Rockford Fosgate Punch 360a2 Amplifiers

Punch 360a2

2-Channel Amplifier

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
Kevin   [Aug 10, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Punch 360a2
Strength:

Small package BIG power! Looks clean for its age.

Weakness:

None so far I just barely got it so far and it just pounds hard.

Okay let me say when I got this amp of someone on Craigslist I was amazed how clean it looked almost brand new, anyway it is quite powerful for its size I read other reviews on here that these put out over 500 watts rms. anyways this particular amp is great very powerful, small in size with out the end caps and of course does get toasty after a nice music listening session. I have this hooked up to a Kicker Comp VR 12" dual 2 ohm running bridged. When I turn up the knob on the radio I get a smile because of the rediculous bass this thing does. Even thought its over 12 - 13 years old I still think this is a great amplifier if you can find them in great shape and 100% working order. If you can find one I'd recommend that you get one or any of the bigger versions like this amp (500a2, 800a2, 1100a2) all good amps.

Similar Products Used: RF punch 100z2, RF punch 500a2, RF punch 55.2, RF punch 800a2, RF punch 200.2, RF punch 100.2, RF punch 40.2, RF punch 60.2 just to many to list that I've tried from Rockford fosgate.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
raider4life   [Mar 27, 2004]
Model Reviewed: 360a2
Strength:

ROCKFORD FOSGATE (name says it all)

Weakness:

NONE

This is a nice amp if you want a loud clean hard hittin system....I have 2 of these bridged to 2 12" XLC woofers and the bass is amazing...For my high end I am running a 150a2 that is also a great amp..I Have been into car audio since the early 90's and have had alot of systems since then....One of my favorite systems was all fosgate back in 1991 when I had 2 12" M&Ms powered by the old school punch 150 with rockford components powers by an old school punch 75 and some high ends powered by an old school punch 45.Damn I miss that system...I should have never traded it off...But for now I have a nice system still with my alpine 7965 cd player and all RF amps and speakers...After all that said I feel you can not go wrong with rockford fosgate if you just dont abuse them and try to run them under 2 ohms.....

Similar Products Used: punch 150,punch75,punch 45,soundstream class a,punch 150a2,punch 250a2,punch 200.2,punch 120a2,soundstream D100,soundstream D100 2,pheonix gold ms275,soundstream lil wonder.Alpine
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jesse   [Apr 15, 2002]
Strength:

everything

Weakness:

none

the amp rocks i use it to power my 2 12" rockfordfosgate punch speaker and it pounds the hell out of them and every thing in my car

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
teeballz   [Dec 02, 2001]
Model Reviewed: 2000
Strength:

very powerful, clean, good value for the money

Weakness:

cant go 2 ohm mono

This amp is awesome. It was tested at 578 watts, and looks phat. It small, so small that i have tit and a 1 farad cap installed in the back of my 12" sealed enclosure. This amp powers my Infinity kappa perfect with no problems. And its not even turned up. I actually blew my first perfect in 9 days. but now they work wonder together.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
JTB   [Oct 17, 2001]
Model Reviewed: 2000 360a2
Strength:

a lot of power, clean as can be, great theft protection, lokks sweet as hell

Weakness:

hard to get to the gains, not 2 ohm stable

WEll this amp kicks ass period. I have it pushing an infinity perfect 12.1, it it sounds unbeleivable. i only have my amp at half way(it was tested at 580 watts on the birth certificate), but i couldnt turn it up any louder, because my car would fall apart and i would deaf. this is a perfect setup, if you have this amp I would highly recoomend hooking it up to a perfect 12.1. By the way i use rockforf 4 guage wiring and a rockford 1 farad capacitor. The only thing that sucks about it is ints not 2 ohm stable.n I was going to get a fosgate HE2, but they have dual 4 ohm voice coils, and this amp wouldnt ut it, it wa ould clipp distort, and possibly burn out. But maybe it was meant to be, baecause theres no way an HE2 could run with an infinity perfect.

