Toyota Tundra Trucks | Vans

Tundra

Available in Regular cab, Double Cab and CrewMax styles, the Tundra also features three bed lengths, three engines, three wheelbases and a choice of 4X2 or 4X4 configurations.

The Tundra offers three engines and three cab sizes. Handling is relatively responsive, but the ride with the TRD package is stiff. The 5.7-liter V8 is very powerful. The tailgate is easy to raise and lower. A new 4.6-liter V8 replaced the old 4.7-liter for 2010.

User Reviews (336)

Showing 1-10 of 336  
Javid Presson   [Jan 28, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Double Cab SR5/TRD
Strength:

Amazing power, lots of options for aftermarket products available, Very comfortable to drive, Very sharp turning radius.

Weakness:

Toyota parts are expensive for possible upgrades.

This truck has been the best I have ever owned. It drives great, will go when it needs to, and is suprisingly the best truck I can think of.

Similar Products Used: 1994 GMC Extended Cab
2001 Dodge 1500
2007 Dodge 3500
2009 Chevy 1500
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Oscar A   [Jul 07, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Crewmax
Strength:

Great truck, Lots of power

Weakness:

GPM is lower then stated

Wow Boerne toyta went above what we ask for. They took back my smaller truck i had paid for from them and rework the deal for a larger truck.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Robbie Ellis   [Jun 25, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Tundra/DoubleCab
Strength:

Lots of power handles well and exceptional ride on most roads. Very comfortable interior especially on long roadtrips.

Weakness:

Ride can become sketchey and very bouncy on highs that are made of concrete sections like those on the freeways around Las Vegas. I would not have purchased this vehicle if I lived there.

I have greatly enjoyed this vehicle since my purchase in March 2010. But I would not attempt to put a K&N air filter on a 4.6L as I did, since it had dramatic and adverse affects on the vehicles performance, starts from a stop, and milage, that the dealership just couldn't explain but the simptoms would vanish 100 miles after the stock air filter was put back in the air filter box.
I have taken 5 roadtrips since owning the vehicle and have loved driving it everywhere except around the Las Vegas freeways. The power has been the right mix of performance and finess that was needed in every driving situation so far.
I can also say that I have made the change from being a 20+ year Ford owner because of the overall toyota after sale experience, especially where the service department is concerned. I can't say enough good things about how my dealership, Desert Toyota, has treated me. They not only tell me whats wrong but in the case of when I could do it myself and save a few bucks, my wife owns a 2000 Celica that she inherited, they not only identify the parts I'll need but also provide an instruction sheet. I've never recieved service like that from any other dealer.
I've read that the interior seems a bit plastic but have not thought that it was any more so that any other fullsize so am at a loss as to why.
The cab of the Tundra is spacious, with ample room even when I need to add the 6th passenger. The only down side is the person in front in the center needs to have short legs or they may feel a bit cramped. As I've only used this seat once I was glad it was there but it was a comfortable ride since we just made the shortest person sit there.

Similar Products Used: I have owned both full size Ford, Dodge and Chevy trucks and as far as ride and comfort I have to say the Tundra is hands down the best product on the road for me, in quality, performance and ride. I average 16.6 to 18.3mpg City depending on how I drive and 18.9 to 20.6 mpg highway. Howevery my worst tank was on a highway trip with a 50 mph headwind and I received on 16.3mpg on that trip. My best was with a 15 mph tail wind and I saw 21.2mpg.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike A.   [Apr 05, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Regular Cab long box 4.6l
Strength:

Power, fuel mileage, quiet ride, exterior design, awesome brakes, steering, 4x4, traction control, stability control, Toyota engineering, slick tailgate, transmission etc...

Weakness:

Almost too big in some parking spots. That's it.

So far the best truck I have ever used or owned. It get's better mileage than my two, six cylinder Dakotas -P.O.S.
Super quiet on the highway and an absolute pleasure to drive.
Got the bench seat with fold down console and it fits three adults comfortably!
Accelerates effortlessly ( faster than a 5.4l F-150 even though Toyota has a much smaller engine)

Similar Products Used: -GMC Truck
-Dodge Ram Van
-05 Dodge Dakota
-08 Dodge Dakota
-04 F-150
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
will friday   [Mar 20, 2010]
Model Reviewed: SR5 DOUBLE CAB 4.7
Strength:

ROOM,COMFORTABLE,6 PASSENGER, SPACIOUS BED, PULLING AWSOME.

