Nakamichi CD400 CD Receivers

Nakamichi CD400 CD Receivers 

DESCRIPTION

  • 24-bit digital-to-analog converter
  • High-resolution preamplifier circuit
  • Ultra low-noise and distortion levels
  • Highly linear signal transmission
  • 47W x 4 channel power amplifier
  • Triple-band tone controls
  • Illuminated push buttons
  • Switchable Green or Amber LCD Display allowing for four different color combinations

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 13  
[Sep 24, 2008]
jarad
Model Reviewed: cd-400

i have one of these in my bmw 325i and i think it sounds amazing i only have problems loading cd's sometimes it is a tad picky about which ones it will play and wont

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[May 18, 2007]
James Skeels
Model Reviewed: Nakamichi CD-400

Strength:

Sound quality to rival domestic audio.
OEM looking.
Easy to use.
Purposeful display.
Good Radio sensitivity.
A thief would assume it's a naff unit and walk by.

Weakness:

Questionable reliability.
No CD changer controls.
AF function.

An absolutely brilliant sounding if fragile unit. Nakamichi's no frills approach mean the budget has been spent on extracting good sound quality from your disc's.

This unit was purchased as an ex demo model, it has failed to eject a disc a couple of times but this is usually cured by depressing the reste button with a ball point pen, I've also taken the lid off the unit and re-greased the eject mechanism to keep it sweet.

Radio sounds are superb, but it has an annoying quirk that requires you to switch off the AF feature on low strength station otherwise you'll hear an annoying pip every 2 minutes.

I've hooked this up to some Mission, MTX, Diamond and Nakamichi gear and it really gets the most out of it.

To surmise, not one for those who'll worry about reliability and like to jam filthy fast food covered Cd's in the drives svelte slot, more of a unit that need to be treated with kid gloves and a bit of TLC.

The sonic rewards are second to none at this price break.

Similar Products Used:

Pioneer DEH7100
Becker Mexico PRO
Becker Grand Prix

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 19, 2007]
Jeff W
Model Reviewed: Nakamichi CD-400

Strength:

SOUND, design, ease of installation and use. Great, clean presentation.

The Nak CD-400 is an excellent choice for anyone that wants a GREAT sound from their mobile audio accompanied with the refined design of a modest head unit. Most of the reviews I read prior to purchase were positive, so I decided to take the risk and buy one online. (I usually buy electronics items from big box stores like BestBuy.) Fortunately, I was not dissapointed by the delivery and quality of the product I received. This is by far the best aftermarket head unit I've ever purchased. I'm not a sound techie, but I know when my system sounds good. The Nak CD-400 is paired with a Memphis Amp, JL Audio component speakers and an Infinity 10" sub. The system sounds incredible with the top up or down in my E36 convertible.

The Nak CD-400 is definitely a good choice! Not only do I have a great sounding system, but my dashboard no longer looks like a cheap side show. (Previous head unit had annoying graphics and screen savers.)

Similar Products Used:

Panasonic CD-8100, Alpine CD-9756, Kenwood, Pioneer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 30, 2006]
schneider
Model Reviewed: Nakamichi CD-400

Strength:

Sound quality, understated design, ease of use.

Weakness:

Nakamichi service support.

The CD-400 sounds very good with the 24 bit DAC. It does not have the 8X oversampling like the CD-700 and uses CIRC error correction. It is very revealing of the recording (including any imperfections in the sound and scratches on the disc). It plays all of my CD-R discs without a problem. It installed perfectly in a Toyota(single din) using the mounting brackets from the OEM radio. The sleeve and trim ring bezel were not used. I integrates extremely well with the interior and looks almost stock. Controls are well designed and you do not need a manual to figure them out. You can still push the buttons with leather gloves on and do not need small fingers. I especially like the ability to switch on/off the display (OEM radio dimmed with the dash lights), mute, pause CD in one button push. The rotary volume control is simple and you can quickly access and change settings with this. I have a NAK PA-504 amp powering the speakers and it sounds crystal clear. I tested the internal amp and two speakers and the head unit was quite hot. As such (like every other head unit), I recommend using a seperate amp. Fortunately, the internal amp can be turned off. This model also has a subwoofer preamp output and you can adjust and turn it off if needed. AUX input via RCA connectors make it possible to use an Ipod if desired. As far as build quality, it does not seem any more rugged than the factory radio, which is disappointing at this price range. However, an industrial style design like the CD-700 is significantly more expensive. Hopefully I will never have to have my NAK components serviced. My experience trying to get a manual for the PA-504 amp has proven NAK support is almost nonexistent for mobile audio in the US. Overall, I highly recommend this CD player.

Similar Products Used:

None.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 25, 2006]
montokboy
Model Reviewed: Nakamich CD 400

Strength:

sound

Weakness:

CD Transport skips all the time, cheap AUX & SUB wiring

Nakamichi once meant quality, now their company has gone commercial and churning out junk like the rest. A few months after I purchased this unit (brand new) it started skipping, and now a few years later the CD transport is useless. They have the WORST service support, having their customers wait endlessly as they connect you from one recorded voice to another. They have a list of service centers, however when you call them they will tell you Nak is no longer supplying service parts or manuals. It sounds great (when it doesnt skip)I have contacted Nakamichi about these issues however they don't seem to care. I digitally master audio for a living, and an avid audiophile. Go with SONY!, they have more experience with CD transports and they don't skip when you make a sharp turn.

Similar Products Used:

Sony Car Audio

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Aug 24, 2006]
Remy CONSTANTIN
Model Reviewed: CD-400

Strength:

- Awesome music, rich, detailed and well-balanced, great emotion, much better than the CD-45z
- Super internal amplifier, very clear, low saturation
- Strong CD mechanism
- Mid tone control
- OEM design

To sum up, the CD-400 is a real Nakamichi (for the SQ), without the traditional weaknesses...