Similar Products Used: mtx,ppi,orion,kicker,jbl monopower,phoenix gold, but i would take this amp with the sub i have now
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris   [Mar 15, 2001]
Strength:

Power output
Can run 2 ohm and 1 ohm stable

Weakness:

Looks just nasty.... that's about it, it's a good amp

Very stable amp. Overall very good, decent SQ and good power output. Be careful of the rating sheets, those are rated by all channels running full power have to do a little math to actually figure out the RMS when bridged, mine puts out somewhere between 430-450 RMS. I have ran it at 2 ohms, which equates to about 900 RMS, and also have had it down to 1 ohm, ran good heated up way too hot to touch, that was about 1800 watts RMS, this pulls a HUGE drain on your car. Make sure you have some decent subs if you have this amp otherwise you won't use it's full potential.

Similar Products Used: punch 250a2 (also very good amp)
Phase Linear PL300
Various Alpine amps
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeremy   [Jan 03, 2001]
Strength:

It pushes hard and clean and is oozing with power (actual rating is 538W @2ohms peak) Never leaves my 12" Cerwin Vega starving for power

Weakness:

It heats up a little and leaves my truck thirsting for power even with a .5 farad cap.

This amp is resonable priced for it's power rating and produces clean power till your brains spew out

Similar Products Used: nothing compares to a Fosgate
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
The Fatman   [May 20, 2001]
Model Reviewed: 2000
Strength:

Power. This is the IDEAL amp for a single 12 inch sub which is my current setup... I'm at an actual power of almost 500 watts... the bench sheet for this supposed 360 watt amp says 482 watts for mine... and i've had 360a2's that had the bench sheet of 508... this absolutely slams my rockford dual voice coil sub rated to take 400 RMS and 800 peak power...
The bass in my car is so rich and so low from a single sub that it feels like the air is just... pudding... no other way to describe it. Friends with 2 12's and weaker amps insist i have another 12 hidden away somewhere because the sound is unreal ( a testiment to the sub as well )... out of any piece of equipment in my car, this amp is the prized possession and the most worth the money. For 2 weeks, a buddy of mine lent me 2 of the precision power flat piston subs in a sealed box (look them up, they're expensive and they need a LOT of power) The only amp I had, or NEEDED was this one... it did the job for 2 12's. Sure the subs could take more, but it still slapped me in the back of the head with outrageous bass.

Weakness:

... no remote bass knob.

Ok, see above. Obviously I love this thing. There aren't many 360 watt amps out there that put out 500 watts. Oh, and as a side note, be aware that YES it gets hot, but it's never shut off on me... and that's the key thing... Who cares if it gets hot if it's not clipping or shutting off?? You're not sitting on the damn amp while it gets hot. It gets hot because it's working its nutz off and the heat sinks are cooling it.
PS, mine's for sale with the rest of my system fattytca@hotmail.com

Similar Products Used: PPI, Orion... These are all great products... But I love this amp. I can't believe the juice I get out of this thing. Some rockford products have some weaknesses, and i own some of those products too... but this amp absolutely slams.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John B   [Dec 13, 2000]
Strength:

power, clean, power and clean. did I say power?
this amp is wonderful. with the setup I have, it still sounds clean.
I am running 2 pioneer dimanond cut 12's in a 3 chamber bandpass. sound is still very clean. I can go from quality to being heard blocks down the road.

Weakness:

(laughs)

my only next move would be to get a sealed enclosure, but from the enclosure I have now, it is designed precisely for my subs. It sounds better than any other bandpass I have heard. the amp is worth the money. I have never complained about it. run it at 2 ohms stereo, never overheated, never cut off on me. This was a great buy.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
J.D. Nite   [Jul 01, 2001]
Model Reviewed: 2001
Strength:

This amp delivers the power to your subs for less than $300, and the watts are clean. It is actually underated.

Weakness:

You can't go wrong when you have a product replacement plan the reasures you that even if something does go wrong you can just get a new one on the spot for free.

This amp is pushing 2 Rockford 12s. Wait, I should say slamming them. This is a starter system for me and Rock Fos has won my business. The watt per dollar ratio is outstanding. I have had no regrets about purchasing this amp, and I doubt I will. I don't know a whole lot about car audio, but I'm learning, and I have no doubt in my mind that this was the right amp to purchase.

Similar Products Used: I'm new to car audio.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com