Nissan Frontier (2010 and older) Trucks | Vans

Available At:
Frontier (2010 and older)

The Frontier is Nissan’s midsize truck, available as either King Cab or Crew Cab with 2WD or 4WD.

The XE 4X2 trim is equipped with a standard 2.5-liter, I4, 152-horsepower engine that achieves 19-mpg in the city and 23-mpg on the highway. The PRO-4X 4X4 is equipped with a standard 4.0-liter, V6, 261-horsepower engine that achieves 14-mpg in the city and 19-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (189)

Showing 1-10 of 189  
Stephen   [Dec 16, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Frontier Crew Cab
Strength:

Good power for a 6cyl, Nice Looking, Decent MPG, Good headroom, plenty of storage, Just nice. Price.

Weakness:

Needs better speakers-radio (Primitive), This is all I could find so far.

I have had way to many vehicles, Fords, Chevy, Dodges, Pontiacs, I was not satified until I got this Frontier. So far it has lived up to expectations. I got 340ish miles out of a tank from my Pontiac Grand Prix in town and get 310 from the Nissan. Not bad for a truck. Toyota was way to expensive for less and a 4cylw/manual tranny. WAAAY to much for a Ford or Chevy, Dodge.

Similar Products Used: Chevy s-10, Ford Ranger, Dodge full size also Chevy and Ford full-size.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
roym36   [Nov 23, 2010]
Model Reviewed: frontier pro 4x
Strength:

powerful, rides smooth for a truck,looks great,rare

Weakness:

a little thirsty,rockford fosgate stereo not available on king cab

best mid sized pickup out there

Similar Products Used: tacoma sport trd
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rick Bischoff   [Sep 28, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Nissan Frontier
Strength:

Best styling in it's class. Decent room for a family of four. Powerful V6 engine. I have about 170,000 miles on it and have only replaced fuel level sending sensor and front hub besides wear items.

Weakness:

4.5 Foot bed can be too small at times. Should have opted for the 6 foot. Getting about 16-17 mpg with a heavy foot. Could have used some more options...

Great truck overall. I run it 300 miles a day and haven't ever worried about it. Looking forward to the next one.

Similar Products Used: Owned an Isuzu truck and a F250 in the past.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
sam   [Sep 09, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Frontier crew cab se
Strength:

tranny
acceleration
braking
quiet cabin
fit & finish
about as close to a car ride in a truck

Weakness:

mpg
turning radius

Aside from tight parking lots and city driving, this truck is amazing. i did a ton of research before buying a midsize. but tacomas offered little to no incentive even with all the bad prthey've received. engine sounds and moves (and unfortunately eats gas) like a v8. smotth transmission, i actually thought it had a roomy crew with a family of 4 to move. very smooth ride, i've owned a ranger, explorer and tundra, and this has a very nice ride. awesome bed features with the track system.

Similar Products Used: ranger
explorer sport
tundra
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bob   [Mar 11, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Nissan Frontier SE Crew Cab
Strength:

So far dependable. Good towing power.
Nice looking truck.

Weakness:

Mileage sucks. V8 poweredfull size trucks get the same mileage as this V6.
Why cant they do better? Bumpy ride also.

So far this truck has been perfectly reliable (7400 miles). The only factory defect that i have found is in the electrical hookup for trailer lights. Will have this looked at under warranty.

Similar Products Used: Owned a 2002 4 cylinder Frontier for 7 years.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
robert hughes   [Feb 23, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Nissan Frontier king cab SE 4x4
Strength:

quiet cab, solid frame, good handling supportive seats, strong engine,excellent sight lines(much better than Tacoma,equal to Colorado)

Weakness:

poor gas mileage, small cab, poor turning radius,
average brakes,sloppy transmission.

This truck does what I need it to.It is comfortable for 2 and will easily haul our pop-up.Mileage sucks but thats the trade off. I wish that someone would sell a small diesel in the USA.

Similar Products Used: Chevy s-10 Dodge ram 1500 Quad cab
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
W C Tyjewski   [Jan 08, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Nissan Frontier King Cab LE
Strength:

Truck rides and drives very well. Plenty of power. Carries a heavy load well.

Weakness:

Inside of vehicle is very cramped. If you are taller than five foot ten you have to duck down to see out of the wind shield.
The turning radius is not any better than than that of a full sized Ford 150.
For a smaller truck boath size wise and engine wise I was expecting better fuel milage but that is not the case. This truck is a boarderline gas hog.

This a nice truck but after owning it for the past eight months I would not recomend this vehicle.

Similar Products Used: I have owned a Ford F-150 and a jeep prior to the Nissan.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Mike Flannery   [Dec 21, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Nissan Frontier SE 4cyl 5spd
Strength:

My Frontier is a 4 cyl w/ a 5 speed but it has the SE package which looks great. Very reliable truck. It is a 2wd but it is more than capable off road too. Very comfortable ride and inexpensive to maintain. I am a technician for the Nissan dealership where I bought it so that helps too.

Weakness:

I wish the 4 cyl had a little more get up and go like faster throttle response. Even with an upgraded exhaust, it still lacks a little in the power department.

It is a very capable and stylish truck in my opinion, especially with the SE package. I swapped my steel 16" wheels to the alloy wheels and nobody can tell it is a 4cyl just by looking at it.

Similar Products Used: 2003 GMC Sonoma SLS King Cab 4cyl Auto Trans
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Heather   [Oct 22, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Frontier Crew Cab
Strength:

Acceleration
4x4
Steering
Control
Crew Cab

Weakness:

The back seat is a little small

I really enjoy this truck. It accelerates great and I haven't had any problems with this truck. It does great in the snow and great 4x4 that I've used a few times. I really like the extended utility gate, it really comes in handy. I really love the switch on fly 4x4 it makes it so much easier! As far as gas goes it uses just as much as my Rav4 did. Plus it wasnt as pricy as the other trucks for example toyota wanted 30,000 for a new one that wasn't even a crew cab!!

Similar Products Used: None, my last vehicles were a toyota 4 runner and Rav4
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Scott Churko   [May 13, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Frontier Crew Cab Long Box
Strength:

Long box with Utilitack is great. Excellent 4x4. Lots of interior room.

Weakness:

Gas mileage. 4.0 liter is a little thirsty.

I love this truck. It's my first Japanese truck. It does everything I need. Gas mileage a little low but it looks great.

Similar Products Used: Ford Ranger, Mazda B4000
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 189  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com