Kenwood eXcelon KDC-X915 CD Receivers

eXcelon KDC-X915

CD receiver.

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
NitroBiz   [Aug 20, 2000]
Strength:

Excellent control, great looking, great display, overall the best damn head unit I've ever purchased!

Weakness:

No weaknesses known.

I did my homework before I made the decision to purchase the KDC-X915, I considered just about everyone else like Alpine, Eclipse, Panasonic, Sony, Rockford Fosgate, JVC, and Clarion and none of them stacked up to the kind of quality and control I could get with the purchase of the Kenwood. When I first decided to purchase a new head unit I was first leaning towards the top-of-the line Alpine but compared the features and overall feedback from salesmen around my area and made a educated decision. This unit has all the features and specs that you would want in a head unit and more. Not only does it perform like a champ but it gives you more. It has a built in sub-woofer control (which is a must) and also a built in crossover...man this rocks! I mean not only does it come standard with all the features as a normal head unit it also comes standard with what you might expect to pay in a crossover and equalizer AND a one hell of nice looking display that is really cool! If you are in the market for a new head unit then don't pass on this one cause Kenwood has really out done themselves on this one!

Similar Products Used: I've had past Kenwood decks and I would have to say that this unit is far step ahead of what they've produced in the past.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Wayne M   [Feb 06, 2001]
Model Reviewed: 2001
Strength:

It's An MP3 Player!!!!
Not to mention all of the kick ass performance features such as the crossover controls for fronts/rears/and subs, Kex control, even more sub control than before (-35 dB to +5 dB), that's 40 dB's of control in the listening environment.

Now, about the MP3 player part of it, it is quite user friendly, after you read the manual and understand what this thing will do. You don't have to label the track names or the folder names, and as long as you have some good quality mp3's (120kbps - 192kbps (I recommend the higher) or more) than you will have hours and hours of cd quality music.

And of course it also plays regular music cd's and cdr's and cd-rw's, with a 24-bit sampler and three gold plated 4V preouts. This is the best head unit I've seen and had, this side of the border!

Weakness:

have not found any so far, and I am almost certain that I have Explored all areas of the Z-919.

I have had it in my car for quite some time now and just when i thought that I had Known it inside out, it shows me another side. And then I explore it's new dimension, looking forward to what will happen.

With all the miles I have put on it and the frickin' potholes and manholes that I have hit, I have yet to hear it skip. I Doubt I even will, I just sold a 1998 model of a mask (7011) and it was a very good deck and I was never disappointed with that deck. Not once in it's entire lifetime has it skipped. and the vehicle wasn't driven easy. So I'm pretty confident that no matter what I hit on the road, It will continue to give me very powerful, clean and uninterupted music at all times without worry.

Similar Products Used: Jumps on JVC, Kicks Clarion, Rolls on Blaupunkt, Jumps off of Sony and lands on Alpine!, It's that good.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Barry   [Dec 24, 2000]
Strength:

Offers Audible Fast-Forward/Fast-Reverse,CD Text,Disc Name Preset Play,DRIVE Distortion Reduction Circuitry,Kenwood-Designed Superior Disc Transport

Weakness:

None

You need to shop for the lowest price online before you buy it. I bought mine at http://go.to/etronicsonline for
only $389. Which I feel is the best price online.

Compact Disc Features :

0-Bit Mute
Audible Fast-Forward/Fast-Reverse
CD Text
Digital Filter: 20-Bit Resolution 8-Times Oversampling
Digital Optimum Servo Control
Digital to Analog Converter: 20-Bit Resolution Integrated Quad 1-Bit
Disc Name Preset Play
Disc Naming: 30 Discs
DRIVE Distortion Reduction Circuitry
Intro Scan
Kenwood-Designed Superior Disc Transport
Play/Pause
Precision Digital Timing (DPAC)
Random Play
Repeat Play: Track, Disc
Search: Track
Changer Control Features

CD Text
Changer Control: 2, or 1 + Aux (with KCA-S210A or Compatible Changer)
Direct Disc and Track Access: with Remote
Disc Name Preset Play
Disc Naming
Intro Scan
Random Play: Disc, Magazine
Repeat Play
Tuner Features

Automatic Memory Entry
DAB Tuner Control
High-Speed Multipath Control (CRSC) with ANRC
Kenwood CR-2 Advanced Tuner
Radio Data System (RDS)
Seek Tuning
Station Name Preset Play
Station Naming
Station Presets: 24 (18 FM, 6 AM)
Tuner Mode Antenna Control
General Features

