Ford F-250 Super Duty Trucks | Vans

F-250 Super Duty

Manufactured to handle heavy loads, hard work and hauling, Ford F-250 SD truck also offers easy handling and a comfortable ride. The current generation offers three body styles, four trim levels, and three different engine types.

The F-Series Super Duty engine choices include; a 235-hp Triton V-8, a 275-hp V-10, and a 235-hp V-8 turbo-diesel. They all have option of 5 and 6 speed manuals and automatic transmissions. ABS is optional as is 2 or 4 wheel drive. Maximum payload is up to 14,540 pounds on certain models.

User Reviews (131)

Showing 1-10 of 131  
J Hagwood   [Nov 18, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Ford F-250 SD 4X4 King Ranch
Strength:

Very nice looking/Style

Weakness:

Mechanically it is a JOKE. I have have put approx 55K miles on it & have spent $6K in repairs in 2 years. Most have been design flaws that Ford wont own up to/ warrant & I am sick of poor service too. After some research I find I am in the "Norm" catagory - not the Exception. Before this truck, we had 2 Rams/Cummins that we put nearly 500,000 miles on & spent less than half the repair costs on both trucks combined ! I have owned 2 Super Duties & both have been horrible so I'm not buyin' the "You got a bad one", thing.

I think its all realtive.................
After driving a Dodge, I became used to not having a major fix every year - Just maintaining it & driving it. The Super Duty is a pretty truck ! I'm just sick of paying fro those looks through the nose !
If you are OK with shelling out big bucks for repairs periodically, it leaving you on the side of the road, & poor service - Maybe the Super Duty is for you. I know you don't have to accept this & I'm not going to ! I'm done with Ford !

Similar Products Used: Dodge Ram 2500 4x4 Cummins Std Cab/Std Bed
Dodge Ram 2500 4X4 Cummins Quad Cab/Short Bed
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
yatalli   [Sep 14, 2008]
Model Reviewed: F350 Super Duty
Strength:

Generally reliable, good towing power, fit and finish is good. I have had very good luck with the dealers. Remarkably good fuel economy for a large vehicle. Consistent service and good grade products are key.

Weakness:

Ford mechanics are very proud of their work and charge accordingly. Factory CD player is pretty junky. Wasn't pleased with Gaudin Ford. Truck wasn't well detailed (dirty) prior to delivery and gave me the run around so many time when I was shopping that I nearly didn't return.

Good solid truck. I have close to 170,000 with minimal problems. I have replaced a water pump, cam position sensor (warranty item), 2 glow-plug relays, and front rotors. Replaced the drive belt when the water pump was replaced. I suspect that the problem with the glow plug relays was related to buying an after market product. I tow a 35 ft 5th wheel which strains the truck a bit when bucking wind and hills but I can live with that. This truck has cold started in -27 degree weather. Fuel economy runs close to 20 mpg in the summer if I drive sensibly. Winter mileage is close to 16 due to longer idling and a switch to winter-grade diesel.
Hauled the ALCAN highway with 3 kids and the 5th wheel and didn't have a bit of mechanical trouble.
The glow plug relay problem has left me stranded a couple of times so I enlisted the services of a pro (instead of DIY)at that point and haven't had a problem since.
Ford recommends Super Duty 10-30W in my climate but it is very difficult to find, other than one jobber and the dealer -who refused to sell in bulk.

Similar Products Used: Toyota Sequoia,
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
cuntrybooy85CHEVY   [Feb 27, 2008]
Model Reviewed: F-250 crew cab 4x4
Strength:

trans,4x4,interior

Weakness:

head gasgets

good power on 6.0 liter diesel.bought with 50,000 miles and blew head gasgets at 67,000 but repairs under waranty.could have been previous owners driving but I dont know. battery at 76,000 but no biggie.4x4 works great and trans shifts smooth

Similar Products Used: 92 F-250 diesel piece of CRAP!blew head bolts 2 times at $800 per repiar.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
cuntrybooy85CHEVY   [Feb 27, 2008]
Model Reviewed: F-250 crew cab 4x4 diesel
Strength:

trans,interior,4x4

Weakness:

head gasgets and battery

good power on 6.0 liter diesel.bought with 50,000 miles and blew head gasgets at 67,000 but repairs under waranty.could have been previous owners driving but I dont know. battery at 76,000 but no biggie.4x4 works great and trans shifts smooth.

