Alpine MRP-F356 Flex Amplifiers

MRP-F356 Flex

POWER AMPLIFIER

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
troy   [Jan 13, 2003]
Model Reviewed: 2002
Strength:

hits hard

Weakness:

there arent any as far as what ive put it to

its a good amp put it to 2 mtx thunder 5000 they pound that car i think i got a good deal on it

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
troy   [Jan 13, 2003]
Model Reviewed: 2002
Strength:

hits hard

Weakness:

there arent any as far as what ive put it to

its a good amp put it to 2 mtx thunder 5000 they pound that car i think i got a good deal on it

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Eric nevermind   [Oct 14, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 2000 MRP-F356 Flex5
Strength:

maybe small siza and 5 chan....

Weakness:

not strong there`re only 2 in.... don`t buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! its not cool!

This amp is for beginer!!!!!!!! its sucks! my had-unit (JVC sx99r) sounds better.. don`t buy it because sub has no reaction to him (Ultimate platinium 12"), only front components(MacAudio 16cm.).rear pioneers 10"have not played!!! ....

Similar Products Used: aij px ka yra kiauliai?
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Garet   [Sep 16, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 2002 Alpine Mrp-f356 flex 5
Strength:

The one thing i love is that it never goes into protect like my friends ppi does.

Weakness:

The guy at the shop told me it was a 400 watt but i still like the amp anyway

I love this amp. For the price i paid i think i got a really good deal. right now im using it for my mtx subs but soon im just going to use it for my pioneer rev 6x9s and buy a bigger amp for the mtx's.

Similar Products Used: Alpine Cda-7894
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
chiller   [Feb 19, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 2002 / Alpine MRP-F356
Strength:

- boosts a simple setup in a brilliant way - adds a lot of quality to the sound - compact size - ridiculously low price ($150 for a new item) - a separate subwoofer channel (if you need it) - compact size

Weakness:

- none noticed so far

This is the first ever amplifier that I have installed in my car, so there''ll be no comparisons from me. I bought tiss amp to complement my modest system consisting of: a Clarion DRX 6675-Rz head unit, a pair of 6 1/2" Infinity Reference 655 speakers at the front and a pair of 5 1/4" Infinity 52.1 kappa at the rear end. I have heard the car play with and without the amp, and I don''t regret a single dollar I spent on the amp. The sound got clearer, deeper and more intensive at the same volume levels. I simply love the way my system plays now.

Similar Products Used: none as of now
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Greg   [Mar 11, 2001]
Strength:

Didn't cost me anything! As far as I'm concerned this is the only good thing about this amp.

Weakness:

Sub channel is worthless. Not enough adjustablility. Just barely better than stock.

This amp was part of the system in the used '00 Integra Type R I just bought. The head unit is a cheap Pioneer, front & rear speakers are factory, and the subs are two JL 10"s in a sealed box (not sure which model of JL--probably the cheapest ones since the previous owner skimped on the rest of the system). At least one of the factory speakers was blown when I got the car which is probably from the amp letting too much bass through the built-in crossover. The subs could barely be heard--I mean I don't know how to explain it, I would just have to let you hear it--It simply sucks. On most regular music you couldn't even tell the subs were on unless you REALLY listened--not just my opinion, everybody who has heard this setup has said the same thing. So I ripped it all out of the car and am taking to a pawn shop ASAP. Save your money and buy something worthwile.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Kai   [Sep 14, 2000]
Strength:

Inexpensive and with 5 channels can power entire system.

Weakness:

For the price can't complain.

The sub channel was rated at 180 max. Decided to see how hard it would push. Right now the sub channel is running at 2 ohms to 2 12" Kenwood tornado subs in a Obcon dual bandpass box and it pretty much slams. The other four channels are running the front and rear speakers. System sounds pretty good considering one tiny amp is powering the whole thing. Most people I talked to didn't think it had enough power to run 2 12" but it's pretty good. For the price I think you can't go wrong.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Scott   [Feb 16, 2001]
Strength:

Low, low cost. Fairly powerful. More than loud enough to fill up my reg. cab Chevy p/u.

Weakness:

Non-adjustable crossovers for front & rear channels. The amp sends too much bass to the Blaupunkt 4x6's that fit in the stock locations on my truck and now two are blown. Now, I'm looking for a 4 channel amp with adjustable crossover to power the 4x6's and some 6x9's to bridge across the front and rear channels of the alpine.

Overall, for the price I can't complain, but now I find myself having to spend more money for another amp to do the job I wanted this one to do. Plus, I'm replacing blown speakers and looking for some 6x9's so I can get some use out of the Flex5. Do not try to use this amp to push small speakers without some kind of crossover or bass blockers. You won't be happy with the results.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Perry   [Jul 04, 2000]
Strength:

-Reasonable price
-thin design
-5 channels

Weakness:

-no overwhelming power

Although it isn't a powerhouse, it is an upgrade from a stock system. The fifth sub channel is a great idea. I run Clarion 5.25" components from the four channels bridged down to two, and an 8" sub in a box from the fifth. The amp fits nicely under a seat, and provides plenty of sound to fill a pick-up cab and then some. I'd recommend it to the average person who wants a little more than stock power, with enough channels to complete a basic system. It definitely won't satisfy the hard core audio systems though.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
J   [Apr 16, 2000]
Strength:

Inexpensive. Small size.

Weakness:

Power output is a weak. No low-end punch. Subwoofer channel is barely audible. Hi-pass X-over is not adjustable.

Paid $220. Recommended if you just want to add a little more juice to your stock system, but it lacks peak power and low-end punch. Not recommended for serious audiophiles or folks who are sound quality concious. The sub-woofer channel is running a JL10-W-0 in a .75cf. box-barely audible except for on heavy bass CD's.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com