Rockford Fosgate Punch 400a4 Amplifiers

Rockford Fosgate Punch 400a4 Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

4-Channel Amplifier

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 19  
[Sep 16, 2018]
Dogsjet


Strength:

I’m running a RF 400a2 as my sub amp and a transducer under the seats. This little old school amp is very powerful and built like a tank. Rockford Fosgate builds their amps to last. I pound the hell put of my system that I’m running in my Dakota crew cab. I am also running a Rockford Fosgate 800a4 another monster amp. This amp pushes my old school MB Quart QSD 216 and MB Quart 213 4” components with the awesome gold crossover and world renown tweeters and mid bass woofer. Teamed to a Alpine CDA-9887 single din HU. I also connected the Imprint EQ System, a HD tuner box(Alpine), BT Alpine 400BT unit, Alpine Sirius XM system. This awesome conservative stereo system was wired with all Rockford Fosgate high quality copper wires. Monster Professional RCA cables. Before all was installed I put a dynomat throughout the whole cab, floor and doors. That made the cabin way solid and quiet. Oh yeah I have two One Farad old school Rockford Fosgate “WHITE WOLF” caps. Very nice system for a small truck. The best thing. Other than the Alpine head unit. You would never know any of that stuff would be in the that truck. Alpine HU, Rockford Fosgate Everything is awesome, MB Quart speakers, Moster Cables, Dynomatt sound proofing is a great add.

Weakness:

Heat heat heat that’s it

Price Paid:
349
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
1998
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jul 18, 2010]
Kevin N
Model Reviewed: Rockford Fosgate Punch G400A4

Strength:

Nice and powerful can power a small set of 10 or 12" subwoofers at 4-ohms. I don't recommend it for subwoofers really. I've used it for mids and highs mostly and it has incredible clean sound to nice and crystal clear but does run somewhat 'hot' but not much to stop it's performance. I think it sounds better than most four channel amps I've heard. This is my first one and so far no problems also matches my Punch 55.2 and Punch XLC subs. I deff recommend this amp to anyone looking for good quality sound but if you can still find these around!

Weakness:

Like I said earlier runs somewhat hot, I guess that's when it's running subwoofers but even on my compnents but still sounds good.

I recommend this amplifier to anyone looking for quality sound and power to make those subs knock or thos components scream!

Similar Products Used:

Rockford fosgate punch 55.2, rockford punch 40x2, Rockford punch 225.2, Rockford punch 800a2, Rockford punch 60.2, old school Rockford punch 150, yes I used alot of fosgate during my teen years lol.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 25, 2006]
jtmcclure
Model Reviewed: rockford punch 400a

Strength:

under rated, price, better than the punch amps of today last year rf made a good punch amps.

Weakness:

none

This is a great amp, I have had this amp for 6 years and it still works great! Very claer and powerful. For those reviewers who said it was getting hot and did,t sound clear little tip try getting it installed by a professional installer at a good shop. The sound of your set up is only as good as your installation and install materials. The only time my amp cut of was on a 6 hour trip and I had it kicking most of the way.

Similar Products Used:

alpine

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 08, 2004]
HardyNuff
Model Reviewed: RF Punch 400a4

Strength:

enough power

Weakness:

unnatural sound quality

Bought mine "reconditioned" from C'field. (wondering if I received amp returned by one of the other reviewers here) Agree with others about lack of clarity/harshness in midrange and upper frequencies. Plenty of power, but its just not a pretty, natural sound. Very dissappointed.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Sep 17, 2001]
PJ
Model Reviewed: 2000

Strength:

very clean sound, more power than rated.

Weakness:

does get really hot, though most amps do.

I heard lots of good things about RF amps so I got one installed and was very impressed. Running 4 Infinity 5x7s off the two front channels and 2 Kenwood 10''s off the two back channels, Alpine head unit. Plenty of power, nice and crystal clear sound. Dont know why so many people here dislike them, most people I know are crazy for them. At first I thought I was paying too much, but after you listen to it for a few days it really impresses you. Most of my friends are jealous because they spent twice as much $$ for 2 amps when I got 1 pushing everything.

