MTX Audio Thunder 5400X Amplifiers

Thunder 5400X

25W x 4 + 100W x 1 power amplifier.

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
Ray Perry   [Aug 07, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Pontiac Grand Prix GXP
Strength:

Price/Power/Dependable/Clarity

Weakness:

None

Had this amp for over a year, pounds 2 JLW3 12's, 2 pair of 6x9s@2ohms, tweeters and a pair of 6.5"

Similar Products Used: I'm a 6yr Car Audio Installer, you name it ive used it
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Drew   [Dec 01, 2002]
Strength:

Since I don't have to have two separate amps I didn't have all the hassles of distribution blocks & didn't have to worry with a crossover

Weakness:

none

I have two 1200 watt subs hooked up to it along with all of my vocals and it does everything I need

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Eric wilson   [Nov 23, 2002]
Model Reviewed: Thunder 5400XW
Strength:

134 db one sub

Weakness:

none so far

All I have to say about the 5400X is that it is an amazing amp. I've had it in my car for about three months and all i can say is wow this thing slams it powered my infinity 3.5 and 6x9 and a jl 10W6 and i only payed about 200 dollars (canadian)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
unrealii   [Nov 07, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 1996 ford taurus
Strength:

Crisp power and lots of it. It definitly has enough to power a decent size sub. The numbers on the website are HALF of the actual rms output. I am running an image dynamics 10" IDQ10d4 in my homemade box and it sounds amazing. You cant beat this for the price. It has a seperate class D sub amp, so it's more like 2 amps in one. External bass control is also supported.

Weakness:

This thing blew on me in 3 weeks. I blame my installation since the signal comes off of my ford jbl premium sound amps, goes through three high low converters, then finally hits the mtx amp (trust me, I tried all other ways, and even audio shops said this was the only way to install it). I think I set the sub freq too high, but I'm not certain. Two weeks later, I got it back and pluged it in and it has been runngin strong (new settings: higher loc gains, lower amp gains, lower freq on sub) for over a month now.

I saw this on clearance at good guys and I grabbed it. Since I have never dealt with car audio before, I spent time researching and finally installed it on my own. I expected better sound when I turned it on, I got 10 times more than what I expected. You'll know how good sound sounds, and you're skin will feel it too and I'm not talking about from the bass. This amp is awesome. Definitly feed this baby with a 4 gauge power wire, dont let a cheapo shop try selling you 8 ga. It's better to do it right the first time.

Similar Products Used: None, I was considering the sony 1805gsx, but this one seemed better. I never listened to either before buying the mtx. I'm a car audio newbie.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tuff   [Oct 10, 2002]
Model Reviewed: Thunder 5400
Strength:

MANY features - makes setting up all speakers VERY easy, and sounds GREAT! no distortion at all!

Weakness:

people think 5 channel amps are too weak for anything....

This amp is great! i thought it wasn't going to be powerful enough to run everything, but once i got the 4 gauge power wire and 12 gauge speaker wire set up, built my own box for a single MTX 12in sub, and this amp is CRAZY! it bumps till i can't take it no more! the unit has 3 25amp fuses, meaning you gotta push 75 amps to blow it... i don't think i've gone past 50amps, if that... it has all the power i'll ever need

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ray   [Aug 11, 2002]
Model Reviewed: MTX 5400X
Strength:

Very Powerful 5Ch

Weakness:

None

Just bought it, Definitly a very loud 5 channel. Way Under rated and at the loq cost of only 190 i think it was definitly one of my best amp purchases besides the MTX 6500D

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Varun   [Mar 17, 2001]
Model Reviewed: blue thunder pro 5ch/800w special ed. amplifier
Strength:

great, clean sound, no distortion

Weakness:

i don't know of any as of yet

this product is one of the best amplifiers on the markert. it powers my whole system w/o distortion. im running a component system, 6x9's, and a 12" sub with no problems. It looks great too! MTX is probably the best company for amplifiers and compares and competes with other high end mobile companies like alpine, nakamichi and a/d/s/ for amplifiers. please note that the specs that MTX gives for these 5ch amps are way underrated. im getting closer to 40Wx4ch + 225Wx1ch, which is about double what mtx claims. the 5th channel is very powerful, so don't shy away from a 5ch amp just because you think this amp wont deliver the power for your sub(s). the best part of all is i only paid $189 for this $650+ amp new w/warranty. Its a great amp and mtx is a fine company!

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Steve   [Apr 01, 2000]
Model Reviewed: 1997 Honda Accord
Strength:

The MTX 5400 multichannel amp is hot. The strength of this amp will astound you. Well built, and very capable of driving two JL W3s in a box in the trunk. I could not be happier. This MTX kicks serious butt.

Weakness:

None

I paid $399 for the MTX 5400 amp and could not be happier. Loud and clean, well built and mean.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com