jl-audio 300 2 Amplifiers

300 2

Rated Power (stereo): 150 W RMS x 2 @ 1.5 ohm-4 ohm (11V-14.5V).
On-board Crossover: fully-variable (50 Hz-5 KHz), selectable-slope LP or HP (12 or 24 dB per octave).

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
Jonathan Dahl   [Oct 14, 2003]
Strength:

Build quality Lots of clean power Crossover

Weakness:

Not such a good value if bridged

This is a great amp and I give it two thumbs up. Puts out 300 watts of clean power, with a flexible crossover, and it is well built. Beware, however, of people who say that this (or any!) amp sounds so great it will blow you away (or whatever). A good amp doesn't have much of a sound; it should be transparent. Think about it--a head unit converts a signal from digital to analog; speakers translate that analog signal to audible sound. But an amplifier just boosts the signal. It doesn't change the signal, or at least it shouldn't. Amps affect SQ much less than speakers or head units, unless they are so bad they put out lots of distortion. :) Since these JL amps put out regulated power--the same amount into 4 ohms or 2 ohms--they are a better value if used for front speakers than if they are bridged into one channel for a sub. (They are 150x2 or 300x1, while many other amps that put out 150x2 would put out 600x1 or so to a sub.)

Similar Products Used: JBL p80.4, p180.2 (good value, but not nearly as good quality as JL)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rainman76   [Aug 07, 2003]
Model Reviewed: 300/2
Strength:

Sound is incredible. Construction is solid. The connections are solid. xover features are great I blew the board on a bad ground, and JL "fixed" it for 80$... by sending me a brand new one :-0! Great customer service.

Weakness:

Cost is high, but you get what you pay for. Other than that...

Remarkable. I am using this on my two front focal components (great speakers). I began this project over a year ago, wanting only the best. I have been through many amps. I replaced an Alpine that was on my front speakers with this JL 300/2 and I was BLOWN AWAY. The Alpine sounded good. JL sounded better than I could have ever hoped. I think about it every time I turn it on. It sounds so real, so clean, so in your face. I moved the alpine to my rear deck. If you want perfect sound, at high power - dont waste your time on other amps. Save up the extra money if necessary, it is worth the wait. I have reviewed other amps and speakers, but this is the highest rating I will give any product. Oh yeah, features are excellent... crossovers 12/24 option, up to 8 volt in, adjustable xover, "solid" look and feel.

Similar Products Used: fosgate (not bad), alpine (good), MTX (eh...I had a bad one - used), kenwood (not impressed at all) Pioneer (actually not bad for a cheap amp.)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
  [Aug 06, 2003]
Model Reviewed: jl 300/2
Strength:

solid, clean and musical

Weakness:

none

great sounding amp, clean and efficient. i have it on my cdt cl61 and they sound great. this amp is real clean and never gets hot. sound is more dynamic, warm and solid. does not add any unwanted extras to your music.

Similar Products Used: autotek, alpine, ppi, rockford fosgate and sony(sucks)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Zach   [Apr 18, 2003]
Model Reviewed: JL Audio 300/2
Strength:

Continous power output no matter the input!

Weakness:

none here.

I love JL Audio!! I am pushing two 10w6's with my 300/2 and there is power to spare. I love the 24/db x-over. Prior to this I was using a cheap amp due to $$ crunch. This absolutly blows away my previous amp! Now I am looking forward to some JL components and another JL amp.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Wil   [Nov 01, 2002]
Model Reviewed: Explorer
Strength:

Plenty of clean power, quality construction and highly regulated power suppply

Weakness:

slightly pricey but you definitely get what you pay for

I just bought this amp to replace my 9 y/o PPI Sedona that went kaput. The PPI was powering 2 pairs (F & R doors) of mids/highs putting out ~90 watts@2 ohms. I've been driving in circles tonight listening to all of my CDs with the new 300/2 and am now a believer in JL amps. I've had a JL sub for a few years but had stuck to PPI amps. I'm not sure whether it is the increase in power (~45 watts/pair old vs ~75-80 watts/pair new) or simply an inherent improvement in amplifier quality or both, but the improvement is significant. In addition to adding a few db's, I hear more detail and an overall cleaner sound. This amp makes my speakers (MB Quart comps up front and mediocre Alpine 6.5 coaxs in back) really put out loud and clear. I would highly recommed this amp to anyone looking to drive 1 or 2 pairs of speakers.

Similar Products Used: PPI art series, PPI Sedona, Alpine V12
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Wil   [Nov 01, 2002]
Model Reviewed: Explorer
Strength:

Plenty of clean power, quality construction and highly regulated power suppply

Weakness:

slightly pricey but you definitely get what you pay for

I just bought this amp to replace my 9 y/o PPI Sedona that went kaput. The PPI was powering 2 pairs (F & R doors) of mids/highs putting out ~90 watts@2 ohms. I've been driving in circles tonight listening to all of my CDs with the new 300/2 and am now a believer in JL amps. I've had a JL sub for a few years but had stuck to PPI amps. I'm not sure whether it is the increase in power (~45 watts/pair old vs ~75-80 watts/pair new) or simply an inherent improvement in amplifier quality or both, but the improvement is significant. In addition to adding a few db's, I hear more detail and an overall cleaner sound. This amp makes my speakers (MB Quart comps up front and mediocre Alpine 6.5 coaxs in back) really put out loud and clear. I would highly recommed this amp to anyone looking to drive 1 or 2 pairs of speakers.

Similar Products Used: PPI art series, PPI Sedona, Alpine V12
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
rmtphan   [Aug 23, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 300/2
Strength:

sound great and doesn't use watt at 1.5-4 ohm.

Weakness:

none

I got this amp about a month ago and it have everything I need with the crossover selection. I got this amp hook up to my JL Audio VR690-CX and it sound great at high volume. With the right adjustment on the amp you will not hear any distortion on your speaker. It will not lose any watt from 1.5-4 ohm that is really good.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
JLmasta   [Apr 18, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 2002
Strength:

No over-heating, the control to mold your sound, also they look awesome.

Weakness:

They can get you jacked!

This amp is perfect for running components! Im running a pair of JLaudio XR 5 1/4" components off each amp. I have two. One amp for front and one for rear channels. Mostly all components will sound amazing when running off an amp but to explain how a JL amp performs with component speakers is hard...because you just have to hear it to believe it! With all the built in eq and crossover settings you can mold your sound anyway you want and no matter what it will sound crystal clear, and just totally unbelievable. It almost makes needing an external EQ obsolete. But i still use one and it just adds to the excitment! Awesome musical reproduction!

Similar Products Used: Phoenix Gold, but even they cant compare in my opinion! JL is the bomb.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com