Rockford Fosgate bd1000.1 Amplifiers

Rockford Fosgate bd1000.1 Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

- 500W x 1 channel
- Transnova topology.
- Diamond driver stage.
- Strappable.
- Diamond circuitry with 24 dB per octave crossover.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 17  
[May 29, 2017]
Ogeeazy
Model Reviewed: 1000.1bd

Strength:

Big dog power

Weakness:

To hungry for power lol

Love the amps. Need one more 1000.1 amp asap to run one on one.lol. where they at for cheap

Similar Products Used:

Non bub

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 03, 2007]
kevin
Model Reviewed: BD1000.1

Strength:

puts out rated power. puts out more at 14.4v.

Weakness:

dose make a wine noise sometimes but who hears that when your playing music huh? can clip if you dont have power to back it.

I love this amp, so much i had to buy another if you have the power to back it up and the subs that can hold the power it is a beast. one birth 1127wrms@2ohms i dont know the other. two bd1000.1's strapped is all the power i'll ever need

Similar Products Used:

RF amps...501s, 801s, T10001bd, bd1500.1

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 06, 2007]
DIIS
Model Reviewed: Rockford bd1000

Strength:

Very strong, clean amp when properly installed. Amp needs GOOD 4 ga. wire, and don't underestimate your speaker wire either. No clipping, or high piched sounds as reported by some other reviews, Installation issues?

Weakness:

Very high draw, but a good amp needs a good power supply and cable. Think of it as trying to suck a grapefruit through a straw. 12 ga. wire is like the straw, the grapefruit the energy.

Overall an extremely good amp. I had a Rockford Fosgate G800a2 back in 1999, but sold it after purchasing a Soundstream CA 10.0. What a mistake! After signing a sales agreement with Audiobahn, I sold the Soundstream for yet another (2000w) disappointment. I sold off my business and all my demo car equipment in spring of 2002, and went with just a factory headunit and factory speakers for the next year. It left a void in the car, so in spring of 2003, I went shopping again. Remembering back to how good that G800a2 sounded, I purchased the "New Old Stock" bd1000 and a Boston Acoustics Pro 12.5lf. I had problems with my box design, and melted the coils on the 12.5lf soon after buying it (Boston 12.5lf in my opinion is still one of the best sounding subs I have ever owned). I decided to purchase something overkill and once again, thinking back to my early days of car audio, ended up purchasing a Orion HCCA II. The 12" sub is rated at 2500w RMS in a sealed enclosure. It is a DVC sub being driven at 2 Ohms by the Rockford. It sounds amazing, and the entire setup is completely stealth in my 1990 Geo Metro (go ahead and laugh). I am running Premium 4 gauge wire to the Amp, and Premium 8 Gauge wire to the sub. People are very supprised when I decide to show off which is usually when "some kid" is playing rap with his license plate rattling off and trunk buzzing. I have dynomat throughout the floor and fenders of the car. It is deafing inside the car, and you can actually watch the windows move in and out of their frames from the outside.

Similar Products Used:

Soundstream CA 10.0, Soundstream D 200 II, Alpine 200w something, Audiobahn A2X600A, Rockford G800a2

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 21, 2007]
taylora

Strength:

1 ohm stable with no cap.just 4 g and sum subs is all you need

Weakness:

amp whines a little but then goes away

Anyone who talks bad about this amp is wrong.Dead wrong!It is better than the jl 1000 slash series.I know cuz i had one and the rockford out preforms it by a long shot! its twice the amp than most. if you dont think so you never had it installed correctly. so dont blame the amp.Great equipment to have in your system.

Similar Products Used:

phoenix gold ms2250, ms2125,jl 1000/1 jl500/1, dls a6 mono

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 25, 2006]
Gerald
Model Reviewed: bd1000

Strength:

i like that its small...and its durabe...i have had mine for 5 years and its been through 4 vehicles and its still going strong.

