McIntosh MC440 AMP Amplifiers

MC440 AMP

6 Channel amp

User Reviews (19)

Showing 1-10 of 19  
Kwok Uk   [Mar 31, 2005]
Model Reviewed: MC440M & MCC446
Strength:

Simplicity, power, clean, ULTRA low distortion

After long and many errors and trials then finaly I rest asured that these McIntosh amp are among the few best amps. It has tubelike sound, very detail and vivid. I can play any type of music and still everything is sounded well proportioned and lifelike. Simply after hearing many other amps, this McIntosh realy made the GREAT positive listening experience. Have tried many amps before and sofar this the best. I am happy with it , also it is built very tough and clean.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
audiofile99   [Nov 14, 2003]
Model Reviewed: MC431M
Strength:

To many to list... but the most important strength... Sound Quality. Accuracy. Headroom, lots of headroom.

Weakness:

Can't use all 4 inputs at the same time using internal EQ.

Let me first start by saying... Yes! This is the best car audio amplifier on the market! Hands down! I have been into car audio for over 15 years now and I have yet to find another product that I talk about more or recommend more. I currently have 6 Mac amps, and will never have a need to buy anything else. I've used a multitude of different speakers, head units, EQ's and other misc. car audio equipment. I still have not found a reason to try a different amp. My original goal was to have the best possible components and sound quality, cost no object. So far nothing has impressed me as much as the McIntosh amps. Dynaudio seems so far to be the best compliments as far as speakers go. Kef Kar and Diamond Audio speakers take 2nd and 3rd place in that dept. Stay clear of McIntosh speakers. They are not a very good compliment for their amps and do not hold their weight to their price. So far the best sub I have used with the Mac mono-block amp (MC443M ) is the Image Dynamics ID Max 12”. I plan on trying the 10” now that it’s available. I have used the JL’s… many of them. Always disappointed. Kicker is good if you like 1-note bass, horrible if you like music. Kef Kar 8” and 10” are fantastic and fast, but try to find em! It’s like trying to find a mint condition Babe Ruth rookie card at a garage sale for $.25, not going to happen. I’ll quit rambling now and get back to the amp. The mc431m seems to sound unbelievable with everything I play on it. I listen to mostly jazz and classic rock, but sometimes switch over to easy listening and sometimes will even throw in some techno music. These amps always seem to impress. Another reviewer here said to try a class d amp for bass instead of Mac. That is B.S. My mc443m’s will put out a hefty 800watts into a 1ohm load and never overheat or shut down. If you ever get a chance to listen to a class A amp on an efficient sub like the ID Max or a Dynaudio sub…. Do it and get ready to smile. You will never hear better bass. Louder, yes, but not better. The McIntosh amps might not win you any SPL competitions, but you will be sure to astonish everybody that listens to your system… Worth every penny and then some!

Similar Products Used: Alpine, Eclispe, Diamond Audio, Soundstream, Orion, Linear Power, Nakamichi....
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Rob   [Oct 15, 2003]
Model Reviewed: MCC404
Strength:

It knows when it's clipping and it suppresses it. Large deep casing and two cooling fans for efficient thermal management. Amazing sound quality.

Weakness:

People won't understand why you spent so much on an amp. Especially your wife or gf. You might have to cut her loose. This amp is far more satisfying than any woman anyways. Trust me. :D

