I think I'll just drive it and hope it lasts until its paid off.
I will never buy a ford again based on this experience.
Anyone considering

Similar Products Used: my dad drove a chevy truck for years with no major problems. Otherwise foreign vehicles, no problems with those either.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
bazzbozz   [Dec 27, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Explorer Sport Trac
Strength:

Plenty of power for passing, towing and getting through the 'tough' spots. Interior is well designed and constructed. Handles like a more expensive car and rides far better than any other truck I've owned, including big SUV's, Mini van, and full sized luxury vans. Tows my boat with ease even up still hills and I've moved a house full of cabinets in the back with a trailor and barely noticed it was there. I truck my ATV around all over the place during hunting season and have gotten into some places that even surprised my 'off roading' friends and did it with style and ease.

Weakness:

Short bed - although I knew this wasn't a full sized vehicle, the bed still is shorter than I'd like. Especially since a full sheet of plywood has much difficulty fitting in the back, same with 8 & 10 lumber[needs to be tied down]. Side seat covers appear to be cheap plastic and get in the way when trying to get out of vehicle. No ashtrays!

This vehicle fits my needs very well. As long as you're not looking for a big hauler or for heavy construction use, it's a great marriage between form and function. Styling is exceptional, gas economy is reasonable [for 8 cyls.], interior space is spacious and it hauls my boat, ATV, trailor around with ease. It has loads of power and handles better than most cars I've driven, and I think the ride is better than my friend's Cadillac! My particular vehicle is well appointed with p/w, p/l, controls for radio/temp/fan/cruise on the steering wheel which I have found to be very handy. My friends are all jealous of me and tell me they will be taking a hard look at this vehicle the next time they go to purchase a truck. I have found the gas milage to be exactly how it was rated for and when I talk to other guys that have similar trucks [of a foreign variety] they say they don't get the milage I get from this size truck! I also have full leather interior that is both very plush and well constructed, it cleans well and seems to be very durable as well [I've already spilled a can of finish all over the back seat and it just peeled off after drying a couple of days], I carry alot of my band equipment so the back bed and back seat get quite a work out each week. I have had it in for service three times [5, 10 & 15,000 mile checkup] and each time they have looked it over with a fine tooth comb and say it looks very good and requires no additional maintenance or care. I've been especially happy with the looks I get from people as I drive down the road too. My buddy's daughter LOVES my truck, especially the heated seats and the adjustable foot pedals. The wife likes the dual temperatures controls, Sirius radio, and the heated backs on the seats, not to mention the adjustable pedals and steering column. Yea I really like this truck, it fits most of my toys and carrys five people comfortably. I highly recommend this particular make and model for anyone who is looking to 'downsize' from a full bodied truck or the big SUV's [I had a 2002 Tahoe previously]. Although I'm not a big 'off-roader', I have used it during hunting season in the woods. I've been down many a 'seasonal road' with it that may not bee heavy off road use, but, these roads are called 'seasona' for a reason. This truck has seen some deep creeks and more than a few holes [deep enough to sink the 18" wheels] and still pull itself out everytime. Also living in Buffalo, New York it has seen quite a few slick roads and heavy snowfalls already and has performed flawlessly. Great truck!

Similar Products Used: My friends have similar sized trucks [Chevy S-10 and Colorados and Dodge Dakotas] that I have driven. No match if I want a longer bed I use their trucks otherwise they look to use my when they want to go out with theirs girls!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
J Koski   [Sep 13, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Ford Sport Trac
Strength:

Versatility, passenger capacity and comfort, highway and city handling.

Weakness:

MPG and no way to keep rear floor mats from sliding around.

Comfortable seating for five. V8 engine coupled with the 6 speed transmission performs smoothly and delivered 22 MPG hwy. Excellent visibility and easy to maneuver. Rubberized floor covering very comfortable and easy to maintain.
As comfortable to drive on the highway as it is in town. Very predictable at highway speeds with plenty of get-up-and-go when you need it. Good visibility and maneuverability makes it an easy driver in town. My wife would only purchase this vehicle if the rear seats were comfortable for adults. Read much about the interior door handles being awkward; however, we like them. The door handle location and operation is more ergonomically correct than traditional
door handle locations.
Heard and read many articles and opinions about this vehicle before we bought it.
Some good, some not so good. Now that we own one, we are absolutely delighted
to have it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
gary   [Mar 28, 2007]
Model Reviewed: xlt
Strength:

room for 4 or 5 great storage and
great look and have had a lot of compliments

Weakness:

GAS MILEAGE!~!!!!!!!!

i love the truck suits me to a t

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Sharon VanPolen   [Jan 19, 2007]
Model Reviewed: xlt
Strength:

lots of leg room in back seat
rides good,
good gas mileage

Weakness:

can't think of any

This is my second Sport Trac and I Love
it. I would not consider any other vehicle

Similar Products Used: 01 sport trac, ranger
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ndeidrick   [Jan 03, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Strength:

Rides good, not bad gas milage 18 city, 22 highway,

Weakness:

Brakes, wind noise around doors at higher speeds (replaced gaskets no help) bed too small to really haul anything

Overall an excellent SUV/Truck. I have had no major problems with it. It has 57,000 miles. I have had to rplace brakes two times only in the front.(word of caution get factory brake pads aftermarket stlyes create a boat load of black brake dust on the rims. I learned this on this first set.)Other than oil changes works good.My sport trac is fully loaded.

