Honda Ridgeline Trucks | Vans

Ridgeline

The 2011 Honda Ridgeline is a 4-door, 5-passenger compact pickup, available in 4 trims, ranging from the RT to the RTL w/ Navigation System.

All trims are equipped with a standard 3.5-liter, V6, 250-horsepower engine that achieves 15-mpg in the city and 20-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
fortified   [Dec 31, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Ridgeline RTL no navi
Strength:

Ride comfort, cab room, storage, handling, ease of driving and parking

Weakness:

gas mileage
price

I don't know why small trucks can not have a unibody as long as they support the loads they claim. The steel body cage is extremely rigid in this truck. The bed is composite, and has a nice roomy trunk in the floor.
There are no wheel wells intruding in the cargo area. Seat comfort is above average for a truck, and the fold up (60/40) rear seats are very useful.
I don't understand why truck owners get so defensive about the Ridgeline. There are all kinds of trucks out there for all different purposes. This one can carry 2 dirt bikes, or one large bike or ATV (with an extender), garden and building supplies like bricks and stacked drywall, and pull 5000 lbs which is enough for most weekend warriors.
At other times it can be a comfortable long trip vehicle, something that can challenge other trucks, especially in winter.
It is not the truck for everyone, but if you care about the things it will do, and the fact it will still fit nicely in a standard 2 car garage, I think it is worth checking out.

Similar Products Used: Nissan pickup, Chevy Tahoe, Honda CRV, and other sedans and sports cars.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Arthus   [Nov 20, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Ridgeline RTL w/ Leather
Strength:

I have only owned my Ridgeline for a few months now but really enjoy the quiet ride. I used to have a full sized Chevy Silverado and thought it was a quiet ride. This beats it by miles! Sure I don't have the bed space I used to but a bed extender does the trick. Best money I have spent so far........

Weakness:

It has small mirrors for a truck this size but I purchased an aftermarket backup camera and that has done the trick

Overall, it is a very nice vehicle. I like that I have a truck with a luxury car ride............

Similar Products Used: Chevrolet Silverado
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rentguy   [Aug 21, 2010]
Model Reviewed: RT
Strength:

Trunk, maneuverability, ride comfort and control

Weakness:

Unimpressive fuel consumption for the size of vehicle (22-24 MPG (imp)

I have owned a lot of trucks over the years but wanted something more reliable than my last 2 Chevy's. Lots of little issues and 3 transmissions on my last 2 trucks. I only pulled a horse and trailer from time to time.(horse is now gone).
The Honda has proven to be a pleasure to drive. It is extremely stable in snow and ice conditions. It is surprisingly roomy for a 6'4" guy. We have taken 4 adults on long trips and been comfortable. The locking trunk is a good feature.
It is ideal for an urban vehicle because it is nimble and can get into Parkade parking lots when I need to go into the city center.

So far the truck has been trouble free in the 9 months I have owned it.
This is one of the best all around vehicles I have owned to date.

Similar Products Used: Chey and ford suburbans and pickups, CRV.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
charlie brumfield   [Jun 15, 2008]
Strength:

it's a honda so it will have good resale value, and it will last for ever, and be extremely reliable. good storage spaces

Weakness:

bed's to small, this is a pretend truck on a car chassis and it shows in the ride and drive. gas mileage is very poor considering chevy gets the same mileage in a heavier truck with an engine that's almost 2 liters bigger!

We compared this "truck" to the Chevy Avalanche in episode 4 of our weekly podcast Burnout Radio which you can see here:

http://www.performanceradionetwork.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=category§ionid=4&id=13&Itemid=30

i have to say, i was not impressed at all with the ridgeline. it has just over 80 horse power less than the avalanche, has less torque, and 2 less cylinders, but it only get 1 more mile per gallon than the avalanche! it also sits too low to the ground to use off road. and the interior has a cheep feel to it, even for a honda. with that said the trunk in the bed is a really nice feature, and the cubby holes in the interior are large and well arranged. it's just a bad copy of the chevy avalanche. if you are looking to buy this vehicle please listen to our full review at the link above, and be sure to take a look at the chevy avalanche. honda usually makes a good product but they're not even in the ball park with this one.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
AWDfreak   [Mar 02, 2007]
Model Reviewed: RT
Strength:

The interior isn't the best looking, but it'll fit a lot. The rear seats have a lot of room, they can fold up, stuff can be shoved under the seats, and lots of other small convenient places for putting stuff in. The front and rear seats are very comfortable. The front seats glue you in place when cornering. Car-like handling makes this easier to drive. In-bed trunk and dual-action tailgate is very convenient as well. Long trips aren't a problem because of the space of the cab, very roomy. Easy to read guages. Strong brakes for average people(they're good 4-wheel ventilated disc brakes!). All-season mats can take anything and protect the carpet, including mud, sand, water, you name it. Easy to read guages. Pretty torquey IMO. Bright lights, wide beam, foglights available. In fact, many accessories are available. Power windows, including rear window, and windows have child lock. All-purpose Michelin tires standard. Bed can fit mountain bikes. Straight exhaust, not much bends. Not-so-crouwded engine bay. 4WD(although I'd consider it AWD). 4-wheel independent suspension. Small details like the vortex generators on the side mirrors. LOTS MORE WHEN YOU CHECK IT OUT IN A DEALERSHIP!

Weakness:

Short bed due to large cab. Bed extender NEEDED if you haul long cargo(including mountain bikes). Car-like ground clearance. For maximum life, some specific parts and fluids must be purchased at dealership. If you do your own maintainance, and you're not good with electronics, you're better off having a dealership doing the maintainence. Pretty large. Lack of variations and options. :O Automatic transmission only(I hate automatics)! *grr* V6 only, but with ample torque for the average person. I expected better gas milage than the ones published by the EPA(current EPA standards SUCK, and are relatively inaccurate). Seats only 5, so any family with more than 5 persons should buy some other Honda truck. Expensive accessories, but convenient. Questionably styling, but intimidating sometimes. JUST CHECK IT OUT IN A DEALERSHIP, if you really want to know more weaknesses.