I hate to start off with the cliche statement of "This is absolutely the best amplifier I've ever owned", but I'm afraid it's true. I've read a lot of good reviews of McIntosh, but I figured it could just be due to the fact that after a person spends that much money on a piece of equipment, they feel psychologically compelled to say it's a great product. How else would someone justify dropping that kind of dough? Well after hooking this amp up, I must say that I truly did hear a drastic difference. I'm not the type to fool myself either because if I had thought it sounded about the same, I'd just shrug my shoulders and remember not to spend that kind of cash in the future. But this amp really does stand out, especially at high volumes. All of the frequencies are crystal clear and smooth. On other amps I've owned, certain frequencies would somewhat drown out or there would be a bit of a raspyness in the higher frequencies at high volumes. This was not due to clipping either as I always use an oscilloscope to set my gains. Speaking of oscilloscopes, I hooked mine up to this amp when I installed it only to find out it already knows when its clipping. Not only that, it suppresses the clipping to make sure it never gets to your loudspeakers. I put in my test CD and turned my head unit volume to max and began to adjust the gain on this amp. Just as soon as the wave peak started to clip on my scope, the power guard light came on on the amp. I don't even need a scope to set up this amp! I absolutely love that. I've never found another car amplifier that had a feature like that. Another great thing about this amp is its thermal management abilities. The casing is extra large and deep to allow heat to dissipate much more quickly and there are two cooling fans for when you're really pushing it. I've drove around with this baby cranked for over an hour and it never cut out. That's a problem I've had with most every other 4 channel amp I've owned(PPI, Hifonics, Eclipse). I run my entire system off a single 4 chan amp(front stage and subs), and the other amps would cut out after about 30 minutes or less of pushing them hard. And all but one of my previous owned amps continued to cut out after about an hour or so even after I added external fans(My old hifonics olympus VIII never cut out again after I added fans). Two common problems with car amplifiers are clipping and heat management. This McIntosh has taken care of both of those problems. As if the sound quality, the excellent thermal management qualities, and the ability to know when its clipping and then to suppress it weren't enough, this amp is also has balls when it comes to driving subwoofers. Unlike the older McIntosh amps, this amp will double its power when impedance is halved. So out of just one pair of channels, you get 400 watts in bridged mode. Unless you're just a die hard bass head(and if you are, why would you buy McIntosh?), you won't need any more power for your subs than what this amp delivers. I'm just glad I'm no longer driving a hatchback else the bass would be overwhelming. Overall, this amp is worth every penny I paid and then some. If you're considering getting one of these amps, don't let the price deter you. It's worth it. And if you can't quite afford it, start selling your stuff on ebay until you can. Sell your car and get a cheaper car. Get rid of your wife(those things can be serious financial drains). Do whatever you need to do to get this amp(within legal means) and I promise you won't be dissapointed.

Similar Products Used: Hifonics, PPI, MTX, Eclipse
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
James Brown   [Oct 14, 2003]
Model Reviewed: MCC404
Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

Nothing

This is absolutely the best amp I've ever owned. I use to have to drag out my oscilloscope to set the gains on my amps to ensure no distortion, but this amp automatically knows when there's distortion. Set your head unit to max volume with a test CD and start turning the gains up until the little power guard light comes on and then back it off a little and you're good to go. Also, not only does it know when there's distortion, it suppresses the distortion as well so it never makes it to your speakers. As if that wasn't genius enough, this amp has excellent thermal management. The extra deep casing and two built in cooling fans ensure this baby will never overheat on you. I've cranked my system hard and it continues to play loud and clean for as long as I want. Also, unlike the older McIntosh amps such as the mc420m, mc431m, mc440m, this amp will double its output power when the impedance is halved. This makes it an ideal amp for running a nice component set on the front two channels and a powerful subwoofer on the rear channels. It is by far the cleanest amp I've ever heard. I've owned PPI(the older american made good stuff), Hifonics(also the older american made good stuff), Eclipse, and MTX amplifiers which all sounded really good. I thought that people that buy these expensive McIntosh amps just felt obligated to say they sounded better so they could justify to themselves spending an obscene amount of money. But I assure you it's not psychological. This amp really does sound A LOT better and it's EASY to notice. It's definitely worth every penny as there is no other amp out there like it.

Similar Products Used: Hifonics, PPI, MTX, Eclipse
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
seans   [Jul 24, 2002]
Model Reviewed: mc 440
Strength:

everything. very easy to hook up. sounds great, has fans built in to kept cool. the tech support is THE BEST I HAVE DEALT WITH, i didnt have a manual come with mine and i called up to the offices and a nice lady answerd the phone, she then went to the back and found one. she then went on to mail it to me. one of the best amps i used, if not the best, and the people are also the best.

Weakness:

none

i got this baby for $500 on ebay last summer. i didnt get a chance to hook it up until november, and since then i been almost completly happy. i have read some reviews on it and all i saw was positive and completly happy people, so i thought i could not go wrong with it. currently i am using a pair of a/d/s speakers. they sound so much cleaner with this amp, i used a ppi amp just to compare. the only problem is the speakers cant handle that much power, so when i get around to getting a beter set of speakers i wll update this and let yall know how it worked out

Similar Products Used: cant really say, the amp so far has been the best i used.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tim   [Nov 26, 2001]
Model Reviewed: MC440M
Strength:

Clarity,quality,underrated power,efficient twin fan cooling system.6/5/4/3 channel configuration flexibility.Effortlessly drowns out neighboring thumpmobiles in traffic.

Weakness:

It makes me late for work, with sound this good i tend to drive slower to listen longer.