Similar Products Used:

previously a Pyle Driver 300 watt amp

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 13, 2001]
Joe
Model Reviewed: 00 400a4

Strength:

THIS AMP ROCKS !!!!!!!

Weakness:

??? NONE THERE

I HAVE JUST HOOKED THIS UP IN MY 96 SIERRA PICKUP , REG. CAB , I HAVE IT RUNNING 2 PUNCH 1410;S IN Q,LOGIC BOXES , OFF THE REAR AND MY PIONNER 200 WATT 6X9 OF THE FRONT , AND IT ROCKS , I WAS TOTALLY IMPRESSED WITH IT , IT IS RATED AT 50 WATTS RMS , IT CHECKED AT 635 TOTAL WHATTS !!!!!!!!!!! THIS IS A VERY IMPRESSIVE AMP , HAVE ALRADY COOKED 2 PAIRS OF FRONTS , HAD TO GO HIGHER WATT !! MELTDOWN TO MUCH POWER !!!

Similar Products Used:

NONE COMPARE

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 27, 2001]
Mike
Model Reviewed: 400a4

Strength:

Low price

Weakness:

Gets hot when played loud and long.
Distorts at high volumes.

I did a lot of research before buying this amp. I have to say that I am a little let down on the performance of this amp. It does sound good at moderate volumes but not at high volumes. I have 4 gauge wire and a 1.0 farad stiffening capacitor hooked up to it so there is no excuse for the performance. Overall, it's still not a bad deal.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 20, 2001]
Jae
Model Reviewed: 99

Strength:

can put up lots of power, but for a very short time... I'm talking about 20 minutes MAX.

Weakness:

doesn't really live up to its 400 watt name. Can't get out there full potential. On a drive longer than half an hour I make sure that I'm only playing the volume half way so it doesn't overheat.

For those of you with a pretty high end sound system... don't buy it. I'm running RF fnqs and just pioneer 6x9s on these... and this amp cannot do the job. I was suprised because I thought this amp would be more than enough. IT's NOT.

Similar Products Used:

Precision Power.. better product, more quality, more $$. You get what you pay for.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Mar 18, 2001]
Adam
Model Reviewed: 2001/400.4

Strength:

New Smooth Design, Good looks, caps, easy allen wrench hook up

Weakness:

Doesn't get too loud

This is the new 2001 design, not the old design. I have used this amp with Infinity Kappa 6" comps and Infinity Kappa 4x7's. It is very clean when kept at a moderate volume, but this amp gets hot and distorts when you turn it up. It is good for a basic set up, but if you want more out of your mids and highs, I would still recommend RF, just get the 600.4 or 800.4. It is a great amp, just not as much power as what I was expecting.

Similar Products Used:

Kenwood, Boss, MTX

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 07, 2001]
G K

Strength:

This Amp has awsome flexibility

Weakness:

NONE NONE NONE

When I first got it I was only just getting started setting up my system so I had 1 tubed 10in. sub and my usual interiors 6X9 polks in the rear and 6 1/2 polks in the front. The polks arent the greatest speakers but they held me over. This amp is nothing short of quality. Ive had others and this amp rocks for running your interiors. My original configuration I bridged the 1 sub on 2 chanel and ran my fronts and rears on the other 2 channels it was so loud and hit so hard most people with twice the power could not believe that was all I had. Anyone who complains about noise with this amp has no clue about wiring if you set up your wiring corectly and dont skimp on RCA you will be pleasantly surprised . I have just bought the fosgate H1000a2 power and audiobahn AW1200 and words cant describe how hard this hits but my neighbors can HAHA. All fosgate amps are winners if you asked me and any of my friends go with fosgate for amps you wont be disapointed.

Similar Products Used:

MTX, ORION HCCA Pheonix Gold. This amp blows them away.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 19  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com