The CD-400 is an awesome head unit, very sober, which will fit in any car interior. OEM look... but with an incredible clarity (when it's warm) : details, precision even in bass, dynamism and good equalization.

Comparing it with my CD-45z, the voices are clearer and emotional, the details are incredible in high frequencies, the reverbs can be distinctly heard and the basses gain texture and accuracy (for example on the Princess Mononoke OST - track 01) : really amazing, a real GAP from CD-45z (very good 20-bit DAC though), WOW ! I've re-discovered all my CDs...

The internal amplifier is very good as usual, and softly follows the 24-bit DAC. Not so powerful but in many cases it will be fine : I use it on a bi-amped 3-way kit with 7' woofers, and I only have saturation at very high volume. Perfect for silent cars.

Good surprise, the new CD mechanism is reliable : good absorbers, no more skipping, normal ejection, tolerance for CD-Rs, even lightly scratched. Normal, but incredible for a Nakamichi !

Nice features : internal AMP_OFF, input AUX_OFF, amber or green ILLUM, mode DISP_OFF, CONTRAST settings, last to 1st track by pressing >> (if wanted), BAS/MID/TRE settings (VERY useful), RCA (AUX/REAR/SUB) disconnectable.

Today, I've had no problem of reliability. IMO, the best Nakamichi's single-CD receiver ever (except the CD-700 of course).

Similar Products Used:

- Nakamichi CD-35z/CD-45z/MB-100
- Some 1-bit DAC Alpine and Clarion too...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 23, 2005]
bvmajik
Model Reviewed: Nakamichi CD-400

Strength:

24bit DAC, oversampling, simplicity, 3 preamp, 1 AUX, defeatable amplifier/display

Weakness:

Not included: HD ready, Sirius/XM, MP3 compatability, weak amplifier (I played it as a preamp only head)

If you want a no frills CD player, this is it! TREMENDOUS sound reproduction due to the 24 bit DAC; it doesn't get much better than this. The lack of features will lead you searching for more....

Similar Products Used:

Eclipse 8445, 8455, various alpine units

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 20, 2005]
blantto
Model Reviewed: CD400

Strength:

Looks and sound as well as quality

Weakness:

None

Best car cd player I have ever owned. Superior in sound, looks and quality than anything else in its class. Fits the decor of any car without stupid flashing lights and screensavers. Has the one option that makes this better than any other....you can shut off every light so when driving at night the lights don't distract from the road.

Similar Products Used:

Clarion Pro Audio(not even close)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 07, 2005]
hammerb
Model Reviewed: Nakamichi cd400

Strength:

Great sound quality. Great tuner section was able to get great reception from over 150 miles away.

This is an amazing head unit, I had an Alpine cda9815 before this and it was also was a good unit. I found the Alpine very bright with the system I had. After having my Nak CD400 installed I was surprised that it was so amazing. There was so much bass and even had my settings turned down. It makes a big differnce with the 24bit dac compared to the 1 bit in the Alpine. The sound is so smooth and you hear things that you never heard before. I love the old style of head unit compared to all the bells and whistle you get with the Alpine. You can crank up the volume and it is so clean and with no distortion.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 06, 2005]
Fountainhead
Model Reviewed: Nakamichi CD-400

Strength:

Simple - elegant styling. Uncluttered, logically-arranged, ergonomic controls. Solid feel and build ... even though it is plastic. The single rotary control is tight with no drift. Multiple radio station presets are easy to operate. Clock function is nice to have. Mute Button. Display color options: Amber, Green ... or NO DISPLAY. Absolutely QUIET playback. Pure musical information - no static at all!

Weakness:

Plastic face construction. Control buttons are a little smallish for my stout fingers ... I like buttons that are sized for your average kindergartner with poorly developed motor skills. Hey ! I should concentrate on my driving ! The removable face mechanism is a little awkward and touchy. The face of the unit is surprisingly lightweight and seemingly fragile. Do I understand, correctly, that Nakamichi is out of the Mobile Audio business ? Should I have warranty concerns ? Etronics offers short term warranty and replacement guarantee ... so no worries. Small, insignificant remote. I rarely use these in any case.

Time to replace the (crackling) factory head unit in my teenage sons 1988 BMW 528e. I wanted an in-dash cd player that didn't look like the circus just came to town. Something that would quietly complement the classic BLACK interior. Since I was not about to pay $ 600.00 + for a used McIntosh MX-406 ... I decided on a Nakamichi CD-400. Closeout-bargain priced at $ 279.00 from eTronics. Shipped the same day of order ... factory fresh box. Did a little internet research for advice on how to hook up to the BMW's built-in fader control. Nakamichi's well marked, solidly-built, harness made install easy. The unit comes with a full complement of component plugs. The DIN collar supplied with the CD-400 fit like a glove. There was plenty of room in the dash for this unit and harness. The plastic trim ring finished the install like a factory part. I retained the BMW amp to power the CD-400. Great Sound ! Plays my sons burned CD's accurately enough to tell which were sloppy downloads. Separate: Subwoofer, Bass, Mid, and Treble controls give fantastic ability to shape the dynamic playback. The CD-400's accuracy revealed each speaker defect in the aging BMW factory speaker set. Radio section sounds great, with excellent pull strength & tone ... even with my fussy power antenna at half mast. The unit plays extremely quiet. No hum. No hiss. Dead quiet. No CD skipping at all ... perfect. No distortion at high volumes. No static at all.

Similar Products Used:

Alpine Pioneer Sony

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com