VERY STRONG PULLING I PULL A 30 1/2 FT FIFTH WHEEL TRAVEL TRAILER THAT WEIGHSOVER 9,000 LBS AND CAN DRIVE AS FAST AS I WANT WITH NO PROBLEM. I LOVE THE QUIET INSIDE AND SMOOTH DRIVING I WAS VERY SUPRISED AT THE 4.7 ENGINE CAUSE IT WILL KEEP UP WITH A FORD 5.7 AND OUT RUN A CHEVY 4.8 LIKE ITS SETTING STILL. PLUS I HAVE HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH MY TRUCK AND I WOULDN'T DRIVE ANYTHING ELSE I AM AT 83,000 MILES AND I LOVE IT.

Similar Products Used: CHEVROLET S-10
DODGE DAKOTA 4.7 V8
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Suzane   [Mar 04, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Crewmax
Strength:

Safety features; towing and hauling ability; thoughtful interior design; performance with optional 4.6L and 5.7L engines.

Following a 2007 redesign the Tundra enters 2010 with several changes. A new more powerful 4.6L midrange V8 is available to replace last year's 4.7L V8. Two new trim levels are also available: Platinum and Work Truck. Minor cosmetic adjustments have been made to the grille and taillamps and front seat knee airbags and height-adjustable headlamps are now standard across the line. Two new audio choices are available, as well as folding tow mirrors, a power vertical rear window and in-mirror back up camera. All SR5 Double Cab and Crew Max models have been discontinued with the SR5 package now an option rather than a stand alone model.

Similar Products Used: Toyota's Tundra is available in nearly 60 variations to meet different truck users' needs for 2010, available in two- or 4-wheel drive, three cab styles (regular, Double Cab, and Crew Max), three bed lengths (short, standard, and long), three wheelbases, and three different engines. The 5.7L V8 offers an E85 flex-fuel option.

Each of the three beds is about 22 inches deep and shaped to accept 2x8-foot lumber dividers. The steel tailgate is designed to be opened and closed with just two fingers, and there's also an available Deck Rail system for more individualized cargo arrangements.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
mfiel   [Oct 31, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Double Cab
Strength:

Power, fuel economy, quality, speed, smooth ride, fit and finish, power equipment - everything about the truck.

Weakness:

None at all

This is the best truck I have ever owned. This ride is exceptional, the quality is far better than any american made junk. I have owned Chevy and Ford and both of those trucks gave me major problems like motor replacement and drive axle replacement. If you are looking for the best truck ever made - do not hesitate and buy a Toyota.

Similar Products Used: 2002 Chevy 1500, 2005 F-150 Lariat, 2007 F-150 Lariat
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
robert purnell   [Sep 01, 2009]
Model Reviewed: double cab long box 4x4
Strength:

interior space
amazing power ( I snapped a 10,000 lb tow strap pullin rocks, got a bigger strap and moved those rocks )

Weakness:

At my age I need the running boards

After many years of driving trucks from the big three, I decided to go for quality and durability and went toyota. I have an 07 corolla and friends with older corollas and there fantastic. the interior space of the double cab is years beyond the competitors, the box is an accessable height even with 4x4 and I m only 5'8". As a contractor the interior ergonomics are a blessing not to mention the turning radius.

Similar Products Used: F 150 supercab longbox
GMC 2500
Silverado
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Maurice Gagne   [Apr 09, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Tundra/Regular Cab
Strength:

Ride, towing

Weakness:

When it is cold the door seals get stiff and the doors close hard.

I am a contractor and I have always owned 3/4 ton Ford's or Chevy's. I wanted to try a Tundra because of the dependability. I have 9000 miles so far and I like the truck pretty well. My ford had a better fit and finish. My Chevy's had many mechanical problems. So far its better than Chevy and about equal to Ford. I will comment in another 11000 miles after I have worked it a bit. I tow heavy items and so far its the best I have used.

Similar Products Used: Ford 250, Chevy 2500
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rob   [Jul 08, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Double Cab SR5 4.7
Strength:

Ride, smoothness, ability to lift truck,room in cab, and just looks awsome

Weakness:

gas milage a bit low with 4.7 and ability to put custom wheels on it.

Truck Rides corners and accelerates awsome. Very quiet inside the cab. Traded a 05 Silverado for it and am very happy.

Similar Products Used: 05 silverado, 02 F150 supercrew, 00 silverado, ford expedition
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 336  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com