Similar Products Used: Ford explorer sport, Ford ranger
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
j.pallas   [Sep 06, 2006]
Model Reviewed: sport trac
Strength:

a strong look. meets my needs plus some,a very versital truck . it's a FORD

Weakness:

THE FACTORY PAINT UNDER THE CLEAR COAT HAS AS BEEN CRACKING, SHOWING CRACK LINES UNDER THE CLEAR COAT THROUGH OUT THE ENTIRE TRUCK. ANYONE ELSE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM ? PLEASE CONTACT ME @ JPALLAS@ BOP.GOV.

over all a good truck. the ride is super smooth for a truck. I have 101000 miles that's right one hundred and one thousand miles,with zero problems , just changed the supertine belt, change oil every 3,000 miles, still going strong...

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Kate   [Jun 26, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Strength:

very attractive, gas mileage isnt bad for a truck, love all of the power features, drives well offroad/on the beach.

Love it so far! Ive been driving it for 3 days now, and no real problems at all! The first day I had it someone cut me off and I was forced to slam on the breaks. The truck stopped on a dime, even in the pouring rain.

Similar Products Used: Chevy Blazer
Nissan Frontier
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
BILL WOOLSEY   [May 01, 2006]
Model Reviewed: V6 5 SPD.
Strength:

THE VEHICAL SEEMS SO VERSTILE. GREAT LOOKS, AND A HUNDRED USES. I AM SHORTER AND FEEL VERY COMFORTABLE DRIVING. LIKE THAT REAR POWER WINDOW. LIKE THE SPARE TIRE COMPARTMENT WHICH IS OUTA THE WAY. HATE THOSE TIRES ON THE BACK DOOR OR INSIDE TAKEING UP SPACE. FIND IT VERY COMFORTABLE AND ENJOY THE STEREO SYSTEM.TO ME THERE IS A FEELING OF A VEHICAL WELL MADE AND STURDY. WE WILL SEE. IT IS ALREADY A FEW YEARS OLD AND FEELS LIKE NEW. IT HAS 67,000 KM AND HARD TO TELL IT ISN'T NEW WHEN DRIVING.HAVE NO NOISE PROBLEMS.

Weakness:

THE MILEAGE SEEMS AWFUL. JUST HAD A V5 AUTOMATIC MAXIMA AND I WAS GETTING TWICE ALMOST THE MILEAGE. I FEEL LIKE I AM DRIVING A FORD 350 OR SOME THING WITH THE FILL UPS.OVER ALL I WOULD STILL GIVE IT AN A PLUS BUT, SEEMS TO BE COSTLY TO DRIVE AND THAT MAY SCARE PEOPLE NOW A DAYS. WE WILL SEE HOW THE MAINTENACE ARE OVER THE FIRST YEAR.

I HAVE ALWAYS LIKE THE LOOKS. COULDN'T AFFORD A NEW ONE AND FOUND ONE WITH LOW MILAGE BUT, SOME OPTIONS I LIKE TO HAVE WERE NOT THERE.IT HAS A RUBBER FLOOR AND NO CARPETING WHICH MAKES IT EASIER FOR CLEANING ALTHOUGH I DON'T MESS IT THAT MUCH, THE FORD MATTS FOR IT ARE SO GOOD THAT IT FEEL LIKE CARPETING THERE ANYWAYS. I WOULD HAVE LIKE A POWER SUN ROOF AS I ALWAYS LOOK FOR A VEHICAL WITH THAT. I LIKE THE LOOKS OF THE LUGGAGE RAILS BUT, THEY COLLECT ALOT OF DIRT AND THEY ARE HARD TO CLEAN AROUND. EVERY THING ELSE I JUST LOVE. THE MILEAGE I FIND IS REALLY BAD. FOR THE SIZE I FEEL LIKE I GO TO THE GAS PUMPS TOO MUCH. THAT BLOODY GAS LIKES SEEMS TO ALWAYS COME ON.

Similar Products Used: I HAVE HAD JUST ABOUT EVERY THING, EXPLORER SPORT.( THIS IS WAY BETTER)MOSTLY CARS THOUGH. HAVE ALWAYS FELT BETTER WHEN COMPARING TRUCKS WITH FORD STUFF AS IT FEELS LIKE A TRUCK WHEN YOU GET INTO IT. OTHER VEHICALS FEEL LIKE TIN CANS- THEY TING WHEN YOU SHUT THE DOORS.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 145  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com