Similar Products Used: 92 F-250 diesel piece of CRAP!blew head bolts 2 times and repiared for $800 a piece!
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
al lilo british columbia canada   [Jan 26, 2007]
Model Reviewed: F250SD 4x4 S/C 5.4 5spd 410r
Strength:

Height for off roading, dependibility,pulling power, just great truck. Ford is #1!

Weakness:

That I didn't buy one sooner! Bought this with 50,00 miles on it. Still truckin!

Love this truck, lots of room, very strong engine, high,and reliable so far.
Can pull almost anything. Had other F350 that never ran this smooth. Anyone else had any comments about the 410 limited slip rear end? You can put the truck in "Low four" and it can almost climb trees! Can not say enough about this truck. One of Ford's better Ideas!!!

Similar Products Used: 1978 Ford F350 4x4, 1975 IHC 4x4 truck, 1988 F150 4x4
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kesrer   [Jan 10, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Heavy Duty
Strength:

Nothing At All

Weakness:

Where to start, there's the transmission, brakes, tires, tranfercase, shocks... done everything like 5 times... spent twice the amount paid for it in fixing... DO NOT BUY

This Truck SUCKS! Do Not Buy IT!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
zsausl   [Jan 02, 2007]
Model Reviewed: F-250
Strength:

muscle duribility four wheel drive initructable

Weakness:

rust

vary strong truck
truble with rust but expected in northern NY and for a 1967 if it doesnt have rust you might have problems. pleanty of power, get rubber in all 4 gears rare 352ci, withe c4 tranny never hade problems withe drive train,becides a broken drive shaft. that only came because i was plowing 3 feet of snow withe it.

Similar Products Used: 03 350 super duty wish i never spent the money, rusting out after four years
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
EDDIE R TERRELL   [Dec 20, 2006]
Model Reviewed: F-250
Strength:

The trucks are very comfortable and has plenty of power.

Weakness:

The front end of these trucks are sorry and will cost you big bucks to fix them.

I had a 2004 F150 supercrew. Before it had 25,000 miles on it the front end was out of line and it had ruined two tires. Ibought a 2006 model and it did the same thing. This cost 350.00 dollors for a kit in order to align the front end.Plus i had to buy two new tires each time.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
alexv1mt   [Dec 08, 2006]
Model Reviewed: F250 Lariat 7.3LPSD 4x4 off road
Strength:

Nice Looking.. Nice riding... Good creature comforts.. 6 CD changer... Lots of power...

Weakness:

Auto 4x4 hub seal leaks... Vac Pump replacement... Front top & bottom ball joints... Glow Plug module... Marginal fuel mileage... Engine noise...

Traded in a wonderful little low mileage 97 F150 (4.6L V-8) not enough power & marginal mpg... needed something larger for towing...

Similar Products Used: Previously owned the above mentioned 97 F150.. (probably should have kept it, or gone with a F250 V-10)
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
dmiller   [Sep 26, 2006]
Model Reviewed: F-250 SD 4X4
Strength:

With the super chip this truck will boil the tires for 50 ft from a dead idle. Plus pull the world at the same time

Weakness:

Front wheel bearings when the larger tires are used. Gas milage, 9.5 city and 14.2 highway. (staying under 70)

I work on F-350's for a living and love them. The main secret to the transmissions is to use any high quality synthetic oil possible. Ex. lubrication engeniers or AMS OIL are my choise. Since then we go 120K on the trans only servicing them every 30K miles. Mine has 71K with AMS OIL in it and I pull the world with it. Also using the 310HP V-10 engine is great

Similar Products Used: 1996 chevy junk c1500 with the coolant leaking POS 5.0L vortec
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 131  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com