My dad's Honda Ridgeline is perfect for a family of 5. In fact, it's perfect for people that don't need off-road capability or a gut-wrenching V8. It's for people that will probably never encounter deep off-road situations. It's for the "average" person that needs a grocery getter(in-bed trunk is VERY useful, so is the dual-action (down, and sideways) tailgate), bike hauler, or even furniture(bed extender recommended for large cargo, SECURE YOUR CARGO!). THIS IS THE TRUCK FOR THE AVERAGE PERSON(THAT NEVER DOES MUCH TRUCK DUTIES, such as extreme off-road use), not for people that need a "real" truck. Read the rest of the review for more. I STRONGLY RECOMMEND YOU CHECK IT OUT IN A DEALERSHIP!!!

Similar Products Used: Toyota Tacoma LX Xtra Cab long bed 2WD 4 cylinder
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jeffhall   [Jan 03, 2007]
Model Reviewed: ridgeline rt
Strength:

Solid feel,incredible ride quality, tight and quiet. Fit and finish are that of much more expensive vehicles. Deep engine sound and exhaust note. It's a Honda.

Weakness:

Gas mileage-2 to 3 more mpg would be great, but pleeeease no hybrid or variable cylinder management. Some of the Honda accessories are fairly expensive and take a good deal of time to install.

Incredibly smooth ride,roomy,very good engine power.Silky smooth transmission. This is going to be a great vacation vehicle maybe except for gas mileage. High quality interior materials-no cheesy fashion of the week dash and interior like 98 percent of other brands.

Similar Products Used: Toyota trucks, Chevrolet truck,Nissan truck,Honda Cr-v and Pilot.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
todd71   [Jan 02, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Ridgeline LX
Strength:

AWD makes for amazing traction in the snow and rain. Our dog lives in the bed and there's always enough room for all our gear: diving, camping, mountain biking; whatever. Quality of the interior is second to none and being fanatical about finding rattles, I'm happy to say I can't find any.

Weakness:

There is no rear window defroster and in the "defrost" mode it still takes too long to clear the rear window. I realize most trucks don't have this feature, but I expect more from Honda. Also, you can't lift the wiper blade arms to clean underneath them. This would be a serious problem in colder climates for those accustomed to lifting the arms to prevent freezing. The transmission is sometimes a little harsh when shifting into reverse. When you unlock the vehicle and open the trunk first, the doors re-lock before you get a chance to open the door.

The Ridgeline is a fantastic vehicle. With a canopy you'd be hard pressed to find a more versatile vehicle on the road. We looked at the Nissan Frontier, but the AWD of the Honda, better fuel economy and in-bed trunk sold us. Honda quality does not disapoint and the fit and finish on this truck are superb. Tons of room inside (I'm 6'4 and my wife 5'10) and the fold-up seats in the back are especialy practical.

Similar Products Used: Toyota 4Runner, Nissan Frontier
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Tom   [Dec 22, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Ridgeline RTX
Strength:

- Drives and handles more like a car.
- Lots of cubbys and storage options.
- Utility of a pickup.
- Ample power.
- 4WD is great for snow, light duty offroad use.
- Honda incentives lowered the sticker price substantially.

Weakness:

- Gas milage - The 16/21 epa rating is optimistic, it gets closer to ~15/19 mpg on regular 10% eth. gas.
- For some the Ridgeline may not be the last word in offroad capability or meet the demands of a working pickup.
- Side visibility is partially blocked by the the door pillars - requires the driver to crane forward and look back.

I've had my 2007 Ridgeline RTX for a little over four months now. It does a nice job towing my 2000lb boat, hauls 4x8 building materials easily, and is roomy and comfortable on long trips with a family of four. I traded a 2005 Pilot EX-L for the RTX, and find that the Ridgeline handles more confidently (lower center of gravity), and has less road noise then the Pilot had. With the built in 8cu ft trunk I don't miss the main advantage of the Pilot's covered cargo area. The storage under the rear seats is also useable with a full passenger load, and the seats can be folded up to create a relatively large cargo area within the cab. Overall the Ridgeline is a unique vehicle that I believe is marketed toward the average homeowner who wants a daily driver and the utility of a pickup in one vehicle.

Similar Products Used: Dodge RAM 1500
Honda Pilot
Jeep Grand Cheroke
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Rob   [Dec 17, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Ridgeline RTX
Strength:

Standard amenities, room, drive,

Weakness:

Honda accessories are pricey, Off-road capabilities

The 2007 Ridgeline is the first truck I've owned. Have to say it is a great all-around truck with plenty of room and amenities. Honda accessories are a bit expensive, but the truck comes nicely equipped. I'm 6'5" and all the other trucks I drove were cramped and uncomfortable (except domestic). Can't beat the reliability of a Honda though. Gas mileage is fair (better than my Wrangler) and it is great to drive. I would recommend this to anyone. Not sure how it will fair off-road though.

Similar Products Used: Toyota Tacoma, Ford Ranger
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
ed_tarbushe   [Dec 14, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Honda Ridgeline

- Lousy suspension damping that gets worse when the temperature drops.
- Poor gas mileage.
- Options are expensive; body side molding is an extra $500!
- Radio reception is terrible - their brilliant engineers buried the antenna inside the roof!
- Overall, Highly overrated - I believe most reviews on the internet are slanted and paid for.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com