MTX Audio Thunder 302 Amplifiers

Thunder 302

  • 75 Watts x 2 into a 4 Ohm load with less than 0.05% Thd+N
  • 150 Watts x 2 into a 2 Ohm load with less than 0.1% Thd+N
  • 300 Watts bridged into a 4 Ohm load with less than 0.1% Thd+N

  • User Reviews (14)

    Showing 1-10 of 14  
    killacam   [Aug 05, 2011]
    Model Reviewed: MTX THUNDER 302
    Strength:

    Very powerful for being sing it to smaller amp. I'm using it to power 2 kicker comp 12s.. Aswell as 2 12' kicker CVR's... Never had any major problems with it.

    Weakness:

    Gets HOT as a biiiieech. and its only 2 channel. Got so hot it melted one of the fuses into a liquid and it dripped down the side of the amp.

    good shhyt

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    chris   [Oct 29, 2007]
    Model Reviewed: olds alero
    Strength:

    it was underrated accuatly it pushed out 425w @4 ohms

    Weakness:

    the amp got hot but never cut off

    This amp is what's up. I had this little monster on two 12" bazooza in a custom slot ported box and it was the cleanest and loudest for it's size. But unfortunatlly someone stole it from my car and it was a tragedy because i could not replace is. How uncool is that.

    Similar Products Used: JL audio 500x1v2
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    mtx guru   [Jul 03, 2005]
    Model Reviewed: MTX Thunder 302
    Strength:

    Excellent signal to noise ratio, adjustable 0- 18 db bass boost at 40hz, plenty of power in a small design. Sturdy design, I have used and abused my Thunder 302 since I got it (I think it was August 2001) and it sounds as good as the day I installed it.

    Weakness:

    It isn't an extremely powerful amp when hooked up to two 4 ohm speakers, I recommend this amp for bridged use or with 2 efficient subs. Also the amp being stable down to only two ohms can limit your wiring options. The amp also runs very hot, although I have never had it shut off from overheating, or for any other reason (including under the seat in a Black on Black hatch back), but as others have said it gets hot enough to literally burn you. And it certainly isn’t the flashiest looking amp, but amps are for music not looking at.

    Awesome, clean power in a small amp. I had this amp in my '93 Buick Regal with one 12" Thunder 8000 sub in a medium flared ported box and the entire trunk dyna-matted and it slammed amazingly hard and low. People would actually make me open the trunk because they didn't believe it was just one 12" sub. Then after almost 4 years the voice coil fried in the sub so I replaced the sub with an Infinity Kappa Perfect 12 VQ in the same 2 cubic foot flared ported box and it hits just about as hard at 40 hz and considerably harder at 75 hz. And now, just recently the amp (and Infinity sub) have been moved in to my '02 Mercedes C230 where the amp fits nicely under the passenger seat and I had to actually turn the gain and bass boost down on the amp because it was too loud for the small cabin of the hatch back. And stereo systems aren’t usually too loud for me.

    Similar Products Used: Pioneer GMX 922, MTX Pro 75 X 2, Rockford Fosgate PUNCH 400S, Kicker KX400.1, Sony XM-752EQX
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    walter   [Nov 10, 2003]

    solo quiero saber el sustituto de el fets 75339p por que se me quemo mi ampli y en mexico no lo ahi con ese numero

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    damienelder   [May 23, 2003]
    Model Reviewed: ?
    Strength:

    has quite a bit of power for how small it is. it is not over rated like many cheap amps. never overheats (people that claim to have such problems are probably trying to bridge two 2 ohm subs, which draws one ohm from the amp, thus exceeding the limit of two ohms mono). two ohms stereo it can handle, and it gets hot enough to sizzle bacon, (or your hand if your dumb enough to touch it) but if you follow the specs, it will not shut off even after hours at high volume, with external temp of 90 plus, and in the trunk.

    Weakness:

    not one ohm stable mono, even the top of the line mtx is only two ohm stable mono. would be nice to have recieving inserts for cable connection, instead of the clamp posts

    I have this amp running to two audiobahn 12's running at two ohms a piece. not going to win any spl comps, but definitly enough to terrorize people without systems when they ride in the car. Beats the $hit out of my old legacy series 4 1000 watts amp. still need more so im getting a memphis 16-1000d (1100 watts RMS at 1 ohm)

    Similar Products Used: legacy amps (crap) pioneer, jensen, power akoustic, kicker
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Brad   [May 29, 2001]
    Model Reviewed: Thunder302
    Strength:

    Good little amp, it will push 2 6X9's very well, and very clear!! If you have one sub in the 800 watt peak range...this baby is perfect for you.

    Weakness:

    You can't bridge it mono parellel and get the best output for 2 subs. It's weak for $350. I would only use it for 6X9's.

    Good amp, not the most powerful or the most affordable, but it's small, and packs quite a little punch.

    Similar Products Used: None
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    brandon   [May 28, 2001]
    Model Reviewed: thunder 302
    Strength:

    It has plenty of power for me. I am running two MTX Thuhnder6000 12" subs bridged, and it sounds pretty solid.

    Weakness:

    i tend to blow the fuses in the amp for some reason.

    I have only used it for about a week, but after bridging it i realize that it was a smart 250 i spent on it, and the reason it was only 250 is because it was an open box.

    Similar Products Used: i used a Sony 780 watt Xplod amp and there is no copmparison, this one blows it away.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    G Smith   [Feb 26, 2001]
    Strength:

    These amps own , i have 2 . They have plenty of power and they sound great.

    Weakness:

    none

    Im running 1 Thunder 302 to 2 12" polk momos , and another 302 to 2 12" polk dx`s. My shi0t pounds.

    Similar Products Used: PPI amps
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    amac   [Jan 17, 2001]
    Model Reviewed: 2000
    Strength:

    It's relatively small for the power you get. EQ boost works well. Sleek looks. Speaker level leads with "smart engage" automatically turn the amp on almost instantly.

    Weakness:

    Not powerful enough for 2 subs (not really the amp's fault - I was told it could handle a 2-ohm mono load but it really can't). You have to guess by ear at the cutoff frequency when setting the dial.

    I bought this the other day after the sales clerk told me it could handle 2 4-ohm subs in a parallel mono load. I found out it couldn't but installed it anyway in regular 4-ohm stereo mode, where I was probably getting 100-120 watts per sub (maybe more since it was dimming my lights on hard hits). It was pretty solid but I think most people would need more power, at least for small acoustic suspension apps. I did try just running one sub off the amp while bridged, where it's rated to deliver 425 watts into a mono 4-ohm load, and it really cranked. So I can't fault the amp - I didn't research enough before I bought it. If you have a single 10 or 12 inch sub I would highly recommend this amp. Eventually when I start getting into more than just subs I will look into the 302 for powering the other components since the power and clarity would be more than enough. I returned it yesterday, but not because it was bad - it just didn't do what I needed. Get it for one sub (or 2 8-ohm subs, I guess) or for non-sub applications.

    Similar Products Used: Sony HX752
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Seth Halstead   [May 10, 2000]
    Model Reviewed: 302
    Strength:

    Clarity is unreal!!

    Weakness:

    Haven't found any yet!!

    For just over $300, it is more than worth the money.
    I also have the 500D powering my Fosgate DVC's, together, they are cheaper than the xtant 603x, plus, they sound 4 times better!! I highly recommend both of these mtx amps!!!! www.americantv.com- has these for great prices!!

    Similar Products Used: I was running Polk db series 5" and 6" speakers from the Xtant 603x amp, and it doesn't even compare to how good this amp sounds!!!
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-10 of 14  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com