I have always wanted to replace the stock system in my Mustang, as it seems this is where i have the most time to listen to music.My plan was to place a small sub-box and the amplifier in the trunk, and replace the rear deck and door panel speakers with coaxials at first and possibly go to seperates later.I did take the advice of the guy i bought my subs from and omitted the rear deck speakers after removing the stock units. Considering a lot of my budget was going to go to the new head unit(i wanted an mp3 capable unit),i never expected to be able to afford even a used Mcintosh amp(thanks Ebay!).This is my first mobile system and i cannot speak for other amplifiers, but i must say that i am more than happy with my Mcintosh.It was easy to install and setup(though i am still adjusting the amps settings and my sub-box location),even for an amateur who merely read the instructions and got clarification on some points by calling Mcintosh(their tech was happy to help). This amplifier takes what the head unit sends to it and consistently and accurately amplifies it without any dramatics like overheating or even activating its first stage of overheat protection, which is to lower its output by half.After an hour long drive at the loudest comfortable volume i enjoy, its slightly warm.If someone wants to build a sound quality system and use a single amplifier i would highly recommend this one.

Similar Products Used: No other amps. But my system is the Mcintosh MC440M,Kenwood Z828,(2)Boston Acoustics 8.5LF ProSeries Subs,1 pair of Boston Acoustics RX 87 6 1/2" coaxials.I plan to upgrade to coaxials to seperates ei
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bom   [Sep 22, 2001]
Strength:

None

Weakness:

None

I used MC440. With enough power supplied it, this amp sounds fantastic, otherwise, this amp will sound very bright and dry. Details is stunning. Durability and reliability are on the top class. I never had problem with it. To me, it''s a great amp for those whom listen to musics with instruments but not best for vocal songs. I also felt somehow that the old amp sound better than the newer made (says within 3 years). Don''t know why

Similar Products Used: From my experience, Mc440 should be somewhere between Brax/Tube Driver Blue 475 and the lower amps like Zapco Comp., Xtant, or ADS, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
John   [Jan 30, 2001]
Strength:

None

Weakness:

AVOID SENSUOUS SOUNDS IN TAMPA,FL!!!!

I purchased this amp at Sensuous Sounds in Tampa, FL, to be installed in my car. Unfortunately, I wrecked my car before it could ever be put in. Went back to Sensuous Sounds to get a refund, but they flat-out refused. Why? Because they have a NO return policy on ALL their merchandise, regardless of the circumstance (Keep in mind - I hadn't picked up nor even seen the actual amp intended for my car). Only after much haggling (with the owner of the store, no less), I was able to get store credit, but trust me - pulling teeth would have been easier and far more enjoyable. Rating for the McIntosh? I'm sure it would have sounded incredible - 5 stars based on blind faith. Customer service? Less than 0, based on the worst customer service I've ever experienced. I will never go back there again - avoid Sensuous Sounds like the plague!

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dave Newman   [Oct 30, 2000]
Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

Power input will not accept heavy guage wire.

I would highly recommend this amp to anyone. There was a comment about it being bright but as in all high quality amplifiers, they do not color the sound, or at least should not. I have never noticed it being bright, in fact, I directly replaced an a/d/s/ PH15 and didn't notice a difference in mid-range detail, but the extra 200 watts to my sub was definitely noticeable. I don't use the internal crossover or eqs so I cannot commment on them but if they are like everything else in this amp, they will work perfectly.

Similar Products Used: a/d/s/, PPI, Alpine, etc
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Charles   [Jul 20, 2000]
Strength:

Looks, sound quality, very strong, everything

Weakness:

none

This is a very expensive amp first of all. I got a break and got it just above dealer cost. If you know HiFi, then you know Mac. One guy said he didn't like the "damping factor"...I don't know what that is, but this amp has everything. It is rated at .005% THD+N at rated power from 20-20k Hz. No other amp can say that. Some will be close, like .05 THD+N at rated power at 1kHz, but not across the entire sound band. Other amps are tested to specs at 14.4 volts, which it will never see in a car. Mac amps are tested and shipped with a certificate of meeting or exceeding their specs at 12 volts. I have an MC420M, which is 50x4 without the 2x100 of the MC440M. I am completely in love with this amp. It may sound a little bright to some, but that is probably because they have never heard true reproduction of very high frequencies, like 12kHz and above. If you can afford it, the MC420M retails for about $1,000...then this is the cream of the crop of amps. Something else might be close, but Mac is like Mercedes, you buy it for the quality and the status. Unbeatable.

Similar Products Used: listened to MTX, A/D/S, Eclipse, Alpine, Pioneer, too many to list them all
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 19  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com