Butler Audio Inc. Tube Driver BLUE 2150 Amplifiers

Tube Driver BLUE 2150

· 2 x 150Watts RMS, Both channels driven (TRUE Power) · Tube Heaters DC, Fully Regulated, Delayed Soft Start · Output Devices 12 x 15Amps, Sanken (Audiophile grade) · Massive Internal/External Heat Exchanger with quiet, Temperature-controlled Fan

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
gguy   [Dec 01, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Butler TDB 2150
Strength:

Clean and powerful. Zero problems.

Weakness:

No audio weaknesses. Maybe the price?

I have been using this amp since Nov 2004 and have no regrets about spending the money. It is very powerful, and the sound is smooth and clean. It loves rock, yet is so revealing for acoustical or voices. Sounds great through my CDT Audio ES-643 speaker set. I have had zero problems. This is my first "tube" amp, even though it is a hybrid design (read more on http://www.tubedriver.com/idea.php), so I have no other "tube" amps to compare it with. After having used a Pioneer Premier PRS-X340 and Planet Audio Quadra, I think the TDB 2150 sounds much more natural and clear. I actually like that it has no crossover - less electronics to potentially alter the sound.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Kwok   [Jan 29, 2005]
Model Reviewed: True Driver Blue 475
Strength:

SQ

Weakness:

No ch for subwoofer

I got the used to be store display amp TDB475 from Butler, and actually it is producing nice sound for midrange and high. The sound comes more naturally with good definition and warm timbre besides its thick sound. I wish the Butler produce the 5 ch amp with a ch dedicated to have big powr to pwr up a subwoofer ( they have 5 ch but the 5th ch is not designed for driving sub with enough pwr ). It is very hard to hear which one better between this & the legendary McIntosh, but possibly this amp has bit better sound quality than McIntosh, well i guess it depends on the listener frequency and timbre prefference. McIntosh has brightness & the TDB475 has softer tone yet a bit thicker sound. both are pretty good in exposing the recording sound detail.

Similar Products Used: McIntosh, Clarion, SoundStream, Crunch.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
krokodillo   [Oct 26, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Butler 4x75 Tube Blue
Strength:

Precise large soundstage, smooth, detail, tube. Best value for money, ends the competition. Ultra high quality sound.

Weakness:

Nothing really at this price point. A fantastic amp.

By far one of the best three car amplifiers ever tried. Butler Blue loves rock but it handles gently every kind of music - really a perfect choice. Smoothness, mid-range lush (needed for rock and voices), super-dynamic and very large and precise soundstage are the charisma of this amp. Worth every cent. Combine it with focal speakers and fast cables and you will not believe the overall quality.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Donovan   [Aug 05, 2004]
Model Reviewed: 2150 TubeDriver
Strength:

Smooth, high sound quaility. It has been very reliable (over 7 years and going strong)

Weakness:

It does have a littel RF noise, but can not say for sure it is the amp and not a problem somewhere else. Not a cheap amp, but worth it.

I have the original TubeDriver, and it is awesome. I'm using it to power Dynaudio speakers and it is an incredible combo. I would also try the Diamond Audio Hex speakers (I prefer the silk tweeters) with this amp. This is for audiophiles. When this finally dies, I'll get the TubeDriver Blue.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Kevin   [Jul 29, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Butler 1500
Strength:

I currently have 4 Butler amps in 2 cars each has Butler Tube line drivers converting to XLR cables. Pure awesome sound can overheat if over driven but hard to do. The harder you push them the better they sound. Can be driven down to 1 ohm and stable. easy to set up with out an EQ. no muss no fuss just loads of power

Weakness:

Need to warm up a few minutes. No crossover or any of the new high teck crap if thats what you like bells and whistles. had occasional problems with conections (solder) loosening.

Greatest sound I have ever heard in car audio. They love to be driven hard. sound good at low volume. has tube enhancement control and enable you to tune easily. for high, mids, or subs. If you like horns like myself you can't find a better amp.

Similar Products Used: Nachs, HK, Macintosh, Zapco, Sound Stream, Phillips, Dimond, Quartz, Boston Acusics...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Duyz   [Sep 23, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 96' original butler td1500
Strength:

Perhaps the most natural sounding mobil amp. Great transparency and incredible detail. Warmth, Smoooooooothness

Weakness:

can only take 4 ohms stereo. NO X-over Availability, High cost

This amp is the best sounding amp I cam across. It is extreamly musical.It produces produces life like sound. Awesome transparency and musical detail. Throws a very large sound stage with good musical separation. Highly recomended!!!!!!!!

Similar Products Used: ppi pc series,phoenix gold,mcintosh,Sony mobil es,Alpine, Kicker Zr,RF, Us acoustics, IMHO Butler TD sounds better than all the above
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
viperan   [Aug 29, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 2002
Strength:

This amps reproduce musical instrument precisely and accurately. The soundstaging is very very good, I never heard any car amplifier that can reproduce the soundstage that produced by this amp. The Blue illumination is really beautiful...(That's why they called it BLUE!)

Weakness:

No crossover or any other stuff... this amp is a pure power. This amp require to warm up around 15 minutes to show the real muscle (Tube characteristic) these two are just very minor weakness, considering the sound that produce by this amp.

This review is actually for the 475 model, but it should have the same characteristic with 2150. The amp produce a clean warmth musical sound. This amp also has a very huge soundstage. I think this amp is a better than McIntosh amps, but McIntosh has more power and sound a little bit bright.

Similar Products Used: Nakamichi, MB Quart, McIntosh, Focal, Alpine, Pioneer, JL audio, Eclipse, IXOS cables, Diamond audio, Phoenix Gold, Brax, Helix precission.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jeffhubbard1   [Sep 05, 2001]
Model Reviewed: 2001
Strength:

warmth and depth that regular amps cant produce

Weakness:

i guess its a little big but well worth it

Quite possibly the best sound quality amp ever made. it is worth the money

Similar Products Used: ppi, rockford, ect
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com