Attenuator with Smooth Volume Return: -20dB or -60dB
Auto Dimmer Wire
Clock
Disabled System Indicator
Display Dimmer
Dual-Zone Audio Control
Ebony Faceplate
Electronic Audio Control (Volume, Balance, Fader, Bass, Treble)
Front and Rear RCA Preouts: Gold-Plated
Front, Rear, and Non-Fading Gold-Plated RCA Preouts
Front/Rear Fader
Full-Function 10-Key Remote: Grip-Type
High Voltage Preamp Output: 4.5V
Independent Non-Fading Output with Level Control and Defeat
Iso-Mount Capability for Japanese Vehicles
LCD Display: High-Resolution Color, with Fluorescent Backlight
Loudness Control
Low Output Impedance (80 Ohms)
Plus/Minus Power Source
PowerSlide/B.M.S. Interface: with Compatible Amplifier
Programmable Security Code System
Source Tone Memory: including Non-Fading Level
Spectrum Analyzer Display
Switchable Function Key Illumination
System E's + Advanced Crossover System
Touch-Tone Keys: Defeatable
Optional Accessories

Auxiliary Input Adapter (CA-C1AX)
Dual Changer/Aux Input Adapter (KCA-S210A)
Steering Wheel Remote (KCA-RC700)

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jon   [Dec 06, 2000]
Model Reviewed: 1989 Civic Si HB
Strength:

This deck is GREAT!!!! The best I have ever owned.

Weakness:

None really, although the remote could have a few more features.

Well, I had my old Kenwood kdc-5001 stolen a month ago. I loved it and wanted to stick with the Kenwood name. I shopped around and found this one to be the best. The display is amazing! The sound is great and it has too many features to list. The disc naming and Station naming is a great feature.. I shopped around and found this deck priced as high as $400.00 I went to smilephotovideo.com and picked it up for $275.00 I have it playing now with two sets of Polk EX 6.5 component speakers and 2 10's in the trunk. It rocks! Buy this stereo you will be glad you did.

Similar Products Used: I had Sony and Pioneer in the past. My last deck was a kenwood and I loved it until it was stolen.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Lance Floyd   [Nov 28, 2000]
Model Reviewed: 2000 Celica GTS
Strength:

Wow, where to start? For one, on the first test drive of my new head unit, I was able to scare a driver on the left of me from the intensely loud music...so loud that he went and drove off...the light still red! The eq ability, the unbelievable flexibility of display options, the super-clear audio quality, the interactive menu systems, the naming of stations, CDs, etc., and finally, the DOLPHINS!

Weakness:

Nothing..absolutely nothing is wrong with this head unit. This thing is pretty much what perfect is like.

I highly reccomend you get this head unit. It requires amps, but any good system will already have multiple amps. If you happen not to have any yet, go with the Kenwood X815, ..pretty much the same thing, but not a dead head.

That being said, I will continue to thouroughly enjoy scaring people within a 100 foot area of me. Nothing like listening to loud music and have everyone roll their windows DOWN so they can hear the crystal clear highs and the thundering lows. It looks like the Kenwood has the ability.

Similar Products Used: I was for a long time a die-hard Alpine freak. I had two before this, and frankly the new "Bass Engine" Alpines just weren't the quality of older units. So, after looking around a lot, I decided to try the Kenwood. WOW!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nate   [Aug 26, 2000]
Model Reviewed: KDC-X915
Strength:

I think Kenwood has some of the best looking decks around, this being the gem of them all... Packed with features like RDS, Calendar, Memo, Direct track access (w/remote), kex sound control, tonz of other stuff.

Weakness:

My only problem is the remote...Direct track access is nice, but complete system control would be even sweeter.

I got a hell of a deal online through www.bargain-expo.com - $369 + shipping. This deck is so sweet - love the looks, especially at night. Recommend to anyone who wants nice looks and powerful features in one. Highly tweakable after you figure out what all of it means. Deadhead also helps getting clean sound from the source. I agree - swimming dolphins are the s--t.

Similar Products Used: Nothing really, I've had lower end stuff - KDC-6011, Blaupunkt, JVC
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark   [Jun 29, 2000]
Strength:

Built in cross over and hide away face made the sale for me.

Weakness:

Haven't found any yet!

At $499 definitely a better buy than a similar Alpine or Eclipse unit. You also get more features for your money, and equal or better performance than it's rivals. It's unbelievable how many options you have on how to view the display! I've always been partial to Alpine, but this model swithched me over to being a Kenwood fan. Any Excelon product definitely excellent!

Similar Products Used: Equal in quality to Alpine, but definitely more features.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bart Anatra   [Jun 17, 2000]
Model Reviewed: 2000
Strength:

It is the best reciever I have ever owned. The jumping dolphins are the sh_t. One word: Godlike

Weakness:

Please

$425 great price, great value, do it now!

Similar Products Used: Alpine, JVC, Pioneer, Sony and just about all others
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com