Weakness:

i havent found any yet

i bought my bd1000 in about 2001...i had it running 3 12'' jl w3's...and it pushed the hell out of them with no problems....i would have gotten the bd1500 but they were out of them....i now have it pushing a 15'' diamond audio...and still 5 years later its still pushing strong. i have no problem with it heating up...it gets a little warm but nothing outragous....i do have a 1 farade cap with it...only because the amp i had before that was a kenwood 600 and it was killing my battery and alternator....so i knew this would also having more power.....and with the cap i have no problems with any flickering of my lights...and besides the amp and the normal eletrical things running i also have 4 fog lights, 2 KC lights.....an underbody light kit...and numerious lights inside running and havent had any need for a upgraded or second battery. now my bd1000 is screaming in my 99 suburban (its 4th car its been in) and is still doing great.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 11, 2005]
Cbass
Model Reviewed: bd1000

Strength:

everything

Weakness:

none

I have 4 of this monsters each one of them powering 3 6ohm dvc's 400rms ma audio subs in a toyota pickup a let me tell you that i've never fell that much bass... this amp are way underrated and they're 1ohm stable daily.

Similar Products Used:

mtx, pioneer, power acoustik, jbl, ma audio, boss, kicker... but bd1000 rules

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 28, 2004]
chano5
Model Reviewed: ROCKFORD FOSGATE 100O1BD

Strength:

1200 RMS STAYS COOL...BARELY WARM AFTER POUNDING FOR HOURS

Weakness:

NONE

THIS AMP EASILY PUSHES MY PPI DCX 124 SUBWOOFER. I HAVE BEEN A LONG USER OF FOSGATE AND THERE IS A REASON WHY. THEY MAKE GOOD PRODUCT.

Similar Products Used:

ROCKFORD POWER 800.2 ....GOOD AMP MTZ ROAD THUNDER 750... GOOD POWER BUT HEATS UP VERY EASILY

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 18, 2004]
MaliciousClout
Model Reviewed: BD1000

Strength:

Everything...

Weakness:

N/A

Bought this unit thinking little of it as I was unfamiliar with it's capabilities. Running four TypeR ten inch Subs. It thumps crazy like.

Similar Products Used:

Punch two hundred

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 14, 2003]
cyrus357
Model Reviewed: BD1000.1

Strength:

Tons of power, extremely efficient, and good SQ for a class D amp. Has all the best features: 24db variable x-over, subsonic filter, strapability.

Weakness:

Remote bass knob feels cheap and flimsy.

I bought this amp to run a big ID SPL15 @ 1ohm and it has performed flawlessly. Lots of people warned me about running @ 1ohm, but I had faith in this amp because after owning a Punch 200x2, 225.5, and a Power 250.2 I knew how well built these amps were. I have run this amp as a daily driver and blasting through SPL tracks and it has NEVER shut down or even gotten hot. Still, I would only reccomend you run at 2ohm unless you know what you're doing. Today I did a voltage test and this thing was putting 1425wrms to my sub @ 1.1ohm! Best of all, it did this with a puny stock-civic electrical system running at idle! Great considering it came with 1187w on the birthsheet @ 2ohm. I could NEVER do this with the older class AB amps. For the guy who blew his subs and the other one who's amp got hot: It's all in the install. The first guy obviously knows nothing about setting gains or he wouldn't have made such a stupid comment about clipping. The second guy is probably clipping his amp or needs to check his power and ground wires to make sure he's got good current flow.

Similar Products Used:

MTX 500D, RF 200x2, 225.2, 250.2, 360.2, 550S, 550X.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 12, 2003]
Cory
Model Reviewed: Rockford Fosgate bd1000.1

Strength:

ummm......

Weakness:

clips easily, whining noise, i highly doubt that this amp pushes as much power as it is rated for

This is the biggest piece of garbage that I have ever bought. The biggest mistake I ever made was to buy any product of Rockford. This amp has been nothing but problems, you cant run this thing more than 1/2 gain or else it will clip and wreck your subs as it did mine

Similar Products Used:

JBL 1200.1 (best money I have ever spent)

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 17  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com