Rockford Fosgate Punch 160a2 Amplifiers

Punch 160a2

2-Channel Amplifier

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
Kevin   [Aug 09, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Punch 160a2
Strength:

Amazing power in a small package! Easy connections and installation!

Weakness:

Gets hot fast.

Overall pretty good small Rockford fosgate amplifier. Puts out awesome power when running bridged mono. I connected my punch hx2 12" and it bumped hard! Can't go wrong with this old school amplifier. You give it a try I bought mine for 20 bucks shipped on ebay. I don't recommend 2 ohms when bridged or it will crap the bed or go into protection.

Similar Products Used: Many old school fosgate amplifiers.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Lyrsc   [Feb 20, 2010]
Model Reviewed: 1100a2
Strength:

Dishes out some serious power. Great amp.

Weakness:

Gets very hot after 30 minutes of use.

This amp blew my pair of JL Audio 10w6v2 subs.
Could not set volume past 23/40 without hearing the subs taking a serious beating.
This amp has serious power, needs atleast 2ga wire to power.
Thinking of powering two 13w6v2 subs with this amp.
Should push them with ease.

Similar Products Used: 250a2: Pushed a pair of 12" Kicker Comps pretty good, almost a perfect combo.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ben Bowen   [Dec 21, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Rockford Fosgate Power 1000a2 Chrome Amplifier
Strength:

Unreal power, each amp is rated at 1,500 watts RMS when set on mono at 4ohms. At 2ohms...over 3,000 watts.

Weakness:

Almost too powerful for my two 15 inch 1000 watt RMS subs, produced so much bass it knocked the spoiler off of my car.

Hands down the best sounding and most powerful amplifier I have ever had. I have 2 of them as a matter of fact powering 2 Rockford Fosgate 15 inch Power DVC subs. Before these two monster amplifiers I had one Rockford Fosgate 1100a2 which had a problem of overheating and eventually died. I have the gain 1/2 way up on the 1000a2's and they barely even get luke warm.

Similar Products Used: Rockford 250 punch amplifier, Pair of Rockford 15 inch 1000 watt RMS Power DVC subs, Rockford 5.25 component set.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
beware_rockford   [Jul 17, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 2000/160a2
Strength:

underated, can bump the crap out of subs.

Weakness:

gets hot to fast!

I am running this amp in stereo mode pushing two JBL 10" loud+clears and this amp will pump the crap out of these subs with the volume up just half way but this amp gets hot way to fast maybe its my fault becuase I have the gain up all the way but I need it up all the way becuase I love the bass it makes with the gain up all the way.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Twentyhurtz   [Jul 14, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 00
Strength:

amp was good,

Weakness:

WARRANTY SUCKS BIG TIME, NO THANKS RF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

me from down there. buyer beware, great amp, but mine went out all of a sudden after over a year of use and THERE IS NO WARRANTY UNLESS ITS INSTALLED BY AUTHORIZED ROCKFORD FOSGATE DEALER! thats the only catch

Similar Products Used: PROFILE, ATLEAST IT HAD A WARRANTY!!!!!
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
maliburisc   [Jul 04, 2001]
Strength:

heat sink and the hi input

Weakness:

the end caps you hve to take them off toadjust the system

its a kickin amp for starters i have it powering two 12inch kennwood tornado subs in a sealed box and it bumps pretty hard

Similar Products Used: crunch drive series amp v-150 it punches a lot more
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Cordney Johnson   [Jun 12, 2001]
Model Reviewed: 2000
Strength:

power, looks

Weakness:

the endcaps. you have to remove them so adjust your system.

Well underated. I have this amp running straight stereo pushing 2 JL Audio W4 10's and they pound!!! I would recommend this amp or any of fosgates products to anyone looking for top notch quality, and a serious bang in your trunk......

Similar Products Used: Kiker impulse amp. They both are well worth the money.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Barret   [Jun 14, 2001]
Model Reviewed: 2000
Strength:

Heat Sink, actual wattage is 276!

Weakness:

End Caps, too much time consuming to remove them everytime you want to adjust them but don't get me wrong you can leave them off.

I think this amp is awesome. I had it pushing two 12" Kenwood Tornado subs, wired @ 4ohms and with the gain half way up got max excursion. I"m going to run all the power into one sub at the end of the summer. I would recomend this brand amp to anyone who is looking for an amp, if the punch can do this! I would surely like to see the POWER models!

Similar Products Used: Profile California 2400, the 160a2 out bumped the Profile 400w.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com